We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Half-Hearted Effort that Is Barely Adequate”
Review of Rainbow Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rainbow Hotel
Ranked #399 of 545 Hotels in Dubai
Constant Traveller
Level Contributor
418 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 448 helpful votes
“A Half-Hearted Effort that Is Barely Adequate”
Reviewed 25 March 2013

i stayed at the Rainbow Hotel on "Bank Street" in Dubai in March 2013 and paid about US$75 a night. Overall, while I have stayed at many worse places, it was not a great experience.

The hotel is very well located, as "Jintyjoyo" notes; it is very near the big Bur Juman Mall, and the street is very lively and busy with shops and restraurants everywhere. The unimpressive building is (I'm guessing) 30 years old, to judge by it's style, but the entire hotel was renovated three years ago. The lobby is small and spartan, and that sets the tone for the entire hotel.

The bedroom is medium-sized, certainly more than adequate. Everything in the room worked properly, and unlike the experience of "OlaVito19" my room was clean and tidy. There was a luggage rack! The closets are large, the bathroom semmed sufficient, the A/C kept the room cool. So far so good. But a closer inspection (3 days) discovered some problems.

For one thing, the bed was too short -- my feet hung out the bottom. And I'm not a tall guy.

There were not enough electrical outlets, so I had to crawl under the desk and unplug the TV to recharge my computers. On the positive side, their wifi worked just fine, although their 18-digit security code was a pain in the butt.

For two of the three days, there was no hot water when I showered. Hmmmm. Not a great way to start the day. And after the first day, there was only one towel.

The free bottle water was never replaced, which is discouraging in this hot, dry climate.

The hallways in the sleeping areas are uncarpeted and noisy -- i could hear people talking and walking in the hallways constantly.

The breakfast buffet was merely OK, it never changed; and the food was of medium quality. Their coffee, by the way, is powdered Nescafe -- oh, my.

In general, the staff was cordial but not overly welcoming. I think they get a lot of complaints and are used to being abused by guests.

Overall, here's where I come out: Its important to remember this is Dubai, where it is easy to spend $500 a night for a hotel room. At $75 the Rainbow is a bit of a value. It gets the job done, and the location is great, but it doesn't fill your heart with joy at the thought of returning.

Room Tip: The Four-Points Sheraton is next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PilotMike2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    35
    19
    7
    7
See reviews for
11
17
12
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delhi
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

After reading reviews and its close proximity to metro station i got this hotel booked through my travel agent, paying more than the usual package. Just basic hotel , 2 water bottles are given at the time of check in after that they charge you 3 dhr for water. Bathrooms not well cleaned and stinks of urine inspite of being well sprayed deodrants. rooms are not cleaned till evening once you check in. had to remind them several times to clean them .no tea kettle or glasses in room. Beds are NOT AT ALL comfortable for sleep and they are small sized also. coudnt sleep well for four nites i stayed there.
Metro station and one everyday need store is close by. Burjuman is walking distance. Centrally located. Can find good options around.
Breakfast is just routine . since there was no great rush while i was in hotel, it looked they serve stale sambhar and bread on next days also. Bread was smelly and fungi. They dont serve milk , just one tea kettle for tea purpose.
Very baisc hotel, not at all worth the money you pay.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnjuAroraa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dubai hotels

Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
111 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Great location. Close to burjuman mall, close to the metro. If u just need somewhere to put your head down and shower it is ideal. There are no creature comforts, just basics.
Do not book the hotel shuttle from the airport, it is only 20 dirhams by taxi and the hotel charges 75 dirhams.
Staff are great and willing to help.
I was not willing to try any food in the hotel.
We were in and out and the hotel served its purpose.
We are now wiser about choosing hotels in Dubai

Room Tip: Learn how to put the hot water on. Water pipes can be noisy. Choose this hotel for convenience , th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jintyjoyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Hotel staff had poor hygiene, were very rude and lacked common courtsey.
My one day stay in the hotel ruined my holiday. It stank of curry, room was very dirty, bed linen stank and the bathroom taps did not work. I felt so uncomfortable and left first thing in the morning. This hotel is non-tourist friendly and should not be advertised on travel websites....

Room Tip: Star ratings are misleading!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vito-Badru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2012

Great location for a short business trip.
Great value for money.
Close to computer shops.
Easy to access to Metro, Taxi and Bus.
Only 5 minutes away by walk from Burjuman shopping centre.
Located in Bank street.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Hassan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

I wasn't relishing paying "Tourist" taxi rates at the airport so when I found out you can get to the hotel using the city's Metro system I found that useful. The Dubai Metro takes you from the airport "arrival" terminal to a metro station some 350 metres from the hotel and paying 14AED for a multi trip metro day pass instead of >50 AED for a taxi seemed good sense.

Once at the hotel valet service was friendly, contrary to the front office supervisor, who doesn't seem to undestand that being courtious to guests is a minimum, (first impressions and all that), especially when this particular guest has done hotel front office duty himself.

The room I was staying in (#107) was spacious but, oh dear! twin beds, and small! Bathroom was OK but be careful the hot water from the period style taps is boiling, check out the photos to see what the bathroom is like
Bed linen and towels were clean and plenty...Room was essentially clean, but the electrical fittings had seen better days, black marks around the 3 pin socket holes as if they frequently overload.
As far as sleep quality is concerning I got woken up one night by the next door neighbour's telephone ring in the middle of the night, it was so loud I thought it was one of my phone that was ringing
(Note. Although my room was just over the restaurant I couldn't smell any cooking as I had read in other reviews)

As far as breakfast is concerned it was OK with local specialties and, good point, fresh, a la minute, omelettes. Bredakfast starts at 7 but no need to race down to be there on the dot for 7 because the restaurant waiter invariably needs another 15 to 20 minutes to finish building the buffet, there where some nice foods but unfortunately no fresh or Amercian coffee, just powdered.

I didn't try the restaurant in the evening. The restaurant boasted a buffet but I had other projects

Check-out was better than check-in although it was the valet and night receptionist who looked after me. They gave me a customer satisfaction form which I duly filled out giving average evaluation except for one point. I found out to my amazement that the window of the 01st floor room I was in didn't lock. The room was accessible by the flat roof of the mezzanine and it seemed to me that you could walk your way round and if curious check the windows to see if they slide open or not. The night receptionist seemed surprised to hear this but as I took certain precautions I reckoned anyone trying to burgle the room would probably regret it.

All in all I would say the hotel merits a 2.5 not quite 3 rating. Its nothing special, ok for business trip but I would not take my wife there!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ripper38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012 via mobile

Dirty hotel with a bad smell of food, the back ground music in the hall ways was radio that was not tuned in, very annoying. The rooms have a problem with noise pollution and the decor was ols a dated. The hotel charge for wifi and the hot water needs to be switched ob at least 2 hours before you shower!!! The room was not cleaned properly as I found hairs on the old rugs, the was a suite by the way. This is a low 3 star in a dirty part of town.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OpsOps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
0.3 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel Apartments - Bur Dubai
0.1 mi away
Regal Plaza Hotel Dubai
Regal Plaza Hotel Dubai
#329 of 545 in Dubai
237 reviews
0.4 mi away
Savoy Crest Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
London Crown Hotel
London Crown Hotel
#276 of 545 in Dubai
134 reviews
0.3 mi away
Moon Valley Hotel Apartments
0.2 mi away
Imperial Hotel Apartments
Imperial Hotel Apartments
#417 of 545 in Dubai
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Hotel

Property: Rainbow Hotel
Address: Rainbow Hotel Khalid Bin Al Waleed Rd | Khalid Bin Al Waleed Road, 111, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #399 of 545 Hotels in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rainbow Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rainbow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing