We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice experience, friendly staff, clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel & Apartments Bur Dubai
Ranked #84 of 542 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Dunedin, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice experience, friendly staff, clean”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Stayed here for several days and was treated very well by all staff members, the room was very comfortable and clean and the atmosphere of the entire place made you feel welcome. I get to Dubai every 3-4 months and have enjoyed staying at the Movenpick more that other hotels I have stayed previously.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MP_Guest_Relation, Front Desk Manager at Movenpick Hotel & Apartments Bur Dubai, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Joe C,

Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay with us at Movenpick Hotel & Apartments Bur Dubai on Tripadvisor.

I am pleased to read that you had a wonderful time with us and we Thank you for your continuous patronage. It is indeed rewarding to receive such a wonderful compliments from our valued guests and it will always serve as an inspiration to the entire team.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your review and we look forward to welcoming you back on your return to Movenpick Hotel & Apartments Bur Dubai.

Sincerely,
Roslyn Castillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,307
    604
    156
    53
    35
See reviews for
589
326
187
774
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2014

From the moment you arrive, every staff member is attentive and friendly. Luxurious accommodations at a fraction of their value. Every inch of the hotel, not just rooms, is deep cleaned daily. Buffet that is superlative, menu items will exceed expectations! Coming up with a complaint would be unimaginable. Guaranteed excellence! Wifi works and easy! You won't be disappointed! Really!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BARKERDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MP_Guest_Relation, Front Desk Manager at Movenpick Hotel & Apartments Bur Dubai, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear BARKERDS,

Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay with us at Movenpick Hotel & Apartments Bur Dubai on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to read that you had a great time with us and we are grateful that you enjoyed every services of the hotel. I am certain that our service team is equally happy to learn that they succeed on providing you a comfortable and memorable stay.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your review and we look forward to welcoming you back on your return to Movenpick Hotel & Apartments Bur Dubai.

Sincerely,
Roslyn Castillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake George, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Elegant, classy, courteous A -1 service ! .... I look forward to my stays here. The pool is awesome, great for children and adults. Very clean rooms with excellent service, and excellent food. The decor is outstanding. Great place to stay and visit Dubai from...Thank you, RJ

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MP_Guest_Relation, Front Desk Manager at Movenpick Hotel & Apartments Bur Dubai, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Robert J,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your recent experience with us at Movenpick Hotel & Apartments Bur Dubai.

Thank you for your feedback and for mentioning many positive elements about the hotel. We are delighted to read that every aspect of your experience was unforgettable.
I will definitely share your comment with the rest of the team and I am sure they are equally grateful to learn that you had a wonderful time with us.

Once again, thank you for your precious time and we look forward to welcoming you back on your return to Movenpick Hotel & Apartments Bur Dubai.

Sincerely,
Roslyn Castillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagram, Afghanistan
Level Contributor
104 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I have stayed here so many times, I have lost track. Mr. Barker and his staff are always head and shoulders above the rest in quality, professionalism and genuine concern for customer satisfaction. My reviews never seem adequate in expressing my appreciation for the degrees of customer service here. Please read past postings together and perhaps make a more complete understanding of my respect for this group of professionals.
Well-situated, quiet, luxurious and wonderfully appointed. Comfy beds with the softest pillows this side of a cloud. From the Concierge staff to the housekeeping staff, none seem more pleased than when interacting with patrons.
All things being equal, I do not think there is an establishment in America which could hold a candle to the Moevenpick Hotel & Apartments Bur Dubai.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 738DavidD738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MP_Guest_Relation, Front Desk Manager at Movenpick Hotel & Apartments Bur Dubai, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear 738DavidD738,

Thank you for sharing your candid feedback pertaining to your most recent visit with us here in TripAdvisor.
First of all, Thank you very much for your continuous patronage of Movenpick Hotel & Apartments Bur Dubai. Our focus is to create a memorable experience and offer professional warm and friend service to all our guests and I am grateful to hear that you were overall happy with the services provided by all our colleagues. Positive reviews like yours will always serve as an added motivation to the entire team to maintain the highest level of service at all the times to all our guests. Our entire team will surely be proud of your recognition.

Once again Thank you very much for your time and we look forward to welcoming you back on your return to Movenpick Hotel & Apartments Bur Dubai.

Yours sincerely,
Roslyn Castillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We decided to stay in Dubai for 3 days on route to Mauritius to break up the journey from UK. We stayed in one of the 2-bed apartments. The apartment block is located in a separate building behind the main hotel. Rooms are clean and spacious with all amenities you'd expect but decor would benefit from a refresh. Free WIFI in rooms.

Our apartment contained

- separate w/c
- open plan living and dining room with TV, DVD player and Satellite TV (basic channels) with a balcony off the dining area (views were not great though)
- kitchen was separate and comprised decent fridge/freezer, large hob/oven combo with extractor fan, microwave and wash sink/drainer (sorry no dishwasher) and a separate breakfast table. Surprisingly there was also a decent washing machine/dryer
- Laundry room with iron and ironing board - this was a great place to air wet clothes for the following day.
- Master bedroom with super king sized bed, dressing table and mirror and on-suite with bath/standover shower, toiler, bidet and sink with decent mirror and shaver sockets. Also contained deposit Safe.
- Second bedroom with double bed, dressing table and mirror. Also contained deposit Safe.
- Family bathroom with same features as master bedroom on-suite.

Our only criticism was the lack of plug sockets in general around the apartment and especially in the bedrooms. With 3 women in tow you can image the demand for sockets was high for the inevitable hairdryers, straighteners, chargers etc.

These apartments are ideal for families with younger children as there is plenty of space and bedrooms are relatively close proximity for keeping an eye on younger members. Equally for older teens, mum and dad's room is not next door!

in the apartment building itself you have full free use of the top-floor (11th) pool with impressive views over Dubai. These are attended by a life-guard and towels are readily available from him so no need to take your own. There are a few limited sun beds on the terrace next to the pool but these seem to go quickly and then it all feels rather cramped and a bit awkward if you want a swim as there is nowhere for you to leave your bags etc. You cannot order or take drinks to this pool TIP : early morning or late evening is quieter in this pool BUT my mega tip is to take the time to pop over to the main hotel pool as this is much bigger, stacks more sun beds, is partially covered for the little ones and you can eat and drink food in and around the pool. Again towels provided free so just need to take your budgie-smugglers and sun cream!!!!

All floors in apartment and main hotel are serviced by multiple lifts so accessing your rooms and the pools/gyms is quick and easy with no long waits. Everywhere in Dubai is air conditioned inside including the lifts too!

There is a reasonably priced mini super market at the bottom of the apartment block for all you food if you really want to go fully self catering BUT we opted to stock up on basics for breakfast and ate out during the day/evening. To get to it turn left as you exit the apartment block from the hotel side entrance and left again...the main super market entrance is on your left.

The main hotel is plush but not luxurious but seemed to be better presented than the apartment block so if self catering is not a priority I would suggest looking closely at booking a main hotel room. The apartment block is accessed by a side entrance behind the main kitchens along a corridor off to the side of the main entrance (used by staff) so all feels a bit 2nd rate citizen when you are going to your apartment. It would have been better to have had more prominent/dedicated access route to the apartment block in my opinion.

We didn't eat in the main restaurants as they seemed fairly expensive at £18 each for a standard breakfast. Didn't even look at the A La Carte menu or prices but would expect similar high pricing. Besides the restaurants never looked busy at any point during our stay.

Concierge services in the hotel were absolutely fantastic. Francis (black guy - sorry mate) was absolutely excellent, he was very knowledgeable about the trips (must have been on most of them personally), offered open and honest advice about prices and ratings for the various attractions...but also seemed to have the contacts to get you in to most venues even last minute. More on trip prices later - see the end of this review.

The waiters and staff throughout the hotel could not do any more to ensure our visit was pleasant, relaxed and thoroughly enjoyable.

The hotel offers exchange services and exchange rate during our stay were certainly much better than those we were offered in the UK but not quiet as strong as the nearby bank. As always check the rates before you go and keep an eye on them before changing...in terms of rate difference between the hotel and bank there is very little in it but if you don't mind the 10 minute walk to the bank (situated in the nearby mall) then it's probably worth the exercise if nothing else!

Outside of the hotel itself there really isn't much to see. I'm sure if you are prepared to walk there will be lots of stuff in and around but in July in the heat that's not really an option. Besides everything we wanted to see and do was across town in and around the Dubai Fountains, Dubai Mall and Burj Al Khalifi. All of which are a short taxi ride away. Taxis can be ordered from the hotel for 30Dhira (£6UK) and this price if fixed regardless of where you go (within reason). Unfortunately you can't book a return journey this way so have to flag a taxi in the street. TIP : Beware taxis are either private or public. Make sure you get a public one (these are the brown/beige cars with different coloured roofs - colour doesn't matter to the price). We found these to be about the same 30Dhira (£6UK) to get back to hotel. The private cars are unmarked and you really need to agree the price before getting in the car. We didn't even bother but if you feel brave or rich you can even hail down a Ferrari to taxi you back to the hotel - it's that varied!!!!

TRIPS THEN...

1. Desert Safari - Absolutely must do trip. Pick up from hotel at 4pm via big 4WD Toyota Land Cruiser (possibly shared with others as each car takes 6 + driver although we got lucky and it was just my family of 4), arrive desert 5pm and go completely off road in said car thrashing over the sand dunes like a mad man. TIP : Pop a travel pill if you are likely to get travel sick. Dune thrashing is stop and start with plenty of opportunities to get out, stretch legs and take some fabulous photos. Then it's onto a camp in the middle of the desert. Here you get free camel ride, see the sun set and then get wined and dined with food and drink a-plenty with live dancing, dressing up as arabs, photos with birds of prey, free henna tattoos etc etc. You can pay extra for quad bikes, dune surf-boarding etc.

2. Burj Al Khalifi - you gotta visit the 124th floor and take some amazing landscape photos of sprawling Dubai. Felt a bit short changed because unless you visit the restaurant you can't go any higher than this but in 10 seconds you shoot from ground to floor 124 and your ears pop. Just watch the floor numbers whizz by in the lift! Once up there the views are spectacular. Highly recommended. TIP : Book the day before to get a better price and avoid missing out on the best time slots. Majority of slots from around early afternoon through to mid evening go very quickly as people want to catch the day time views, the sunsetting and then Dubai lit up at night so I would recommend a slot around 5-5:30pm would give you the best chance of catching all 3 transition states. There are penny of souvenir shops too and you can even grab refreshments. We stayed on the viewing platforms and floor 124 for a good hour and never felt rushed or hurried to return to ground floor.

3. Dubai Mall - have never seen anything like this in terms of size. With it's own aquarium that puts dedicated aquarium attractions in the UK to shame! Stack of shops and perfect place to grab some reasonably priced food to if you don't want to cook in the self catering apartment. TIP : Make a bee line to one to the outer facing restaurants and get a Dubai Fountain side view of the amazing Fountain show whilst eating your meal. TIP : Dates are a delicacy and firm favourite and are a signature of Dubai so highly recommend picking up some souvenirs for friends and family if nothing else.

4. Dubai Fountain - at around 7pm every evening there is a fountain show at the foot of the Burj next to the Dubai Mall in the main court yard. The display is phenomenal and breath taking and the lighting and huge fountains of water are set to atmospheric music. Don't worry if you miss the first show or only catch part of it - they repeat every 20-30 mins throughout the evening so relax and sit and wait for the start again.

5. Dubai Creek Dhow Trip - basically sold as an evening dinner cruise along the old Dubai creek at night time. Cost circa £45UK each and was an absolutely disappointment and waste of money. No atmosphere and felt like we were on a Blackpool tram on water. Food was awful. No alcohol served so couldn't even drown my disappointment and the meal was rushed in a matter of 1 hour. Buffet style Indian food. Sorry this should be avoided. TIP : If you are adamant on doing this then I did notice and was told that there are pricier cruises available (unfortunately these were not running due to Ramadan) - perhaps worth looking at these as I recall Francis saying these were more a-la-carte menus so might be a better experience and food quality.

Room Tip: I doubt there is a "good/better" room within the apartment block. I would advise staying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TheGodzilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MP_Guest_Relation, Front Desk Manager at Movenpick Hotel & Apartments Bur Dubai, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear TheGodzilla,

Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay with us at Movenpick Hotel & Apartments Bur Dubai on Tripadvisor.

Thank you very much for the very detailed feedback and for mentioning so many positive elements about the Hotel. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and that you enjoyed every services provided by the entire team. We are delighted that Francis assisted you with all your travel needs and I am certain that he will be proud of your recognition. We have also noted your comments with regards to the electric outlets in the apartments and it has been forwarded to the concerned Head of Department for further review and improvement.

Once again, thank you very much for taking the time to post your review and we look forward to welcoming you back on your return to Movenpick Hotel & Apartments Bur Dubai

Sincerely,
Roslyn Castillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

I have never met a more friendly staff, Wifi service is excellent (and it is free), room was very clean, their location is conveniently located away from the crowded areas with a walking distance to many facilities. and dont miss their marvelous Cheesecake.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Bandar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MP_Guest_Relation, Front Desk Manager at Movenpick Hotel & Apartments Bur Dubai, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Bandar A,

Thank you very much for sharing your recent experience with Movenpick Hotel & Apartments Bur Dubai.

It was indeed rewarding to learn that you have enjoyed our warm Hospitality especially the friendliness of all our team members. Thank you very much for recommending our pastry products, and we are glad you liked it. Your kind comments will always serve as an inspiration to the entire team.

Once again, Thank You for your time and we look forward to welcoming you back on your return to Movenpick Hotel & Apartments Bur Dubai.

Yours sincerely,
Roslyn Castillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The hotel is conveniently located in the DHCC area with a warm, business vibe and complete with the most friendly staff that I have come across in recent times.
Karuppasamy from Housekeeping was especially diligent, attentive & respectful in discharging his duties in the propriety of my room with knowing anticipation toward my needs.

A great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanjeet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MP_Guest_Relation, Front Desk Manager at Movenpick Hotel & Apartments Bur Dubai, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Sanjeet T,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with Movenpick Hotel & Apartments Bur Dubai here in TridAdvisor,

We are pleased to read that you were happy with the Hotel location, and you had a great time with us. We are equally delighted that we have played our role to ensure that you will have a memorable and excellent experience. We are grateful that our service team especially Karuppasamy professionally assisted you with all your requirements. I am certain that he will be proud of your recognition.

Once again Thank you very much for sharing your great experience and we look forward to our next opportunity to serve you.

Yours sincerely,
Roslyn Castillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
The Marina
Movenpick Hotel Jumeirah Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Villa Rotana - Dubai
#76 of 542 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel & Apartments Bur Dubai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel & Apartments Bur Dubai

Property: Movenpick Hotel & Apartments Bur Dubai
Address: 19 St | Oud Metha Area, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Dubai
#50 Family Hotel in Dubai
#75 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#79 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Hotel & Apartments Bur Dubai 5*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located opposite the American Hospital in Health Care City and only 10 minutes from a host of Key locations in the city; The Dubai Mall and Fountain, Burj Khalifa, DIFC, The World Trade Centre, Dubai International Airport, City Centre, Dubai Port and Dubai Creek, the Moevenpick Hotel and Apartments Bur Dubai is strategically placed for both your business and leisure requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Movenpick Hotel & Apartments Bur Dubai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel And Apartments Bur Dubai
Movenpick Hotel Dubai
Movenpick Dubai
mövenpick Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing