We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not that bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jood Palace Hotel Dubai
Ranked #243 of 546 Hotels in Dubai
Ludhiana, India
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“not that bad”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

i was really skeptical staying at Taj palace Dubai because of the kind of reviews i had heard and read. But wait a minute, the hotel might not be as glitzy and fancy as the other hotels in Dubai but then it is not even as expensive as the others.

The public areas are nice. The lobby is nice and welcoming. Rooms are massive- to an extent that you feel it is a waste of space (unimaginative use of space). its basically classic old world hotel rooms with carpets large sofas and interesting sit outs (but dirty and not properly maintained).

The spa is just about ok. The pool is small but the rooftop is a nice cosy place.

Food is ok. Really nice Indian restaurant. Breakfast is a bit cramped.

All in all if you have to be in the older side of dubai, this is a good option-- proximty to the airport is a big plus . Opt out if liquor is high on priority list- its a dry hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ghoomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    245
    81
    40
    43
See reviews for
233
146
42
143
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Iftaar buffet was an Arabic spread but not to the standard one expects out of Taj also as an Indian I would specifically visit taj palace for an india iftaar or to be fair perhaps a mix of Indian and Arabic iftaar but this was not catering to Asian iftaar foodies the biryani was a disappointment you could never call that a biryani if you know what a biryani is truly.the food was plenty keen eyed waiters and clean ambience but hope next time they increase the quality of Arabic dishes while intrioducing some more Indian fare which is loved by Arabs too.you should respect customers and not just focus on Arab customers.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esjay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I only had a one night stay over at the Taj Palace but found the hotel and the staff very nice. Its location is centred in the busy shopping area and walking distance to local shopping. The rooms are clean and tidy but a little tired. The pool bar was very nice, great atmosphere and friendly staff. A nice place to stay overall.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schlav65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We had our Iftar the other day at the Taj Palace Hotel in their specially prepared Ramadan tent at the lobby of the hotel. One thing that captured my attention is the real feel of Arabian hospitality. The staffs are very attentive to your needs. Their is wide variety of dishes to choose from, the salad station serves traditional and contemporary salad dishes, shawarma station, they even have live cooking station where the chef will prepare tailored dish to your liking. And best of all, be sure to leave some space to your tummy as their dessert station is a must try! All the sweets I can think of is available. I specially love their kiwi cheesecake and umm ali. Iftar cost AED139 per person but all worth it.

We really had a great time and experience at the Taj Palace Hotel iftar.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Attended Iftar at The Taj Palace in their lobby tent. A really magnificent choice of starter, main course and dessert. I have never experience such wonderful spread of food all freshly cooked and really yummy. We had difficulty in tasting everything there was so much and all for AED 139. A real Arabian treat and the staff were really helpful. I would recommend if you want to try authentic Iftar. They also cater for groups in their Banquet Suite.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulSS_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerala
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The very first thing I would like to point out to my fellow travelers is that this is a "dry" hotel, means no alcohol available. This may be the only 5* hotel (or 4*..?) in Dubai which may not have alcohol available.

I got an excellent rate through www.dnatatravel.com which was almost 50% less than other booking sites. For that price, the hotel is perfect to stay. The rooms are really huge and the bath room also big, a nice balcony too. There are separate partitioned space for bath, toilet & tub. I seen a lot of comments about the rude nature of the staff, but for me everything was perfect, usually this will depends on the staff who is attending you (the front office staff Ms. Martina was very friendly to me). The welcome drink on check in was very tasty.

I tried to call their Al Waha restaurant many times and it was almost impossible to reach them, nobody will pick the phone. I had a cobone voucher for a buffet sea food dinner at this restaurant, which was just ok for the price I paid (and not for the hotel rates). I heard wi fi is very costly there, but I didn't used it as I have internet connection on my mobile. The valet parking also worked fine. It was strange to see that the mini bar is locked by with a cable tie.

In a nut shell, I will suggest this hotel for short stay, if the rates are cheap. Its already late to think about free wi fi, and I really doubt whether this hotel is a part of the famous Taj hotel group itself..?

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IsaacKerala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed in Dec '2013 in Taj hotel, it was a fantastic experience. The rooms really big and clean. Very nice Indian food and amazing hospitality. Also very close to the station and can get taxis very easily.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AkNiBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
6.0 mi away
Taj Dubai
Taj Dubai
#12 of 546 in Dubai
1,395 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carlton Palace Hotel
Carlton Palace Hotel
#202 of 546 in Dubai
778 reviews
0.7 mi away
AVANI Deira Dubai Hotel
AVANI Deira Dubai Hotel
#104 of 546 in Dubai
1,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Al Ghurair Rayhaan Dubai
0.1 mi away
Flora Grand Hotel
Flora Grand Hotel
#112 of 546 in Dubai
2,133 reviews
1.6 mi away
Park Regis Kris Kin Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jood Palace Hotel Dubai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jood Palace Hotel Dubai

Property: Jood Palace Hotel Dubai
Address: Al Rigga Rd | Deira, Dubai 42211, United Arab Emirates (Formerly Taj Palace Dubai, Deira)
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#119 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#137 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#145 Business Hotel in Dubai
#203 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Jood Palace Hotel Dubai 5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience sheer sophistication complemented by the warmth of Arabian hospitality at Jood Palace Hotel situated in the heart of Deira's commercial and business district. Choose from a luxurious selection of five-star accommodation, culinary venues, Jood Spa, recreation and fitness facilities as well as conference and event spaces. Conveniently located, a 15-minute drive from Dubai International Airport and Dubai International Convention Centre, the hotel offers easy access to places of interest, be it for business or leisure. Explore the traditional souks, Dubai Museum, Dubai Heritage Village or indulge in retail therapy at Deira City Centre and much more. Keen to exceed expectations, our multi-lingual team of experts will ensure all your requests are given utmost focus and dedication. There is no request too big or small. Right from suggesting a dining venue, to a well-planned sightseeing itinerary, our Concierge team will go to great lengths to ensure your stay is flawless and memorable ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Jood Palace Hotel Dubai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Taj Palace
Taj Palace Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing