We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK...not great”

Mumtaz Mahal Indian Speciality Restaurant
Ranked #251 of 9,538 Restaurants in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$25
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: The Creek
Description: An award winning Indian speciality restaurant 'Mumtaz Mahal' is a fine dining restaurant serving North West & Mughlai delicacies using authentic ingredients that will offer every taste bud a palette of flavours! The restaurant is a themed outlet that is adored by Indian nationals and tourists alike.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
128 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“OK...not great”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Food is good, not great. Service was impeccable but I would recommend hotel dwellers to eat at an Indian outside the hotel. While the food is nice, it is not quite what it should be. Travellers will find better tasting Indian outside the hotel.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 201Sheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    69
    21
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
70 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Clay Baked Oven Goodness”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Quality Indian food - much of which is produced in a clay oven. A good variety of dishes and very attentive service. Also, the restaurant hosts traditional performances from time to time.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mathew O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
151 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Entertainment overshadows food”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The lively and loud Indian music and dancing are entertaining yet it makes it hard to have a relaxing dinner with conversation. The Indian food and service were not the best I've experienced given the price.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank activechica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Authentic experience”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Great place, fabulous food and staff and the entertainment was stunning. From the moment we got there we were impressed by both the surroundings and the staff's recommendation of the food. They even rustled up some chips for our young children which was very sweet. The music and girls dancing was mesmerising and made for a fabulous night.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank KylaCampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great setting, poor food”
Reviewed 19 February 2014


Apparently, this restaurant is highly recommended, but we found it very disappointing. The starters were dry and lacking any depth of flavour and the main courses were just dreadful. The mutton bhuna was tough, tasteless and again, way too dry and the mixed vegetable just vile.
That said the surroundings are very pleasant and the sitar player superb. Later a full band were playing Hindi songs, which with the right food, would have made for a great night. Just not tonight.
And we know our Indian food - we're from Birmingham: the Asian food capital of the UK... ;-)

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sweepkeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mumtaz Mahal Indian Speciality Restaurant also viewed

 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to Mumtaz Mahal Indian Speciality Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing