We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Bastakiya Heritage Tour” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheikh Mohammed Centre for Cultural Understanding

Sheikh Mohammed Centre for Cultural Understanding
Book In Advance
More Info
US$26.00*
and up
Authentic Emirati Cultural Meal and Talk in Old Dubai
Ranked #21 of 382 things to do in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Sheikh Mohammed Centre for Cultural Understanding (SMCCU) invites visitors and residents alike to learn about the local culture, customs and religion through its various interactive programmes under the banner and motto of the centre, "Open doors. Open minds.". The SMCCU offers Cultural Breakfast Monday & Wednesday at 10am, Cultural Lunch Sunday through Thursday at 1pm, Dinner every Sunday, Tuesday and Wednesday night at 7pm and Saturday Brunch at 10:30am. We also offer Tours of the historic district every Sunday, Tuesday & Thursday at 10:30am and Saturday at 9am which includes a visit inside the Mosque near the Ruler's Court. We also offer educational courses and programmes for students and adults, and arrange private group tours and cultural events for your groups and institutions. Pre-booking and reservations can be made on our website or by contacting our office directly.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Bastakiya Heritage Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed this tour. We had a young Emirate girl take us for a tour, including a visit to the mosque, then we had tea and dates over a discussion about her life, and what she expects from the future. No questions were out of bound and we learned so much. I would thoroughly recommend this.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank SandyKa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    616
    222
    59
    15
    4
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder
Level Contributor
122 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great way to learn about local culture, Islam”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We attended a free tour of the mosque here, and found it very worth the time. It helped us understand the tenets of Islam and the local culture. We learned about the basic beliefs of Muslims, their prayer practices, some of the local history, among other things. I was wearing a head scarf, shirt, and capris (capris because it was well over 100 degrees outside!!) - and apparently, my capris were too revealing because they asked me to wear an abaya. Rather than take offense, it's just a great photo opp! Definitely recommend for travelers who love to learn about the places they're traveling to.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dawn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
86 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A must to all visitor of Dubai!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

We tried the Cultural breakfast and was not disappointed - we learned so much about the UAE culture and tried the local breakfast spread. The host was so funny and articulate. Two thumbs up! definitely a must in your Dubai itinerary!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaDXB_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“LOVED the LUNCH TOUR”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

My family and I went for the Tour and Lunch at the SMCCU. The tour around the center was okay, but we really enjoyed the Mosque visit. The best part of the trip was the lunch with the Emirati gentleman. He had such a great sense of humor and was willing to answer any question. I would recommend everyone to visit the place for a meal at least.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TheJacksonsTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiria, Portugal
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“It's all about perspective!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

I ended up in SMCCU through a friend who's living in Dubai and who has booked this "cultural tour". I went there with no expectations - just one more boring tour! When I arrived there I found two young Emirati talking to a big group of tourists in a "round table" kind of conversation. It was a really honest and personal witness about several social/political/religious issues and stereotypes. It was a very rewarding experience which gave me a whole new perspective about UAE and the Emirati people. We also went to the mosque and in the end we had a local lunch which was absolutely delicious. I would definitely recommend a visit to SMCCU.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lcaseiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sheikh Mohammed Centre for Cultural Understanding also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to Sheikh Mohammed Centre for Cultural Understanding? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing