We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hip, trendy cool concept, small rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Media One Hotel Dubai
Ranked #147 of 550 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Manama, Bahrain
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Hip, trendy cool concept, small rooms”
Reviewed 25 August 2010

When in Dubai internet city, I normally stay at the Radisson Blu. I chose Media One when I found that the Radisson was overbooked.

The theme of the hotel is the hip, trendy kind.
I generally liked the hotel although at times I felt it was just too "hip" for me. The bathrooms had glass walls, so you could see inside the bathroom from the room. Luckily I was traveling alone!

The rooms were disappointingly small (I kept bumping into furniture), but very clean and fresh. There was free internet access.

I had booked the hotel directly by phone and was quoted without breakfast. I did not request special pricing as the company was paying for it. Upon arrival, I found advertising material at the main reception stating that they 'throw in' free breakfast with all rooms. I enquired about that and the lady at the front desk politely said that it "does not apply" to my booking (?!?). Sort of felt that they were ripping off business travelers, but I may be wrong.

Overall the hotel is good, if you like the hip, cool, trendy stuff that the hotel is modeled around.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbuAbdillah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Media_One_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at Media One Hotel Dubai, responded to this review, 1 September 2010
Dear ShijazDoha,

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.
Looking at your comments we see you stayed with us back in January when we were in the first three months of operation. From checking our records you had made your booking direct for the best available online rate.

We know at that time we had a promotion for walk-in guests that offered a special room rate for 2 nights and we would ‘throw in breakfast’; it was valid until 31st January and was subject to availability. As this was a ‘walk- in’ promotion we believe the front desk staff were sticking to the ‘exact’ conditions of the offer.

We must apologise for the impression this gave you at the time but I assure you that our staff are now experienced at handling queries and much more flexible.
We take all our feedback seriously and your comments have been shared with the management team, as the contentment of our guests is paramount in order to meet the aim of our hotel to be the preferred destination for business and leisure travellers.
We read with delight that you enjoyed our originality, as we endeavour to cater to a wide variety of people.

Once again thank you very much for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back with us soon!

Kind regards,
Sally Meech
PR & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,765 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,160
    1,018
    371
    136
    80
See reviews for
132
475
225
1,466
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2010

This is a modern style hotel which means it looks and feels clean, organized and easy to stay in, all for a mid range price. The basic rooms are quite small but very efficiently arranged and quite comfortable. Of course there are things that could be improved like Internet connection which really should be wired and wireless in the rooms as well as free (at the time of writing it was wired and for a fee). There is a bar on the ground floor which really does get quite lively on some nights and the restaurant o the 8th floor does a good breakfast and dinner (I haven't tried the lunch).

I would not class this as a tourist hotel but it tries to be hip and trendy which suggests to me it is not trying to be a normal business hotel. Anyone looking for a more comfortable and slightly classy tourist hotel should try the Westin down the road otherwise Media One is a good place to stay in the Media City area.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3rdimension
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Media_One_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at Media One Hotel Dubai, responded to this review, 26 July 2010
Dear 3rdimension,

Thank you for the recent comments on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased you thought our hotel was value for money and in the right location for Media City area.
Thank you for your appreciation of the efficient clean rooms and the lively atmosphere of Z:ONE our lobby bar. The comfort and entertainment of our valued guests are central to our values.
We do have free WiFi in all the public areas of the hotel and maybe that would be better for you next time you stay.

Your appreciation relating to the food has been shared with all the kitchen enthusiasts at Media One Hotel.
It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Media One Hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Sally Meech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2010

Spent 3 nights there during a recent business trip. Hotel is brand new.

Style is a bit too "hip- cool", which is not mine. Lots of "techno / hip-style" entertainment. Rather geared at 30+ Clientèle.

Rooms are smartly appointed but extremely small. You'd think you are in Tokyo or Hong Kong, not opulent Dubai, but it's true that the rates were extremely competitive. Low occupation was apparent everywhere in this place. Clearly suffering the crisis- hit Dubai with an untimely opening.

Breakfast buffet very decent, and room service food quality very good. A keeper at the current crisis prices.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AntonioShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Media_One_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at Media One Hotel Dubai, responded to this review, 15 July 2010
Dear AntonioShanghai,

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

We take all our feedback seriously and your comments have been shared with the management team, as the contentment of our guests is paramount in order to meet the aim of our hotel to be the preferred destination for business and leisure travellers.

Chef & our enthusiasts in food & beverage will be very happy that you enjoyed breakfast in THE MED and our room service menu.

Many of our guests enjoying the numerous entertainment facilities offered by the hotel but of course we are not all the same and some of the hotel clients, like yourself, would prefer a much quieter evening; therefore Media One has reviewed its entertainment schedules to ensure the comfort of all our guests can be properly catered to.

Once again thank you very much for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back with us soon!

Kind regards,

Sally Meech
PR & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doha
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2010

I think its a new concept in trendy hotel , my forst impression was a bit guarded but the 2 days that I spent there was refreshing .... especially after hard days work , its perfect place to unwind . Everything in that hotel has a difference and thats refreshing . When you travel a lot , you want to see something different .... Media one has it all . The food , ambience , bar all had different setting .... hip and trendy. The rooms are also designed to cater to . The rooms may not be very spacious but it has everything you want .... room service is very prompt .

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T2P2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Media_One_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at Media One Hotel Dubai, responded to this review, 15 July 2010
Dear T2P2,

Greetings from the funky new world of Media One Hotel!

We read with delight that you enjoyed our originality, as we endeavour to cater to a wide variety of people - offering fine dining, a happening nightspot, business hub, friendly hotel, booming brunch spot, office metropolis, all at a magic location.

Your appreciation relating to the food and prompt service by our chefs and 24/7 team has been shared with all enthusiasts here at Media One Hotel.

It was certainly a pleasure having you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Media One Hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Sally Meech
PR & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2010

Our first time in Dubai, thanks to Media One they made our vacation very memorable. The hotel is more than you expected it to be. Clean, spacious, courteous receptionist, quiet room, cool ambiance, what else can I say? It was worth our money! Even more. If you're planning a trip to Dubai, Media One is the "only" place to be!!!

Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AndaCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Media_One_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at Media One Hotel Dubai, responded to this review, 27 June 2010
Dear AndaCanada,

Greetings from the funky new world of Media One Hotel!
Thank you for such positive comments regarding the hotel. We truly appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your Media One experience!
As a new hotel we are dedicated to achieve excellence in the hospitality business and it is always appreciated to know that we are fulfilling our goal.
We look forward to welcoming you back at the Media One Hotel on your next visit to Dubai.

Yours sincerely,
Sally Meech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2010

Had a fantastic, true first class stay in this unique Hotel. Having been to Dubai many a times, a friend suggested Media One to me and the biggest draw for me was that it is brand new and, to be honest, the price tag which was very reasonable despite the low Euro rate.
How big were the cries from my three fellow travellers at first ('What, we go t Dubai and no 5 star Hotel???') and how big the sighs when we had to leave after four days again. The only thing that spoilt the stay was our reason to be there, a three day exhibition. But all the hours in artificial light insight and gruesome heat were forgotten when we came back to the Hotel and were able to relax with a cold beer at the Swimming Pool (they have a funky name for it, but I have forgotten the name) and feel looked after by staff with the biggest smiles in the history of hotels!!!

Also to mention is the immaculate cleanliness, important and ever so often forgotten in some other hotels and the mattresses which are dangerously comfy.

Basic Rooms are not the biggest, but totally sufficient for my purpose (but if available they will offer you one of their bigger rooms for a reasonable price - don't tell the others, but I upgraded my Room for the last two nights and it was great, double the size with a Kind Size bed)!

All in all, a great find in the vastness of Dubai Hotels, definatley recommendable and one thing is for sure, I'll be back...soon!!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank berlinaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Media_One_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at Media One Hotel Dubai, responded to this review, 27 June 2010
Dear berlinaddict,

Greetings from the funky new world of Media One Hotel!
Thank you for such positive comments regarding the hotel. We truly appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your Media One experience!
As a new hotel we are dedicated to achieve excellence in the hospitality business and it is always appreciated to know that we are fulfilling our goal.
We look forward to welcoming you back at the Media One Hotel on your next visit to Dubai.

Yours sincerely,
Sally Meech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2010

We had a great stay at Media One with me and my hubby. For young couple like us we find it very accommodating, elegant and just relaxing and the great view of the city at night from our room made our entire trip. Very helpful staff, clean and very well presented rooms, and we had a fantastic time at the pool bar. I even enjoyed my visit at the gym. Considering it's location and accessibility to any shopping and sports destination of the city, is simply very convenient not to mention it's real good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ILoveTravel143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Media_One_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at Media One Hotel Dubai, responded to this review, 27 June 2010
Dear ILoveTravel143,

Greetings from the funky new world of Media One Hotel!
Thank you for such positive comments regarding the hotel. We truly appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your Media One experience!
As a new hotel we are dedicated to achieve excellence in the hospitality business and it is always appreciated to know that we are fulfilling our goal.
We look forward to welcoming you back at the Media One Hotel on your next visit to Dubai.

Yours sincerely,
Sally Meech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Dubai Media City
0.2 mi away
Tamani Hotel Marina
Tamani Hotel Marina
#225 of 550 in Dubai
517 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bonnington Jumeirah Lakes Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Arjaan by Rotana
Arjaan by Rotana
#166 of 550 in Dubai
560 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dubai-Internet City
1.4 mi away
TIME Oak Hotel & Suites
TIME Oak Hotel & Suites
#122 of 550 in Dubai
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Media One Hotel Dubai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Media One Hotel Dubai

Property: Media One Hotel Dubai
Address: Media One Hotel Al Falak St | Behind American University, Dubai 121818, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#90 Business Hotel in Dubai
#115 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#129 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Media One Hotel Dubai 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Media One is an urban lifestyle hotel that believes in doing things differently. It cleverly combines a dynamic sense of style, striking design and an appeal that suits the region's multi-cultural taste. Immaculate meeting rooms and comfortable beds for the hard working executive plus a selection of vibrant outlets to ensure a lively stay every time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Nozio Netplan srl, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Media One Hotel Dubai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Media 1 Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing