We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not a hotel I would recommend for family or a couple”
Review of Ascot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ascot Hotel
Ranked #188 of 565 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2014

My Parents stayed in this hotel. They were told by the agent that it is a 3.5-4 star hotel. But in no manner it was even near that rating.

The rooms are Tiny which gives you no other option than to put your luggage bags on top of each other and the noise of their in house disc does not let you sleep all night. The Breakfast was also not that attractive ....basic would be the maximum appreciation that can be given.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SahebPalSingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (523)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

371 - 377 of 523 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2014

I landed Dubai with out any planning as I had to fly at the last moment to attend some business need. The hotel did their best to accommodate me at a short notice and the service given was excellent. After a busy day, it was like heaven to me to be back in hotel in the cozy and comfortable rooms. The Dubai festival was on and the shopping areas were close by. There were many reasonable restaurants close to the hotel. This hotel is in the heart of the buzz and you can enjoy the stay here. The staff was nice and very professional

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JaideepDhamankar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

I am a travel agent and recently stayed in this hotel. I don't think I would send my clients to this property. Its maybe a 3*. There are Restaurants and bars on alot of the floors, so you get a lot of nose in your room at night. We would wake up to the pounding of the music.

The pool is so cold you can't even put your feet in it. There are only a few lounge chairs around.
Teh one restaurant that we have ouor breakfast in was adequate. There was hot food, and fruist, cheeses, pastries, coffee, tea and juice.
The beds are atrocious! VERY hard and the pillows are just as bad. It is clean, but the rooms are also very small.

Didn't really care for the area it is in. You have mostly computer stores in that area, so not much to see for an evening walk.

Room Tip: Just ask for a room that doesn't have music playing above or below it at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vulcanvacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

I have been to this hotel many times in past few years. The prime reason for selecting this Hotel is its fab location....everything Meena Bazaar, Carrefour, Burjuman metro, Indian Restaurants Abra Stations(Water Taxi)are just 10-15 mins walk. About the rooms...they are a bit small but cozy. The night club on the Ground floor sometimes does affect the sleep quality. The Buffet Breakfast offered is Good. The Staff is Helpful and Courteous. Overall it's one of the Best Hotels in Bur Dubai and a Good option for the price charged.

Room Tip: Try getting a room on 2nd floor or above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bhavik27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I chose Ascot because the reviews rated it 4 star but i didn't get even a 2-star experience. I discovered there are two buildings and I was lodged in an old fashioned building with less than good facilities. Toilet bowl was leaking and could not be fixed for 2 days. I had to insist on a room change. Not very good experience overall. Air conditioner could not be adjusted

Room Tip: Do not accept a room in the smaller, older building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Babatunde A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Stayed with family 2 rooms and 5 night/6 days. Location is good, walking distance to the famous Mina Bazar and Burjuman metro station a walking distance. Also, many small and big general stores (Geant, Day to Day etc) close by. But this road is also known as computer market road or something so mostly what you see is computer/Hardware shops.

I was told its a 4 star but no way. Small hotel, floors were little dingy to me. We saw tiny cockroaches on our bed, in the wash room and a big one on one of the reception wall.

I guess this is one of the preferred hotel for package tours I guess (mostly saw groups) and maybe a reason why the hotel probably looks at every guest as a 'package' and according to me this was probably one reason why hotel struggles to respond to normal things. Some examples - Confusion about my stay dates at the time of check in which was sorted out later. Same breakfast all 6 days, my kids were reluctant to go for breakfast after 2-3 days. Tea sent to my room was not hot and I was asked if I would like it to be replaced and I said yes. The phone rings again in 30 secs and the lady says 'but sir we had made the tea just now how can it not be hot. The WC in our room was little shaky and was not fixed till I left. Nothing like a 'how was your stay Or come again etc' at the time of check out. The door would not close on its own, the hinges were loose. Also the forex rates at the hotel were way less than the market outside. Hotel has bad sound proofing/acoustic - at times you could hear the traffic and Tv from the adjoining room. I guess groups and probably even the couples may not mind some of these things but will not recommend for families. I believe there are good apartment hotels in the vicinity who don't claim to be 4 stars but in the same or better league.

Room Tip: don't take the rooms towards the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skb0110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

We stayed here for 1 night as a stopover to Europe. Rooms were ok staff were friendly but hotel facade was being renovated. Also road works and very dusty and unpleasant. Food was ok but was awkward to get to the restaurant. Would not stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicholas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
Royal Ascot Hotel
#55 of 565 in Dubai
1,642 reviews
Sea View Hotel
#52 of 565 in Dubai
1,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Creek
Gateway Hotel
Gateway Hotel
#236 of 565 in Dubai
393 reviews
Grandeur Hotel
#250 of 565 in Dubai
379 reviews
City Seasons Towers Hotel
#248 of 565 in Dubai
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot Hotel

Address: Khalid Bin Waleed Road, Dubai 115160, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Best Value Hotel in Dubai
#105 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#167 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range: £48 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ascot Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Dubai, the Ascot Hotel offers deluxe rooms with picturesque views of the city. It is a 5-minute drive from the popular Burjuman Mall. The rooms are well-appointed, modernly furnished and have luxurious marble bathrooms. In-room amenities include large LCD TVs with satellite channels and a minibar. The Ascot Hotel offers a choice of 4 food and beverage outlets. Japanese cuisine can be sampled at Yakatori, Russian specialties are served with themed entertainment at Troyka, and Thai delicacies are offered at The Thai Connection. The hotel also has an Irish pub, Waxy O'Connors. Guests of the Ascot Hotel are free to use the leisure facilities of the sister hotel next door. This includes a rooftop swimming pool and spa facilities. There is a complimentary shuttle service to one of Dubai's popular public beaches. The Ascot Hotel is a 7-minute drive from Sheikh Zayed Road. Bur Dubai is a great choice for travellers interested in desert, sightseeing and business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ascot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing