We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I've lost count of the number of my visits and I've never been disappointed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shangri-La Hotel, Dubai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Dubai
Ranked #58 of 544 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
486 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“I've lost count of the number of my visits and I've never been disappointed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

Nice sized rooms, attentive but not over bearing service, good gym, spa and pool area, what more do you want? Oh and iKandy is a super evening bar concept with live DJ.

This definitely will not be my last stay!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric M, Hotel Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Dubai, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us again and for taking the time to write a new review.

I am glad that your expectations were met during your stay and that you enjoyed the facilities as well as ikandy our chill-out lounge venue.

Your comments are very important to us and we appreciate you sharing these with us.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon and if we may be of any assistance for your future stays, please let me know.


With kind regards,

Eric Mommejac
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,066 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,416
    427
    125
    36
    62
See reviews for
341
620
187
600
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights on our way to Thailand from the uk to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. We were both thrilled with the quality of the hotel and the attention to detail. All the staff we met were both courteous and helpful in all circumstances. The breakfasts and buffet dining in the ground floor cafe were exceptional. Would certainly stay here again

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric M, Hotel Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Dubai, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our team looked after you.

Your valuable feedback is truly appreciated as it enables us to continuously monitor the level of service and standards at the hotel. I particularly want to thank you for your kind comments about your dining experience.

We look forward to welcoming you again and if there’s anything that would make your future stays more comfortable, please let me know.

Kind Regards

Eric Mommejac
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

I have just spent 6 nights at the Shangri-La Dubai in a Horizon Club room. The hotel is about 10 minutes from the airport, and is situated amongst other hotels along one of the main roads in Dubai. This makes it ideal for business meetings, short stop overs or shopping trips. It is a 5 minute taxi ride to the Dubai Mall, one of the worlds largest malls. The journey costs about £5. Due to its central location you shouldn't expect total peace and tranquility. At the front of the hotel is a main road, and at the rear is a mosque. However the soundproofing in the hotel is fine and neither worried me. Being from the UK, the calls to prayer from the mosque were very middle Eastern and, in a way, very relaxing. The benefit of a room at the rear of the hotel is that you get excellent views over the Indian Ocean. My recommendation would be to try and get a room high up at the back of the hotel (it has 42 floors) for great views and muffled noises from traffic and the city. Don't panic about having to fight for lifts if you are jot one low floor - there are 6 lifts which whisk you swiftly from the ground floor to your room floor and this makes all floors equally accessible.

Rooms are large and well equipped. Mine had a large shower (with both a rain shower type and a more traditional wall mounted type) a sunken bath, separate toilet and bidet. Lots of free toiletries are provided including toothbrush, toothpaste, razor, mouthwash, cotton pads together with top end shower gel, shampoo and hand cream. The main bedroom has very fluffy pillows, high quality sheets and duvet, and one of the most comfortable beds I have slept in. There is plenty of wardrobe and drawer space, a huge TV with a decent number of channels including movies and sports, and decent sized desk and chair. Each room comes with free high speed wifi and fixed line internet connection - essential for today's modern traveller.

The Horizon Club is the 'hotel within the hotel' for the Shangri-La group. I have stayed in other Shangri-La hotels and the club here is excellent. It is staffed 24/7 so if you are staying in a club room then on arrival, I recommend you ask the porter to send you straight up to the 41st floor where you can check in sitting down with a drink in your hand! The staff here seem to know every guests name and always made me feel welcome. You can have decent breakfasts in the club from 6am, and there are drinks and nibbles in the evening from 5.30pm. The selection of food is impressive, and the evening nibbles have themes including Chinese, Indian, and Indonesian.

There are a number of restaurants in the hotel. On the ground floor is Dunes which serves high quality buffets for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Lunch is around £25 per person and that includes a huge choice of salads, fresh seafood, smoked salmon, tuna, sushi, Indian food, and loads of hot main courses served by the chefs. If you have a sweet tooth, then there is a fabulous selection of cakes, sweets, ice cream, chocolates, plus a chocolate fountain with all sorts of things on sticks to dip in.

On the first floor is a great Chinese restaurant which serves lots of dim sum for lunch, but also has a fantastic menu of Cantonese food. There are other restaurants but I didn't use any of these. They are all listed on the hotel website.

At the rear of the hotel is a pool with space for around 60 guests on loungers, plus additional space on sofas away from the pools. The main pool always had shaded areas for those of us who don't want to look like Judith Chalmers by the time we reach 30. There is a swim up bar in the pool, but the staff don't pester you to buy stuff all the time. Admittedly I stayed during the quiet months of November, and I can imagine the pool area getting busier at other times. However as I mentioned in my introduction the hotel is in the heart of the city. If you are after space, lots of pools, peace and quiet then you are probably better booking into a resort somewhere on the outskirts of Dubai. In the cooler months, the pool turns into a chilled out 'outside bar' from 6pm until 2am. This means you can have a drink and chat to friends under the stars rather than being stuck in an air conditioned bar.

This is without doubt now one of my most favourite hotels in Dubai. All the staff I met were polite but friendly, and service was impeccable. I have tried to look for criticisms to help balance this review out, but I can't really find any. I shall definitely be back here in a few months.

Room Tip: Less traffic noise in rooms higher up and at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scruffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric M, Hotel Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Dubai, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive and comprehensive comments which are warmly received.
We are truly pleased for highlighting our facilities with such detail and your appreciation to our colleagues' interaction.

Your review is very important to us and we value you sharing these with us. We look forward to welcoming you again soon and if there’s anything that would make your future stays more comfortable, please let me know.

With kind regards,

Eric Mommejac
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
113 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Used to stay and normally dreaming about every single stay in Shangri la in Asia, i have to say that i was disapointed with this Hotel! From check in, to the recognition of the golden circle members, this hotel needs and deserves much more training to aim for Shangri la standards?

Room Tip: Higher rooms will benefit with the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZeBanaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric M, Hotel Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Dubai, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing us with valuable information about your stay. I would like to apologize for the dissatisfaction you experienced during your time with us.
We value all of the feedback that we receive and I would like to personally look in to your issues. Please contact me on eric.mommejac@shangri-la.com and provide me with further details so that I can try to resolve this matter to your satisfaction.
Thank you once again for bringing this to my attention.

With kind regards,

Eric Mommejac
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuttack, Orissa, india
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

The hotel is very centrally located and in close proximity to the malls and attractions of this remarkable city. The staff were extremely polite and helpful. The rooms we stayed in were rather small for the price but were well appointed. The breakfast service was excellent and the staff were more than happy to take custom orders as well. The pool side area was very nice and relaxing but alcoholic beverages were available only after 12 noon, which was a little weird. The only small hitch was that the front office staff very brusquely turned down our request for a late check out.

Room Tip: Don't forget to try out the French and Vietnamese fusion restaurant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DipakM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric M, Hotel Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Dubai, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Dear Guest,

We are pleased that you had such an enjoyable stay experience with us.

Thank you for your positive feedback pertaining to our colleagues service and facilities you have highlighted in your review, it is always great to hear from our valued guests.

As well, I sincerely appreciate for bringing to my attention observations, please contact me on eric.mommejac@shangri-la.com and provide me with further details so that I can try to resolve this matter to your satisfaction.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

With kind regards,

Eric Mommejac
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

We were 3 persons in a business trip for 3 days. We booked a flat of 3 rooms. This is a very good choice & much better than booking 3 individual rooms .

Service was very good . The only hitch was poor internet connectivity in flat rooms

Location in very convenient & close from major attractions. I will definitely consider for future visits .

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Amorous1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric M, Hotel Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Dubai, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for providing us with valuable information about your stay.

We truly appreciate all of the feedback that we receive as well as the kind words about our colleagues' service. I would like to apologize for the dissatisfaction you experienced with hotel internet connectivity. Rest assured that we take every necessary measure for prompt improvement.

Please contact me on eric.mommejac@shangri-la.com so that we can discuss this in more detail.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

With kind regards,

Eric Mommejac
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottery St. Mary, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

Stayed a week in the hotel & it felt like home after a few hours. Everything that could be done to make our stay perfection was. We we especially impressed with how quickly all staff knew our names and that was special.

The room was excellent as was breakfast, lunch & dinner. Poolside was relaxing with a great view of the Burj Khalifi.

Overall a great place to unwind & be pampered.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. One set face the impressive Burj Khalfi & the others the sea. High rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dhogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric M, Hotel Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Dubai, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a new review. We delighted to hearing that you had a wonderful experience and we do particularly appreciate your good words about our colleagues.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon and if there’s anything that would make your future stays more comfortable, please let me know.

With kind regards,

Eric Mommejac
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
0.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Sheikh Zayed Road, Dubai
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Dubai Downtown
0.2 mi away
Dusit  Thani Dubai
Dusit Thani Dubai
#81 of 544 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Taj Dubai
Taj Dubai
#10 of 544 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fairmont Dubai
Fairmont Dubai
#41 of 544 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,553 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jumeirah Emirates Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Dubai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Dubai

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, Dubai
Address: Sheikh Zayed Road | PO Box 75880, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#33 Family Hotel in Dubai
#43 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#55 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
#61 Business Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Dubai 5*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along Sheikh Zayed Road, Shangri-La Hotel, Dubai is just 15 minutes away from Dubai International Airport, and five minutes from the World Trade Centre, Dubai Convention Centre, Dubai Mall and downtown Burj Khalifa.The hotel comprises 302 spacious guestrooms and suites, including two floors of elegant Horizon Club accommodation. To meet the needs of the long-stay guests, the hotel also offers 126 serviced, furnished apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts and Odigeo so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Dubai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Dubai
Shangri La Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing