We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Movenpick Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel Dubai
Ranked #38 of 556 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We loved everything about this hotel.The staff where wonderful and always ready to help and give advice.The free shuttle to the beach club was really good and we never had a problem with it as long as you booked the night before.We tried all the restaurants and liked them all our favourite was the Italian.Would go back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mavis003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael N, General Manager at Movenpick Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel Dubai, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear Mavis,
Thank you for sharing your wonderful review on your recent stay at Mövenpick Hotel Ibn Battuta Gate.
I was very pleased to read you enjoyed your stay to such extent, especially our complimentary transfers to Oceana Beach Club as well as our dining offering in the hotel. I will make sure to personally share your kind comments with the team
We thank you for your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best Regards,
Michael Nugent
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,425)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,335 - 4,341 of 6,426 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2014

Second family visit to this hotel. Usually second visits don't match up to first visits but in this case it was even better. My last review of this hotel gave it a glowing report but this is exceeded this time. The levels of service from arriving in the car continued throughout our stay. The hotel is immaculately clean thanks to the hardworking and dedicated housekeeping staff without whom the ambiance would be affected. The reception staff were pleasant, efficient and most helpful. The room being large, well equipped and very very comfortable, yes the view and location is not anything to write home about but I'm more than happy to sacrifice this for the other benefits this hotel offers.
The restaurants deliver first class food and beverages, having taken the "Culinary Flight" experience at the Burj Al Arab i can confidently say that "The Gate" delivers a fantastic choice of meals that are delivered with care and attention.
The staff in the restaurants are efficient, polite and anticipate requirements without prompting there is little I could add for improvement. The bar staff at Majlis all proved to be as nice as they are polite delivering drinks with a smile, knowing what we wanted at different times of the day showed that they notice customers and anticipate their needs/requirements.
Departmental managers are very helpful, know guests names and are happy and willing to provide service beyond that is expected. Each day we would be asked if everything was to our satisfaction and if there was anything extra we required. This said we would observe the efficiency with which they conducted the staff in their charge ensuring that the guests were attended to in a first class way. A big thank you to Kenneth Mayol assistant manager at Majlis for his attentiveness and to Orsolya Meszaros for her quiet efficiency and immense charm.
These compliments are also directed toward the Oceania Beach, a lovely place to chill and relax
We would like to thank those that made this stay a most pleasurable stay, The guys waiting at the door to welcome us as we went in and out, Romel for his never ending smile and welcome, Sumi at Majlis for his anticipation of a VAT, Erlene for her pleasant conversation and efficiency in service. Nez (Captain Crash) for his exemplary service and anticipation of needs, Jibil with his hand always waiting to guide you to a seat. it is difficult to highlight one person who stood out from the rest but if there was one who i would put forward as employee of the month I would choose Myint. she has been at the hotel only a short time but watching how she went about her work with a constant smile, politeness that came from within and not forced was a delight. Reading menu's so that she could explain ingredients to customers and suggesting items from the menu that complimented each other. We watched her spending time learning the location of each item behind the bar, from each bottle to ice tongs so that she could lay her hand on things without looking. Movenpick have a manager in the making here.
Finally this review would not be complete without mentioning the smile that greets us each time we enter the hotel or just happen to be in the right place at the right time,who could walk around reception with being offered Arabic tea and delicious dates, Arriving into the hotel one is instantly drawn to the welcoming, smiling and most charming Mostafa. a more genuinely pleasant man I have yet to meet, the face of "The Gate". we look forward to his tea and dates on our next visit.
Our holiday was booked through tropical Sky Holidays and I have no hesitation in recommending them.
Looking forward to our next visit already.

Room Tip: Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Don't worry about the view, you'll be asleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 181MARKW181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael N, General Manager at Movenpick Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel Dubai, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear Mark,
Thank you for your wonderful review on your recent stay at Mövenpick Hotel Ibn Battuta Gate.
I was extremely pleased to read that you and your family enjoyed your second stay to such extent, especially the dining offering and service provided by our team members. I will make sure to personally share your kind comments with all the team members you mentioned by name as well as the overall team.
We thank you for your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best Regards,
Michael Nugent
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Pros: spacious rooms
Marvelous service
Adjacent to world class mall
Complimentary and giant Breakfast buffet
Wonderful sheesha patio bar

Cons: far south, not convenient to certain parts of dubai
No beachfront (but there is free shuttle to beach)

Would definitely go again.

Stayed: November 2013
2  Thank Fred_A3314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael N, General Manager at Movenpick Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel Dubai, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Fred,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful review on Tripadvisor.

I was very please to read you enjoyed our room facilities, breakfast spread, our Moroc Bar & Lounge and of course the service provided by our team. I will make sure to personally share your kind comments with them.

We look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to Dubai.

Best Regards,
Michael Nugent
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Having just arrived back from Dubai after a week in the winter sun. I must congratulate the management and staff of the lbn Battuta gate hotel for a wonderful stay. We were on an all inclusive package and we wanted for nothing. The room was situated at the back of the hotel on the third floor it had everything you would expect in a five star hotel. As we didn't stay in our room during the day the sight of a power station in the distance didn't bother us, but anyone thinking about booking this hotel and would prefer a different view I suggest one of the rooms at the front of the hotel. In the hotel you have a choice of 5 different restaurants and we ate in them all, great food and wonderful service. if you are thinking about room only be aware the restaurants can be a bit expensive if you are taking any children. Through out the hotel the staff where excellent very friendly and helpful and most welcoming particularly Akba who worked in the Itallian and Mistral restaurants. The hotel is situated on the outer reaches of Dubai but there is a metro train station within 5 minutes walk and a day ticket will set you back 20 AED about £4 each to use all day. Also there are many taxis which are very reasonable to use. I have no hesitation in recommening this hotel and would have no second thoughts about going back again. Wonderful holiday made even better.

Room Tip: Room at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sunnyYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael N, General Manager at Movenpick Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel Dubai, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful review on your recent stay at Mövenpick Hotel Ibn Battuta Gate.

I was extremely pleased to read you enjoyed your stay to such extent, especially our hotel facilities, dining offering, location and of course the service provided by our team. I will make sure to personally share your kind comments with them.

We thank you for your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,
Michael Nugent
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

This is a good reliable hotel - was well equipped and a 2 min walk to the shopping centre and 5 mins from Metro. On arrival it has a similar look to the Atlantis Palms. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Would not stay at this hotel again but only due to location as it is a fair way away from most major shopping outlets.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Leeanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael N, General Manager at Movenpick Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel Dubai, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear Leanne,
Thank you for sharing your fantastic review on your recent stay at Mövenpick Hotel Ibn Battuta Gate.
I was very pleased to read you enjoyed our convenient location opposite the Ibn Battuta Mall as well as the service provided by our team; I will make sure to personally share your kind comments with the team. As the Dubai Metro station “Ibn Battuta” is located at a walking distance from our hotel, we do recommend our guests to use this service to reach all major shopping destinations in Dubai in minutes.
We thank you for your recommendation and hope to be able to welcome you back soon.
Best Regards,
Michael Nugent
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We have stayed there for 3 nights. Hotel is new and nice, but we are not happy with the room.
Size of our room was too small. Window small and it is always darkness in the room. If you are going to spend more time in the room, it is not for you. Beds and pilows are very comfortable.
The windows closed and it is not allowd to open them . Some pictures in the website are from Oceania residens, it is another place in the Palm, were you could go for the beach.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Audrone A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael N, General Manager at Movenpick Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel Dubai, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Audrone,

Thank you for taking time to share your review on your recent stay at Mövenpick Hotel Ibn Battuta Gate.

I was very pleased to read you enjoyed our hotel facilities, especially our bed and pillows in our rooms.

I was however concerned to read your comment regarding the size of the room, as the minimum size of room we offer our guests is 35sqm. Please note that the windows are sealed for safety reasons, but can be opened by our team upon request.

We do hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Dubai.

Best regards,
Michael Nugent
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

My family and I visited this hotel in December and was greeted with friendly and helpful staff, whom never failed to keep us, the customers, happy. Not only did all of the staff wear smiles on their faces, they were extremely helpful and pleasant. The hotel itself was absolutely beautiful and was the best 5 star hotel we've stayed in. With the Ibn Battuta mall across the road and a beautiful beach just 10 minutes away, we had a wonderful holiday experience and would definitely visit the hotel again.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank Irene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael N, General Manager at Movenpick Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel Dubai, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Irene,

Thank you for sharing your fantastic review on Tripadvisor.

I was very pleased to read you enjoyed your stay to such extent, especially the service provided by our team as well as our convenient location across from the Ibn Battuta Mall. I will make sure to personally share your kind comments with the entire team.

We thank you for your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to Dubai.

Best Regards,
Michael Nugent
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
The Marina
Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach
Shangri-La Hotel, Dubai
#17 of 556 in Dubai
599 reviews
The H Dubai
#20 of 556 in Dubai
1,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Oberoi, Dubai
#8 of 556 in Dubai
1,908 reviews
The Marina
Movenpick Hotel Jumeirah Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel Dubai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel Dubai

Address: Sheikh Zayed Road | Adjacent to Ibn Battuta Shopping Mall, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 556 Hotels in Dubai
Price Range: £102 - £345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel Dubai 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mövenpick Hotel Ibn Battuta Gate Dubai features a statuesque gateway that is larger than the ‘Arc de Triomphe’ in Paris. The 396-room hotel is located next to Ibn Battuta Mall and Cineplex at the very heart of ‘New Dubai’. Inspired by the travels of the 14th century Arabian explorer, Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel’s Grand Hall features 88 enormous eastern-style lanterns and it is also the ‘gateway’ to the hotel’s equally iconic six restaurants. The Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel offers a true ‘design and taste journey’ that spans the Near East, Far East, Middle East and Arab-African radius our namesake travelled through in his epic 30-year journey. The hotel has 6 restaurants including a Chinese, Indian and Italian. There is a nightclub and supper club on the property discretely positioned. Our sister property, Oceana Beach Club, is located on the Palm Jumeirah with swimming pools, a lazy river and private beach. We offer complimentary shuttles to and from the Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Prestigia, Travelbag, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Movenpick Ibn Battuta Gate Hotel Dubai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing