We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terribly incompetent staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Al Khaleej Palace Hotel
Ranked #379 of 561 Hotels in Dubai
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

My wife and I phoned Reception to enquire if we needed to make a reservation at Kisaku, their Japanese Restaurant. As local residents, we drove across town only to discover that the restaurant is closed for 2 months for renovations. What a waste of time! When we approached the same girl we had phoned only a few hours earlier, she said that it had not closed, but moved inside their French Restaurant. After carrying our pram up and down several sets of stairs, the staff at the French restaurant look at us like we are crazy when we ask if we can order Japanese.

You can encounter some really dim staff in Dubai but this Receptionist really sets a new low.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

42 - 48 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

There's so much that's good about this hotel - close to airport and metro, huge comfortable room, friendly staff who were willing to let me check in at 11am instead of the usual 2pm... I would have given it at least 4 stars.... BUT, as many others have pointed out in reviews, the night club can be heard until 3am, regardless of being 6 floors above it. It's a real shame, but it's completely unacceptable for a hotel to keep its guests awake like this night after night. (Oh, and also the room cleaning is poor - our bed was made but dirty plates not taken away.)

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Setorah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We stayed twice in this hotel and very happy with this place. We are coming very often for business and usually stayed at Nasser square but it's always overcrowded and loud. This hotel is in a peaceful location and same time 5 min walk from Union metro station and close to Nasser square. The rooms are big and renovated recently, everything is fresh. The price was paid, was fair enough, comparing our previous stay in 3 * hotels with almost same price. The breakfast is nice and u have enough to to choose.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Galina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I've been staying in this hotel for 3 nights, for business reasons sincethe hotel where I use to stay was fully booked. I could not wait to be out of it. The entrance smells so bad and rooms, too. Old furniture, personel speaks very bad English. it costed me 337 for the 3 nights, which is very much for the standard. Or better, since it's been rated as 4 stars, the price is proper but this hotel is sooo far from 4 stars! Breakfast was terrible. Not recommended.

Room Tip: Deira is perfect, and there's a huge selection of good hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank federic42013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

First night no sleep. Nightclub made bad noise up to 3 o'clock and after that a party continued in the room next to mine. Although calling the reception three times, it took to 6 o'clock to get it quiet.
Second night, stayed at a different hotel to get some sleep.
Third night back again. No sleep to 3 o'clock, night club. And at 4 there came a terrible cigaret smoke smell in my room. Took 1 hour before the smell was come.
I am not coming back as you can understand.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
1  Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

We had an overnight stay in Dubai because we had a layover of over 10 hrs. Copthorne hotel was fully booked so Emirates sent us to Al Khaleej Palace Hotel for one night based on their Dubai Connect Service. We arrived very late at the hotel, around midnight, check-in was fast and we had to let our passports at the reception. Like most of the hotels in Dubai also this one has a temperature of around 15* C inside the room due to high usage of A/C. We switched off A/C inside the room but the temperature remained the same and we had to sleep with warm clothes in the middle of the desert. Dinner was good we had sheep stew, chicken sausages and potatoes together with a beer and everything was included in Emirates plane ticket. Very strange but the mineral water is chargeable so please pay attention to the list of alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks before ordering. But the most unpleasant situation we faced was the loud music which was played inside the hotel all night and I could barely sleep. Ask reception for wake-up call if you have a morning flight.
In the morning we had an average breakfast, we took our passports back and we left at 6 am to the airport. The shuttle operates each hour.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mikiduta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

I turned up at this hotel having booked on line through Expedia. When I got out if the taxi the doors to reception were all locked up and the hotel looked like a building site. I was shown to a little back room where the reception staff had a temporary desk. They didn't have me booked in, I have never left a hotel so relieved. Steer clear of this hotel until all work is completed.

Room Tip: As far away from reception as possible so you get no smell of paint.
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank ukjeffrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
1.6 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#187 of 561 in Dubai
518 reviews
1 mi away
Regent Palace Hotel
Regent Palace Hotel
#326 of 561 in Dubai
483 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Ramee Royal Hotel
Ramee Royal Hotel
#390 of 561 in Dubai
172 reviews
12.8 mi away
Grandeur Hotel
Grandeur Hotel
#245 of 561 in Dubai
374 reviews
0.8 mi away
Landmark Hotel Baniyas
Landmark Hotel Baniyas
#314 of 561 in Dubai
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Khaleej Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Khaleej Palace Hotel

Address: Al Maktoum Rd, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#162 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#272 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range: £64 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Al Khaleej Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We at Al Kahleej Palace have 88 rooms which are 600 square feet of luxury out of which 21 king rooms, 51 twin rooms and 18 suites, each room is interconnected so it is good for families. We also have our own travel agency so we can make packages for you for a lesser price, our rates will include breakfast, wifi and airport transfers complimentary to terminal 1, 2 & 3. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Al Khaleej Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Khaleej Palace Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing