We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indifferent to their Customers complaints”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Jood Palace Hotel Dubai
Ranked #249 of 554 Hotels in Dubai
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We had the worst experience at Taj here.We have been visiting Dubai very often but this was the first time we stayed at Taj.
from the reception only our nightmare started.Firstly there was no one to take the luggage when we alighted from the taxi.The poor driver had to wait and pull out luggage from the car along with my husband.It was only after that someone came to pick up the luggage.
There after we were alotted apartment no.554.Once we reached the hotel we ordered room service for lunch.It was the most horrible meal I have ever had at a five star Hotel.The curries were soaked in oil and the chapattis were the preserved ones which had been heated and sent dripping with oil.Since we were very hungry and we had no option at that time but to have them.

And the final onslaught came at night.We were very tired so were loking forward to a nice good night sleep but to our utter dismay there were constant loud noises on the roof of our room with sound of footsteps of ppl running around throwing heavy stuff on the floor ,dragging chairs etc.Initially we thought there was some repair work going on and will stop in a while.However it continued unabated till 4:30 a.m..Despite calling the reception and the duty manager three times ,nothing was done and we could not sleep a wink due to which our whole schedule for the next day got disturbed.

While checking out also when we complained,the manager on duty Mr.Ismail came and just apologized saying that there was a function on the sixth floor (above our room) due to which the settings were being done .Wonder why they gave us that room if they knew there was a function there.He said that he will giving us some concessions whenever we visit next but when we returned after one day again for staying ,nothing was done again.

This shows that they are least concerned and are totally unapologetical about whatever happened.It shows their arrogance and indifference towards their customers and their attitude .

We are surely going to complain about this tothe Dubai Tourism Board

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank drsrandhawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (697)
There are newer reviews for Jood Palace Hotel Dubai
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

403 - 409 of 697 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2012

Stayed in 2 bed apartment. Fairly clean but got cigarette smell the moment we walked in. Breakfast was ok, bit old style and unexciting. Check in was quick and so was check out. Very near metro. Rooms very spacious . Bathrooms old fashioned and tired. Time for a revamp.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
5  Thank ydb374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

taj palace hotel in dubai is a nice hotel for family .. i like it for many resons such as a wide, large and very clean rooms ,nice and helpfull staff, location in the middile of some places and not far from the others places and finally no night clubs and disqo so if you want to you feel quite not warry about your young boys , you try this hotel

Room Tip: take far from ellevator
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank capnabeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We had travelled to Dubai on a number of occasions and on this occasion wanted a two night stopover with easy access to the historic district, malls and as it was a short stay wanted to be close to the airport so as not to waste valuable holiday time getting from and to the airport. The Taj Palace ticked all these boxes. The hotel is well furnished and very comfortable with very generous size rooms. The roof top pool was a bonus. Al Rigga Metro station is a short walk and an excellent way of getting around the city avoiding the traffic jams with some carriages only accepting women and children, quite welcome for the wife and daughter during busy periods. Couldn't really find fault so would recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Taj palace – A Wonderful hotel in contemporary style and close to the airport. The “check in” was smooth and my family was stunned as we went into the room we stayed. Sorry we it wasn’t a room , a more of a service Suite .It had a kitchen, living room, two bed rooms with attached toilets and there was another small room with attached toilets and an additional toilet too and a large massive balcony. In one hand we felt king size for the room given to us, but on the other hand we felt why in the world they have such additional toilets and extra rooms. Looks like this was something bought out of the box and just named it as Taj, where they did not have an option of changing the rooms which were already built.

We stayed here for 4 days alone and in most of the time we were out of the hotel, hence we did not use most of the other facility which was available in the hotel. But we did have our breakfast there as part of our package. The restaurant which server the breakfast was good and had many Indian dishes. They were made tastefully and no complaints about the place. But it is a business hotel, so we can expect a variety of food for breakfast.

Now looking at the pro and cons

Pro's:

1. Taj Hotel name as a brand still stands tall in an Indian mind.
2. Pretty close by to the airport - just 10 - 15 minutes
3. Comfortable and large rooms
4. Restaurant which server the breakfast was good and they had a good number of dishes to choose from.

Cons:

1. The rooms air-conditioning thermostat was not working properly.
2. The balcony in the rooms were not cleaned to the appropriate expectations and sometime when leaned on the railings, they stained the dresses.
3. Asking for security deposit when checking in even after we paid the full room rent was a little disappointing, but yeah can adjust since this is something needed by the hotel. But this can be done if they have had experience in people going off without paying any additional cost for using any of the payable items.
4. In any of the TAJ hotels in India, when a kid comes to their hotel for stay, they are welcomed with a small gift, i think this is done in almost all the TAJ hotels, which is a good touch which was missing miserably.
5. There is no activities or recreation for Kids in the hotel. it can be called as a business hotel, but kids stuff is a must for all types of hotels which is missed.
6. Contemporary is fine but when it shows the age, then contemporary style becomes bad. This was one of the major issue which TAJ might face in Dubai. I think it is high time that they do something about it especially in the rooms.
7. It was my birthday on the 17th of October and looks like my wife had made a request to the Taj hotel to serve us a cake, but looks like this was completely forgotten by the hotel staff, which was a great disappointment to my wife.

Overall, a good hotel with good food and staff but needs improvement with the Cons which i have mentioned in my points above.

Room Tip: If you go as a big family, choose the apartments...they are cheap and good...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Praveen Kumar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Stayed at this hotel for the first time during my business trip to Dubai. Reservation was done through booking.com with excellent price for Taj club King room. I requested by email for late checkout and i was given until 14:00 hrs. Upon check in I found that check out for Taj club was until 16:00 with free wifi and many other complimentary services which was not mentioned.
Room is spacious and well maintained. Convenient location as metro is just 400 meters away. Lot of fast food, Restaurant and malls in the vicinity. Staff are warm and welcoming. Fitness center is well equipped. Executive lounge had nice choice of snacks for high tea excluding hot drinks as this hotel has a policy of no alcohol which was fine.
Some draw backs as Min. toiletries were provided in the bathroom and not refilled after room cleanup.
On Checkout I found quite a few bills had been added to my invoice without my knowledge. Receptionist was prompt and kind enough to clarify these additional bills and get them sorted out without much delay. Also I would like to thank them for extended time for late check out.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anthonym M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

I was a guest of Dubai Tourism to the Taj Palace in Dubai. From the friendly immigration officer at the airport to being received like a celebrity by the chauffeur with refreshing hand towels and drinks in your car set the mood for our stay at the Taj Palace. Friendly reception staff and ice cold drinks are the little things that all travelers look forward to when they arrive at the hotel.All the rooms, dining areas, gym, swimming pool and the ambiance met our expectations. What I did miss was the Indian feel on entrance, the Taj Palace did make me feel like a Queen but not a MAHARANI (Indian Queen). A full review will be published in the November 2012 issue of Sutra Magazine, South Africa, online copy is available on iPad apps

Sherita Kommal, Managing Director of SUTRA, South Africa

Room Tip: Rooms that we used on the 6 and 8 floors we very good, no noise
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sherita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
0.2 mi away
Carlton Palace Hotel
Carlton Palace Hotel
#214 of 554 in Dubai
783 reviews
6.0 mi away
Taj Dubai
Taj Dubai
#9 of 554 in Dubai
1,535 reviews
0.7 mi away
AVANI Deira Dubai Hotel
AVANI Deira Dubai Hotel
#111 of 554 in Dubai
1,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Asiana Hotel Dubai
Asiana Hotel Dubai
#258 of 554 in Dubai
224 reviews
0.1 mi away
Flora Grand Hotel
Flora Grand Hotel
#116 of 554 in Dubai
2,164 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dubai
Hyatt Regency Dubai
#70 of 554 in Dubai
2,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jood Palace Hotel Dubai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jood Palace Hotel Dubai

Address: Al Rigga Rd | Deira, Dubai 42211, United Arab Emirates (Formerly Taj Palace Dubai, Deira)
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#122 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#137 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#145 Business Hotel in Dubai
#208 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range: £43 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Jood Palace Hotel Dubai 5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience sheer sophistication complemented by the warmth of Arabian hospitality at Jood Palace Hotel situated in the heart of Deira's commercial and business district. Choose from a luxurious selection of five-star accommodation, culinary venues, Jood Spa, recreation and fitness facilities as well as conference and event spaces. Conveniently located, a 15-minute drive from Dubai International Airport and Dubai International Convention Centre, the hotel offers easy access to places of interest, be it for business or leisure. Explore the traditional souks, Dubai Museum, Dubai Heritage Village or indulge in retail therapy at Deira City Centre and much more. Keen to exceed expectations, our multi-lingual team of experts will ensure all your requests are given utmost focus and dedication. There is no request too big or small. Right from suggesting a dining venue, to a well-planned sightseeing itinerary, our Concierge team will go to great lengths to ensure your stay is flawless and memorable ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jood Palace Hotel Dubai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Taj Palace
Taj Palace Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing