We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Dubai
Ranked #52 of 550 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, CA
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 4 April 2008

We stayed at Mina a Salam for 7 nights before coming here for a final 3 nights. Let's just say that after 1 night we were phoning other hotels to move locations. Not to say that the Ritz isn't nice, but for the money it is nothing compared to the Mina and the staff are not up to par.

We had a problem with our room. It was badly furnished, dirty, noisy, but these issues were easily overlooked.

However the big issue was we had asked for a room with a door between the bedroom and the living area (where our kids would sleep) and stated this was very important (my husband needed to work, we would order in dinner once the kids were asleep ect ) Anyways, the closet style doors with open slats between them were useless. This might not be a problem for most but it was important to us. When we asked politely for an alternate accommodation we were promised 3 times that someone would look into it and get back to us. After no response I left a message with the hotel manager, no reply again. For three days we could not get a reply or a resolution and so we just enjoyed the great pool, beach and weather and made the best of it. And just because my kids were tired from not being able to get to sleep and the fact that my husband had to go inside in the afternoons to get some work done was not going to cloud our holiday .... well maybe just a bit.

The Mina A Salam has a better beach, pool, rooms (by far!), restaurants and SERVICE and at a price of about 20 pounds more a night for a suite.

  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Noelle V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,599
    360
    118
    52
    47
See reviews for
692
818
78
233
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2008

Our stay from 18/02/08 - 22/02/08 to say a cultural shock after staying in the Madives for 14 days is an understatement - Dubai is a building site and will be the new Benidorm sad to say but true.

Our friends had stayed previously and enjoyed the Residence and Spa 4 years ago (Sept baking hot still a building site!!!) We chose this time The Ritz Carlton and we all thought this was the best choice, we were not interested in staying at any of the large glitzy hotels. The Ritz was just perfect to end our celebration. The Club rooms for us were the best choice, the staff, service and quality of the food and drink was just what we hoped for. Weather was warm/sunny/cloudy chilly one evening.

Pool area for kids and an Adult only pool with jacuzzi, and bubble bed. Bikes delivered beverages to the pool, comp fruit kebabs etc.

On arrival and departure we were treated superbly, nothing was to much trouble. We had a fab time at the races, sit down meal with drinks, panoramic opening doors leading to balcony seats to enjoy the races. It was a superb evening booked by the Ritz and taken by their transport no problems. We also visited the Gold Souks, river taxi for photos, linen Souks and the boys played the Emirates Golf Course. Would we go back to Dubai probably but only if we could stay at the Ritz!!!

  • Liked — the club level
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hudsonLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2008

This is the third time I have stayed at this hotel over the last 4 years. Thought I would point out the pros and cons of Dubai and this hotel.

Pros

Weather is almost guaranteed in Dubai during the winter. Mid Feb was a little chilly in the evening and defintiely take a sweater or pashmina.

No upset tummies

The Ritz Carlton is one of the most comfortable hotels in Dubai. The staff are its greatest assets.

The Ritz Carlton has a Kids Club which is complimentary. Although it would only really be suitable if your children were under the age of 8.

The Club Lounge (free champagne and premimum brand drinks served almost 24 hours a day). You do have to have the drinks in the Club Lounge. No taking them to your sunbed.....

The hotel has a complimentary mini bus to the shopping malls, gold souks etc a couple of times a day.

Taxis are cheap and can take you to say the Royal Mirage Hotel(where all the best restaurants are in my opinion!) for approx £1.50.

The Ritz Carlton gardens and pool area are delightful. Although they were nearly full the hotel always seemed to be quiet.

They always seem to give me an early check in. Do send them a nice email beforehand if you want this. They will always try and do what they can

The private beach is lovely

Cons

There are approx 15 high rise office type blocks behind the hotel completely dwarfing the hotel which is only 6 storeys high!

The restaurants are quite formal and La Baie is very expensive

The price of alcohol and non alcoholic cocktails are verging on the outrageous. Evian water nearly £7 a bottle and no alternative offered. A small beer £6.50.......

The Spa is again too highly priced. A 25 min massage was over £40.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
7 Thank Maisie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2008

Best mistake ever made! Our tour operator had to book us into the Ritz Carlton as our original hotel had over-booked us. What a place! Hotel is the best ever!!! Room excellent, beach & grounds the business, pure luxury, staff first class (especially Jessica @ front desk & Harmony @ front of hotel), WE WILL DEFINATELY BE GOING BACK - FOR LONGER NEXT TIME !!!!

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank JEFTERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham England
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2008

We stayed at the Ritz Carlton on the 2nd week of our Honeymoon.
The reception staff were very friendly and we did not have to wait for our room even though we arrived early.
We stayed in a delux room which was very spacious the beds were so comfortable I even considered buying the pillows etc to take home with us.
We were Bed & Breakfast and thismore than kept you going throughout the day, amazing selection and the man that made all types of egg dishes was so friendly and he cooked the most perfcet poached eggs which he remembered for us each morning.
The food around the pool was also of a high standard huge portions although I would suggest eating in doors just to get out of the heat. The pool boys constantly came round with ice cold towles and melon pieces to eat.
I would recommend having tea at the ritz we did this a few times the cakes were very nice.
We were treated really well by all the staff and with being on our honeymoon we were treated to a treat each day from our room cleaners, from rose petals in our bath to chocolate dipped strawberrys.
I would recommend this hotel and would stay here again ideal for young couples honeymooners and family holidays truly an amazing place.

  • Liked — Attention to detail
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jodbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
312 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 512 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2008

This is our fourth visit to the Ritz Carlton Dubai - our previous visit being three years ago.

The reason we love it is because it is a relatively small hotel (for Dubai) and the service has always been excellent and personal. This visit was no exception. The Hotel's biggest asset is their staff - calling you by name and nothing was too much trouble. They are extremely well trained - professional and friendly without being 'over the top'.

Would we go back for a 5th visit?

Probably not. The rooms are looking rather worn and dated. Our room (515) had very dodgy plumbing with a poor shower and a hand held shower that squirted all over the place!! Lip service has been paid to updating the rooms by having flat screen TVs and on the club floor, a coffee making machine and kettle!! Our feeling (and we may be totally wrong) is that they were cutting corners - products not being replenished in the bathroom, night-time turndown service at 3pm in the afternoon (therefore only one service a day rather than 2). What surprised us most though was checking out. We paid our bill and 2 minutes later a gentleman was in our room checking our mini-bar to see whether we had taken anything and not declared it!!! The last time this happended to us was in a dodgy Bangkok airport hotel about 15 years ago!! it made us feel like crooks!!!

There are so many good hotels in Dubai and excellent service and rooms I think they need to pull their socks up a bit and invest a bit on money on refurbishment.

(4* rating because of EXCELLENT staff!)

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank bertie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2008

I stayed at the Ritz-Carlton Dubai for three nights while on a business trip and was thoroughly satisfied. I agree with some of the other tripadvisor reviews that attribute a special charm to the hotel precisely because it is not housed in a gleaming modern space of glass and steel. I might describe it as a fusion of Middle Eastern and old-European style.

The beach is wide, sandy white and well-groomed. Lots of beach chairs on the sand as well as on the expansive green lawns and by the pool. My only complaint about the beach (which is applicable to all resorts in this area): this part of the Dubai coastline (Jumeirah Beach Residence) is not far from the base of the Palm Jumeirah, an enormous man-made island development that juts out into the sea; so the view of the sea is partially obstructed by a nascent skyline and a bunch of construction cranes (albeit in the far distance). I found this, at first, to be a fascinating view (and quintessential Dubai), but if your idea of vacation bliss is staring into the "infinity" of the sea, you might find this view to be a bit of an eyesore.

The swimming pool was the perfect temperature and I thought it was neat the way the pool branched out into various canals past overhead bridges, overhanging waterfalls and poolside bars (and even a water slide for kids). The swimming area is not huge, but never seemed to get crowded. There is a good-sized tent-covered playground which my 4-year old and 1-year old would have loved. Incidentally, the weather is notoriously phenomenal in Dubai at this time of the year--sunny and 80's during the day and low 70's at night. I turned off the room A/C and kept the doors to my balcony open at all times and was comfortable around the clock.

The breakfast buffet was above average--a mix of eastern and western cuisines (generally something for everybody). The outdoor seating was amid lush greenery and colorful birds. The real culinary highlight of my stay was the Lebanese buffet dinner: the grilled meats and seafood and the exotic desserts were particularly scrumptious and the Lebanese wine was surprisingly palatable. (I didn't make it to the French or Italian restaurants.)

The interior of the hotel features an enormous "sitting room" connected to the lobby with gorgeous wooden-vaulted ceilings and chandeliers, which lends a lot of atmosphere. The sitting room leads to a large wrap-around balcony area overlooking the sea with comfy seating and which always seemed to be empty (much to my delight). Wireless internet worked well in these areas and the lobby, but not throughout the hotel or the hotel grounds. The gym was nice enough, though some of the equipment is a bit dated.

My room (414?) was neither huge nor small and had a medium-sized balcony (big enough for table and two chairs) overlooking the pool area and the sea. I did notice (like other reviewers) that it seemed like a "long" walk to the lobby elevator. In reality, it was probably just a minute's walk, and if you wanted to access the pool area/beach, there was another elevator (in the other direction) that was closer.

TIP: the official website for the Dubai Government's Department of Tourism & Commerce Marketing has a wonderfully detailed, downloadable, searchable PDF map of Dubai (although I don't think it is printable).

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank bretgrebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
The Marina
The Westin Dubai Mina Seyahi Beach Resort & Marina
The Marina
Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Marina
Grosvenor House Dubai
Jumeirah Zabeel Saray
#53 of 550 in Dubai
5,139 reviews
The Marina
Le Royal Meridien Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Dubai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Dubai

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Dubai
Address: 26 Al Mamsha St | The Walk on Jumeirah Beach Residence, Dubai 26525, United Arab Emirates (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton Dubai)
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai > The Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Dubai
#21 Family Hotel in Dubai
#31 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#32 Business Hotel in Dubai
#40 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#48 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Dubai 5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience The Ritz-Carlton, Dubai, and discover a private playground in the heart of the vibrant Dubai Marina District. With all the opulently decorated 294 rooms and suites enjoying garden and sea views, this intimately luxurious resort, situated on 350 meters of the pristine white sands of the Arabian Gulf, is the perfect place to relax and indulge. Enjoy sophisticated dining experiences in one of the resort's 9 restaurants offering culinary choices from Asia, Arabia, Italia to a beach side seafood grill. Guests in search of a more active lifestyle have unlimited recreation facilities to choose from including four tennis courts and a multi-purpose gymnasium, together with six swimming pools -including 2 shaded children's pool one with water slide for younger visitors. The resort's leisure offering comes full circle at The Ritz-Carlton Spa where the ambiance radiates the traditions and warmth of an Arabian "Hammam", with an innovative urban twist. For spectacular settings on lavish celebrations or high-powered business meetings, the resort's grand ballroom, collection of stylish meeting rooms and stunning outdoor pavilions, epitomize The Ritz-Carlton reputation for detail and excellence. Approximately 35km from Dubai International Airport and 25km from the business and financial districts, the city's traditional souqs and tax free shopping malls, The Ritz-Carlton, Dubai is located on the prime white sandy beachfront of Jumeirah Beach Residence, adjacent to The Emirates Golf Club, world championship courses. With the bustling metropolis and all the attractions of urban living on the doorstep, step out of a chauffeured limousine, step into the city's most sought-after beach destination and discover a hidden legendary gem in the heart of Dubai Marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Holiday Gems, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Dubai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Dubai Hotel Dubai
Ritz Carlton Dubai
Dubai Ritz Carlton
Ritz Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing