We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant find!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Excelsior Hotel Al Barsha
Ranked #265 of 556 Hotels in Dubai
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Thanks to Virgin Atlantic. I booked two nights at this hotel on their recommendation.

I arrived on a virgin flight at 8 am, but they staff were very accommodating. Not only did I get early entry to the hotel, I was upgraded.
The room was brilliant.. Massive by comparison to a London hotel.
I was visiting in Ramadan, so the bars were closed, but I had my fill of food and drink via room service.
The in house travel rep was also great and I was given some great deals on touristy things.

On check out, I informed the clerk that I was flying late in the evening and they allowed me some extra time to check out.

Great little roof top pool and gym as well.

All in all, a great stay!

Room Tip: The staff could not be more helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samfarmer84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (487)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

246 - 252 of 487 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

I had a terrible experience at this hotel in may of 2014. The front desk staff was very ignorant and rude upon our arrival. The room was unclean, dust all over the furniture, empty fridge, broken drawer and cabinet doors. overall, the atmosphere and staff of the hotel was so poor that we had to change hotels the second day and I don't recommend this hotel. The location isn't very good either (in the middle of no where)!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tannaz N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We spent a long weekend in Dubai and stayed at the Grand Excelsior in Barsha.

There appeared to be some confusion when we arrived and the room allocated certainly did not match the room described at time of booking. However, after a bit of discussion the staff were able to find a room that met our requirements.

The hotel was quiet which was good. Breakfast was okay and, although a bit dingy, the a la carte restaurant was okay.

All things considered, this is a reasonable hotel at a reasonable price but the words "grand" and "excel" did not spring to mind!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeMack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This hotel is in a very good location - Al barsha. About a 5-10 minute cab drive away from Jumeirah and 10-15 to Dubai Mall. It is literally round the corner from There Emirates Mall - so could either walk or just jump in a taxi for basically nothing!

Staff were very welcoming and hospitable on arrival and were the same throughout the whole stay. Very friendly and would always put themselves out to get a you a cab or give you information.

Lovely spacious rooms with large beds. Kept well and presented nicely.
We had seen reviews before we went about the 'noise' however we didn't experience any problems on our stay with this. However one night there was a slight sound of 'bass' coming from the nightclub but not enough to interfere with our sleep so wouldn't complain.

Would definitely recommend if you're looking to stay somewhere in the middle of everything and the price was very good for the standard and location. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chloe w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Location of property is excellent, all night club are near the hotel. Hotel is old property and not renovated.

Food quality is good, provide good variety of veg food. Room size is big and has excellent space.

very good for family stay

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JainNilesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This hotel is stunning. Its close to Mall of Emirates. You can get to it via train to Mall of Emirates and short 5 minute walk to the hotel or if tired use the taxis from the Mall. It looks like ship inside, rooms are large and comfortable. Hotel is clean. This shower confused me but once I got used to it, was very good. I stayed for 4 days at this hotel. The view from my room as not good as there was lots of construction outside. Will go back!

Room Tip: Ask them for a top floor facing the Mall or sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This is a high quality hotel located close to the Barsha business district. Very high quality hotel with all the necessary amenities. Walking distance to Mall of the Emirates. I stayed in one of the suites which was very spacious and tastefully furnished. Large bedroom and separate lounge dining area with large desk for working. Good wifi speeds. Highly recommend for business people needing to be in the Barsha area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AJAYCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
11.1 mi away
Grand Excelsior Hotel Bur Dubai
0.2 mi away
Ramada Chelsea Al Barsha
Ramada Chelsea Al Barsha
#200 of 556 in Dubai
812 reviews
13.7 mi away
Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Abidos Hotel Apartment - Al Barsha
0.2 mi away
Grandeur Hotel
Grandeur Hotel
#251 of 556 in Dubai
365 reviews
0.3 mi away
Citymax Hotels Al Barsha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Excelsior Hotel Al Barsha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Excelsior Hotel Al Barsha

Address: 121545 Dubai | Al Barsha-I, Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #265 of 556 Hotels in Dubai
Price Range: £48 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Excelsior Hotel Al Barsha 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within 10 minutes' walk from Mall of The Emirates and Metro station, the Grand Excelsior hotel is set in Al Barsha, Dubai - the city's vibrant business district in close proximity to Dubai Internet & Media City, Knowledge Village, Dubai World Trade Centre, DIFC and Jebel Ali Free Zone. We are also in close proximity to shopping malls, Burj Khalifa, Jumeirah Beach Park, Wild Wadi Water Park and. Finest luxury accommodation and associated amenities cater to the needs of business and leisure travelers with the blend of Unique Arabian Hospitality. The hotel is decorated in a contemporary yet unique Arabian style and offer different categories of impressive rooms & suites. Relax in your spacious room or suite, designed and furnished with outstanding amenities that meet the highest standards. Each elegantly decorated room has a flat-screen satellite TV and air conditioning. All rooms at the Grand Excelsior have a work desk, kettle and a coffee maker. The 6 restaurants and bars onsite showcase multi cuisine with a fine taste of dining pleasure and entertainment. The hotel's Health Club boasts quality weight machines and cardio equipment. Swim in the 15 m. Temperature-controlled outdoor pool, unwind in the sauna or steam room and treat yourself at the Lavana Spa for unique treatments. Grand Excelsior hotel can be the perfect location for wedding functions, birthday parties, or anniversary celebrations in our choice of Ballrooms. Give a perfect feel to your conference or business meetings in the hotel's board rooms equipped with Wi-Fi access and overhead projectors. An added value to enhance guest experience, free on-site Valet Parking and Shuttle services to the business hubs and leisure attractions in the city. We are close to Dubai International Airport and Dubai World Central Airport within a traveling time of 15-20 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Excelsior Hotel Al Barsha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing