We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located, excellent staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Excelsior Hotel Al Barsha
Ranked #264 of 541 Hotels in Dubai
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Well located, excellent staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

We stayed in the Grand Excelsior for three nights and I can't praise the staff enough. I was taken ill on the first night of our stay and the night concierge (Joe) organised a taxi to get me to the Saudi German Hospital (excellent itself) only 5 minutes away. When I told him that I didn't have any local currency he gave me a 50 Dirham note to pay the driver! He didn't know me from a bar of soap yet he was willing to give me money out of his own pocket! I paid him back of course when I returned from hospital. The food in this place is excellent and the hotel is within easy walking distance of the Mall of the Emirates and a Metro stop. We were very pleased with the value for money that the Grand Excelsior represented and would stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    175
    89
    39
    46
See reviews for
94
118
37
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

I found the hotel via e-bookers.I could not beleive the price I was being quoted as it excellant value. On arrival the hotel has been constructed to look like a cruise liner...but stranded in the middle of dusty spare land. The interior of the hotel was aestehtically pleasing and the bedrooms large and spacious. The breakfast dining room was large, light and well presented. Breakfast was good with a variety of fresh fruits, cerials, breads and hot food. A chef was also on duty to cook ommlette or eggs as required.

Situated just off Sheik Zayed Road behind the Mall of the Emirates it was in a great location for my business meetings and also for socialising in the evenings.

I have read some of the other reports, one of which clearly had a bad experience. Perhaps the hotel has learned its lessons, I can only say my experience was good and I will use the hotel again when I next visit Dubai

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eagley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

I really enjoyed my 10 days in dubai,,my first visit and the hotel was awesome. Staff were very helpful and room service was great, especially Adil and Eileen were great.
Will definitely book with this hotel again....

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Farizb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

Like my title suggests - front desk staff are extremely foolish and immature. They do not understand any foreign language (english included), forget about listening to your concerns. I travelled with my family and booked 2 rooms thinking it was a relatively new hotel and will be accomodative or atleast cordial enough towards its guests. We got the worst choice of rooms despite the Hotel being virtually vaccant (20-25% occupancy). The breakfast menu was scanty and did not change for the 4 days we stayed there. The Indian restraunt was a very shady place which had female dancers from India and guests were encouraged to throw money at them. The rooms were very average and cleaned only after calling housekeeping 3-4 times. On checkout we were harrased by front desk people and the hotel manager to pay up 300 Dirhams for a small hand sized towel which had lipstic marks on it. If towels are meant to be used then what is the fuss?The hotel staff realised that they are being unreasonable only after a kind man from Pakistan (another guest) intervened and helped us fight it out with them. We had to fight in the hotel reception for 40 mins - felt extremely harrased and no senior management staff came to speak to us. Just imagine if the hotel staff tells your mother that she should use the Towel carefully and not wipe her face with it. The staff also tried to dupe us by charging for breakfast for one person which was already included in our room fare. We later on sent a complaignt through our travel agent to the Hotel authorities who lay a deaf ear to our complaignt. The only good part of the Hotel was an English Pub - probably because it had a westerner - expat baratender.Extremely dissapointed by them and will request any one reading this review not to book a room there.

Room Tip: Please dont go there. You will all be dissapointed for sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KshitijPradhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dubai hotels

Ludhiana, Punjab, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

when i checked in they upgraded my standard room to royal suite.
it was ausome. staff was very helpful and friendly.
good hotel to stay.
food in the hotel is quiet good.
swimming pool is small but clean.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ravinder5262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacoas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

the hotel is a very opulent one in terms of decoration. the staff does it's best but management seem very poor. Good for a business trip where you only come to sleep. i do not recommend as price/value is not good.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pascal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

Wow! Have just stayed here and it took 30 minutes for me to be checked in. I saw 2 people in front of me leave angrily due to the amount of time and no communication from check in staff. They had no idea what they were doing and were very rude when anybody asked any questions. Rooms are nice and spacious but honestly the staff on the check in desk were hurrendous.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hojuben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
11.1 mi away
Grand Excelsior Hotel Bur Dubai
13.7 mi away
Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira
0.2 mi away
Ramada Chelsea Al Barsha
Ramada Chelsea Al Barsha
#191 of 541 in Dubai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Residences Dubai - Al Barsha
2.2 mi away
TIME Oak Hotel & Suites
TIME Oak Hotel & Suites
#106 of 541 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
0.3 mi away
Citymax Al Barsha
Citymax Al Barsha
#175 of 541 in Dubai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Excelsior Hotel Al Barsha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Excelsior Hotel Al Barsha

Property: Grand Excelsior Hotel Al Barsha
Address: 121545 Dubai | Al Barsha-I, Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #264 of 541 Hotels in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Excelsior Hotel Al Barsha 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within 10 minutes' walk from Mall of The Emirates and Metro station, the Grand Excelsior hotel is set in Al Barsha, Dubai - the city's vibrant business district in close proximity to Dubai Internet & Media City, Knowledge Village, Dubai World Trade Centre, DIFC and Jebel Ali Free Zone. We are also in close proximity to shopping malls, Burj Khalifa, Jumeirah Beach Park, Wild Wadi Water Park and. Finest luxury accommodation and associated amenities cater to the needs of business and leisure travelers with the blend of Unique Arabian Hospitality. The hotel is decorated in a contemporary yet unique Arabian style and offer different categories of impressive rooms & suites. Relax in your spacious room or suite, designed and furnished with outstanding amenities that meet the highest standards. Each elegantly decorated room has a flat-screen satellite TV and air conditioning. All rooms at the Grand Excelsior have a work desk, kettle and a coffee maker. The 6 restaurants and bars onsite showcase multi cuisine with a fine taste of dining pleasure and entertainment. The hotel's Health Club boasts quality weight machines and cardio equipment. Swim in the 15 m. Temperature-controlled outdoor pool, unwind in the sauna or steam room and treat yourself at the Lavana Spa for unique treatments. Grand Excelsior hotel can be the perfect location for wedding functions, birthday parties, or anniversary celebrations in our choice of Ballrooms. Give a perfect feel to your conference or business meetings in the hotel's board rooms equipped with Wi-Fi access and overhead projectors. An added value to enhance guest experience, free on-site Valet Parking and Shuttle services to the business hubs and leisure attractions in the city. We are close to Dubai International Airport and Dubai World Central Airport within a traveling time of 15-20 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotelopia, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Excelsior Hotel Al Barsha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing