We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a weird location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira
Ranked #235 of 561 Hotels in Dubai
Reviewed 28 July 2012

There's nothing wrong with this somewhat older hotel, but it's a few blocks off the beaten track. The pool is very small, but it's a fun place to check out paint scratches on planes landing and taking off from the Dubai airport, if you get my drift.

Room Tip: Being right under the flight path didn't bother me, but it might bother a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BusTrav180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FWaller, General Manager at Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2012

Dear BusTrav180,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel’s products and services and express your feedback on the positives and negatives of the hotel which we do take very constructively.

Again, thank you for choosing to stay with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

FW, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (853)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

546 - 552 of 853 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2012

To be fair, this review is done thru the perspective of a regular guest and SPG (gold) elite member. They are both me - but it's important when reporting on positive/negatives of a property to disclose elite status which may impact an overall stay.

Location: Quite near the airport - taxi FROM airport around $15US, TO the airport $8US (no airport departure fee). Hotel is not near the CBD, but all malls and attractions are not hyper far and won't set you back much in cost. In the area of the hotel are several shops, a hyper 24 hour market and restaurants.

Property: Generally clean and maintained, though it has shown a bit of age. And one absolute must is to have all the lights showing on your hotel name so cars passing by can locate it. Not the case. One or two bulbs were out; you could still find the hotel, but it just looks cheap and run down left as is.

The rooftop pool is nice, albeit small - but plenty of areas to lounge. Great views too - especially for airline buffs - with flight path right over the hotel (you can't hear the planes from inside though). Fitness center should not be missed - offering up-to-date machines, spa and shower area.

The rooms: My initial room had toilet paper wrapped around the smoke detector. The batteries to the TV remote control were dead. My "enhanced" room (for gold-elite) was an interior room facing other rooms. No view, no higher level, no corner room or upgrades. I already paid to be on club level. The showstopper though was INTERNET access: One fee, one device. You cannot logoff one device and add another (per reception) - and boy I tried. This is a BIG deal for business travelers accustomed to using a smartphone and laptop where wifi is needed for both. Otherwise, the rooms are pretty standard to the Sheraton brand with all the basic bathroom goodies you would expect.

For the issues other than internet, after a discussion with the duty manager, we came to an understanding of the problems and he moved me to a different room that satisfied all parties. He was responsive and even offered to move my luggage. Noteworthy, for gold elite members, I was reminded twice, "you got the room you paid for" - nothing more. I perceived this as a suggestion gold-elite members upgrades were not an option - as they are at other Sheraton's around the world - at the discretion of the property.

Food: My rate included breakfast. They had a good spread of hot and cold dishes. Staff on hand to make tasty espresso drinks as well. Did not visit the restaurant for other meal periods or the bar.

Staff: Either firm business "just the facts ma'am" attitude, or cheerful and pleasant. No one was rude or unfriendly.

Overall: High end 3-star or low-end 4-star property. This is a nice hotel outside the CBD with friendly staff, but there are a few opportunities for improvement for both the hard and soft product of this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank X1432GLmikeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FWaller, General Manager at Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

Dear dbcme,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel’s products and services and express your feedback on the positives and negatives of the hotel which we do take very constructively.
Again, thank you for choosing to stay with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

FW, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

The Sheraton hotel deira is quite lovely! In a nice location, the staffs were nice, polite and always willing to help!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikkie2504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FWaller, General Manager at Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

Dear Nikkie2504

Thank you for your very recent stay with us at Sheraton Deira Hotel!

We appreciate your complimentary comments on the hotel’s product and services.

Again, thank you for choosing to stay with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

FW, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

The hotel is small.
It as a restaurant with buffet not too good.
The room are clean but nothing special

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deutsch74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FWaller, General Manager at Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

Dear deutsch74

We thank you for your constructive feedback on your recent stay at the Sheraton Deira Hotel. However we note from your comments that you found your stay average.
Despite your average experience we hope that you will choose to stay with us again and have a more enjoyable stay as we are continuously striving to better our services to our valued guests as yourself.

Kind regards,

FW, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

I and my uncle stayed here in June. Room and service were fantastic.Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good, no complaint about it. However, the internet was a bit over price, the internet free was pretty much the same as the room rate. No attractions around , no shops around as well. Overall, It was just ok. I am happy about what i paid for

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FWaller, General Manager at Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

Dear Brian N
Thank you very much for posting a review on trip advisor regarding your recent stay at Sheraton Deira Hotel. We are continuously striving to meet our guests need with satisfaction.
Should your travel plans bring you back to Dubai in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us for a reservation, we would be happy to assist you and welcome you back to our hotel.

Yours sincerely

FW, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

hotel location is good. many reastaurant near by. lulu hypermarket is just opposite . hotel is average. hotel needs to be renovated old furniture . bed not comfortable. breakfast is good. entry to culb is free for guest.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amarthale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FWaller, General Manager at Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

Dear amarthale
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel’s products and services and express your feedback on the positives and negatives of the hotel which we do take very constructively.
Again, thank you for choosing to stay with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

FW, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Enjoyed the stay at Sheraton Deira.

As usual though the Deira Sheraton doesn't carry the flagship of Sheraton Creekside, this is one of the best places, centarlly located, good pubs & good food.

Good place for relaxing.

Room Tip: Take the City View Rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariumAlHasina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FWaller, General Manager at Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

Dear MariumAlHasina A,

Thank you for taking the time for writing a Trip Advisor review regarding your recent stay at Sheraton Deira. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we delivered the service levels you expected.

I klook forward to welocming you back in the near future.

Regards,

FW, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
2.8 mi away
Grand Excelsior Hotel Bur Dubai
0.6 mi away
Coral Dubai Deira Hotel
Coral Dubai Deira Hotel
#146 of 561 in Dubai
773 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marco Polo Hotel
Marco Polo Hotel
#236 of 561 in Dubai
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Grand Excelsior Hotel Al Barsha
0.4 mi away
Best Western Premier Deira
2.5 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#175 of 561 in Dubai
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira

Address: Al Muteena St | Deira, Dubai 5772, United Arab Emirates (Formerly Sheraton Deira Hotel)
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#55 Best Value Hotel in Dubai
#151 Business Hotel in Dubai
#198 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range: £47 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira 4*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira is one of the handpicked hotels for guests visiting Dubai. Superbly situated in the busiest location of Deira, close to airport, known for its unique Arabian hospitality. The 229 smoking & non-smoking rooms, standard, suites, executive and one Royal Suite. Dining offers in The Terrace restaurant, Le Cafe, Lindbergh’s Bar & Stars Studio Night Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Dubai
Dubai Sheraton
Sheraton Deira Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing