We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just outside of Dubai - beautiful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Movenpick Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel Dubai
Ranked #40 of 565 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We stayed for 6 nights in June on all inclusive basis. We arrived early in the morning from an over night flight, the receptionist advised we could have our room immediately which was great.
The best bits about this hotel:
1. The indian restaurant - the service, ambiance and food was all amazing, by far the best restaurant at the hotel - the local speciality set meal is a must!
2. There is a shuttle bus to the beach club which is fantastic (all inclussive can be used here too for drinks, snacks and lunch) beautiful pool with lazy river, lots of sun loungers and beautiful private beach with a spectacular view of dubai sky line.
3. Local metro station 5 min walk from the hotel really handy to see more of Dubai, very clean, trains every few minutes and all announcements in English too which is helpful.
The only complaints i have with the hotel - (which still wouldn't stop me going back as we plan to soon) Are the service in the Italian restaurant - we were in there almost 3 hours due to slow service. Also the internet you would expect a hotel of this standard to have free wifi, i was given a password to use for free wifi but then was given a bill for it on the last day which i disputed.
The location of the hotel wasn't pretty - a big motorway along side the hotel, a metro station and shopping mall over the road with a large food court.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor as the first couple of floors are open over looking the bar area so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe B, General Manager at Movenpick Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel Dubai, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Such a nice review, it was a pleasure to read.

We're glad that we were able to provide you your room upon arrival early in the morning. Your rest and relaxation after a long journey is our top-most priority the very moment you arrive.

The team at Chor Bazaar is delighted to hear that you found them to be the best. Your comments is all the reward the team needs.

The beach club at the Palm is a prime location for the holiday-seekers. With the all-inclusive deal, it's great to see our guests enjoy the sun uninterrupted.

Your feedback about the service in Sicilia has been noted and is of great concern to us. Our Food and Beverage manager is reviewing the process to rectify the service delays in our restaurants immediately.

I'm very sorry to hear though that you had a glitch with your internet service. The hotel does offer complimentary internet access to all guests, with an option to increase the speed at a cost. However, I do agree that this should have been more clearly communicated. Glad to know that it was rectified from your bill prior to your departure.

Again, thanks for taking the time to write your experience with us and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next holiday in Dubai.

Kind Regards,
Philippe Bonnot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,771)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,107 - 5,113 of 6,771 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2012

I've just returned from a weeks stay at the Battuta Gate with my husband and parents, we booked this trip for my Birthday and decided on this resort due to the fact it was AI and very reasonably priced! This was mine & my husbands 3rd visit to Dubai and it didn't let us down. Cannot believe the amount actually included for the money we paid, food and drinks were excellent. My parents were extremely pleased with the hotel, I don't share the same enthusiasm if I'm honest - only because I'm spoilt with other resorts we have stayed in so thats just me being very very fussy! Rooms, Bars etc all spotless and everything was finished to a high standard as you would expect with Dubai! Oceana beach club was absolutely fab and in a way made the holiday, the fact this is included is a huge bonus with the resort. All the staff down the beach club were excellent. Only niggle I have is I found the service quite slow in the hotel especially with the restaurants not being that busy, we'd been in the Italian 2 hours one evening the food was that slow we left before I even had chance for dessert we had waited that long we were all ready for bed! As for those people moaning about the location of the hotel what do you expect! All the info is clear as to where the hotel is located, taxis out and about are dirt cheap so we didn't see this as an issue at all. All in all we will return to this hotel for the value for money and I have already started to look for 10 nights for next year :-)

Room Tip: Ask for a mall facing room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank clarendolce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe B, General Manager at Movenpick Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel Dubai, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing you recent stay with the TripAdvisor community.

Our all-inclusive packages are winning over our guests with its value for money coupled with a vast selection of high-quality food and beverage outlets. We always keep in mind that all our offerings are kept at the right price-point with excellent value.

The team takes great pride in keeping our guest environments in its best shape. Glad to know that your parents were extremely pleased by the hotel.

It's great that the Oceana Beach Club gave you a great holiday. The beach club at the Palm is the best location to get some of that Dubai sun for a tan, or just a lazy afternoon with a cool drink in hand. Rest assured your comments will be passed along to the team.

The feedback about the service delay has been noted, we acknowledge that this has been a recurring comment amongst our guests. We're reviewing our processes to ensure our guests receive a speedy service all the time.

Most guests do find our location unique but I definitely agree that with the vast availability of cheap taxis and the efficient Metro service, you can practically reach anywhere in Dubai in a matter of minutes.

Thanks again for writing your review and we're hoping you choose us on your next holiday in Dubai.

Kind Regards,
Philippe Bonnot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Sorry this review is rather late. The wife and I stayed at the hotel back in March as part of a group of 30 on a company trip. We had been booked in on the all inclusive package and stayed for 4 nights. Our room was very clean and had everything you would expect from an executive style hotel, lovely bathroom with 2 showers and a well comfy king size bed. The hotel has a shuttle that takes you to a private beach club which also is included in the all inclusive tariff including drinks and food.

The restaurants are to die for, so much to eat in o little time! The Moroccan restaurant is not only authentic but fresh as can be, you choose what raw food you wish to eat and the chef cooks it for you (ready in about 10 minutes). The Chinese is the best we've ever had, the steak malted in your mouth, the lobster was Devine as we're the dumplings. At the end of the meal we would have been presented with a bill of £200, but fortunately just signed for the meal ( it was so good I wouldn't have even minded paying). We missed breakfast each morning as we couldn't get up in time, but just headed to the pool on the roof and was served lobster club sandwiches about 11am for brunch, again to die for and made me glad I had missed breakfast.

The best bar is the Moroccan bar, outside in a sunken area with comfortable seating, hubbly bubbly pipes and squewered  meat snacks served at all hours (we were often still in the bar at 3am? The hotel is on the outskirts of the town but served by a train station close by. All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our trip, only downside I could add is the staff were rather slow when it came to serving at the bars, especially the main terrace which on one occasion led us to go to another bar in the hotel as we hadn't been served after sitting at the bar for 15 minutes?

Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
1  Thank Redcap246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe B, General Manager at Movenpick Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel Dubai, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2012

Dear Guest,

What a great read for me and the team.

Apologies are certainly not necessary--better late than never. My sincere thanks for writing such rave reviews of the hotel.

Our chefs will be delighted to know that we've found quite a fan in you courtesy of our food offerings. Such hard work rewarded with resounding praise is all the team needs to keep doing better.

You'll be glad to know that we're currently working on a few surprises to make Shanghai Chic an even better dining destination, definitely something to look forward to. Glad to know that you enjoyed our Moroc Bar as well, it's a perfect place to sample a little of that Dubai summer heat. Although I am sorry to hear that there was a bit of delay in the service, rest assured your comments have been shared with the team to avoid this from happenning again.

It certainly sounds like you had a fantastic time with us, and once again thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the TripAdvisor community.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Having been a little dubious on the location, this was not relevant at all for our 5 day break. Met at the airport no problem, 25 mins later being checked in the hotel. We only opted for the standard room and it was excellent. Spotless and a good size. No balconies which is usually a must for me but there isn't a "view" and too hot to sit out anyway the time of year we went.
The hotel seemed to be half full with a lot of locals present during the day time in the lobby. The value for money on the all inclusive is the particular highlight. Good branded spirits such as Smirnoff Vodka and Stella lager if you want a strong beer. The wine in the restaurants is also very good. Make sure your trip takes in a Friday, the brunch is just fantastic and part of your all inclusive deal. We had our table at 12.30 and with little leisurely breaks we were still hanging around at 4.30pm, everyone enjoys themselves on what is essentially Sunday lunch out for locals and ex-pats.
Our favourite restaurants were the Chinese and Indian, the crispy duck in the Chinese is one of the best we have had and the lamb biriyani again a must. Don't be shy, everything is included on the menus they give you!
The pool is very nice, half in shade in the morning and the other in the afternoon. Pool service is good but you do have to try and catch their eye no and then as they do seem to be a bit short staffed up there with one poor guy running around trying to serve everyone.
The Oceana Club is also great, free buses run like clockwork on the hour from the hotel and on the half hour back from the club. We were told by Concierge that West 14 restaurant is not open for lunch down at the club. Top tip - it is and its all inclusive apart from a few grill items and lovely and air conditioned, too hot to eat out down there.
Enjoyed a shishka outside at the Morroc bar in the evenings - top guy BRENDAN thank you for looking after us! Very hot out there and although the fans were on they are capable of having the spray function on which I have seen in Vegas which really does help to cool down the air around you - Please get this working for future guests!

Bit of a con not letting you have anything on the all inclusive until 3pm on the day of arrival which is the only bad point and for what it would cost them, just add £50 to the room rate and scrap this idea!

All in all, highly recommended and we will return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JBWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe B, General Manager at Movenpick Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel Dubai, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent experience with us.

We are glad that you chose to stay with us on an all-inclusive deal. It gives us the opportunity to spoil our guests with the most sumptuous food & beverage selections in Dubai. We do make every effort to ensure our guests enjoy a Dubai holiday with a hearty meal.

Our chefs are pleased to know that you enjoyed the crispy duck in Shanghai Chic and the lamb biryani in Chor Bazaar. Thank you as well for such lovely comments about the Friday Brunch, it's becoming a premiere dining destination for locals & visitors alike.

The Oceana Beach Club by the Palm is the perfect place to get some sun and sand. Dubai during summer months is the place to get that ultimate sunshine, unfortunately the heat can get overpowering--best to pack a good sunblock and a few drinks from the bar to keep you hydrated and ready for an afternoon swim.

Your comment about the pool staffing has been noted, and will be reviewed to enhance the customer service experience in that area. Glad to know that Brendan was able to look after you very well, rest assured your feedback will be passed on to him.

Thank you for your suggestion on the water mist by the fans, we'll have the team look into the possibility of putting this in the Moroc Bar.

I apologize if you were disappointed with the unavailability of the all-inclusive option prior to the check-in time. The team is constantly making sure that this is communicated to our travel partners so it doesn't happen again. We'll also review your recommendation to expand our all-inclusive options to start earlier and offer flexibility to our guests.

We truly appreciate your feedback and we look forward to your return.

Kind Regards,
Philippe Bonnot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

I stay in this hotel on business and it is definitely a favourite of mine and my colleagues. It is situated next to a metro station so getting around Dubai is easy from here.
The food is the best food I have tasted in a hotel and the presentation superb.

Friday brunch is about £45 each and is 12pm - 4pm and eat and drink as much as you like. Each room has different selection of food. The dessert room is like a little jewellery store with caskets and trinkets full of desserts.
On a normal day the Chinese restaurant is lovely with good quality meat. Room service is also exceptional quality.

I am returning to Dubai in October but sadly have been booked in a different hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kingy-bell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe B, General Manager at Movenpick Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel Dubai, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Your feedback is a delight to read.

Thank you for choosing the Moevenpick Hotel Ibn Battuta gate as your favorite destination for your business stays. Just a few minutes from the Metro system, it's a great and convenient way to connect to Dubai's financial hubs for your meetings.

Your sensational feedback on the food offerings will be shared with the team, our new Executive Chef will be happy to hear you found us to be the best.

Our Friday brunch is a great way to spend the weekend in Dubai. Great food, good company and a fantastic backdrop of Arabia is a relaxing environment for a weary business traveller. Thanks as well for writing a lovely review of Shanghai Chic & our in-room dining service.

We look forward to welcoming you again on one of your trips to Dubai.

Kind Regards,
Philippe Bonnot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Stayed for a week at the Ibn Battuta all inclusive executive room. Overall had a good experience:

- room was comfortable and well laid out but cleaning was a bit patchy, especially in between the twin beds which appeared not to have been hoovered. Windows were filthy on the outside probably due to the sandy terrain - not quite 5*

- hotel lobby bar was fantastic and the waiting staff were all very good. Reception staff were prompt and efficient and they managed to check us in at 9am when the official check in time was 3pm.

- food was excellent - best restaurant was the Shanghai Chic although all were brilliant and the variety was above expectations. Friday brunch is well worth attending. We went all inclusive which is definitely a great deal.

- location is good, not much around the hotel but taxis are cheap and the underground is 5 mins walk. The shuttle to the Oceana Beach Club was simple to use, the beach was very nice and worth a visit.

- our two biggest negatives were:

1) a mix up on the booking system meant we were incorrectly registered as all inclusive which meant and we didn't receive our all inclusive card/ information until day two.

2) the pool side service, which we feel is definitely something the management need to take note of, the waiters were very friendly and efficient but most days there was only one when in fact two or three were needed to serve the drinks/food in a timely manner. Having to wait 40mins for a bottle of water in 45c heat was ridiculous. Similarly when ordering food, on one day it took an hour and a half for the food to arrive. The delays became so annoying that we stopped ordering food there.

Overall, we would return and would recommend this hotel to friends and family.

Finally, the breakfast choice in the executive lounge could have a few options. Even two options would be good. It got a little tiring have eggs 6 mornings in a row!

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Stephen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe B, General Manager at Movenpick Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel Dubai, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us.

It's great that you found our rooms to be comfortable and well laid out. A good night's sleep makes a happy traveller. Your feedback with regards to the room cleanliness has been highlighted to our Executive Housekeeper for review so it doesn't happen again.

Although we try to maintain the hotel exteriors in as much pristine quality as possible, the unforgiving Dubai weather conditions can be uncooperative to our efforts. I'm sorry about that.

Thank you as well for such rave reviews of our food and the lobby bar. Al Bahou is a great place to unwind, have a few drinks, or just sit back and admire the backdrop of excellent Arabian architecture.

Very sorry to hear though that there were some glitches in your booking and the pool service. We will look into your feedback and review what can be done to enhance our service and offerings.

Your valued recommendation and return is much appreciated.

Kind Regards,
Philippe Bonnot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

This is my second trip in a month - I was here during Ramadan and I am now here again post Eid. The majority of staff are very curtious; unfortunately the menus in all three themed restaurants I find limited compared to other hotels in the area. Laundry service is a little bemusing, if I send my laundry by 7AM I expect it to be in my room by at least 6-7PM - NEVER !!! I always have to call guest services to get it - this is something I find particularly annoying.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AksaiOiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe B, General Manager at Movenpick Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel Dubai, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We appreciate your comments regarding the menu selection. Our chefs will review and see if there is anything else we can add to enrich your experience.

We have highlighted to the team the laundry service over the past few weeks has been poor. The team is looking into better ways to get the quick turnaround promised as this is a special request in the hotel. I agree that this can be annoying and I am sorry for any inconvenience caused.

Again, thank you for taking the time to share you experience with the TripAdvisor community.

Kind Regards,
Philippe Bonnot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
The Marina
Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach
Shangri-La Hotel, Dubai
#14 of 565 in Dubai
825 reviews
The Marina
Movenpick Hotel Jumeirah Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The H Dubai
#15 of 565 in Dubai
1,761 reviews
The Oberoi, Dubai
#8 of 565 in Dubai
2,027 reviews
Rixos The Palm Dubai
#26 of 565 in Dubai
3,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel Dubai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel Dubai

Address: Sheikh Zayed Road | Adjacent to Ibn Battuta Shopping Mall, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 565 Hotels in Dubai
Price Range: £93 - £282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel Dubai 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mövenpick Hotel Ibn Battuta Gate Dubai features a statuesque gateway that is larger than the ‘Arc de Triomphe’ in Paris. The 396-room hotel is located next to Ibn Battuta Mall and Cineplex at the very heart of ‘New Dubai’. Inspired by the travels of the 14th century Arabian explorer, Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel’s Grand Hall features 88 enormous eastern-style lanterns and it is also the ‘gateway’ to the hotel’s equally iconic six restaurants. The Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel offers a true ‘design and taste journey’ that spans the Near East, Far East, Middle East and Arab-African radius our namesake travelled through in his epic 30-year journey. The hotel has 6 restaurants including a Chinese, Indian and Italian. There is a nightclub and supper club on the property discretely positioned. Our sister property, Oceana Beach Club, is located on the Palm Jumeirah with swimming pools, a lazy river and private beach. We offer complimentary shuttles to and from the Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Holiday Gems, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelbag, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Movenpick Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel Dubai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing