We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms are ok for the value, location and room noise is a big let down.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira
Ranked #244 of 565 Hotels in Dubai
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

Had to change rooms after the first night because the bathroom flooded twice. Was woken by a jackhammer at 8am after arriving at the hotel at 2am from an overseas flight - wasn't impressed.
Night club noise is very audible if your room is on level 1, I used ear plugs so it wasn't too bad.
Wifi is abysmal - Cuts out, and if you're on the ground floor 'business centre' only lasts 45mins before you have to get a new username and password from the reception.
Allow ~US$40 per day for taxis if you want to see any of Dubai, as the hotel is not close to the city centre, old or new, or the train station. Fairly close to the airport if your only passing through Dubai.
The rooftop pool is the best part of this hotel and it's saving grace as far as I'm concerned.
Oh and allow 20% extra on the room rate per day for city taxes not included in the quoted price online - which may just be a Dubai thing- not sure.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrdiclemente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FWaller, General Manager at Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

Dear Mrdiclemente,

Thank you for choosing to stay with Sheraton Deira Hotel, Dubai and for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor site.

It is regrettable that your stay with us did not meet your expectations and I am very disappointed to know of this. One of the major purposes of online reviews is to highlight areas for improvement and therefore we appreciate your comments. We are constantly looking at how we can improve our guest experiences and so value your feedback. I use this platform to extend my apologies for the shortfalls regarding the change of room as the bathroom flooded twice and the disturbance of sleep due to the noise arising from the nightclub and the jackhammer at an early hour, specially as you arrived very early hours of the morning. We have also taken note of the wifi disconnection and understand the importance of a strong & speedy wifi connection for a business traveler in today’s world. Please rest assured that every matter will be addressed to the best of our ability.

Moreover we would like to add that we are a city centre hotel located in the old part of the city and have close access to a metro which is a 10 minutes walking distance from the hotel.

Your patronage is appreciated and we look forward to having you back with us soon.

Yours sincerely,

FW, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (877)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

459 - 465 of 877 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2013

Stayed here early October and when we checked in we told by reception that there wi if was slow and to come down to lobby to have better reception etc . They forget to tell us that you only have a 4 hour daily window . We had been traveling for 5 weeks and thought a decent hotel would be good for the last days of our trip . Even though the hotel was ok , breakfast was quite extensive , for a businessman like myself to have to stuff about with internet is just not good enough. I have seen other reviews were the wifi has been criticised and feel that the management do not see it as a priority, in hindsight we would have been better staying somewhere else . The rooms even though quite spacious are a little dated and the shower screen leaked on the floor . At this stage I would not recommend this hotel .

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RickA629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FWaller, General Manager at Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

Dear RickA629

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on the Trip Advisor forum as a guest at Sheraton Deira Hotel.

It is disappointing to read your feedback regarding the wifi experience. We have just recently started offering our guests with a 4 hour free wifi access from time of login after which it is a paid premium service. We are facing some challenges on this new installation and presently work is in progress to rectify the blockages so that we will have more signal points which have stronger access power & connectivity. We are aware that internet plays a dynamic role in today’s hi-tech world of communication. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience.

Yours sincerely,

FW, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Great staff, comfortable room, pretty good food but, internet access from the rooms, even on the high-speed option is AWFUL !! Over the course of the week staying here, I had to call their IT guys in 4 times and even then, the speed of internet access was lousy with repeated re-connections required. They simply HAVE to improve this if they are toi appeal to the business traveller.

Room Tip: Amazing sound-proofing given that it's right under the flight path for DXB. The 4th (except midd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigbeekay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FWaller, General Manager at Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear bigbeekay,

Thank you for choosing to stay with Sheraton Deira Hotel and sharing your experience.

We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review – it’s always good to hear that you found our staff great, rooms comfortable and food being pretty good. And it is indeed a dampner to know that while all was well it did not go so well with the internet. You were dissatisfied with the speed & connectivity access of internet. This is really disappointing and we do apologize for this shortcoming with the internet. Please rest assured that we have resolved the issue.

Your patronage is valued. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. If you ever need reservation assistance please contact the hotel directly or via our website.

Stay connected,

Warm regards,

FW, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

My wife and I stayed at the hotel for 5 good nights in Room 127 in the period between 24 -29 September 2013. We had one huge problem: bad smell in the bathroom! Despite repeated reminders to the management about the smell, no action was taken until we departed on 29 September. It is a pity that such a minor problem could take that long to solve. Ideally, the management could have moved us to another room -- but they kept on spraying with some inferior perfumes, which did not solve the problem. Such a problem needed a professional plumber and not a room cleaner. I will think twice before I book or advice any of my friends to book into that hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Cleanliness
Thank sempeho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FWaller, General Manager at Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear Sempeho,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your recent stay at Sheraton Deira Hotel.

From your comments I realize that you did not fully enjoy your stay in our hotel. First and foremost please accept my apologies for the inconvenience on your bad experience relating to the bad odor from your bathroom during your entire stay with us which was unfortunately not handled very professionally from our end. I am in agreement with your comment that it required the hand of a plumber and not a room cleaner.

Please rest assured that I will address this matter with the concerned department so that in future we do not encounter a reoccurrence of a similar incident.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Sheraton Deira Hotel.

Yours sincerely,

FW, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We recently stayed at the Sheraton Deira Hotel in Dubai. We found as before the hotel was excellent value for money , and the staff were very attentative , and nothing was too much trouble for them to make us feel welcome and enjoy our stay with them.
The room was spacious , the beds very comfortable , and well cleaned each day.
They have an excellent roof top terrace with a lovely swimming pool and spa pool.You can also enjoy reasonable priced bar snacks on the roof terrace , and a happy hour btween 6 and 8Pm every evening.
The breakfast in the restaurant was excellent , with food for everyones tastes , and a chef to make you fresh fried eggs , omlettes etc.
The meals in the evening were again excellent value for money , and on theme nights , two people can enjoy a meal where you can eat and drink as much as you can for around 320 Dhm's , and with an SPG card , you receive an extra 20% discount during July to September inclusive.
It is in our opinion centrally located , with a 10 minute walk to the Metro station , and acess to a variety of great restaurants locally.
They run a free shuttle service to various shopping malls , and to Jumeirah beach.
Cannot fault the value for money , and would recomend this hotel fort any first time visitors.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for rooms to the middle or right of the hotel as you look at it on entering , as t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicholas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FWaller, General Manager at Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear Nicholas M,

A pleasure to have had you back as our guest recently in September 2013.
Moreover, we thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor site regarding your stay and the products and services you received as our guest.

We appreciate your complimentary remarks on the good value for money, attentive staff to whom nothing was too much to do to ensure you all felt welcomed . We are very happy to note that we went beyond in just meeting with your basic expectation.

Thank you so much for being so generous in explaining all the many highlights such as the spacious bed, clean room, comfortable beds, excellent rooftop swimming pool with it’s Health Club corner, the good breakfast options for all tastes including the live cooking egg station, the close proximity of the hotel to metro & bus stations, not forgetting the many stand alone restaurant in the nearby vicinity of the hotel which is centrally located to malls, hotels & other touristic sites.

Once again we thank you for choosing to stay at Sheraton Deira and we value your comments.

If you require any assistance please contact the hotel directly or via our website.

We continue to look forward to your next visit soon.

Warm regards,

FW, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We booked into this hotel as we were meeting up with friends travelling from Saudi Arabia. Check-in was a nightmare, the booking printout had the wrong details (same name, wrong nationality, date of birth, passport details, loyalty number), and when asked to find the correct booking or update the system we were told to 'cross the details out & insert the correct details'. Our room smelled of damp, was next to the entry door on the first floor, so we had the pleasure of everyone else's chatter throughout the night & it seems that this is where housekeeping congregate in the morning for an early morning chat prior to starting work! Breakfast was poor and check-out incurred another dispute when we were billed for room service, which we hadn't used. Fortunately we were only staying 1night, unlike our friends who were booked in for 5 and were on their 4th room! It did have 1 redeeming feature:Hubby was impressed with the anti-mist bathroom mirror. The worst hotel we've stayed in since living in the Middle East, they'd have to pay me to stay here again.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Coral M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FWaller, General Manager at Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear Coral B,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on the trip Advisor site on your recent stay at the Sheraton Deira Hotel.

It is saddening to read your review and note that we were unable to meet up on your expectations and that disappoints us. It looks like we got it all wrong from check-in to check-out – I use this platform to apologize for the shortcoming in our service deliveries.

I want to thank you for addressing your concerns as it allows us to measure the effectiveness of our product & services in order to make the necessary changes to ensure that we obtain a perfect level of guest satisfaction.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Yours sincerely,

FW, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I recently stayed at the Sheraton Deira Hotel in Dubai. This hotel is one of the best that I have stayed in. They offer a really nice room and if you can upgrade to any of the Club rooms, everything is offered on your floor. I stayed in a Club room and the Club lounge was available from 6 AM - 11 PM. They offered wireless during that time, and it is normally in 2 hr increments, but all you have to do is to get another code from the attendant who is always available and goes around inquiring if you need anything. Breakfast is offered form 7 AM - 10:30 AM and during the Happy Hour - 6 PM - 8: PM, you have hot food and drinks. During the day, snacks are also available there. This hotel offers wireless in the lobby, bar area and club lounge. You also get wireless in the room for 4 hrs each day (6 AM - 6 PM). If you need a gift for yourself or special one, definitely go and see Lalani in the shop close to the elevators.

Room Tip: To get a true Sheraton experience, get a Club room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FWaller, General Manager at Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear Carl B,

Thank you for choosing to stay with Sheraton Deira Hotel.

We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor– it’s always great to hear our guests say that their stay at Sheraton Deira was one of the best. It makes us happy to know from your review that you enjoyed yourselves – specially the Club room and the facilities , privileges which you enjoy as a Club floor guest, which you have so graciously explained in your review.

Our team at Sheraton Deira Hotel looks forward to welcoming you back in the near future. If you need any reservation assistance please contact the hotel directly or via our website.

Warm regards,

FW, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
2.8 mi away
Grand Excelsior Hotel Bur Dubai
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dubai Al Muraqabat
3 mi away
Sea View Hotel
Sea View Hotel
#52 of 565 in Dubai
1,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Grand Excelsior Hotel Al Barsha
1.6 mi away
Raintree Hotel, Deira City Centre
2.5 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#188 of 565 in Dubai
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira

Address: Al Muteena St | Deira, Dubai 5772, United Arab Emirates (Formerly Sheraton Deira Hotel)
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#151 Business Hotel in Dubai
#205 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range: £44 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira 4*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira is one of the handpicked hotels for guests visiting Dubai. Superbly situated in the busiest location of Deira, close to airport, known for its unique Arabian hospitality. The 229 smoking & non-smoking rooms, standard, suites, executive and one Royal Suite. Dining offers in The Terrace restaurant, Le Cafe, Lindbergh’s Bar & Stars Studio Night Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Dubai
Dubai Sheraton
Sheraton Deira Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing