We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing but not tip top”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Residence & Spa at One&Only Royal Mirage Dubai
Ranked #1 of 550 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Very relaxing but not tip top”
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We travelled as a family of four at Christmas and new year. We were expecting to be wowed but unfortunately the hotel failed to live up to the hype.

The rooms are nice but not special!

The reception staff were efficient but not over welcoming.

Breakfast was a bit like feeding time at the zoo and quite stressful at times.

The lunch offering by the pool and service was dreadful and that is a compliment!

Dinner in all restaurants were excellent so obviously the good staff and chefs work at night!

The beach and pool areas were very relaxing and service attentive,

Expensive for the offering and if the management accept this standard which verbally they did then this hotel will lose the one and only name and revert to a very ordinary 5star!

Room Tip: Not too near the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Russell N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    668
    55
    15
    3
    3
See reviews for
127
447
32
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

My husband and I returned in December 2013 from wonderful holiday stay at the Residence and Spa, Dubai.

The staff at the Residence and Spa Dubai are second to none and we would like to convey our appreciation and praise to all of them.

A personal mention to our Butler 'Rensley' SUPERB! We would also like to emphasis the fact that our room was kept spotless every day. The housekeeping staff were magnificent. We will certainly be returning in the near future.

Debbie from Kent

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OORoyalMirage, Manager at Residence & Spa at One&Only Royal Mirage Dubai, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for sharing your recent experience, and indeed delighted to read that you enjoyed our facilities and services provided by our team of dedicated members.

We value such feedback which is shared with all and look forward to your return in not too distant future.

Kind regards
Management Team
One&Only Royal Mirage, Dubai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

My wife and I stayed at One and Only Residence and Spa in August 2013 and didn't really know what to expect as it was the 1st time in the middle east. I can honestly say the staff in the complex were fantastic, nothing was too much trouble. the rooms were very luxurious and clean. the food in every restaurant in the complex was good enough to be served in the best in the world. We celebrated my birthday during the trip, and ate in Stay (one and only Palm) a short boat trip from our hotel this was the highlight of our culinary experience of the trip. The concierge at the hotel organised a number of trips with great ease and we never had to lift a finger.

going back in March 14 and can't wait

Room Tip: low rooms with doors opening on to the lawn by the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johngray68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OORoyalMirage, Manager at Residence & Spa at One&Only Royal Mirage Dubai, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Dear John,

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for sharing your recent experience, and indeed delighted to read that you enjoyed our facilities and services provided by our team of dedicated members.

We value such feedback which is shared with all and look forward to your return in not too distant future.

Kind regards
Management Team
One&Only Royal Mirage, Dubai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

So I guess this is really one of the very best hotels in the world. Proof being I have found myself staying 5 times in the past 5 years. Would stretch it by saying our visits to Dubai is more a visit to the RESIDENCE then a visit to the city it self. Everything so quite, everything possible, everything stylish yet totally relaxed - and the roaring city is just outside, while the private beach is a mere 20m away from the suite. What's not to adore?

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OORoyalMirage, Manager at Residence & Spa at One&Only Royal Mirage Dubai, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Dear Christian,

Thank you very much for sharing your recent experience, and indeed delighted to read that you enjoyed our facilities and services provided by our team of dedicated members.

We value such feedback which is shared with all and look forward to your return in not too distant future.

Kind regards
Management Team
One&Only Royal Mirage, Dubai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herne Bay, England
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We chose the Royal Mirage because it's set in gardens, which is rare for a Dubai hotel, and we hoped that this would give us peace and quiet. We were right.. We had a prestige room in the Residence. The hotel was superb - nicely appointed with excellent staff and a range of restaurants. We barely left it in the week that we were there!

The room was large and well kept. Even the little things that so many hotels get wrong (electric point near a mirror so you can bring your own hair dryer, for example) the Residence got right. Big bathroom with two sinks, bath, huge shower and separate loo. Comfy bed. Nice toweling robes. Shaded outdoor terrace with loungers. All in all, a great place to return to after a hard day by the pool.

The private beach is about 1km long so good for early morning running up and down. The pool is big enough to be able to swim in comfortably and the pool staff keep you topped up with water all day.

There is afternoon tea in the Library. We never made it to a full meal there but dropped in for tea and cakes - delicious.

Our favourite restaurants were the Dining Room at the Residence (intimate; modern European food); Nina (superb Indian fusion), and Celebrities (OTT chandelier glamour and top notch modern international cooking). The Rooftop Bar is laid out as if it were an Arabian tent - all cushions and beautiful knick-knacks. It makes for a really welcoming and romantic setting. Breakfast is the usual buffet plus a range of cooked items to order. This range changes daily and there was always something on the menu that we fancied. And, oh, the bliss of a cafetiere of good coffee!

Someone has done a great job of selecting and training the staff. Everyone is welcoming, friendly, helpful and competent.

We loved it for a lazy week of doing very little and would go again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HerniaBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a 11 day stay at the One & Only Residence and Spa hotel in Dubai. We have been lucky enough to stay at several hotels around the world and following this stay, we are both firmly of the opinion that the Residence & Spa is the best!
The staff are simply outstanding. Warm, friendly, polite and so efficient from gardener, room valets, pool staff, waiters, front desk to management, all were wonderful.
The setting of this hotel is wonderful. Just 49 rooms makes this hotel personal, intimate and peaceful. Rooms were not huge but very comfortable and beautifully appointed. Breakfast and dinner could be taken inside or outside and the service was superb.
As previous reviews have reported, afternoon tea (quintessentially english) is complimentary and includes sandwiches, a wide variety of lovely cakes and deserts plus scones with jam and cream; the perfect way to complete a relaxing day by the pool.
The pool area is quiet (no screaming kids), relaxing and beautifully clean. The pool staff are wonderful and they deliver iced water, cold towels, glasses cleaning service, fruit and ice cream to your sun bed.
The Dining Room is the Residences' restaurant which is lovely, menu excellent, food superb and service first class.
The One & Only Dubai has three distinct hotels: The Residence & Spa, Arabian Court and the Palace. Each hotel has its own character, setting and grounds. The Residence being the smallest and the best!
Given the three hotels, there is a wonderful variety of restaurants to choose from. We tried them all and could not fault any. We even took a complimentary boat transfer to the One & Only Palm resort where we ate at Zest and enjoyed afternoon drinks and taps at 101. (The Palm hotel is lovely but in our opinion nowhere near as good as the Residence & Spa).
Would we return? Yes, next week if we could. Is it expensive? You bet, but you really do get value for money!
Quite simply and to repeat...The One & Only, Residence & Spa hotel in Dubai is the best hotel in the world!

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely. We had a first (top) floor room with balcony overlooking the gardens and sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shapcabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Just returned from an 8 night Christmas trip at the magical Residence and Spa where nothing is too much trouble for this excellent staff and management team who go the extra mile to ensure a memorable stay. If an elegant, tranquil and sophisticated hotel is your choice in this fast moving city, stay here.
Set within beautifully manicured gardens with peacocks roaming and with direct access to the luxurious pool and private beach, I could not fault the hotel or staff. There is one main restaurant "The Dining Room" offering excellent food and complimentary afternoon tea, in addition to the other main restaurants and bars in the adjoining Arabian Court and Palace which are within easy walk or via the free shuttle service. The rooms are all beautifully decorated and there is complimentary wifi, Nespresso coffee machines and Molton Brown toiletries. all overlook the grounds and you should either request a garden with nice patio space and direct access to the pool through the gardens or as we opted for a top floor room with terrace (generally suites) all with nice views.
The pool never seemed to get full even at Christmas and the staff offer complimentary iced fruit and sun glass cleaning throughout the day. The service at pool side is exemplary and more adult suited than the Arabian Court and Palace.
I couldn't recommend this hotel enough and will be definitely be returning in the near future, well done One & Only. A special thank you to Jithin who looked after my wife and I so professionally and attentively.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors have tree top and garden view. Ground floor have nice patios and are easy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
Raffles Dubai
#2 of 550 in Dubai
3,411 reviews
Burj Al Arab Jumeirah
#30 of 550 in Dubai
4,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Atlantis, The Palm
#106 of 550 in Dubai
16,783 reviews
The Marina
Grosvenor House Dubai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence & Spa at One&Only Royal Mirage Dubai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence & Spa at One&Only Royal Mirage Dubai

Property: Residence & Spa at One&Only Royal Mirage Dubai
Address: Al Sufouh Road | Jumeirah Beach Road, Dubai 37252, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Dubai
#1 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Dubai
#3 Family Hotel in Dubai
#7 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#159 Business Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Residence & Spa at One&Only Royal Mirage Dubai 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence & Spa is an intimate sanctuary for those who wish to indulge in the comforts of prosperity with its own private reception and Dining Room and Library exclusive to guests staying in any of the 48 rooms and suites or the free-standing beachfront Garden Villa.The Arabian-styled private residences, each cared for by a specifically-selected, dedicated team, house a retreat of 1 Garden Villa, 16 Suites and 32 Prestige Rooms. Spacious and created with the finest detailing, all are sea facing with private balcony or terrace, and the elegant Garden Villa also provides a luxurious and ornate environment within the most exclusive part of the resort.Within the elegant courtyard entrance of Residence & Spa, guests will find the Health and Beauty Institute, an oasis of relaxation featuring the One&Only Spa, Oriental Hammam, the Pedi:Mani:Cure Studio by Bastien Gonzalez and hair salon by Alexandre Zouari. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelbag, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Residence & Spa at One&Only Royal Mirage Dubai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence&Spa At One&Only Royal Mirage Dubai Hotel Dubai
Residence&Spa At One And Only Royal Mirage Dubai
Residence Hotel Dubai
Residence Resort Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing