We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horse and Camel Excursions”

Al Sahra Desert Resort
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
US$126.00*
and up
Al Maha Arabian Desert Safari Experience with Transport from Dubai
Ranked #20 of 123 Fun & Games in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Al Sahra Equestrian Centre is a full-service riding centre nestled in an oasis among the desert dunes of Dubai. Large enough to cater for all your riding requirements, yet small enough to maintain a relaxed friendly vibe, our rustic ranch-style property is home to forty horses and a group of camels. We offer rides out on the surrounding desert landscape as well as riding lessons - from absolute beginners up to advanced schooling - along with stable management instruction and livery facilities. Our Camel Encounter programme is popular with both tourists and locals alike, as it offers the chance to experience one of the great traditions of the Middle East.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Horse and Camel Excursions”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

This place is currently just a day retreat. it is authentic, comfortable and the horses, camels and people are the best. If you are looking for a true excursion into the desert on either camel or horse back it is the perfect place. the view is unparalleled and it is soooo reasonably priced. John is the lead trainer, there are lessons also available if desired and the facility is great. they have a small indoor lounge/coffee room and a nice setting for outside seating. large property and I cannot say enough about their well cared for animals. excellent equipment and tack as well. If you are really looking for a desert safari and not a 5 minute spin. this is the spot for you. absolutely recommended 100% we will be returning when the authentic residence is opened again for lodging. I would have like to spend a week here. very easy to find and the manager Lisa is always available to aid in anything you need. GREAT STAFF!!!!!!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank albertagirl2711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    26
    5
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A highlight of our Dubai trip”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We booked a Sunset Champagne Camel Ride. We had some difficulties getting to the location as it is far away in the desert on the road to Al Ain. We took a taxi that cost us a total of 350 AED for two way ride and 2 hours wait. The camels were very calm, the ride was idyllic and we really got to see the gazelles in the bushes! As we came to the designated location we were served a bottle of very nice champagne and got to lounge on Arabian pillows and carpets watching the beautiful desert sunset. It is great break from a touristy Dubai reality, it is great value and an overall great experience to share with your partner.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Vanja L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Constanta, Romania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice!”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Pretty hard to reach (it's in the desert) on the way to Abu Dhabi. It is a resort where you will find a riding center where you can choose for a camel trip that lasts about a half hour and which costs 200 AED / person or horse trip for an hour and a half which costs 300 AED / person (if you know how to ride, if not, you can take lessons here). It`s recommended that you take trips when you can see the sunrise!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandru C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
121 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Camel ride in the desert - great afternoon”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

A wonderful opportunity to enjoy a proper camel ride (40min) in the desert outside Dubai (not like the 1min walks during desert safaris). During your walk you can even catch a glimpse of the city skyline in the distance.
All camels are well kept and behave wonderfully around people. Unlike all other camels I have seen in Dubai, these ones did not even wear a muzzle.
Before the ride we got a good introduction on camels and everything related to them. Got a chance to hug them and see them close up.
A great afternoon and would certainly recommend to everyone.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank _xKeu_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Galloping in the Desert”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We went to the resort for the early morning desert ride (6:30 am) and it was a fantastic experience. My husband rode an Argentinian and I rode a and Arabian/Quarterhorse. The horses are well-kept and the staff is super-friendly. We are used to riding Hispanic breeds and really enjoyed these lively, powerful horses. The best part of it was the gallop across a plain stretch at full speed. These horses are fit, secure and very fast! My mare could not get enough! We really, truly enjoyed the entire experience, including taking the horses back to their paddock and rummaging around a little afterwards. Thank you Lisa and Stacie, we will be back again on our next visit to Dubai!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Aporelmundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Al Sahra Desert Resort also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to Al Sahra Desert Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing