We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful hotel and grounds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence & Spa at One&Only Royal Mirage Dubai
Ranked #1 of 561 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2009

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vactionforme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (782)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

609 - 615 of 782 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2009

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henny52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2008

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank squirrelone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2008

48 Degrees!(120 F) Enough said! Firstly just don't go there july and august when it is so hot and humid (not sunbathing weather without losing a stone in weight in half and hour!) We had 3 nights at the end of a weeks holiday in the Maldives. Absolutely gorgeous hotel at the Residence and Spa. Had a Prestige room. Extremely spacious and immaculate. Massive bathrooms and lots of Molton Brown bath goodies.
View of gardens on the ground floor and lots of tropical little birds everywhere which was nice. 1 minute walk to the lovely pool which was a must every 10 mins or so whilst sitting around the pool for 2hrs each afternoon! Service as expected-7star!!! Food in the Dining Room was out of this world. Lovely portions so could easily have 3 courses without feeling like keeling over! Service in there was excellent. Gorgeous room with very high ceilings. Breakfast was taken in here every morning too and the scrambled eggs and smoked salmon was absolutely perfect. The manager of the Residence & spa even came over to apologise he was away the previous 2 days and was the most polite frenchman i have ever had the pleasure in meeting.

The only mistake was going to the gold/spice souk at midday, nearly passed out getting out of the airconditioned taxi!! Couldnt breathe.
Being in the gardens was lovely as didnt have a view of 'The Palm' and all the construction on this man made island. It doesnt look very impressive at the moment. No one was on the beach maybe due to heat but due to view aswell. Around the pool and gardens you can hardly hear any construction going on. Dont get me started with that! There is just so much of that in Dubai its ridiculous. I dont think it will ever stop. My overall impression of 3 nights in Dubai that i was so excited about originally was 4/10. Gutted with most of it but can also see all the positives, be it in the future. I heard that 1/3rd of all cranes around the world are in Dubai so yes you can almost see that sadly! The hotel had no faults whatsoever so i give the hotel 10/10!. It was much smaller than The palace and the Arabian Court and felt much more intimate.

We did eat at Tagine (moroccan) restaurant at The Palace on the last night and have to say we enjoyed that immensly. The wine selection at The Dining Room and Tagine was incredible if you are into some classics and a good vintage.

Shopping at the Emirates Mall was great and to watch the skiing at the indoor skislope was a laugh. You needed to stay inside a mall pretty much all afternoon with the heat etc but it was immaculate. Wish the malls in london were like that!!

Lastly wish we were there October time when i hear they have blue skies and sunshine and not dust, humidity and constant heat and haze. So hope to persuade the other half to go back sometime but he just didnt take to Dubai whatsoever.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SMS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2008

We have just come back from our Honeymoon at the Residence and Spa - well what a fantastic resort. We have been to Dubai a few times and I have to say this is the best hotel I have ever stayed. The staff are all really friendly and nothing is to much. It is a very personal resort and I would recomned this to anyone who is unwanting to completly unwind. Ideal for romantic holidays and honeymoon.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank videmgsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2008

My husband and I booked to stay here after wanting to go to Dubai for the last few years. We chose this hotel as my sister had stayed here and raved about how wonderful it was.

She was right it is a beautiful hotel with a lovely tranquil feel about it when your inside the hotel. Nothing is too much trouble and the staff will bend over backwards in order to try and help you with any requests or problems you may have. There were far more children thatn I had anticipated though! Out of the 3 I preferred ours, the Palace had a bit too much of a hotel feel about it, the Residence I felt a bit too young for, so the Arabian Court was just right, persoanl but not overly familiar and attentive but not pestering.

A visit to the Spa is a must and have a Hammam they're to die for and so relaxing, worth every penny.

The restaurants are great and the food and choice some of the best I've tasted in any 5* resort. We stayed half board and even if you ordered off the Table d'Hote menu (which is included in the H/B option) you could still eat very nicely with the allowance they gave you against the a la carte menu either for free still or for a small sum.

Drinks were I'd say about the same price as at home, however, I agree wine was expensive, but there again Dubai is not the place to go to penny pinch. If you go to the Roof Top Terrace bar between 5 - 7pm drinks are half price and they allow you to take your wine to the restaurant you're dining in if you're dining in the Arabian Court.

We stayed in a suite for our second week and a deluxe room in the first week and at no time in the first week were we made to feel like second class citizens. There are 8 reserved cabannas on the beach for the people in suites (there are 8 suites) and loads of huge beach umbrellas with very comfy padded beds everywhere else. The same applied around the pool. The hotel was full when we stayed and we never once struggled to find a lounger and neither did we encounter any reserved areas in the hotel apart from one night in the Roof Top Terrace, but it was reserved for a party, fair enough there were other areas and seats.

With regards to the building works yes there is tonnes of it going on but you know that before you go so if you're after picturesque go to the Maldives. I found it fascinating that they're literally building a new country before your eyes all at once and it doesn't impinge on your enjoyment in the hotel as it is well shielded.

On the whole I loved the hotel but wasn't so keen on Dubai itself and I think this may be because we stayed far too long - 2 weeks. I would say it is expensive to eat and drink and the shops despite being tax free were sometimes more expensive than England. Definitely do the desert safari, the whole thing is great worth the £70 and the food in the bedouin is plentiful and very tasty. You also get the chance to meet lots of different people and hear all about their trips etc.

Definitely worth a visit but as a short stay place either en route to somewhere else or as a 5 day stay max.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CheshireCat1471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2007

This is our third stay at the Royal Mirage. The first time we visited three years ago (Nov 2004) and I wrote a review then. Last time we did the cheaper 'Palace' option which was lovely but we missed the Residence so this time we melted the credit cards and treated ourselves. Yet again, we weren't disappointed. The fresh fruit was served around the pool every morning, sunglasses cleaned daily and fruit sorbet in silver dishes every afternoon. As usual we were waited on hand and foot around the pool with water glasses topped up every time the level dropped an inch!

Sarqaf in Reception was amazing and managed to get us in at Vu in the Emirates Towers, Pierchic at Al Qasr, Verre (Gordon Ramsey's Restaurant) in Hilton Towers as well as Eau Zone, Nina's and Celebrities all at the Royal Mirage. We gave him a week to fill with approximate booking times and within a few hours he had managed to secure reservations at every restaurant we had chosen. Very impressive when on previous visits we had been unsuccessful in getting in Pierchic (maybe the fact it was Ramadan or just hotel influence?). Sarqaf was forever smiling, often visiting us around the pool to ensure all our needs were being met and was basically a star. All the staff were fanatastic but he stood out with his boundless enthusiasm for pleasing the guests.

We explored Dubai on this visit and the staff were always able to give us advice on where to go also what the does and don't were regarding Ramadan.

We will be going back a fourth time, hopefully next year. We got engaged on this visit so perhaps it will be a honeymoon visit next time.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Happilyginger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
Raffles Dubai
#2 of 561 in Dubai
3,579 reviews
Burj Al Arab Jumeirah
#25 of 561 in Dubai
4,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Atlantis, The Palm
#115 of 561 in Dubai
17,519 reviews
The Marina
Grosvenor House Dubai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence & Spa at One&Only Royal Mirage Dubai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence & Spa at One&Only Royal Mirage Dubai

Address: Al Sufouh Road | Jumeirah Beach Road, Dubai 37252, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Dubai
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Dubai
#3 Family Hotel in Dubai
#7 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#159 Business Hotel in Dubai
Price Range: £435 - £1,170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Residence & Spa at One&Only Royal Mirage Dubai 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence & Spa is an intimate sanctuary for those who wish to indulge in the comforts of prosperity with its own private reception and Dining Room and Library exclusive to guests staying in any of the 48 rooms and suites or the free-standing beachfront Garden Villa.The Arabian-styled private residences, each cared for by a specifically-selected, dedicated team, house a retreat of 1 Garden Villa, 16 Suites and 32 Prestige Rooms. Spacious and created with the finest detailing, all are sea facing with private balcony or terrace, and the elegant Garden Villa also provides a luxurious and ornate environment within the most exclusive part of the resort.Within the elegant courtyard entrance of Residence & Spa, guests will find the Health and Beauty Institute, an oasis of relaxation featuring the One&Only Spa, Oriental Hammam, the Pedi:Mani:Cure Studio by Bastien Gonzalez and hair salon by Alexandre Zouari. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Travelbag, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Residence & Spa at One&Only Royal Mirage Dubai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence&Spa At One&Only Royal Mirage Dubai Hotel Dubai
Residence&Spa At One And Only Royal Mirage Dubai
Residence Hotel Dubai
Residence Resort Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing