We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“October 2011 The Palace Dubai”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Palace at One&Only Royal Mirage Dubai
Ranked #13 of 541 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“October 2011 The Palace Dubai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

First time ever to Dubai and we are so thrilled that we chose the right hotel. From the pick up at the airport to the wonderful greeting on arrival, the helpfulness of all the staff, the fantastic service on the beach (Vipul, Roshin, Raymond and Imran), the attention to detail at breakfast (lovely Lydiah!), the bar staff (smiling Boniface!), the complete willingness to make us feel comfortable and the attentiveness without being obtrusive was absolutely fantastic. The room was very comfortable, well stocked, additional items were available on request (eg iron). Room service was very quick. We even had flowers! What a delightful touch. We can honestly say that we have never received such an all round perfect service and we are definitely going to visit again.

Room Tip: Superior Deluxe was a great room. Saving up to try a suite next time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alberta T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,265
    223
    88
    41
    26
See reviews for
370
891
31
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

Second time at this hotel. it's excellent! The hotel is a dream. Service couldn't be better. Best spa i've ever visited. Kids also had a great time. next year, same time, same place!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caroline w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

We have just come back from a week at The One & Only Royal Mirage The Palace and we absolutely loved it. We had been dubious about booking a trip to Dubai as we don't like big hotels or shopping and we only chose the destination as it is the closest place to England with guaranteed sun at this time of year and we wanted a week doing nothing in the sun.

We were abosolutely thrilled with the Royal Mirage as it is set in huge spacious grounds, is relatively low storey (no huge tower block unlike other hotels further along Jumeirah beach) and you really don't feel like you are at a massive hotel. We had one of the "basic" rooms - a ground floor garden room and it was large. Having seen the view onto the beach and the Palm we were pleased we hadn't paid more for a beach view room as we didn't think the view was very attractive and we liked looking out onto the lush grass and palms. Also, our room (117) was set back from the beach and pools so we had no problem with noise from either.

The food was excellent in each restaurant we tried. We had booked the half board deal and ate at Celebrities (dreadful name but excellent, modern European, michelin quality food); Nina's (the Indian restaurant at Arabian court); Olives (meditteranean); Tagine (Moroccan) and the Beach which, as you'd expect from the name, has the most amazing setting if it's not to hot in the evening and you want to eat outside. We enjoyed having drinks at the Jetty Lounge which is really cool and stylish and had great cocktails and mocktails. Hygiene (which was a big issue for us in choosing where to go as I am pregnant) was great and we had no problems.

Other points we appreciated:

+ The main pool is a great design as it's an L shape with lots of trees around it so you don't all sit in rows around the edge
+ The adult pool was virtually deserted and we often had it to ourselves!
+ Frequent top ups of iced water on the beach and round the pools and the guys also came round to clean your sunglasses (you feel slightly ridiculous accepting this the first time and then come to appreciate it after you've been in the sea and splashed salt water on your lenses!)
+ Showers at the edge of the beach and pool
+ Frequent refills of everything on the breakfast buffet - nothing ever ran out
+ A different mocktail list in each of the bars so whilst I am pregnant, I didn't feel like I was missing out!
+ Good service from the Guest Relations team - we were woken in the small hours one night by some locals having a party in a room a few doors down. GR dealt with it diplomatically and also provided us with a huge bouquet of flowers. We had no subsequent problems.

Having walked along the beach and clambered over the rocks to the neighbouring Westin, we were really, really pleased we'd chosen the One & Only. The Westin has much smaller, cramped grounds and felt much busier, particularly as the loungers are all close together in rows on the beach.

We rarely return to places but wouldn't hesitate to go back to Royal Mirage.

Room Tip: Room 117 fronts onto the gardens and is far from the pools so you don't hear any noise from eith...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank murphyshols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
115 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

We love this hotel - everything about it is a joy. The reception team, concierge, housekeeping, waiting staff, pool boys - just about everything.

This was our fourth time to the One and Only - and there is lies the bug! No one noticed...now I dont expect balloons, bells and whistles but a simple "welcome back" would have been lovely. Especially as I had been comunicating with the reservation team there and they were perfectly aware that we were returning customers. A little more on the customer relations would have been appreciated here but hey ho...you cant have everything.

Nevertheless the hotel is still very good - our room was one that had just been refurbished and you could definitely see the difference. They were spacious, light and comfortable with new flat screens and DVD players installed. The mini bar is still one of the most well equipped I have come accross and although standard mini bar prices the quality of the contents were better.

Restaurants in the hotel have improved as well. Celebrities is much better than it was - not so complicated but still lacking in atmosphere despite the efforts of the regular entertainment. The beach bar was good although again a little more light on the tables would be good there - I like to see what I am eating. Olives is great for breakfast although we didnt eat there for dinner I believe it does a good buffet. We ate out a couple of times but thats only personal choice - the food is fine.

The main bar in the lobby is nice but very quiet but the new Jetty Bar is the place to be, especially at the weekend - packed and buzzing - I do confess to preferring it on a Tuesday night when it was a little bit quieter!

The management here are clearly doing a good job although we did have to complain about the lack of turn down service 2 out of the first 3 nights - it was rectified very quickly.

The pool areas, for me, are the best in the area - lots of shade, plenty of beds and attentive service throughout the day - from free water, to fruit, cold towels and a sunglasses cleaner. All lovely! The good thing is that there doesnt seem to be a lot of the "Reserving of Sun Beds" here - maybe its because there are so many. But I did notice (and use it,if I am honest) that the pool boys do lay out towels on "regulars" beds. If you had been there for a couple of days they would ask you if you want the same again tomorrow etc. I dont really condone this but as there were so many spare beds, it didnt seem to matter too much and noone really took much notice. The bar by the pool is good for a lunchtime snack although the menu does get a little bit boring after a week or so.

All in all a very nice hotel and we will defintely be back - even if they don't acknowledge that we have returned!!

Room Tip: Ground floor pool side are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richandjaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

Thought that might get some attention, have just returned from staying at the Palace O&O 10/10 -16/10 , is it good? no, is it great, no, its bloody marvelous. Arrived early approx 08.30, was swiftly dealt with and escorted to the Gold club room check In was painless we were then shown through to the Gold club lounge for breakfast, extremely pleasant, as soon as we finished, we were surprised to learn that our room was available, even though we knew check In was scheduled after 14.00. As you can imagine we spent all day lounging by the fantastic pool, on returning to our room we had been left a invitation for evening cocktails with the management, this was kindly accepted. We were greeted by waiters offering alcoholic and none alcoholic cocktails and very nice selection of canapes. Both duty managers Nicolas and Sebastian soon introduced themselves and were ever helpful, to the point, Sebastian asked if we had any dinner reservations for that evening, we informed him that we had at the Beach Bar and Grill, he made a quick call to a colleague and the reception we got was very very nice, our table had been decorated with Red Rose petals and a single Red Rose was placed on my wifes settting, a really nice touch, especially for the ladies LOL..The meal was fab as were all the other restaraunts that we tried in the hotel, also if you are on H/B option then it is well worth trying one of the restaurants at the sister hotel on the Palm, we tried 101 , it was equally as good and very nice to arrive by boat.

A beautiful hotel, however, for whatever reason we prefer the Palace.It must be mentioned that apart from the beautiful setting, the staff go a long way to make this resort what it is, From the senior management team down to the house keeping boys, I cannot speak highly enough of them all, as it has been mentioned on here countless times nothing is too much trouble. I dont want to make this too much of a long winded affair but a special thanks must go to Sebastian (Food and Bev duty manager), Stanly and the boys at the pool bar especially Nibu, the boy never stops and a great attitude towards the guests and work in general, for the staff in the Gold club, well what can I say, a tremendous standard set by all, a big thanks to Pebbin and Raja, two of the nicest guy's we have met.If you are contemplating Dubai, then do give this place a visit and up grade to the Gold Club

Will we be returning? well, what do you think

We would also like to thank Latimer for all the help and professional advice on answering our questions here on the forum.

Jamie and Suzanne

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JamieandSuzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
residenceandspa, Manager at The Palace at One&Only Royal Mirage Dubai, responded to this review, 27 October 2011
Dear Guests
Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience and we are indeed delighted to read that you enjoyed our facilities and services provided by our team of dedicated members.

We value such feedback which is shared with all and look forward to your return visit in a not too distant future.

Sincerely Yours
Bilal Tengree
One&Only Royal Mirage Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

For anyone visiting Dubai for the first time, you cannot help but be amazed by the grotesque posturing that takes place. The tallest buidling, the biggest mall, the best hotel...almost everything this country does has to better, just like your annoying friend who always has to have the best. Yet, amongst all of this, the One & Only Royal Mirage offers the perfect escape from the madness that is Dubai. Whilst the skyscrapers of the Marina tower above the property it offers an oasis of calm and understated luxury that will appeal to Couples and families alike. Whist we stayed in the Arabian Court, we made use of the whole resort with the Eau Zone restaurant and Jetty Beach Bar & Lounge particular favourites. I would also recommend anyone to take the water taxi out to their new property on The Palm. Service was always attentive with only one minor issue regarding our shower taking some time to sort. Should anyone wish to venture out ofnthe resort then we experienced a number of restaurants which would come recommended but be prepared to pay well over the odds for very average bottles of wine (between £40 and £60). Triptara (Thai - Old Palace, Downtown), Karma Kafe (Asian - Old Souk Bahar, Downtown) and Pai Thai (Madinat Jumeirah) were all excellent. Lastly, you need taxis to get round the town, but they are cheap and reliable. In returning to The Royal Mirage, whilst a quick return to Dubai may not be on our cards, the service and style of this particular One & Only property will ensure I look out for their properties when we next want some luxury on our travels.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JimmyNicholl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

amazing hotel amazing staff what a great example of true 5 star service london hotels should have a look at how these guys work and learn from them. we used the gold club package and the guys who worked there were so good i cannot speak enough about them. really amazing

Room Tip: must upgrade to gold club package
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gazza2303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Atlantis, The Palm
#93 of 541 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15,989 reviews
The Marina
Grosvenor House Dubai
Jumeirah Zabeel Saray
#44 of 541 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace at One&Only Royal Mirage Dubai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace at One&Only Royal Mirage Dubai

Property: The Palace at One&Only Royal Mirage Dubai
Address: Al Sufouh Rd | Jumeirah Beach, Dubai 37252, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Dubai
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Dubai
#12 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
#25 Family Hotel in Dubai
#41 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#97 Business Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Palace at One&Only Royal Mirage Dubai 5*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace at One&Only Royal Mirage conjures the magic of Arabia, a domain where guests may wander amidst the abundant gardens or stroll amongst the meandering water features. The property is generous, with 231 guest rooms and suites, on a private beach that offers rich leisure facilities, such as the impressive temperature-controlled swimming pools, water sports centre, tennis courts, golf putting green, ‘KidsOnly’ children’s facilities and, most importantly, a tranquil haven for rest and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Destinology, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Holiday Gems, LoveHolidays, Travelbag, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Palace at One&Only Royal Mirage Dubai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace At One&Only Royal Mirage Dubai Hotel Dubai
The Palace At One And Only Royal Mirage Dubai
Royal Mirage Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing