We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has Potential but Needs a Little Improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach
Ranked #66 of 556 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2010

We stayed at the Sofitel at Jumeirah Beach Residence for a weekend as a birthday treat for my husband. I chose the hotel due to its central location to The Walk which has many restaurants and shops to visit and its proximity to the public beach. The rooms are beautifully laid out with a large, spacious bathroom area, the bed was very comfortable and our room had a view of the water and the Palm. We really enjoyed the pool and the wait staff at the pool bar were very welcoming and friendly. We ended up watching one of the World Cup matches at The Hub which was a nice pub, but we wished for a better selection of food. After the World Cup match, we returned to our room to find that the staff had delivered a card and a cake in honour of my husband's birthday which was a nice surprise, and the cake was generous in size and was very very yummy! It was unfortunate though that there appears to be construction work still going on at the hotel which was not intimated to us upon booking or check in. We were awoken at 9am on a Saturday to drilling and hammering and upon reporting it to the concierge, who promised to investigate, the drilling was stopped and was replaced by only hammering, which seemed to continue throughout the day.

The hotel has great potential and we really enjoyed the room that we stayed in and the atmosphere in and around the hotel along The Walk was really nice. It really felt like a beach community and it will be a nice area to stay in during the winter months when it is not ridiculously hot outside. Once the construction works in the hotel are finished, this will become a great and economical place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Principessa10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,743)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,198 - 4,204 of 5,743 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2010

We stayed here for two nights on one of our usual trips to Dubai for the weekend and thought we would try a different hotel location. I agree with all the great comments about this hotel - I can't fault anything. The service was 5 star from the moment we pulled up in our tatty hire car. We had booked the basic room but got lucky and got the upgrade to luxury suite. To be honest the only difference was the balcony view. The room was spacious enough with a great bathroom set up and balcony running the width of the room. Breakfast was a little pricey but there was a wide choice and even a pork station which is a welcome view for someone living in Qatar! We tried The Hub on one of the evenings and was pleasantly surprised to find a good crowd in there and the drinks were fairly priced. Overall, if you want to stay in the Jumairah area then we would definitly recommend it!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sallyb_47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2010

Stayed here for 6 nights as our flight home was cancelled because of the volcanic ash. Great location on the jumeirah beach walk with a terrific choice of restaurants and shops. The service in the hotel was excellent and the staff have to be commended. Two downfalls of the hotel, it dosen't have it's own private beach and the pool area is too small for the size of the hotel, i think they are catering more for the business traveller. All in all I would recommend staying here if you are on a short stay holiday and want to get out and about and see the sights.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2010

Stayed for 6 nights to get away from cold weather in UK.This hotel only opened in feb 2010.The room was great but there was still construction going on above me and i had to ask them them to move me which they did.
The breakfast/lunch buffets were superb as you would expect from this upmarket french chain.The pool area was a disaster with no vacant beds by 9am.They have the space to put more sunbeds out but by 10am most people were lying on the grass.I wouldnt stay again unless they resolved this.I am like i a reptile i need sun to function!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManchesterLou_art
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2010

My friend and I stayed at the Sofitel JB. The hotel is in a good location and is new so the rooms and facilities are very nice. We arrived from London at 5am and were told by the reception that our room was available but if we wanted to check in early we would have to pay for an additional nights stay. Not really the service you would expect from a new hotel trying to build their reputation. This experience has put me off staying at Sofitels in the future. If you are visiting from abroard and arrive early I highly recommend that you don not stay here.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JD198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2010

Stayed here for 4 nights when my flight got cancelled because of the ash cloud. This place is beautiful, rooms are fantastic and the pool area is great (when you can get a bed)

It is 5 star and the prices reflect this. The Walk has some great restaurants and is great for sitting at night watching the world go by and the expensive sports cars.

There is a great supermarket nearby for stocking up on water and snacks and well worth doing as a bottle of water costs about £5 in the hotel.

Great views of the beach and close enough to everything else by taxi.

Free wi fi is also a bonus

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelbug6211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2010

I have just spent a fantastic 5 nights at this hotel, My first impressions were disappointing, as the pool was very small and the terrace and sunbeds were limited... but as the day went on, I realised what a superb hotel this is.
It does have its draw backs - 460 plus rooms and only around 21 sunbeds, but plenty of chairs, the pool is small, but it is nestled on the 3rd floor and is an infinity pool overlooking Jumeirah beach.
The rooms are spotless and very comfortable - the beds are amazing!
The location is absolutely brilliant - straight on the walk, although across the road from Jumeirah beach, this hotel grew on me day by day.
The staff were exceptional, and were always there for you no matter what you needed.
I would definately recommend this hotel, and i will be returning as i found the restaurants surrounding the hotel on the walk brilliant and very reasonable. We were eating out from as little as £10 pp, and there was plenty of choice, 10 min walk from the nearest mall.
Very good hotel - I would go back without any hesitation.
The buffet breakfast in a morning was also exceptional - as you would expect from a top class hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poppy2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
The Marina
Hilton Dubai Jumeirah
Hilton Dubai Jumeirah
#135 of 556 in Dubai
4,994 reviews
The Marina
JA Ocean View Hotel
JA Ocean View Hotel
#67 of 556 in Dubai
4,898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Marina
Hilton Dubai The Walk
Hilton Dubai The Walk
#111 of 556 in Dubai
2,824 reviews
The Marina
Amwaj Rotana
Amwaj Rotana
#69 of 556 in Dubai
3,017 reviews
The Marina
Grosvenor House Dubai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach

Address: The Walk | Jumeirah Beach Residence, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai > The Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Dubai
#35 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#38 Family Hotel in Dubai
#45 Business Hotel in Dubai
#61 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range: £146 - £429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 438
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury beachfront hotel combining French spirit with Dubai's most appealing features: waterfront location, sea-view and direct access to The Walk, the city's stylish beachside promenade and outdoor shopping area. 35 Minutes from Dubai International Airport, close to Dubai Media City, Jebel Ali Free Zone, two of Dubai's biggest shopping malls, and three prestigious golf clubs. Leisure facilities: Beauty Salon, Infini-pool, Health Club, Sauna and Steam room. One restaurant and three lounges present truly international flavors. A dedicated Inspired Meetings team meets the needs of business travellers. Free wi-fi and a separate meetings floor ensure a satisfactory business operation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Booking.com, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Holiday Gems, ACCOR, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing