We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please avoid”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira
Ranked #225 of 545 Hotels in Dubai
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Please avoid”
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

I was going to stay for two nights with my wife in this terrible hotel, but they have provided me with twin beds room!!!! The locations is bad as nothing interesting next to you. Customer service is terrible as they were shouting on me over the phone. I entered the hotel and bad smell is coming from everywhere maybe because of the cheap clubs they have. Please please avoid.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank englishmanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FWaller, General Manager at Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear englishmanu,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write your feedback regarding your overall experience during your recent stay at Sheraton Deira Hotel.

From your comments I realize that you did not enjoy your stay in our hotel. First and foremost please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience you have encountered whilst being our guest. We have taken note that the reasons for your dissatisfaction from your feedback is that you were given a twin room, not interesting location, bad odor in the hotel (as certain areas were being painted) and bad customer service at the Front desk. It is disappointing to read that we were unable to live up to your expectations. I once again use this platform to express our regret for the discomforting encounters which gave you an unmemorable experience which is not what we desire for our valuable guests.

We appreciate you bringing your concerns to my attention as it allows me to measure the effectiveness of our product & services in order to make the necessary changes to ensure that we obtain a perfect level of guest satisfaction. Please rest assured we will look into each failed service delivery and rectified wherever necessary.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. I do hope that that this isolated incident does not stop you from staying with us. I would like to welcome you back in the near future to show you that our standards are much better from those you have experienced on your last visit.

Yours sincerely,

FW, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    281
    176
    72
    57
See reviews for
126
193
102
231
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

I had gone for a business trip. It is a very average hotel and very unlike the SHERATON hotels i have stayed in. Very average food and ambience. Room size extremely small and extremely poor Television channels.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunilchopra98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FWaller, General Manager at Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Sunilchopra98,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for posting a Tripadvisor regarding your experience during your recent visit to Sheraton Deira Hotel.

From your comments I realize that you did not fully enjoy your last stay in our hotel. First and foremost please accept my most sincere apologies for the inconvenience you have encountered whilst being our guest. I have read your posting and I am terribly sorry that we have not lived up to your expectations. Whilst I deeply regret that this has been the case, I am very grateful that you pointed out in your feedback where there is room for improvement in our service delivery areas.

I want to thank you for bringing your concerns to my attention as it allows me to measure the effectiveness of our product & services in order to make the necessary changes to ensure that we obtain a perfect level of guest satisfaction


Yours sincerely,

FW, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
burgess hill
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

just spent 3 nights here on business and what a change since my last stay 4 years ago!
We arrived at the hotel after a night flight at 0445 knowing checkin was not until 1500 but were hoping we may get somewhere to at least shower and change so we could go out but this was not forthcoming and so a quick wash and change in the restrooms sufficed!
There was 3 off us in our party and all male and so we had booked a club room with 2 singles and a rollaway but we were offered and king and rollaway which we declind and said we would be ok to wait until our room was ready.
We got back to reception at 1630 and i collected the key and asked for our bags to be taken to our room while we checked out the pool area.An hour later we retired to our room with no luggage and only two single beds! after a call to reception which got me no where i went to the club lounge where a heated arguement was discussed with the club reception! This hotel knew at 0445 of our requirement and they had 13 hours to sort it out! Very bad service and this was not how i expected to be treated.
Anyway Club lounge ok but gets very busy in the evening with not many places to sit but breakfast was good and friendly staff in the morning.
Pool area is kept clean and what a great bunch of guys up there but the music was the same for the duration and got repetative!
The evenings in the reception area are busy and most evenings we witnessed prostitutes coming and going and being escorted INTO the hotel by security who must be pimping them! When we checked in at 0445 on arrival there were two sat in reception.
As i had been here before and knew it was under the flightpath and so we took ear plugs but on the wednesday and thursday we could hear/feel the bass from the nightclub!
All in all i doubt i would return here as the service is not at a high standard and the reception staff need to be more helpful and friendlier once guest have checked in!

Room Tip: take ear plugs! your right under the flight path with aircraft only 700 feet above you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank bobthehamster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FWaller, General Manager at Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Bobthehamster,
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking time to post your review on tripadvisor.com regarding your overall experience during your recent stay at Sheraton Deira Hotel.

From your comments I realize that you did not enjoy your stay in our hotel. First and foremost please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience you have encountered whilst being our guest. We have taken note that the reasons for your dissatisfaction are largely attributed to the tardiness of service in placing the rollaway bed despite a 13 hour early check-in notification to the hotel. We are sorry that you felt we were not forthcoming in providing some room for you and your friends to wash and change at your early check-in hour of 04.40am. Please be advised that the hotel was booked to capacity. In the event there had been any room availability we would most certainly have offered it just for your wash and change purpose. Moreover you have made reference to seeing promiscuous women in the lobby during your stay. We do abide to the best of our ability with the Dubai regulations in this matter.

The hotel being located close to the flight path the sound of over flying planes is audible to some extend despite the fact that the windows are double glazed. We have also noted that there was noise (heavy bass sound) emanating from the nightclub. It is disappointing to read that we were unable to live up to your expectations. I once again use this platform to express our regret for all the above discomforting encounters which gave you a unmemorable experience which is not what we desire for our valuable guests.

I was pleased to read that you found the Pool are clean and the staff as you have said to quote “ a great bunch of guys’ unquote.

We appreciate you bringing your concerns to my attention as it allows me to measure the effectiveness of our product & services in order to make the necessary changes to ensure that we obtain a perfect level of guest satisfaction. Please rest assured we will look into our failed service delivery and rectified wherever necessary by giving additional refresher trainings in hospitality etiquettes.

Nevertheless we are disappointed that you will not be making Sheraton Deira Hotel as your preferred hotel on your next stay. We are still hopeful that you will give us another opportunity to showcase our services.

Yours sincerely,

FW, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Really hard hotel to review, with an entirely mixed experience throughout.

I was on a very early flight arrival (6am) & had asked the hotel to let me know when I booked if early check in was OK. They didn't confirm if this was OK or not so I thought I would arrive anyway.

The welcoming, shaven headed reception supervisor said that he had seen my note & that it would be fine, as soon as they had a clean room. Great! but would have been nice to confirm that to me before my arrival.

I then waited & watched the hotel slowly wake up for 2.5 hours with no further comment from any reception staff...I was sat right opposite the reception desk! Utterly tired & bored by this point I thought I would ask / remind them.

'Ah yes sir, I was just coming to let you know your room is ready'. I hate anyone who says 'I was just about to'...in any setting! It means you were too late. Coincidence after 2.5 hours waiting there? Nope, dont think so.

Although I must admit BEING ABLE TO CHECK IN AT 8.30 AM WAS FANTASTIC (and I did get a very cheap booking.com room rate).

You see now where my dilema comes - great to get in the room so early, but could have been handled so much better, but not really complaint worthy....hmmm.

The concierge guys could not have been more helpful with all requests, they were all very upbeat & there were constantly loads of the around the place ready to assist you.

THE NIGHTCLUB NOISE IS DEFINITELY NOTICEABLE and will disturb your sleep if you are on the wrong side of the building.

Asking about your room allocation is therefore key.

Other than that, its a business hotel in a part of Dubai which is not terribly convenient for sightseeing (will take you 40 mins+ to get downtown).

Based on my experience, other reviews are accurate.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FWaller, General Manager at Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Ben B,

Thank you for choosing to stay with Sheraton Deira Hotel, Dubai and for taking the time to write a review.

Your review has been graciously taken in the right spirit. I do agree that the issue about the room availability should have been handled better in the sense of regular updates on the staus of your room. Room availability as early as 6 am or even 7am is very challenging as our associates start the cleaning process of our rooms at 8am. Top this up when the hotel is running at a high occupancy and it sometimes it just becomes mission impossible. Having said this I do agree that the hotel should have reverted back in a response saying early check-in is purely subject to space availability or offered an alternate suggestion of booking a night before in the event you did not want to wait for room after probably a long a flight.

I appreciate your acknowledgement about the helpfulness of the Concierge associates, their constant readiness of assistance during your stay.

We are constantly in the process of striving towards ensuring that our guests do have a memorable stay in all aspects of their journey with us but it seems like we have not been all successful to ensure you had a memorable stay. I take this platform to apologize on areas where we failed.

One of the major purposes of online reviews is to highlight areas for improvement and therefore we appreciate your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Warm regards,

FW, General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff and ok rooms. But this hotel will need to decide what it wants to be... Either a nightclub or a hotel. The 2 nightclubs go on till 3 am every day !! making a good nights sleep impossible ... There a hotels where you can actually sleep for lower or the same amount. Not really worth the Sheraton name.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
13 Thank SteCog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FWaller, General Manager at Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Dear SteCog,

Thank you for taking the time to write down your review on your recent stay as a guest at Sheraton Deira Hotel.

From your comments I realize that you did not enjoy your stay in our hotel. It is very disappointing to read your review that we were unable to live to the brand name ‘Sheraton’ for your stay. Your feedback is constructively accepted and we do apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with the noise from the music emanating from the leased outlets despite the windows being double glazed which resulted in disturbed nights’ sleep. We do sincerely empathize on this situation and are with you.

We do trust even though we could not live up to your expectation on this visit you will continue to patronize our sister Sheraton hotels as you travel around the world extensively. We look forward hopefully to welcome you back soon in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

FW, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dubai hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Level Contributor
184 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

it is in deira , near airport , good things are Night club is just down , guest friendly hotel , they up graded me on 3rd floor ( spg floor ) and in 230 aed , excess to club laung , etc it is very good . inter was free in room ,
bad thing was disco sound was not good , inter net once logged in will work 4 hour continues ,then you have to buy more , food in room is good specially bbq plater .

Room Tip: sty at SPG floor only
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Nadeem B J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FWaller, General Manager at Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Dear Nadim B J S,

Thank you very much for writing a Trip Advisor review regarding your recent stay with us.

Your review has have covered most aspects of our hotel services with a positive feedback and we appreciate it.

However you have also mentioned certain concerns such as the sound from the Night club which was discomforting to some extend and we would like to apologize for this inconvenience knowing the importance of quietness specially at nights. Regarding the internet we are now pleased to inform you that our guests will now enjoy 24hrs free internet access in the hallways, rooms, lounge, restaurants and lobby.

We are thankful for choosing to stay with us and we are looking forward to your upcoming visit in the near future.

Warm regards,

FW, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

Was very pleased with the accommodation. Every staff member went out of their way to be helpful. Recommend getting a room below the 4th floor because of club music. Metro is appropriately a 10 minute walk. Would definitely go back.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Dleno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FWaller, General Manager at Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Dear Dleno,

Thank you very much for positing a Tripadvisor review pertaining to you recent stay at Sheraton Deira.

I am very happy to read that that you enjoyed your stay and that our associates have provided you with the levels of service of a true Sheraton Experience. The are indeed our greatest asset and I am very proud of them.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Best regards

FW, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
0.5 mi away
Marco Polo Hotel
Marco Polo Hotel
#239 of 545 in Dubai
634 reviews
2.8 mi away
Grand Excelsior Hotel Bur Dubai
13.7 mi away
Grand Excelsior Hotel Al Barsha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Premier Deira
0.6 mi away
Coral Dubai Deira Hotel
Coral Dubai Deira Hotel
#118 of 545 in Dubai
680 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ramada Deira
Ramada Deira
#189 of 545 in Dubai
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira

Property: Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira
Address: Al Muteena St | Deira, Dubai 5772, United Arab Emirates (Formerly Sheraton Deira Hotel)
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#48 Best Value Hotel in Dubai
#151 Business Hotel in Dubai
#193 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira 4*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira is one of the handpicked hotels for guests visiting Dubai. Superbly situated in the busiest location of Deira, close to airport, known for its unique Arabian hospitality. The 229 smoking & non-smoking rooms, standard, suites, executive and one Royal Suite. Dining offers in The Terrace restaurant, Le Cafe, Lindbergh’s Bar & Stars Studio Night Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Dubai
Dubai Sheraton
Sheraton Deira Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing