We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent short break in superb surroundings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Le Royal Meridien Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #26 of 540 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent short break in superb surroundings”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Went to Dubai for a short break after the New Year. Chose Le Royal Meridian following a recommendation and was not disappointed. Great experience through meet and greet at airport, Tower Reception into a nice Tower room overlooking gardens and onto the beach and sea. First class service, friendly and non intrusive, and in a relaxed way. Some luxury hotels come over as stuffy and pretentious, this was quite the opposite and very welcoming.

Tower Club provided good breakfasts, afternoon tea and evening canopes, plus a warm welcome.Excellent thin crust pizzas in Pizzeria, plus a very nice Italian Restaurant.

Not cheap at this time of year, but a great break and location. Recommended.

Room Tip: Extras of Tower Club rooms may be worthwhile for some (breakfast, afternoon tea, evening drinks and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank psychoeric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHLRM, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to know that you and your family had enjoyed your recent stay with us and were extremely pleased with the service we have on offer.

It is nice to note that you liked the room allocated for you and found it to be perfectly appointed. We are also glad that you were able to experience some of our F&B outlets particularly the Executive Club Lounge and Pizzeria restaurant.

Thank you once again for recommending us on Trip Advisor and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Pam Wilby
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,794 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,631
    816
    234
    77
    36
See reviews for
1,604
2,766
155
324
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,341)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

this is a sound hotel. If you have read any of my other reviews, you will know that I am pragmatic and fair and to be honest, this hotel isn't up there with my 'excellent' stays but it's not poor enough to merit an average - it's better than that. However, I can't help but think it is reliant on its regular guests and sadly, it has perhaps become complacent around meeting the needs of 'newbies' and indeed competing within its own marketplace.

The hotel is at that tipping point where it is undergoing renovations - I envisage that these will really add value to the overall experience very soon.

It is clear that the staff really do want to ensure a pleasant stay for guests and the duty manager really went out of his way to help us following a slightly disastrous check in to a room with twin beds - but thats another story for another day!

Breakfast is something that really lets the hotel down. We have stayed in many hotels around the world and quite frankly been spoiled. The breakfast here seems to be stuck in a time warp and is perhaps served to keep the regular clientele happy? It just didn't suit us and by day 5 of 12, the boredom of breakfast set in - I suppose it all depends what you're used to though and individual tastes?

As mentioned by other reviewers, there is an interesting phenomenon taking place with sun beds where a member of staff reserves an exact number of sun beds for a variety of groups. The people these beds are reserved for can turn up any time from 11am until 3pm and so long as the cash exchange takes place (several incidences and photographic evidence of this practice), the towels are never moved from the 'reserved' sun beds. It was quite fascinating to watch and although we were assured it would be monitored, it wasn't and it continued day after day to almost amusing levels.

The hotel is also situated right in the middle of some very significant road works which seems to prevent taxis from wanting to pick up from the hotel - totally out of the hotels control, but on visiting the Burj Al Arab for afternoon tea, the staff whipped up nearly 20 cabs in record time in a 'closed' resort.

Within the resort, we ate in Maya and Al Khaima, I shall post separate reviews on both of these.

The hotel has some lovely qualities. The staff are excellent; the pools lovely and very well maintained; the beach access is stunning. It just doesn't match up to other hotels of stated '5 star' quality. We were there over both xmas and new year and the party on the 23/12 (unexpected) was actually better fun than the very expensive NYE. There perhaps should be an option on NYE for those who don't plan on drinking the bar dry as it was evident that we were funding some fantastic drinking efforts!

If you are a family who just want a lovely relaxed holiday in the sun and the care and attention of staff is more important to you than room configuration, taxis and tipping, then you will love your stay here - if however you have stayed in 'true' 5* in either Dubai or other locations, you may wish to just do a double check that your expectations will be met.

Room Tip: Avoid 'city side' rooms (even though they are bigger) When booking deluxe suite, make sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelavectweens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHLRM, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Guest,

First and foremost, I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your detailed review on Trip Advisor.

Having read through your review, we are very concerned to note your various comments and would like to assure you that we take all our guests feedback to be of extreme importance to us hence, it would be very much appreciated if we can have the opportunity to speak with you personally. Therefore, may we kindly request you to contact us directly on guestservices.leroyalmeridien@lemeridien.com

Thank you once again for taking the time to write your review and we look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards,
Pam Wilby
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wickford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stopped off at this hotel for 3 days before going to the Maldives for our honeymoon and just wanted to say what a great hotel it was. We had an AMAZING meal at Rhodes (Gary Rhodes restaurant). The staff were all very friendly and the hotel was very well kept. When we arrived we had champagne and chocolate strawberries delivered to our room and a card to say congratulations which was a very nice touch. We also had mango juice delivered to our room one evening when we were getting ready before dinner. The turn down service at night was a lovely tradition, where you would get back from dinner and the bed cover would be turned over, there would be flip flop slippers by the bedside and a chocolate on the pillow!. On our last morning before we left as we had an early flight, we had room service breakfast which was lovely, the guy brought in a fold out table and set up a lovely breakfast for us with toast and fresh fruit and pastries and orange juice, coffee etc. The beach is beautiful and very well kept, food great, staff great, would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Heidi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHLRM, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to know that you had enjoyed your stay with us at Le Royal Meridien and that you liked the little surprise that arranged on your arrival.

It is nice to note that you were pleased with the service provided by our associates and the facilities available at the hotel. We are also glad that you were able to experience some of our F&B outlets particularly Rhodes Twenty10 and In Room Dining.

Thank you once again for recommending us on Trip Advisor and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Pam Wilby
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
144 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Le Royal Meridien is a lovely, modern hotel located near the Dubai Marina. The building and the layout of the hotel is great, with an excellent and huge outside beach and pool area. The bar staff around these areas are very attentive and friendly. The hotel also has a large 24 hour gym, I think that it's open to the general public so it is rather busy. The fitness machines are of a high standard and there are plenty of them. I think that this hotel must have more sunbeds than customers staying in rooms, I never had a problem finding a bed at any time of the day. The room was nice and I paid extra for a tower sea view upgrade, the view was lovely and faced the afternoon sun, I particularly enjoyed sitting there and catching the last of the rays. The bed was comfortable and the amenities in the room are also good. I counted five bottles of water in my room, I was also able to access the club level lounge, which includes various free food and drinks at different times of the day.
I paid extra for an upgrade and it turned out that it was in the middle of a construction period and changing of the security locks. That meant when I went back to my room, there were four people in or around my room making adjustments to the door. I spoke with Pam and this has been resolved since.
I would definitely return to the hotel in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank majicka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHLRM, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us.

We are happy to read from your review that you had enjoyed your overall stay at the hotel and that the matter with regards to lock was resolved to your satisfaction.

We appreciate your positive and kind feedback and very much look forward to welcoming you back in the resort.

Kind regards,

Pam Wilby
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We had a really good time over christmas at this hotel. They make a huge effort, loads of decorations, good food and the people that work there can never do enough for you.

I'd thoroughly recommend this hotel for a stay over christmas or indeed any other time. We've been there more than once and it has always been very good.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool in the tower are good, ours was quiet and also recently refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TR20121228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHLRM, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

Having stayed with us before, we are truly delighted to know that you had enjoyed your recent Christmas holiday with us and our team really looked after you throughout the stay.

All your kind comments are greatly appreciated, particularly with the decor and cuisine available at the hotel.

Thank you once again for recommending us on Trip Advisor and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Pam Wilby
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Recently visited Dubai for 11 days staying at Le Royal Meriden at Dubai Marina. Firstly, don't fly Qantas, you have to pay £28 just to book seats!
As for the Meridien, it was a nice clean hotel, with excellent gardens and position at the start of The Walk. However, we felt that the food was not 'up there' with the best. We ended up putting bacon in a roll as anything else was so unappetising.....in our opinion.

The staff however were 1st class, very helpfull but I did detect some of the sunbeds were being 'reserved' by a towel, and unoccupied all day which is not part of the Hotel practice. Can only assume some money changing hands (I did actually see it one day when some locals arrive and wanted beds to be moved in front of the pool steps so nobdy could enter very easily).

It was our 2nd visit to Dubai (loved the first one in the Grand Hyatt) but I don't think we will return. The attitude to 'immigrant' labour was, at best, very arrogant, and the whole thing runs on 'money' and not cultural differences. Seems that alcohol is not an issue as long as you are in a high-end restaurant or hotel bar. In ordinary restaurants it is banned. Hypocracy, or what?

As for the Burj Khalifa, the attraction branded 'At the Top' is another con. You actually get to an observation half way up.

Also beware of Karama. Remember, you can't change duff watches etc when you get home.!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ukJimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHLRM, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us at Le Royal Meridien.

Whilst we are glad that you were pleased with the service and facilities of the Hotel, we are sorry that there were couple of points that you have mentioned which was not up to your expectations. Please be assured that your feedback have been shared with the concerned managers and the teams accordingly.

Nevertheless, we would greatly appreciate it if we can have the opportunity to speak to you personally to discuss your concerns further hence, may I kindly request you to contact us directly on Guestservices.leroyalmeridien@lemeridien.com

Thank you once again for taking the time to write your review and we look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards,

Pam Wilby
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We were very pleasantly surprised at the staff and facilities at the Le Meridian. The extra space, in the room, the pools and at the beach made such a difference to our stay. Our 3 year old loved the pools, beach and playground. The restaurant variety was good.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sneakers3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHLRM, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

We are happy to know that you and your family had enjoyed your overall stay with us and were pleased with the service provided as well as the facilities available at the hotel.

All your kind comments with regards to the room, pool and beach, playground and restaurants are greatly appreciated.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back in a not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Pam Wilby
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
The Marina
Grosvenor House Dubai
The Marina
Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach
The Marina
The Westin Dubai Mina Seyahi Beach Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Marina
The Ritz-Carlton, Dubai
Jumeirah Zabeel Saray
#45 of 540 in Dubai
4,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Royal Meridien Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Royal Meridien Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Le Royal Meridien Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Al Sofouh Road, Dubai 24970, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai > The Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Dubai
#6 Family Hotel in Dubai
#8 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Dubai
#21 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#25 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
#33 Business Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Royal Meridien Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Royal Meridien Beach Resort & Spa Dubai is situated on a pristine stretch of private beach overlooking the Arabian Gulf and with 500 rooms, caters to every type of traveler. With 14 international restaurants and bars, the hotel offers guests the world on a plate. Caracalla, the hotel’s Spa & Health Club, is the ideal retreat for mind and body. The pool and beach facilities are heaven for sunbathers and joggers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Holiday Gems, Travel Republic (UK), Destinology, Travelbag, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Royal Meridien Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Royal Meridien Dubai
Royal Meridien Dubai
Meridien Dubai
Royal Meridian Dubai
Royal Meridian Hotel Dubai
Le Royal Meridien Beach Resort Dubai
Royal Meridien Hotel Dubai
Le Royal Meridien Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing