We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Al good, Al worth it, Al great” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Karama Market

The Karama Market
Ranked #72 of 386 things to do in Dubai
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Al Karama is one of the oldest street malls of Dubai, the market sells all kinds of gift items, like t shirts and jeans, shoes and ladies handbags. The timing is 10 am to 10:30 pm and on Fridays 3 pm to 10:30 pm. The market used to be closed for lunch time but now it's changed to straight.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
155 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Al good, Al worth it, Al great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2011

Great place, nice friendly people, My wife and I at that time whilst living in Oman we visited this place a few times even two days in a row to buy stuff we didn't get the first day. But be warned if you see something you like don't say you'll wait until you return in a few months time because it will be gone, that's what I done and kicked myself. what ever the price thye off you it at barter and try 1/3 of the price. don't buy at the first shop look around first but grab the shops business card and write it down, item colour, price for later because you will spend ages looking for the same shop again we did.

Visited January 2011
Helpful?
10 Thank DaaVee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    175
    104
    32
    35
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
113 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Fake as real”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

If you want fake that is good fake this is the best place. Often I can't tell this fake products from real. If you want watches or bags they will take you upstairs to a "hidden" room.

You must be firm and say no an leave if you don't want any caus they don't give up but when you fin what you want go for it an you can bargain a lot.

I still haven't met a taxi driver who can't find this place ;)

Helpful?
44 Thank morsva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“grab a bargain”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

head down to the Karama, all taxi drivers know this place or take the Metro ,it stops 100yds from Karama .prices are good for watches and handbags ,and the t-shirts armani ,boss,versace and polo. a quarter of what you pay back home ,no real.
go at night as this place can be very hot during the day and very very safe .
happy shopping.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
22 Thank beenhere9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qatar
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not to miss when visiting Dubai.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

Small shops packed with lots of (copy high brand) stuff (clothes, shoes, bags, watches, sportgear, you name it..). Take your time to look around and ignore all the men, talking to you, sitting in front of the shops. It is easier if you have a picture of the bag/shoe/jeans you are looking for. Sometimes they have hidden shops above the original shop or even somewhere else in the building/area. But that makes it more interesting. And always bargain! Start with 1/3, or at least 1/2 the price they are asking. Some shops have fixed prices, it says mostly at the door. And when you leave with your arms full of loads, go to the large high brand shoppingmalls and have a look at the pricetags there..... More than once we got the "same" stuff, in AA-quality, for a fraction of the price!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
24 Thank CGrosfeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
285 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Lots of variety, great place to bargain”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2011

The Al Karama market is well known as a place to buy designer copies in Dubai. It has that and a lot of other things too. A very fun place to look around at everything from jeans to handbags to sunglasses to handicrafts to rugs to tourist trinkets. My favorite part is that bargaining is not only fun and accepted, but very much required to get a decent price. Most items are marked with a pricetag, but if that's the price you pay, you've been had. If you're not the type to bargain, go shop somewhere else because you'll end up paying a lot more than you should.
Easy to get to as all the taxi drivers know the area - just tell them you want to go to Karama for shopping and they'll drop you in the right area. Just as easy to find a taxi back to where you came from.
I loved Karama because it's different that the high end malls and fancy hotels. It's not ritzy by any means, but is a fun afternoon of browsing and bargaining.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
30 Thank RSTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Karama Market also viewed

 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to The Karama Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing