We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would have been great if it wasn't for the reception at arrival.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Dubai
Ranked #60 of 561 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Had a nightmare pick-up from the airport, was driven by a rude wannabe racing car driver, who threw us (2 adults and 3 kid) around like we weren't in the car. Arrived at the hotel with no one to greet or help us to unload our luggage, the driver just stood and was look for a tip!!! The cheek!! Eventually got to the reception desk. I was shocked to be told that they like to pre-approve my credit card for some hotel spending, when they have already pre-approved AED 51,000 for the room for my entire stay. I was not very happy at this point and started thinking that i have made a big mistake by booking this hotel. What was worst, was the room was not ready for our occupation, i.e. was only made up for 2 people and not a family. Having said, the rest of our stay was amazing the staff were friendly and made us all very welcomed. Overall a very nice experience except for the first 2 hours of our arrival.

Room Tip: Suite 538 is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GVA8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,546)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,550 - 1,556 of 2,546 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2013

I took my g /friend to this hotel as I have had many stays at the RC in Miami and Orlando, must say that there are some serious floors there that despite others saying its fantastic I would say that its not that good

1/ The club lever has serious lack of food if you are on a diet or you eat like a sparrow then this is the place for you, my advise don't spend the extra money sat in a regular room and go out for meals or even snacks
2/ Don't take a cab from the hotel as you will be stuck in traffic for at least 30 mins go to the street opposite take a nice walk and get a cab at the traffic light will save you a packet each day
3/ At present they are building and have shoved everyone to a pool that is surrounded by trees good if you don't like the sun however not good when you return to the uk whiter than when you arrived serious lack of sun.
4/ If you want a nice quiet holiday forget it screaming kids jumping in and out of the pool as there is no where else for them to go
5/ Fifth and final before you leave the uk or where else you have travelled from re mortgage your house, because when you see the attractive pool swim bar once you have ordered a couple of drinks you will need a second mortgage mega expensive £30 for two drinks I asked the bar man was I buying shares in the company

Room Tip: overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bob a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Our stay at the Ritz Carlton Dubai (JBR) was a series of hits or misses. On one hand the room and views were awesome. On the other hand the service (except as noted below) and the food (again except as noted below) was uniformly sub-par.

The good
- Charles the Doorman - if the Ritz could clone him and have him serve all their guests they wouldn't get complaints about their service. He was, without fail, happy, helpful, and, most of all, on the ball each and every time we saw him.
- Room and view. The Ritz has really done a good job with their refresh. Only a few issues (why does everything have to be electronically controlled?) but all in all a good job
- Jivitra (sp?) in the spa. Gave the best massage ever, I've been informed, and should be rewarded for not only her massage abilities but also for her service!

The bad
- Almost every other staff member seemed to feel as if we were interrupting their day if we ever asked for assistance. One front desk member actually huffed when I asked for change!
- The food. If you are going to advertise your restaurants as being 5 stars then give us 5 star food and service. Room service was the worst we have had in ages and except for one meal at the Italian restaurant there was not a single meal that I would call above average and a couple that were definitely below average.
- The Pool / Room Service menu leaves much to be desired and should be revamped ASAP!
- The traffic coming to and leaving the hotel. Can't blame the hotel for this but it is something to be aware of, especially since the traffic going out of JBR will add 15 minutes to your daily trip.
- The gym. If you are going to have the latest TechnoGym equipment with TV and Internet access then don't you think it should work, or that the staff in the gym should be able to show you how to make it work? I do!

All in all this is really a 3.5 star hotel but has the potential to reach 4 or 5 stars with just a little work!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

The perfect hotel for a family vacation. Great rooms, the hotel has recently undergone a renovation. I like everything: service, location, of the disadvantages like to note that the quality of food has deteriorated, especially for children, Arabic and asian food for children is unusual , and the Italian restaurant is so mediocre that we avoid it. But the problem with restaurants in Dubai can be solved very simply, a lot of restaurants here are for every taste

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ivan793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Its a very beautiful hotel, the rooms are spacious and everything you would expect from such a hotel. The breakfast was the only let-down of the stay: totally confusing as to whether to order from the chefs who largely ignore guests and produce very average to poor eggs to order or the few waiters who don't seem to be taking food orders.
However, the rest of the staff are incredibly welcoming and really do go out of their way for guests: Jonathan in concierge was incredibly helpful in finding an optometrist for me, Elena at the front desk very kindly arranged for an even later late checkout and Suranga in the lounge made my last evening very special with a small gift of sweets. Also, I cannot remember her name but the lady in the gym was wonderfully helpful and gave a great tour of the gym and spa facilities which I was so happy to take advantage of. Kudos also to the Blue Jade team who presented a superb dinner full of little surprises.
The little touches of the cookies and dates throughout the hotel, gorgeous flower displays and genuine friendliness of the staff make this a truly great hotel and it's on my list of places I intend to visit again.

Room Tip: a club room is well-worth the extra spend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank totoKenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Good location , good lobby and beach area...
few thing for improvement..

room is very outdated for that much money can easily get better rooms on other beach resort hotel... like one and only westin all the jumeirah hotels.
the service at door was good, but service at breakfast was disappointing...
the brunch is shocking the service is not personal at the splendido restaurant.

in overall there is lot more better hotel in Dubai to spend money...

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ADS K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We (Myself and the Wife) spent a week at the hotel and took on board the suggestions by fellow trip advisors of upgrading to club class - brilliant suggestion well worth the additional sum for the extra's it brings -access to club lounge and the beverage and meals.

The staff from the person who opens the taxi door when you first arrive to the doorman,cleaners, beach staff, waiters and management are all 1st class - who ever selects the staff is a genius at picking people who thrive on customer service.

The Grounds and Beach are superb - no negative comments at all - the balance between a relaxing stay and a hotel/location with plenty of things to do was achieved.

Whilst all the staff are excellent - look out for Godfrey a geniune smile that stands out ....and always ready to refill your glass at just the right moment !

Room Tip: Couldnt fault the room we had on the ground floor facing the beach - however may try the upstairs be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
The Marina
The Westin Dubai Mina Seyahi Beach Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Marina
Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach
Jumeirah Zabeel Saray
#64 of 561 in Dubai
5,495 reviews
Atlantis, The Palm
#118 of 561 in Dubai
17,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Dubai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Dubai

Address: 26 Al Mamsha St | Jumeirah Beach Residence, Dubai 26525, United Arab Emirates (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton Dubai)
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai > The Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Dubai
#20 Family Hotel in Dubai
#31 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#32 Business Hotel in Dubai
#44 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#54 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range: £208 - £682 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Dubai 5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience The Ritz-Carlton, Dubai, and discover a private playground in the heart of the vibrant Dubai Marina District. With all the opulently decorated 294 rooms and suites enjoying garden and sea views at our hotel in Dubai, United Arab Emirates, this intimately luxurious resort situated on 350 meters of the pristine white sands of the Arabian Gulf is the perfect place to relax and indulge. Our hotel's leisure offering comes full circle at The Ritz-Carlton Spa where the ambiance radiates the traditions and warmth of an Arabian "Hammam", with an innovative urban twist. Approximately 35km from Dubai International Airport and 25km from the business and financial districts, the city's traditional souqs and tax free shopping malls, The Ritz-Carlton, Dubai is located on the prime white sandy beachfront of Jumeirah Beach Residence, adjacent to The Emirates Golf Club, world championship courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelbag, Holiday Gems, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Dubai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Dubai Hotel Dubai
Ritz Carlton Dubai
Dubai Ritz Carlton
Ritz Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing