We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb in everyway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Movenpick Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel Dubai
Ranked #37 of 546 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Glos
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Superb in everyway”
Reviewed 9 December 2012

We have recently returned from a wonderful holiday at the IBN Battuta Gate Hotel. We stayed on an all inclusive basis which was superb value for money. There were 6 Adults in the party, the youngest 2 being 24 years old, who agreed unanimously that this hotel ticked every box. We found all of the staff to be helpful, courteous and friendly at all times, nothing was too much trouble. Special mention must go to the following...Jacqueline, Judith and GP in the coffee lounge, Joules in the Chinese restaurant ( where we had the best ever Chinese meal) and sunshine and Robert in the Moroc Bar.
We have stayed in Dubai many times before at beautiful hotels but this one surpasses them all. As frequent visitors we will indeed be staying here again
Well done to you all
Mark & Tricia Shaw room 825 November 2012

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gilly1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris E, Manager at Movenpick Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel Dubai, responded to this review, 27 December 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor. We are glad to know that you had enjoyed your overall stay with us at Mövenpick Hotel Ibn Battuta Gate Dubai and were pleased with the facilities and service.

Thank you once again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards
Chris El Khoury
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,046 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,489
    1,208
    244
    64
    41
See reviews for
1,422
2,122
207
1,315
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (764)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2012

The reason we booked this hotel was for it having access to beach (shuttle to beach, which should be more frequented, esp. in the morning, it should leave earlier than 10 a.m.), city access by metro and bus. In 30 minutes you are at the Burj Khalifa, in 40 minutes in the old city and 50 -60 minutes at the airport. The Ibne Battuta mall - like the hotel- built according to the different journey destinations of the great muslims traveller Ibne Battuta and laid ot as small museum, has all facilites for entertainment and shopping, We booked without breakfast by mistake and made this our chance to escape the food at the buffets and kept a low key. We managed very satisfacorily thanx to the mall! Special mention goes to the interior of the hotel and its lobby. the green arabic coffee, which is a MUST TASTE - pls do!! And the swmimming pool on the 8th floor. Guests are mixed from everywhere, families with young kids as well as business excutives, Europeans, Asians, Arabs

Cleanliness is very highly maintained, the room (deluxe) was very spacious and comfortable, with all necessary facilities required including an iron ( I wish European hotels would listen read this!)

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank musaafir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris E, Manager at Movenpick Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel Dubai, responded to this review, 13 December 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time in posting your review. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that you found our hotel location convenient to you. Your comments about the room comfort and cleanliness motivate us to keep our standards high to always satisfy our guests’ needs.
I will make sure share your suggestion about the shuttle bus schedule to Oceana beach club with the concerned department and I hope you will enjoy the beach for longer hours on your next visit. We look forward to welcoming you back at Mövenpick hotel Ibn Battuta Gate

Kindest regards
Chris El Khoury
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2012 via mobile

From operator to start with Miss Mylene Britaniko should learn manners first not just knowing how to pick up and transfer call or worse is to have the call BANGED in the callers face!!!
After going through another operator got finally connected to the reception desk and spoke to Mulud only to note down a message and then spell the message as per word and when ask to repeat it he said "honestly I didn't got your message only your number"!!! I can't believe that this people manage to work in hotel. Now what else to expect but poor incompetent Cheapest service ever!! Note to the GM, don't ever think that your the only hotel there are nice and beautiful hotel try to train your staff!!! Maybe people will be thinking and considering staying in your hotel!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ArCieVee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris E, Manager at Movenpick Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel Dubai, responded to this review, 13 December 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We discuss all guests’ comments and appreciate your candid feedback.
We are sorry to hear that our telephone operator service did not live up to your expectation and
have shared this with the relevant departments. We would like to request for you to send us an email to social.ibnbattuta@moevenpick.com with your contact details for further investigation.
Kindest regards

Chris El Khoury
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks District, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Stayed in this lovely hotel for 3 nights as a short stopover in Dubai.

We stayed on a room and breakfast basis and the quality of the rooms, pool, breakfast and staff were very high fully warranting the 5 star rating. Our room was an 'executive' on the 8th floor which had plenty of room, lovely spacious en suite with excellent facilities.

We arrived early in the morning from our flight from Gatwick and had to wait a short while until the room was prepared. The staff gave us complimentary tea and coffee which was good but what we really needed was a shower. So if you are arriving early try and make sure your room is ready for you if possible. This wasn't the hotels fault just a bit of poor planning on our part.

One night we ate in the chinese restaurant in the hotel and we both believe this was one of the best chinse meals we ever had. The food is excellent and the service very attentive without being overbearing.

The help yourself breakfast buffet in the morning has a huge selection of food covering all tastes from all over the world from a good old full english to sushi!

Talking to friends after staying here, the Movenpick hotel chain group is Swiss and they have a
very good name; which we can confirm is fully justified.

One point to bear in mind the hotel is located at the far western end of Dubai so it takes about 45 minutes by taxi transfer to the international airport which is at the eastern end of Dubai. However, as long as you plan for this - not a problem. Also, the metro station is only 400 metres from the hotel which provides very good and easy links to the centre of Dubai and all that shopping.

Don't forget to try out the swimming pool on the 8th floor, which has attentive staff who will get you drinks etc. very quickly.

Room Tip: Try for the 8th floor because the excellent pool is immediately outside your room1
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris E, Manager at Movenpick Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel Dubai, responded to this review, 13 December 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and experienced the friendly service our colleagues are renowned for.
We are pleased that you were also able to visit some of our restaurants. On your next visit, we highly recommend you dine in our Indian restaurant Chor Bazaar to enjoy the modern Thali experience.

Kindest regards
Chris El Khoury
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012 via mobile

Great value 5 star hotel.

Near the metro so can get to it from the airport for £1, although takes 40min.

Mall across the road.

Few mins in taxi to Marina for top restaurants or use metro to get around all of Dubai very cheaply.

Book minibus to beach club (free) early as it gets full.

Rooftop pool is stunning.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TVLovesMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris E, Manager at Movenpick Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel Dubai, responded to this review, 13 December 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your prompt positive feedback. We appreciate your recommendation of our hotel as great value for money and that you found our location was convenient for you during your visit.
We would look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards
Chris El Khoury
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Not usually a fan of AI, but the Ibn Battuta brought a whole new experience. Gone were the boring repetitive buffets you usually get on AI - you could have top of the range dinning experience. All the staff were professional, attentive and helpful. The trip to the Oceana Beach Club was not the chore we feared, it was a great experience, we would single out Deepak for his attentiveness. Every morning Rodlan would welcome us at the door, with his cheerfulness, nothing was too much trouble for him and the team.
The hotel location was great next to the mall and within a few minutes walk to the fantastic monorail, so moving around Dubai wad so easy.
The Friday brunch was superb and we would recommend it. The AI choice was excellent value for money. No complaints it wad a fab holiday. Thank you to everyone at the hotel for making it such an enjoyable experience. Richard Collins/ Gill Moy

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sherwooddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris E, Manager at Movenpick Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel Dubai, responded to this review, 13 December 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and were able to experience our lavish culinary options as well as the Oceana beach club.
We have shared your feedback with the relevant departments whom were thrilled to know that they have made your experience a memorable one. We look forward to welcoming you again!

Kindest regards
Chris El Khoury
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012 via mobile

Stayed at Ibn Battuta for 3 nights recently as part of a trip for my wife's birthday. We stayed in an executive room on the 10th floor which included use of the executive lounge and transfers. We arrived at the hotel at about 10.30pm and we were told that the restaurants close at 11pm, so we dumped our bags and went to mistral buffet restaurant. They were packing up and made sure we were aware of it. It was not an enjoyable meal, we were rushed and there wasn't much choice as it was being taken away. The hotel knew exactly when we would be arriving as they had flight details and provided the transfer, it would have been nice if they had offered room service as an alternative on our first night given that we had paid for half board.
The following night, we booked to eat at the Italian restaurant. We were shocked to see the extremely limited menu from which half board guests have to choose. Why is this when AI guests have choice from the full menus, surely this is the wrong way around. The food was well presented, but the choice was terrible and as a regular traveller to Italy, the food was bland and dissapointing.
We ate at the Indian the following night, which was better than the Italian, but still a very limited menu.
The executive lounge was great and the service from Marshall was very good. Breakfast in the exec lounge was good as was afternoon tea and canapés. Breakfast at mistral was poor, pastries stale and not up to five star standards.
The rooms were really lovely, as was the decor in public areas. Oceana beach club was nice, stunning view, but a little down market. The hotel pool was quiet and relaxing and no problem getting beds.
One thing which struck us as a problem was the need to be at the hotel to take advantage of the exec package, given the hotel's location and this would be the same with AI. The mall next to the hotel isn't great, good to walk around for an hour and use the supermarket, but that's it.
On checkout our bill had an item on for 70dhs, which wasn't ours. This was removed, but with no apology. Service in general was ok, but not up to Dubai five star standards. Our return transfer was used to take us to our next hotel, grovesnor house in Dubai marina, while the driver was polite, he had no idea where to go or even what the hotel looked like, this was strange and took about 20 minutes longer than necessary.
I would possibly consider returning, but definitely not of half board, bed and breakfast or perhaps AI, but it would have to be a good deal.
I'd give the place 3.5 if I could given that the rooms were lovely, but the hotel can't natch the more upmarket chains for service. The half board issue spoiled it for us.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravLux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris E, Manager at Movenpick Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel Dubai, responded to this review, 13 December 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Mövenpick Hotel Ibn Battuta Gate Dubai. I’m pleased to hear that you liked your room and the hotel decoration, as well as our relaxing pool and Oceana beach club. We are happy to hear that our staff has impressed you with their level of service. I am also happy to see that you enjoyed the food at Chor Bazaar.
Regarding your comments on the half board issue you faced upon your arrival and check out, which clearly fell far short of an acceptable standard, have been well received and corrective actions are being undertaken by the concerned department. I was very pleased to read that you will return to the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kindest regards
Chris El Khoury
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
The Marina
Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach
The Marina
Grosvenor House Dubai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The H Dubai
#19 of 546 in Dubai
1,357 reviews
Grand Hyatt Dubai
#40 of 546 in Dubai
3,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel Dubai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel Dubai

Property: Movenpick Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel Dubai
Address: Sheikh Zayed Road | Adjacent to Ibn Battuta Shopping Mall, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 546 Hotels in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel Dubai 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mövenpick Hotel Ibn Battuta Gate Dubai features a statuesque gateway that is larger than the ‘Arc de Triomphe’ in Paris. The 396-room hotel is located next to Ibn Battuta Mall and Cineplex at the very heart of ‘New Dubai’. Inspired by the travels of the 14th century Arabian explorer, Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel’s Grand Hall features 88 enormous eastern-style lanterns and it is also the ‘gateway’ to the hotel’s equally iconic six restaurants. The Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel offers a true ‘design and taste journey’ that spans the Near East, Far East, Middle East and Arab-African radius our namesake travelled through in his epic 30-year journey. The hotel has 6 restaurants including a Chinese, Indian and Italian. There is a nightclub and supper club on the property discretely positioned. Our sister property, Oceana Beach Club, is located on the Palm Jumeirah with swimming pools, a lazy river and private beach. We offer complimentary shuttles to and from the Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Holiday Gems, Odigeo, Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Movenpick Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel Dubai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing