We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jumeirah Zabeel Saray
Ranked #45 of 540 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Not perfect”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 12 nights end July/beginning August. We arrived at 1am and check in was straightforward - we never got any offer of an upgrade nor did we get any water park tickets! Our room was spacious and well equipped with a massive bath which is perhaps a little impractical - we never used it as we imagined it would have taken hours to fill. There were 3 of us staying in the room and every day only 2 towels were left in the room so every day we had to request an extra towel and also had to request loo roll a couple of times. The view from the room, which had a balcony was impressive - looking back at the Palm with the Atlantis in the distance. The food at the restaurants was very good and portions were very large and service was excellent. However we found the variety of on site restaurants a little limited compared to somewhere like the Jumeirah Beach Hotel. Sun loungers - around the pool there are issues with guests putting their towels out early and then not returning to use the beds until much later in the day - this isnt fair and I think management need to adopt a policy whereby if guests do not appear within a specified time then their towels are removed. We witnessed a German couple put towels on loungers before 8am, they then disappeared and did not return all day! Selfish! Lovely refreshing ice lollies, water, cucumber slices and orange segments served around the pool and even your sunglasses polished! I was ill during our stay and as I was suffering stomach problems requested a couple of bananas which concierge promised would be sent to the room - we asked twice and those nanas never did turn up. All in all we liked the hotel but its remoteness and restaurant selection will probably mean that next time we holiday in Dubai we will most likely stay in the Jumeirah Beach area. Also our 16 year was pretty bored as nothing for teenagers to do of an evening.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank jenster68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,864 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,782
    668
    247
    96
    71
See reviews for
1,697
2,078
78
152
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,265)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a most enjoyable two week stay in Jumeriah Zabeel Saray. I can honestly say it was one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. The sheer opulence of the interior and surroundings on the Palm are fabulous. The staff in every area of the hotel were so polite and so eager to please and accommodate our every need. The food and choice of restaurants were exceptional. I have specific dietary needs which were catered for in every way with nothing being too much trouble. A really fantastic hotel with exceptional staff!

Room Tip: We had a king Arabian Sea view room which was absolutely beautiful and I really can't imagine a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This was our first time to Dubai and we had thought of booking to go to the Atlantis but glad we opted for the Zabeel Zaray as was away from the hustle and bustle.

On arrival, the hotel is just grand and pure opulence. Everything shines and sparkles! Rooms were a great size for a family of 4 and we had a lovely view looking back over Dubai. Towels were plentiful and housekeeping great.

It was difficult to get a lounger around the pool but no problems on the beach at all and the complimentary water and ice lollies were lovely. The life guards are always watching children in the pool and on the beach and you felt quite safe knowing this.

We were half board and did encounter a problem with the service at the Plaj restaurant one day. Service was very, very slow so we complained and the problem was quickly resolved by management. The food in Amala was just delicious, we ate their twice, once for our anniversary, we were given a cake which was a lovely touch.

Getting off the palm was easy, took about 10 mins and we made use of the complimentary tickets to the Waterpark,

Would definitely return!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fuerteventura4family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Been to Dubai many times over the last 12 years and and stopped mainly in Jumeirah Hotels. Even though the location is not as good as the Jumeirah Beach and Madinat area it more than makes up for it with the service provided and attention to detail. Spotlessly clean and staff more than happy to help. Well worth the 20 minute taxi journey to get off the Palm each time.

Room Tip: Not a tall hotel so higher rooms are better for a view of City
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gaynor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire, UK
Level Contributor
152 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

A very professionally managed hotel. Impressive when you first arrive, friendly staff, and the chamber maids in the room were very attentive and a credit to the hotel.

A downside is that it is far away from any alternate cheaper eating places, apart from within the costly restaurants in the hotel.

Getting a free sun bed by the poolside is a challenge, towels on the sun beds at dawn with nobody around, until they came back in the afternoon. Another guest complained to the management about this.

Room Tip: Chose a room over looking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MB201065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We arrived at 8pm on a weds evening tired after travelling from London. We were escorted to the main reception where we were seated and told to wait. The check in was extremely slow as no-one came to check us in so we had to ask for assistance again at the front desk.

The best thing about our whole stay was our bathroom. We had a lovely large shower and a very very large bath although we only attempted to use this one as it takes 14 minutes to fill..

After my partner had finished filling his bath i then went to use the shower and our whole bathroom flooded!! We were never warned not to use the shower until the bath had finished draining. This was our first problem we encountered. I called reception and they sent someone to check the issue but not much was said and they just sent house keeping to clean up the water.

We then wanted to book premier seats at the reel cinema in the dubai mall. I went to the concierge to ask for their assistance as we were having troubles booking online. They were very un-helpful and said they could only book online also and almost insinuated that i must have made a mistake. I asked if he could call up the cinema to book - which he then did. He told me that their were no premier seats at the dubai mall only the dubai MARINA mall so thats why i had troubles. So i went back to my room and booked regular seats - only to get to the dubai mall the next day and see they DO have premier seats. I wasnt impressed with the lack of initiative or willingness to help with my telling them what to do!!

I had the exact same problem with the concierge with a desert safari we booked through them. we were told to meet the guide in the lobby at 4pm. When no-one appeared to be in the lobby from out safari tour i went to the concierge to ask who to look out for just incase we missed them.. again no help from them at all. Until i asked them if they could call the company to see their whereabouts. They then told me the collection time had changed to 4.40pm and had left a voicemail on our hotel phone (which obviously we didnt know about)

Our safari then got cancelled due to poor weather conditions (no fault to the hotel) so on return we were very hungry and tried to eat at the turkish restaurant at our hotel.. we were turned away and told the restaurant was fully booked even tho we could see half the restaurant was empty.

Then on one occasion after getting out of the shower i realised we had no towels! Housekeeping had taken our old towels and not left any replacements. My husband and i then had to use hand towels after calling reception 3 times with no answer they eventually brought towels to our room - no apologies. This is not the kind of service we expect from a five star hotel at all.

We also experienced a night where our neighbours were very noisy keeping us awake til the early hours - i made a complaint to reception who simply tole us if it happened again any other night to call back.. The rooms are not soundproof at all and we can often hear other guests walking around etc..

Theres actually a few other issues but i could be here all day..

Overall i would say 5star appearance with a 1star service.

I WILL NOT BE RETURNING.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank victoria w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Check in is shabby, no offer of upgrade like others have had, no mention of water park tickets, but wanted a £1000 deposit on room???? Spoke to other guests who only put a few hundred down?? Has we had an early check out at 6am no offer of breakfast as we were at hotel at 9.30 am To check in and had to wait for room, other people had this offer???
Pool staff ensure cool water is delivered to your sun chair regularly, love the guy that regularly comes with ice lollies, cucumber then oranges then ice lollies again at regular intervals.

Lovely hotel, like a little mini shopping centre with restaurants, shops, spa, bar & cinema can't fault it.

Pool very busy no sun chairs by 9am, lots of kids that don't use the kids club pool! Lots of noise

Beach empty clean & lots of jelly fish in water.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vinno2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
1.3 mi away
Fairmont The Palm, Dubai
2.9 mi away
Sofitel Dubai The Palm Resort & Spa
3.1 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Dubai Palm Jumeirah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Rixos The Palm Dubai
Rixos The Palm Dubai
#33 of 540 in Dubai
2,535 reviews
4.6 mi away
Jumeirah Mina A'Salam
Jumeirah Mina A'Salam
#18 of 540 in Dubai
2,661 reviews
4.4 mi away
Jumeirah Al Qasr at Madinat Jumeirah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jumeirah Zabeel Saray? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jumeirah Zabeel Saray

Property: Jumeirah Zabeel Saray
Address: The Palm Jumeirah, Crescent Road West | PO Box 27722, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Dubai
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Dubai
#18 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#21 Business Hotel in Dubai
#41 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Jumeirah Zabeel Saray 5*
Number of rooms: 442
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jumeirah International, Destinology, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jumeirah Zabeel Saray reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jumeirah Zabeel Saray Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing