We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just the place to stay while on a quick tour of Dubai” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Citymax Hotels Bur Dubai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Citymax Hotels Bur Dubai
Ranked #177 of 544 Hotels in Dubai
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just the place to stay while on a quick tour of Dubai”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

First of all, let me say that reviews like these are highly subjective. They are highly influenced by the reason for one's stay, one's expectations, the attitude of the staff, your attitude, and lots of other factors.

My stay was for just two nights, and my reason for being in Dubai was to go sightseeing. As such, I was not looking for much in a hotel--just a place to store my luggage, use the Internet (which was free), and sleep. The rest of the time I was out and about.

CityMax Bur Dubai was clean, although a little on the small side, but conveniently located near the metro, the Bur Juman Mall, and Al Karama market (the place where you are supposed to be able to purchase real fake designer-brand items!). The price of the room was quite reasonable, and I would definitely stay there again.

One thing to be careful of--those unmarked SUVs that are passed off to tourists as being "hotel taxis." They, of course, have no meters in them. The helpful taxi driver who took me to the Dubai Marina Mall bus station quoted me 35 dirhams, but when I handed him a 100-dirham note at the bus station, he tried to give me 20 dirhams as change, saying he had definitely told me the fare would be 80 dirhams! I refused, and paid him 50 dirhams, which I thought was fair.

As in all of your travels, be wise, a little skeptical, and wary of "good" deals.

One final comment regarding "your attitude": a smile (to the front desk staff as you check in) goes a long way! Remember, they are on their feet for many hours at a time, sometimes dealing with less-than-amicable hotel guests, so you may just get special treatment by being courteous :).

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dereck P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,792 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    492
    720
    410
    93
    77
See reviews for
337
483
193
355
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
460 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Check-in reminded me of being at a fast food outlet. Kinda busy and slow and too busy to offer any info and in a hurry to take your money. Quite impersonal.

My booked room was non smoking, but secondary to the Internet not working, I was offered another, but it was for smoking. The LAN Internet was up and running. I settled for that.

Note to travelers. If you have an Apple Airport Express you simply plug it into the wall via LAN cable and voila, you have a free wireless network in your room. No need to fight for a seat in the main lobby where throngs of people are on their mobiles using the Internet for free. The main lobby is the only place aside from the bar where you can get free Internet.

The rooms, as others have stated are small, but mine was clean. The doors are paper thin and you can clearly hear conversations as people walk by. Not good for those who are light sleepers!

The TV channels are essentially worthless, luckily I didn't watch much TV.

The pub downstairs offers decent pub grub and drinks.

Location is good. Metro is within a 10-15 min walk.

Price is right.

Check out was quick.

Would recommend with caveats.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whileitravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

It was a good experience with citymax hotel.
Not very far from the nearest metro. Walking could take 15 min.
Internet was free (wired). For wireless you need to pay.
Room was excellent. Breakfast was also nice.
Bus service is really good in Dubai so you don't need to rely on taxi's all the time.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rohit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

While passing thru Dubai, my two night stay at Citimax was quite comfortable. With good location and reasonable price range, this hotel is recomended. The rooms though very small was well stocked and neat. The food at the hotel is average and pub is the happening place with live music and karaoke evenings are quite enjoyable.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

What we felt during our stay is that the hotel is mainly oriented for the russian public with this crazy monday karaoke evening and other entertaintment events of this kind."Tastes differ", we just spent there 2 minutes and never visited this Pub.
The location is not the best, comparing to the Citymax al barsha, for example. 10-15 Dhrs to the beach is fine but if you want to visit Dubai Marina or the Palm, it will take ages and more money.
The breakfast is so-so,but allright for the 3* hotel.
Wi-fi is free only in the lobby area, once we paid for the separate wi-fi code to our room and found out that it did not work there at all.
We had a room on the 4th floor with the city view. One of the biggest disadvantages is the audibility. From our room we heard everything- morning prayer at the mosque at 5 AM, conversations, music etc. This really does not allow you to have a proper relax.
But what really impressed us was the perfect work of the staff of the Hotel.
Everybody are SO helpful, outgoing, friendly, always smiling! The staff really does this hotel, they can be simply transferred to the 5* Hotel with their attitude to the guests. Everyone were good- concierge desk, reception, breakfast personnel. Big thanks to all the staff and managers in charge, you have done a perfect job!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lenell11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We booked this hotel because we our first choice was fully booked. This hotel was the only hotel that is on the cheap list and looks clean when I browse through hotel.com during my time of travel. Because I went to Dubai without advance research and we went during their holiday (one week). The only thing I was hesitated was the location at first but after reading through the reviews and what's offer from the hotel, I decided to book this hotel.

The hotel end up almost prefect location for us as a tourist because a lot of the tourist attractions are locate in Bur Dubai. There are bus stops near by. This hotel offers shut drop off and pick for 2-3 different malls which include Dubai Mall and Jumeirah beach.

I gave two stars because the cleanness and lack of information from concierge. Concierge people didn't know 9 out of 10 questions we inquired. I was kind of impress by one of the front desk person. We wanted to exchange some money and he was honestly told us that the rate from outside is better than the hotel. Luckily there was one guy we can ask (Google). The cleanness of the hotel is not what I expected. I see mold around the show stand.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skyla l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

The location of the hotel was great.. and it was a true melting pot of so many nationalities.. The room was a little small and lacked basic amenities like sufficient hangers and shower caps.. but the room service and food more than made up for any drawbacks. The staff were pleasant, very helpful and friendly. Breakfast is a bit manic .. but there is something to meet most of your needs.
the pool at the top is adequate but can do with better lighting... Nice view of the Burj Khalifa though!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank parvathi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
Citymax Al Barsha
#171 of 544 in Dubai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
Arabian Park Hotel
#178 of 544 in Dubai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Creek
Admiral Plaza Hotel
Admiral Plaza Hotel
#302 of 544 in Dubai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Sea View Hotel
#64 of 544 in Dubai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citymax Hotels Bur Dubai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citymax Hotels Bur Dubai

Property: Citymax Hotels Bur Dubai
Address: Al Kuwait Street, 27 | Mankhool Rd, Dubai Al Mankhool, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Citymax Hotels Bur Dubai 3*
Number of rooms: 691
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smaller travel budgets shouldn't mean less comfort. At Citymax Hotels, part of the hospitality division of the Landmark Group, we offer 4 star quality comforts, at 3 star rates; in Dubai and Sharjah. Our well-appointed rooms, extensive in-house dining & entertainment facilities and strategic location of the hotel make it convenient for both the business traveler and holiday maker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Citymax Hotels Bur Dubai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citymax Bur Dubai Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing