We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Disgusting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lotus Downtown Metro Hotel Apartments
Ranked #36 of 295 Speciality Lodging in Dubai
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Just Disgusting”
Reviewed 2 February 2013

My week long stay at this hotel did not start well. They tried to hold my passport. I pointed out that there was no legal requirement for this and that mine was a fully prepaid booking; no danger of running away without paying. So I got it back.

I was given an inside suite a couple of levels above the pool. The pool noise (children) comes up the open void and can be disturbing.

The room was not cleaned on the first full day. No problems, I did have the do not disturb sign up for a couple of hours during the middle of the day, maybe they overlooked coming back. As I was to learn quickly the real reason was I had the sign up again later from 6:30pm. I returned to the room after work next day at 5:30pm to find it had not been cleaned. I called housekeeping and asked for two towels. The lady wanted me to hang up and call '5'. I pointed out I had pressed the Housekeeping button and was talking to her. I insisted she arrange the towels. They took 90 minutes to arrive.

Next day housekeeping did not arrive until 7:30pm. The following day 7:00pm, they did not leave a bathmat. The next day they arrived at 8:10pm, I sent them away after taking two towels. They had been in the room earlier since there were clean folded sheets on the bedroom dresser. These stayed there for the next three days for some reason. The next two days were 6:30pm and 7:15pm.

On no day during the week were the floors cleaned. It was on the fourth evening at the start of showering I noticed my feet created quite a bit of blackish water on the shower floor suggesting the suite floors were not clean. So I decided to test the cleaniness of the suite and document the results. You can see the outcomes in the photos. It was dirty. At least I didn't sight any vermin or signs of their presence. Perhaps even Dubai cockroaches have standards.

On the second day I encountered a dry stained cloth placemat at breakfast. In fact it was more than stained, one area was crusty, the spoon was sitting on it. I regetted later not taking a photo of it but on the last morning I encountered another dirty placemat. Refer photo. Not all of the cloth placemats were dirty, most were clean, spotless even. And the crockery and cutlery were clean. My mood wasn't that improved by the fact I didn't like the breakfast selection on any day.

Finally, safety. Check out the photos of the fire stairs. I missed the day there were two rubbish bags and the plastic container of crockery.

This place is a dump. Avoid it.

If there is anything good to come of my stay is that my inspection efforts probably resulted in the suite being cleaner when I left than how I found it.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BoganInParasite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LotusHotelDubai, General Manager at Lotus Downtown Metro Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
Dear Mr Ross N Ahe,


Warm Greetings from Lotus Downtown Metro Hotel Apartments!
We refer to your stay with us and thank you for choosing us as your preferred residence while in Dubai.
With reference to your feedback about our services, specially housekeeping and restaurant,, we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused to you. We have seriously taken up the matter with concern departmentand assure you of remedial action.

We once again apologize for the inconvenience caused and look forward to another opportunity of being of service to you.
We are pleased to inform you that besides the existing hi speed broadband internet land line the Hotel is now also fully WIFI enabled.
While looking forward to welcoming you back to Lotus Downtown Metro Hotel Apartments during your next trip to Dubai, we assure you of our best attention and personalized services at all times.
Thank you
Warm Regards

Patanjali Sharma | General Manager
Lotus Downtown Metro Hotel Apartments
P.O.Box: 171746, Dubai, U.A.E
(O) + 971 4 206 8888 | (F) + 971 4 222 4141
(M) +971 56 640 1891
(E) gm@lotusdowntownmetro.com
(W) www.lotusdowntownmetro.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    39
    17
    8
    10
See reviews for
49
18
5
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

The hotel is fitted with the most amazing furniture and decor. Our rooms were a huge suite with 4 bathrooms, 3 rooms, a kitchen and storage room!

But its filthy, and everything is covered is a layer of dust. On our return one night my sister found a used condom in her bed. We told management and other than apologizing and changing the sheets they did nothing. so rather than clean we know what the maids are doing in the unoccupied rooms.

The hotel breakfast was really good, and had a huge variety.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Azima M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dubai hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Following a seven hour flight with the family we checked in at around midnight to find that the hotel:
1. Couldn't supply a room key because none were available,
2. Had to keep our passports overnight because the copier wasn't working, and
3. Although the beds were made it was obvious that the rooms had not been vacuumed or cleaned.
This is a total let-down because the rooms are spacious. But I couldn't accept the above because I was travelling with children.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LotusHotelDubai, General Manager at Lotus Downtown Metro Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Warm Greetings from Lotus Downtown Metro Hotel Apartments!
We refer to your stay with us and thank you for choosing us as your preferred residence while in Dubai.
With reference to your feedback about our services, we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused to you. We have seriously taken up the matter with concern department and assure you of remedial action.

We once again apologize for the inconvenience caused and look forward to another opportunity of being of service to you.
We are pleased to inform you that besides the existing hi speed broadband internet land line the Hotel is now also fully WIFI enabled.
While looking forward to welcoming you back to Lotus Downtown Metro Hotel Apartments during your next trip to Dubai, we assure you of our best attention and personalized services at all times.
Thank you
Warm Regards

Patanjali Sharma | General Manager
Lotus Downtown Metro Hotel Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

The hotel is the suburb of Diedra, which is an older part of Dubai. When you walk into your apartment you are immediately impressed by the size of the rooms - I was in a 1 bedroom apartment and it was the largest hotel apartment I have ever been in. There was a very large lounge, large kitchen, large bedroom, bathroom and separate toilet.

The rooms were clean enough but on closer inspection they are showing their age, but if this doesn't bother you that would be ok. A couple of niggles where that there was no hot water in the bathroom - until someone came up and pressed the unmarked button that turned the water on, also the clock radio wasn't working properly.

The hotel is about 200m from a main metro station so convenient for getting a train, and its about 25 minutes on the train from Dubai Mall / Burj Khalifa

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank waterman17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LotusHotelDubai, General Manager at Lotus Downtown Metro Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Warm Greetings from Lotus Downtown Metro Hotel Apartments!
We refer to your stay with us and thank you for choosing us as your preferred residence while in Dubai.
With reference to your feedback about our facility, we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused to you. We have seriously taken up the matter with Maintenance department and assure you of remedial action.

We once again apologize for the inconvenience caused and look forward to another opportunity of being of service to you.
We are pleased to inform you that besides the existing hi speed broadband internet land line the Hotel is now also fully WIFI enabled.
While looking forward to welcoming you back to Lotus Downtown Metro Hotel Apartments during your next trip to Dubai, we assure you of our best attention and personalized services at all times.
Thank you
Warm Regards

Patanjali Sharma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

I'm not sure if this is the same hotel the other reviewers stayed at or I am more fussy. I kind of expected a lot of opulence when we arrived, that was not to be had. The staff are very friendly and helpful. However the rooms leave a little to be desired, very large apartments but facilities look very tired. Hot water was a bonus on some nights, while one bathroom had no hot water the other did, one night the taps would work in reverse where hot was cold and vice versa. The bed was hard and the top mattress was smaller than the bottom mattress. the floors must be very thin because I could hear the people on the floor above us carry on till about three in the morning. Although the metro is virtually across the road we still had to take taxi's to certain places. After reading the reviews before we left on our holidays I was expecting a 4.5 star hotel. I've been told this is a 4 star but I would class it more of a 2.5 to 3 star. I have only stayed at one worse hotel than this and that was Michaels Inn in Niagara Falls, look up those reviews and you will know what I'm talking about.

Room Tip: Try getting a Hotel in the New Dubai
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eleotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LotusHotelDubai, General Manager at Lotus Downtown Metro Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Warm Greetings from Lotus Downtown Metro Hotel Apartments!
We refer to your stay with us and thank you for choosing us as your preferred residence while in Dubai.
With reference to your feedback about services, we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused to you. We have seriously taken up the matter with concern department and assure you of remedial action.

We once again apologize for the inconvenience caused and look forward to another opportunity of being of service to you.
We are pleased to inform you that besides the existing hi speed broadband internet land line the Hotel is now also fully WIFI enabled.
While looking forward to welcoming you back to Lotus Downtown Metro Hotel Apartments during your next trip to Dubai, we assure you of our best attention and personalized services at all times.
Thank you
Warm Regards

Patanjali Sharma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2012

These apartments are close to the airport and to the metro station. Across the block is a midsized shopping centre. While the kitchen and bathroom seemed a little unclean the rest of the apartment was fine. The staff were lovely and the breakfast was fantastic. I'd stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hills5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LotusHotelDubai, General Manager at Lotus Downtown Metro Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Warm Greetings from Lotus Downtown Metro Hotel Apartments!
We refer to your stay with us and thank you for choosing us as your preferred residence while in Dubai.
With reference to your feedback about kitchen cleanliness, we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused to you. We have seriously taken up the matter with Housekeeping and assure you of remedial action.

We once again apologize for the inconvenience caused and look forward to another opportunity of being of service to you.
We are pleased to inform you that besides the existing hi speed broadband internet land line the Hotel is now also fully WIFI enabled.
While looking forward to welcoming you back to Lotus Downtown Metro Hotel Apartments during your next trip to Dubai, we assure you of our best attention and personalized services at all times.
Thank you
Warm Regards

Patanjali Sharma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MUMBAI
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Tripadvisor has 5 categories for a trip namely Business, Couples, Family , Friends and Solo... The reason why LDM gets 5 stars is because its suited to all kinds of travellers... Although I would like to mention , that I enjoyed a special airline crew rate and that could have made the difference in the "Value" ratings...
Having said that, the hotel has most things going for it... Large spacious (apartment type ) rooms, fully functional kitchen (yes, its not just a kitchenette) , decent breakfast, superbly cooperative staff... great accessibility by the metro train ( situated right across the metro station) , room delivery from near by restaurants,there`s also a convenient store next door, decent pool and gym, quiet rooms and everything one looks for in a basic hotel stay ( by basic i mean, do not expect any over the top grand decor or a very polished concierge)

couple of things to watch out for
Use the tourist maps at the airport for travel agent contacts , for city tours etc. the hotel travel desk charges a little more
the hotel does not have a bar
coming back late from partying at sheikh zayed or jumeirah... the metro rail is shut and the expensive taxis are the only alternative

Room Tip: You have a choice between pool facing rooms or rooms with a balcony... Honestly neither the pool vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CAPT18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LotusHotelDubai, General Manager at Lotus Downtown Metro Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Warm Greetings from Lotus Downtown Metro Hotel Apartments!
We refer to your stay at our Hotel and thank you for choosing us as your preferred residence while in Dubai.
We thank you for your comments regarding our services and facilities and shall convey your appreciation to our colleagues. Your feedback will motivate all of us to work harder towards our goal of guest delight.
We are pleased to inform you that besides the existing hi speed broadband internet land line; the Hotel is now also fully WIFI enabled
While looking forward to welcoming you back to Lotus Downtown Metro Hotel Apartments during your next trip to Dubai, we assure you of our best services as always. In the meantime, of course, please do not hesitate to contact me or my colleagues for any further information or assistance you may need.
Thank you
Warm Regards

Patanjali Sharma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
0.1 mi away
Landmark Grand Deira
Landmark Grand Deira
#249 of 546 in Dubai
535 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Hotel
Comfort Inn Hotel
#282 of 546 in Dubai
325 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tulip Creek Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Emirates Concorde Hotel & Residence
0.2 mi away
Al Khaleej Palace Hotel
Al Khaleej Palace Hotel
#371 of 546 in Dubai
73 reviews
1.3 mi away
BurJuman Arjaan by Rotana - Dubai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lotus Downtown Metro Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Downtown Metro Hotel Apartments

Property: Lotus Downtown Metro Hotel Apartments
Address: 38 St | Omar Bin Al Khattab Road, 129; opposite Union Metro Station, Deira, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 295 Speciality Lodging in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Lotus Downtown Metro Hotel Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lotus Downtown Metro Hotel apartments has one hundred and fifty spacious and well-appointed one and two bedroom deluxe apartments, located in the commercial district of Deira, opposite to the Deira main Metro Station and 200 meters away from Al Deira City Center, it is just 3 kms from the Dubai International airport.With meeting & banqueting facilities that can accommodate up to 300 guests, Lotus Downtown Metro Hotel Apartments will be the ideal venue for all your corporate or private events, here you can choose from a range of restaurants to suit every palate, make use of a modern fitness center, and temperature controlled swimming pool.At Lotus Downtown Metro Hotel Apartments, there is something for every discerning business and leisure traveler; the hotel can arrange airport transfers on arrival, on your request.All apartments are fitted with 42 inch LCD TV, refrigerators, electric stove, oven- microwave and electronic, safety lockers to provide you the most comfortable stay while in Dubai.Our well-trained and friendly staff will help with you other facilities, such as laundry, round the clock room service, hi-speed internet in all rooms and public areas, and on call medical service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lotus Downtown Metro Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lotus Downtown Metro Hotel Apartments Dubai
Lotus Downtown Metro Hotel Apartments And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing