We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fourth time and still the best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Jumeirah Mina A'Salam
Ranked #33 of 554 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Just enjoying our fourth stay at Mina a' Salam. It's become a winter pilgrimage each February half term, and we'll almost certainly be here next February too.

As we said in our review last year, when a hotel is as good as this the thought of staying anywhere else induces a level of fear. We discuss the other options: Muscat, Red Sea, the One and Only here in Dubai, but what could be worse than spending a week regretting that you are at the wrong hotel? Well how about also spending the months when you should be looking forward to it instead dreading it because you know you've made the wrong choice. That's how good this place is.

The Mina a Salam is part of the Madinat Jumeirah complex. Two hotels (Mina a Salam and Al Qasr) plus numerous stunningly attractive summerhouses (the Dar El Masyaf), a souk of sorts and numerous restaurants and bars, all set in a beautiful park with a network of canals and free water taxis to get from A to B.

Everything is top quality. We have tried to find an equivalent experience winter sun (Four Seasons at Sharm, Kempinsky at Dead Sea). But nothing compares to this. We pick the Mina a Salam just because it is at one end of the complex, so we can ride a water taxi more often (particularly at night the views as you glide silently through the waterways are simply magical), but I have no doubt Al Qasr would be fab too.

Wi-fi free, which makes a change.

A tip - don't pay extra for a sea view (c£40 a night extra). Although the adjacent Burj al Arab will be visible from the balcony, it is just as visible from the standard rooms, but in any event it is visible from everywhere and you will have plenty of opportunity to take great shots. The standard Arabian Deluxe rooms give a side on view of the Burj al Arab and the Jumeirah Beach Hotel, and in the distance is downtown Dubai including the Burj Khalifa. Immediately below is a bit of scrub, but it's not that important and £40 per night for a slightly better view isa little too much.

So 4 visits, and we will probably book the same thing for next Feb too. And no we are not connected.

Room Tip: A tip - don't pay extra for a sea view (c£40 a night extra). Although the adjacent Burj al Arab...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MartinSarah02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJGuestfeedback, General Manager at Jumeirah Mina A'Salam, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2013

Dear Guest,

Firstly, thank you for your loyalty in Mina A’ Salam. I am delighted to read that you continue to choose our Hotel over the many options available in Dubai. We make every effort to ensure your expectations are exceeded in this regard and I sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share your personal experience and acknowledge our efforts.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back for the 5th stay with your friends and we hope that we deliver the similar exceptional service during your next stay.

Yours sincerely,

Azar Saliba
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,823)
There are newer reviews for Jumeirah Mina A'Salam
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,400 - 1,406 of 2,823 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2013

Looking for some winter sunshine we decided to choose Dubai.We chose the Mina A'Salam from reviews and recommendations. To be honest we were expecting it to be brash and glitzy but quite the opposite. As readers are aware it is ppart of a complex of 2 hotels with private villas alongside and in the m iddle an artificial "souk" really a shopping mall.If you don't want to walk anywhere buggies ans abras are provided. It is extremely beautiful,
We chose the Mina which is the smaller of the 2 hotels and it is a very fine hotel indeed. Amole restaurants,a fine spa and swimming pools with a private beach make up a holiday complex of exceptional quality. We had a club ocean view balcony room which could not be faulted.There is not much to do in Dubai so it is essential to stay in a good hotel and this must be one of the best.We picked a club room as drinks and canapes are complimentary between 6pm and 8 pm, very useful. as alcohol is very expensive in Dubai. They also served breakfast and a very good afternoon tea.
To conclude we cannot recommend this hotel highly enouh, there are many fine restaurants to dine at and you don't really have to ever leave. Staff are friendly, charming and helpful and add to the pleasurable experience, yes it is expensive, but you get what you pay for, we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RICHARD S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJGuestfeedback, General Manager at Jumeirah Mina A'Salam, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your glowing review on Trip Advisor with regards to your recent stay with us with your family.

I am very much delighted that you were overall impressed with our facilities, transportation services and culinary offerings within the resort. Your wonderful review is greatly appreciated by our team who will also motivate them to exceed further your expectations.

Thank you once again and I look forward to welcoming you and your family back to our resort in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Azar Saliba
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Called for three days to the mina a salam on our return from the Maldives. Greeted at reception like royalty. Offered fresh orange juice, towels as we walked through the door.. Upon our arrival at reception we were completing our check in and their systems recognised we had stopped at a jumeirah hotel previously so they had all our details already. Fantastic, service on a very personal basis commenced. We were offered the opportunity to upgrade our room, which in the scheme of things would have been a very reasonable price anyway, however we chose to upgrade our whole package. The receptionist upgraded our package from a view overlooking the gardens, to an ocean view with a balcony on the fifth floor, directly overlooking the burj al Arab hotel. The service upgrade we elected for, included a special lounge, where breakfast, afternoon tea, canapés and happy hour (champagne included) were enjoyed, with no more than 6 other people being in the lounge at any one time. The service was very personal, always on a named basis and the chef and waiters after the first day, remembered all our preferences for food and drink. Made our trip special. We knew how expensive Dubai is for drinks (alcoholic and soft) and food so the upgrade was definitely worth the money. The hotel is part of a complex and a sail around the waterways and a walk around the souk in the complex left a positive impression and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend any of the accommodations. The hotel is superior to jumeirah beach hotel where we have previously stayed (which in itself is great anyway) and definitely merits its five star rating. Next time I would try to book a deal where you pay for bed and breakfast and get an automatic upgrade to half board ... That's the reason I give 4 instead of 5 stars for value ... However all in all I would say we had a perfect stay, and are looking forward to going back again to the mina a salam next year for a similar short break.

Room Tip: Upgrade to executive/premium if you can. The extra £100 a night us well worth it!
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MWoodhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJGuestfeedback, General Manager at Jumeirah Mina A'Salam, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for sharing your review with regards to your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you appreciate our effort to provide you with our exceptional service as well as the upgrade, room amenities and our club lounge offerings.

I sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you once again in Mina A’ Salam in the future. Thank you for recommending our resort to your friends and family.

Yours sincerely

Azar Saliba
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

It is a great hotel but not our style. We stayed at two other hotels during this trip to Dubai (Raffles and Qsar Al Sarab), both of which we preferred over the Mina a Salam hotel.

Sure, the hotel and its facilities are five star but for us the experience was only four start for the following reasons:

- Deluxe room with a King bed are smallish.
- Service is great one minute and appalling the next. Huge variance between staff.
- Live bands and loud music.
- Large and touristy

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MEM72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013 via mobile

A truly amazing experience, from start to finish. From the moment the guy at the front opened the taxi door and greeted us by name (how did he know it was us?!), to the elegant ladies greeting you with cold drinks and fresh scented towels, from the warm welcome from the lovely young guy that dealt with us at the reception desk, to being whisked away by the charming and ever helpful Karin at the Executive Lounge where we had a separate check in. Offered breakfast while they dealt with check in, Karin swept us to our room and opened the door to paradise.

Three days was not enough. The afternoon tea was outstanding, and in the evening endless fizz and canapes from 6pm. Treat yourselves and pay the extra for the premium leisure club.

I cant wait to go back. This is the reason why holidays were invented.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chunkylongtail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJGuestfeedback, General Manager at Jumeirah Mina A'Salam, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your choosing to stay with us when you visit Dubai. I am delighted to learn how much you enjoyed your most recent holiday and I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback and recommend our Resort.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back on your return to Dubai.

Yours sincerely

Azar Saliba
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

This is a beautiful hotel with staff that are really there to help you enjoy your stay. We arrived at 3am with two children and two grandparents! While waiting to check in we were greeted by very pleasant staff in the lobby who offered us a very welcome "freshly squeezed" orange juice. We were then shown to our rooms.

They were very good and made sure we were placed close to each other and close to the elevators. We had interconnecting rooms with the children. both rooms were fantastic. I loved the Arabic decor rooms very good size we had a balcony view of the beach which was perfect. The rooms were serviced twice a day! Their toiletries were lovely you really felt you were being spoilt and there was plenty of them.

Only Down side - Restaurants get booked out very fast so advisable to book for every night. Breakfasts were wonderful, great variety for all nationallities and staff agin are very helpful.

We loved the boat and or buggies that are on site to transport you within the Jumeriah complex which includes 2 other hotels and a waterpark - you are able to use the facilities at each of these hotels.

Loved, loved this hotel would definatly recommend it for all. It is calm, respectful and quiet not for party goers so suited us perfectly.

Will definatly be back

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EdCoClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJGuestfeedback, General Manager at Jumeirah Mina A'Salam, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for posting your review about your recent holiday with us on Trip Advisor.

We were really happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your recent visit to the hotel and that you were particularly pleased with the excellent service received from our colleagues. I am most glad that you enjoyed our signature experience- the traditional boats called abras.

I will be sure to share you kind feedback with the team and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Yours sincerely

Azar Saliba
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

We flew in overnight for a 3 night break in Dubai. We have always stayed at one of the One an Only hotels but to be honest they have gone a bit down market in the last few years so decided to have a change and chose the Mina a' Salem , what a difference !
We arrived about an hour and a half after landing to be greeted by lovely staff , a refreshing glass of orange juice and a cold towel. Our room was all ready for us and we were whisked away to it within minutes. We had an Arabian deluxe room which was very nice , had everything we needed including a balcony to take in the stunning sunsets.
The hotel is immaculate in all its areas, the parts we did see were always staffed by very happy people, at no point did we come across any difficulties.
We spent our days on the lovely beach, plenty of sunbeds at all times , a fab view of the Burg Al Arab and a lovely stretch of sea which is not land locked and as dead as a doe doe like the beach at the One and Only, my husband even spotted a massive fish just on the waters edge.
The Madinat resort has lots of restaurants , we choose to go to the more upmarket of these. We tried Pierchic the first night which was fabulous, set out on a jetty in the sea , a place to have a very romantic meal , the food was sublime but then it should be for the amount we paid !!
We made all our reservations in the uk before arriving because we were there over a weekend an didn't want to be disappointed and not get in to our chosen restaurants.
On the Saturday night we pushed the boat out and had a meal in the restaurant on the 27th floor of the Burg Al Arab ( sorry can't remember the name ) . We also booked the skyview bar for cocktails after dinner. You cannot just go into the Burg , you need a reservation to get any where near the place so be warned , but to be honest if you are paying what they are for a room you expect a bit of them and us . Personally we found the whole place a bit naff and O T T , the restaurant itself was very underwelming , the ambience nothing special and the food certainly nothing to write home about , we have had much better meals in the more upmarket restaurants in London. The bill for 2 starters , 2 main courses, a bottle of New Zealand wine , 2 coffees , a port and armagnac £ 600.00 thank you very much !!! There was supposed to be a dress code , we made the effort but maybe a member of staff should have pointed out to the guy walking around in an anorak and flat cap and all the other sruffs that they are letting the side down !!
Cocktails in the bar afterwards were fine , the idea is to get a look at the view but unless you are seated front row you only see the dark at night and the lights of Dubai. We had a good time but won't be returning.
On our last night we ate at MJ'S over at al Qusar, billed as a steak house, it was again very good and couldn't recommend it enough.
We never bothered with breakfast in the mornings, the room has tea and coffee making facilities which is very handy, so can't comment on any other places . We always had lunch on our sunbeds ,the guys serving were always excellant and prompt and the greek salads very good.
In summing up this hotel in not cheap by any standards, but then that seemed to have kept away a certain type of people. Every thing about the place is top notch just as you would expect, excellant staff and facilities restaurants and bars.
We are hoping to return for a few days later in the year, we were that impressed.

Room Tip: Our room 201 overlooked part of the souk and an outside restaurant , so if sitting on the balcony en...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank WokingSurreyScruffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJGuestfeedback, General Manager at Jumeirah Mina A'Salam, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you immensely for taking the time to share your detailed experience with others and for your nice comments about our resort, food, and service.

I am overjoyed to read that your visit to Madinat Jumeirah was a wonderful trip and that our colleagues made you feel welcomed and loved. We will keep on working hard to provide the best of all ourselves. Our goal is always to exceed our guests´ expectations.

Our main commitment is to maintain the high standards you have experienced through consistency training to our colleagues; of whom we are very proud and believe is the finest in the Region.

Thank you once again for your wonderful feedback and we look forward in welcoming you once again in our hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely

Azar Saliba
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
0.2 mi away
Jumeirah Al Qasr at Madinat Jumeirah
4.6 mi away
Jumeirah Zabeel Saray
Jumeirah Zabeel Saray
#55 of 554 in Dubai
5,214 reviews
2.2 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Dubai Palm Jumeirah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Sofitel Dubai The Palm Resort & Spa
8.3 mi away
Jumeirah Emirates Towers
0.2 mi away
Jumeirah Dar Al Masyaf at Madinat Jumeirah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jumeirah Mina A'Salam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jumeirah Mina A'Salam

Address: Jumeirah Road PO Box 75157, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Dubai
#14 Family Hotel in Dubai
#14 Business Hotel in Dubai
#24 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#28 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#30 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range: £213 - £1,061 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Jumeirah Mina A'Salam 5*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely refurbished in 2015, Jumeirah Mina A'Salam, the heart of Madinat Jumeirah Resort, is a luxuriously charming boutique style hotel. The spacious guest rooms are beautifully furnished, with private balconies overlooking the sea, offering authentic Arabian experiences on a beach front location with family friendly service. Meaning 'Harbour of Peace', the hotel forms the gateway to Madinat Jumeirah. It's the entry point from which numerous waterways and walkways thread their way to all corners of Madinat Jumeirah. Following these will transport you to an array of 40 world-class restaurants, bars and cafes, Talise Spa and a traditional souk. You'll see just how much is on offer - and why this luxury resort is the jewel of Dubai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jumeirah International, Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Travelbag, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jumeirah Mina A'Salam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mina a` Salam At Madinat Jumeirah Hotel Dubai
Mina Salam Hotel
Mina Salam Dubai
Mina Al Salam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing