We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely relaxing holiday!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Movenpick Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel Dubai
Ranked #39 of 564 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 weeks this time and we just keep coming back. We love this hotel and I just wanted to mention a few of the staff from the hotel and the beach club who really looked after us and went out there way to help make another stay enjoyable. Paul, Eric, Stephanie and Vincent and Steven from the Beach Club and Jabil and Jia in the mistral. Deepak went out his way and set up a table in the Mistral and looked after us when the Mistral was closed on a Friday Brunch, we were really grateful as he didn't hesitate to help us. Concierge- Romel, Ankit from the lounge bar was very nice and helpful and Chit from the Chinese Restaurant which was wonderful.

I don't think you can please everyone, I look at the reviews and know that the staff and Management go out there way to help especially if you have any issues your not happy with. I think it's always best to mention any problems while your staying at the Hotel as they would hate for guests to go and for them to have not been able to make there holiday as enjoyable as possible. This is one of the reasons we keep returning that and the food! See you in September Ibn Battuta Gate!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lindyloo65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael N, General Manager at Movenpick Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel Dubai, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2013

Dear Lindy,
Thank you very much for your exceptional review.
I was extremely pleased to read you enjoyed your stay to such extent, as our main aim is to always provide our guests with the utmost level of service. I will make sure to personally thank Paul, Eric, Stephanie, Vincent, Steven, Jabil, Jia, Deepak, Romel and Chit for the excellent the service they have provided you with during your stay.
I am very happy to read Mövenpick Hotel Ibn Battuta Gate Dubai is your hotel of choice when visiting Dubai and look forward to welcoming you back in September.
Best Regards,
Michael Nugent
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,767)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,811 - 4,817 of 6,767 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2013

we have just returned frommovenpick ibn battuta gate, we have had a wonderful holiday, rooms were excellent, spotless & luxurious, food was to die for, the friday brunch was spectacular & the chinese resturant was our favourite. service was second to none, the staff are friendly and very very helpful nothing to much trouble.

we had this deal through travel zoo and was excellent value for money. we cant wait to go again

Room Tip: we were room 734 & 733, no problems at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 362ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael N, General Manager at Movenpick Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel Dubai, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your fantastic review on Tripadvisor.

I was extremely pleased to read you enjoyed your stay at the hotel to such extent, especially our facilities as well as our Friday Brunch in Al Bahou and our Shanghai Chic restaurant.
I will make sure to share your comments with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Mövenpick Hotel Ibn Battuta Gate Dubai during your next visit to Dubai.

Best Regards,

Michael Nugent
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We just returned from a 8 night stay at the hotel and thoroughly enjoyed it. We booked a fantastic all inclusive deal, but don't think this is some cheap hotel with poor service (which many all inclusive a can be).

Check in: We arrived early morning after a night flight and were warmly greater and luggage taken away swiftly. Reception obviously informed us that our room was not available but they would try their best to have the room available for 12 (which it was). We then sat down with guest relations who took their time to introduce the hotel, services and recommended attractions. We were then told our all inclusive starts straight away and were swiftly sat down for a buffet breakfast.

Pool: The pool is on the roof, but it is not a true roof top and has walls on three sides, sun worshippers will need to move to follow the sun. Service was very good and the waiter worked hard. We had a pool snack our first day which was excellent, I would certainly recommend the burger.

Beach: The beach is a 15 mins drive away, via a free shuttle, we booked the shuttle most evenings and never had a problem with a time slot. They put on extra buses when required. The bus was also prompt at arriving on time. The beach itself is on the Palm, so very nice indeed. The is also a large pool available here. Service was good, food again of a good standard, although a limited menu for all inclusive (there was a large non included menu).

Restaurants: There are 4, Italian, Indian, Chinese and the main buffet we visited each at least once. Each was of very good standard, most had lots of outside and inside paying customers, so shows the quality. We always ate well! We also found that after 12 (after a late evening out) the main restaurant is open with a large night menu (steak was lovely), which again was included.

Bars: There are two evening bars, one quiet and one busier. The drinks were great with a good selection of international brands. Service at the busier (outside) bar was a tad slow when full, but on the whole the service was great and attentive. They were happy to provide a few fresh drinks before our tab closed at 12.

Check out: Our luggage was quickly taken down from our room. On arrival at reception we had a few additional charges to pay, some of which were not correct, after a quick discussion with the manager these were removed and the bill paid. The porter had been waiting for us and once finished promptly pulled a taxi to the airport.

Overall fantastic time at this hotel including Oceana Beach Club, I would recommend a visit, we shall be back again soon!

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank sh33n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael N, General Manager at Movenpick Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel Dubai, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your fantastic review on your recent stay at our hotel.

I was extremely pleased to read you enjoyed your stay to such extent, especially our services and facilities, as well as our All Inclusive package benefits.

Please note I have discussed your feedback on the service in Moroc bar with the concerned manager and will make sure this is rectified immediately to avoid any service delays for future guests.

I would like to thank you for your recommendation to fellow tripadvisor travelers and hope to welcome you back at Mövenpick Hotel Ibn Battuta Gate Dubai.

Best Regards,

Michael Nugent
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights in May and I have to say the hotel is amazing. All the staff cannot do enough to make your stay a pleasant one. Our room was spacious and spotlessly clean with an amazing 8ft bed. All the restaurants are faultless and it's hard to single one for special praise, although I have to say that Govinder in the Indian restaurant is truly a lovely lovely guy who went out of his way to ensure we had an excellent dining experience, "thanks Govinder" The hotel isn't on a beach location but there is a rooftop pool which is very nice and a shuttle bus is on hand to take you to the Oceana Beach Club which is awesome, the trip takes about 20 mins. The hotel is situated 5 mins walk from the Metro station which will take you to all the shopping areas, costs about £4 for an all day pass, these have to be the cleanest trains I have ever been on. We really don't have anything negative to say about this hotel, if you are thinking of visiting, don't hesitate, you won't be disappointed. We will return sometime in the future no doubt about that! Thanks to everyone at the Ibn Battuta Gate for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the motorway and power station but that didn't worry us, we were hardl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andy5161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael N, General Manager at Movenpick Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel Dubai, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2013

Dear Andy,

Thank you very much for such an excellent review on your recent stay at Mövenpick Hotel Ibn Battuta Gate Dubai.

I was very pleased to read such fantastic feedback on all areas for the hotel and I will make sure to personally thank Govinder for the service he provided you with during your meal at Chor Bazaar.

Thank you for your recommendation to fellow travelers, we look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to Dubai.

Best Regards,

Michael Nugent
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

I was very disappointed to see a what was called a petting zoo in the dining room for brunch. These poor animals were brought in in tiny boxes at the end of the packed dining room to entertain children. They were badly handled by the Indian men that cart them around and children were allowed to treat them as no more than toys. A dog was thrown in a tiny pen with many of the animals and squeals followed when one of the animals was bitten. If you want your children to have a learning experience about pets then this is the last place you should think about going. Very sad!

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank AlSaf12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael N, General Manager at Movenpick Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel Dubai, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2013

Dear Tracey,

Thank you for your feedback on your experience during our Friday Brunch.

Please rest assured we have taken immediate action regarding your comments and we have removed the petting zoo facilities from our brunch with immediate effect. I fully understand and indeed agree with your comments. The contract was ending in two weeks’ time and was our natural opportunity to cease it. However we have taken the step to cease it immediately. We certainly do not want animals to suffer at any time and in any respect.

Our team will be in touch with you shortly in regards to your feedback and I hope to be able to put your worries to rest in regards to this incident.

Best Regards,

Michael Nugent
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Excellent hotel!! Excellent location!!! Excellent service!!! Will definitely stay here again!!! Even though it is not close to beach, the shuttle takes to the beach few times per day and the private beach for this hotel is beautiful!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sas_foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael N, General Manager at Movenpick Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel Dubai, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your fantastic review on your recent stay with us.

I am very pleased to read you enjoyed your stay to such extent and look forward to welcoming you back at Mövenpick Hotel Ibn Battuta Gate Dubai during you next visit to Dubai.

Best Regards,

Michael Nugent
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a fantastic stay at this hotel. At the far end of sheikh zayed road, this gem is ideally located close to the fantastic metro service - making up for its distance from downtown dubai. It boasts a namesake mall, located just opposite, beautifully made to evoke a sense of euphoria through its themed decor, celebrating the great traveller ibn battuta's journeys.

Metro is quick and cheap and self service ticket machines easily comprehensible. There are stops to all major attractions: dubai mall, emirates mall, burj khalifa etc.
The metro does run late on Fridays, about 1pm, as it is a holiday for most. Taxis are easily available from outside hotel, usually congregated close to the mall and are metered- our journey to burj khalifa was approx 15-20 mins and cost 53aed (approx £10)
Buses also run from outside the metro, though slower than the metro, very cheap to use.

The hotel itself is wonderfully decorated, at first it seems quite dark but you soon realise that this only adds to its appeal. The reception and concierge are extremely courteous especially Seraj- young chap at front desk. The hotel has an indian and oriental restaurant, both boast delightfully tasty menus. There is also a morrocan themed club which was closed due to religious observations the day we arrived but was bustling with both in house guests and others who had made reservations.

There is a business centre on the ground floor which allows guests to a complimentary 10mins computer use but charges vary thereafter.
The glass lift allows guests to enjoy birds eye views of the fantastic interior decor and admire the huge hanging lanterns. Floors are themed eg first floor china, 10th floor andalusia etc.

Rooms are beautifully decorated and have all the amenities required for a comfortable stay. The bathroom has a glass panel, which can be viewed through the bedroom and has a reclinable shutter for privacy. We had a lovely mall view room and since we were on the 10th floor, the view seemed even better.

There is a nice rooftop pool on the 8th floor, quite shady at times but warm enough on those blistering warm days- just be ready to swap sides to catch the sun as it extends its rays to either side of the pool. There is also a fitness centre located just by the pool and fresh fruit available for those avid fitness freaks. The fitness suite is occupied by various machines, treadmills, cross trainers and abdominals and also has televisions to keep you entertained.

The breakfast range is ample and cooks are at hand for your custom made ommelettes and fry ups. From indian paratha with rajma to japanese sushi- the taste is delectable. You will no doubt feel over fed on most mornings, like we often found.

Room service is wonderful and attendants kind and generous. Thr turn down service too was timely and efficient. The water in the room is complimentary and topped up daily. There is also a tea/coffee machine in the room and a minibar replenished daily.

If you fancy some beach, no worry! Just book a shuttle with concierge with your desired pick up and drop off times and you will be whisked to the Oceana club- a brisk 15-20 min drive where a lazy river and long strip of beach with a skyscraper view awaits you. Usually a days notice is required but late requests are often accomodated if seats on shuttle are available. Be sure to have your wristband attached before you reach to allow hassle-free entry. Shuttle times are displayed behind reception and can be requested too.
Overall, a wonderful stay abd will be sure to come back soon.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShanLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael N, General Manager at Movenpick Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel Dubai, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your fantastic review on your recent stay at Mövenpick Hotel Ibn Battuta Gate Dubai.
I was extremely pleased to read you enjoyed our facilities and services to such an extent, especially our proximity to the metro and our complimentary shuttle service and access to Oceana Beach Club.
I will make sure to personally share your comments with Ankit from Moroc Bar as well as Seraj from Front Office.
We will look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to Dubai and thank you for your recommendation to fellow Tripadvisor travelers.
Best Regards,
Michael Nugent
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
The Marina
Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach
Shangri-La Hotel, Dubai
#14 of 564 in Dubai
823 reviews
The Marina
Movenpick Hotel Jumeirah Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The H Dubai
#15 of 564 in Dubai
1,757 reviews
The Oberoi, Dubai
#8 of 564 in Dubai
2,024 reviews
Rixos The Palm Dubai
#26 of 564 in Dubai
3,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel Dubai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel Dubai

Address: Sheikh Zayed Road | Adjacent to Ibn Battuta Shopping Mall, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 564 Hotels in Dubai
Price Range: £94 - £282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel Dubai 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mövenpick Hotel Ibn Battuta Gate Dubai features a statuesque gateway that is larger than the ‘Arc de Triomphe’ in Paris. The 396-room hotel is located next to Ibn Battuta Mall and Cineplex at the very heart of ‘New Dubai’. Inspired by the travels of the 14th century Arabian explorer, Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel’s Grand Hall features 88 enormous eastern-style lanterns and it is also the ‘gateway’ to the hotel’s equally iconic six restaurants. The Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel offers a true ‘design and taste journey’ that spans the Near East, Far East, Middle East and Arab-African radius our namesake travelled through in his epic 30-year journey. The hotel has 6 restaurants including a Chinese, Indian and Italian. There is a nightclub and supper club on the property discretely positioned. Our sister property, Oceana Beach Club, is located on the Palm Jumeirah with swimming pools, a lazy river and private beach. We offer complimentary shuttles to and from the Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Travelbag, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Movenpick Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel Dubai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing