We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible service”
Review of Soy

Soy
Ranked #3,247 of 9,657 Restaurants in Dubai
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Bahrain
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“Terrible service”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Complete waste of time. We were asked to sit at a table two abreast, and got attitude when we asked for another table. So can't comment on food, as never got that far!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank devikananda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    38
    19
    13
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cold Food”
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

We have visited this restaurant on previous occasions and had good meals; nothing special, just good food. Today we were presented, out of 3 main courses, one was almost stone cold and one luke warm. On receiving 'fresh meals' after returning the original meals to the kitchen there was little improvement. Our comments to management were received with surprise and no offer of recompense. We will not return and I would not recommend this restaurant.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Deteriorating over time....”
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

I had been to Soy with my better half a couple of years back. The service at that time was good and so was the food.
Since then, I would recommend anyone visiting Ibn Batuta mall to dine here...
We visited this place last weekend and never again will I recommend this restaurant to anyone.
The hostess seated us comfortably, but the attitude and level of service needs to be improved considerably. Due to the weekend crowd, we were told in advance that it would take 40-45 minutes for the food and we were ok with it as long as we had a comfortable place to sit after a tiring day at the mall.
There are not many options on the menu card and upon going through the finer details, it just looks plain simple like any other Asian restaurant.
The drinks were served faster and as told the food came after about 40 minutes.
Although there was not much to complain about the food, but it was not like the one we had earlier. In short, food was not scrumptious at all.
Overall an average service.

The poor rating is for deterioration in the overall service and food standards that has gone down with passage of time.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dilip N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caloocan, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice location, painfully slow service, average food”
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

Just had dinner tonight and they haven't changed a bit. Despite their prime location their service is terribly slow. 45 minutes for fried rice and pad thai. Terrible customer service as well. Their servers don't know how to deal with customers and are dismissive of us when we complain. Food is blah. We had to return the pad thai because it was burnt. Trust me, it's very easy to find better options.

Turrible, turrible, turrible.

Helpful?
Thank adhikain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Average meal”
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

After a heavy shopping day at baruta mall. Stopped at SOY restaurant for dinner. It was my friend who recommended to go to Soy.

Compare to rest of the food venues in this mall, I would rate this venue as one of the very best spot to dine. How ever, we had to wait few minutes to get the attention from the waiting staff. As there were only one waiter and I believe other staff meant to be the hostess. Our waiter had to take orders from 3 tables including ours.

Food wasn't that delay as the restaurant was not excessively busy. Food taste was fairly good and generous portion size.

There was a cat near the garden area and interrupt our meal several times. Tables are disturbed by walking people from metro to the mall. I suggest if the table are away from the walkway.

Overall a average dining experience and hoping to go back with the expectation of more waiting staff to anticipate guest needs.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank DinPit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Soy also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to Soy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing