We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab hotel, good location & very friendly helpful staff!”
Review of J5 Rimal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
J5 Rimal
Ranked #26 of 546 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fab hotel, good location & very friendly helpful staff!”
Reviewed 12 July 2010

This is the first time I've written a review about a hotel and I wanted to do so as I thought this was a brilliant hotel. This smallish hotel is partially situated on a residential road that overlooks the business and bustle of Deira, the old part of Dubai. The location is ideal as it has a couple of supermarkets and some local shops and resturants situated within walking distance to the hotel, yet overlooking a busy main road doesn't create a problem in terms of noise levels at night.

The breakfast was a good variety of the usual contenential foods and the hot food changed on a daily basis, so you didn't get bored of eating the same thing always. We were on a bed & breakfast option only, so I can't comment on the dinner, but the resturant always seemed empty whenever I passed by in the evening. Although by Middle Eastern standards, it was relatively early when we would leave to venture out for dinner. There was a good variety of restaurants in Malls and around Dubai city, from fast food like McDonalds (The McArabia burger is yummy!!) to more traditional local food.

Although there is no access to any of Dubai's lovely beaches from this hotel, the rooftop pool was more than enough, and never completly busy. As the hotel was used mainly by business men, there's no need to make a mad dash for the pool chairs at the crack of dawn and lay your towels out, like in most European beachside hotels. There were a couple of occasions when the pool did get busy during the day as I think locals can pay a fee and use the hotel gym/pool facilities, but the staff and hotel manager were very helpful and managed to find extra parasol umbrellas and chairs for the hotel guests.

As it was very hot when we went in April, the poolside staff would offer refresing cold flannels at points in the day to help you cool down, which was nice.

The staff in the hotel and especially on reception are very helpful and will give you advice from local sightseeing options or flag a taxi down in the street for you if all the hotel cabs are in use. Taxi's in Dubai are similar to the New York style cabs. They're all licensed and recognisable with a cream body and various coloured rooftops. They're totally safe to just flag down in the middle of the street and jump in. It's actually cheaper to do this than ask the hotel for a cab, which will cost you slighlty more, about 5 or 10 durhams.

The rooms are clean and homely, with a little kitchen area including some pots and pans if you're tempted to cook. The rest of the standard appliences such as a TV, hairdryer in the bathroom, minibar (non alcholic) etc can be found in the room. Two small bottles of complementary water were left daily, amongst the tea/coffee selection that was also replenished daily.

A couple of things to note - I would advise girls/women to be modest in their choice of outfit for Dubai. Although it is normal to see tourists wearing sleeveless tops, skirts etc. Don't wear something too revealing. Dubai is still a Muslim country and they are quite strict.

Another thing are the beaches. Everyone knows Jumeriah beach. Most of this beach is reserved for people staying at one of the beach front hotels. But there are free sections. Although ladies, be warned, most of the men who go there do so for one reason - to perve very openly on the women. There are women only days, or there is another section of the beach accessably via Jumeriah Beach Park. You pay an entrance fee to the park and have access to the beach. It's advisable to take a towel with you, as there are no sunloungers like in Europe.

Although this hotel wasn't necessarily cheap for us, but it was a very last minute booking and over the Easter bank holiday. I would reccomend this hotel to everyone who want a relaxing holiday and doesn't mind not being situated right on the beach, but with access to the city on your doorstep. I will definitely stay there again next time I'm in Dubai!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amal83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    383
    184
    38
    12
    2
See reviews for
161
159
61
150
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2010

My Mum and I travel to Dubai at least once a year and have stayed in a variety of hotels but this wee gem has to be one of the best in the city area. They have great staff who are willing to do almost anything including running to buy some groceries for me and giving us extra linen and milk in our room. The rooms are spacious and very clean and we had a fridge and cooking area as well as a breakfast bar so we were able to eat in if we wanted. The breakfast was fine with a good selection.
They have laptops in the lobby for accessing the internet and the price was reasonable.
The only downside is the entrance to the rooftop pool, my Mum doesn't swim and found it very difficult to get in and out due to its design.

  • Stayed December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apz36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, England
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2010

Spent a night at the Rimal Rotana following a recent cruise. We arrived earlier than our check-in time but the staff gave us a room immediately so that we could then get out and about in the Deira district. Our oom was well equipped, modern, clean and extremely large and the beds were extremely comfortable.

Breakfast was a buffet with hot and cold foods available, all freshly prepared in a spotlessly clean dining room. Our flight home wasn't until 11.15pm that night but reception let us use our room until late afternoon free of charge which meant we could have another day to explore the more interesting part of Dubai that this hotel is located in and have a shower before we left for the airport. When travelling to the airport (which is only a 5-10 minute drive) you can use the local taxis which are very cheap or the hotel's Lexus which cost 40dhs. We would certainly use this hotel if we were in Dubai again, not just for the hotel itself but the extremely accomodating staff that work there.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jimmyschippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2010

I couldn't have been more satisfied with the room for the price I paid, every convenience you would expect for a high-quality hotel was available. The staff was the most attentive and helpful of any I encountered in Dubai. Some members of my traveling party stayed at other Rotana hotels in Dubai the same night and mentioned their stay was less than enjoyable, while mine at the Rimal Rotana was the best of any of the places I stayed in Dubai.

The one complaint is that they charge you for wireless internet, a little backward for our age if you ask me.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wileyc0y0te
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2009

Spent 1 night here in August & 3 nights in October. First trip in August, arrived at hotel at 6.30am-room was available by 8.30am. Served complimentary coffee while waiting. Second trip in October, arrived at hotel 7am to find room already available. Staff were so obliging & so friendly & helpful-they couldn't do enough for you. Room was very clean & comfortable. Hotel in a great location-close to airport. Supermarket just down the road. Close to shopping malls, Dubai Creek, Gold Souk. No problem to get taxis-very cheap. Breakfast, included in room rate was very nice. Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Libra58Adelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lagos
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2009

Rimal rotana is a wonderful hotel: the staff was nice, the hotel was spectacularly clean, very spacious rooms, the pool was small but very nice. The hotel is located in the heart of Diera. Will definitely visit the hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dupri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maitland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2009

The hotel was very clean and modern and the staff friendly. The food was OK but we were not used to the style of food. The hotel was a dry hotel. The room was spacious and had all the conveniences. The A/C leaked water a few times but the staff eventually fixed it.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eagle19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
2.2 mi away
Rove Healthcare City
Rove Healthcare City
#8 of 546 in Dubai
211 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sea View Hotel
Sea View Hotel
#43 of 546 in Dubai
1,344 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rove City Centre
Rove City Centre
#16 of 546 in Dubai
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Royal Ascot Hotel
Royal Ascot Hotel
#45 of 546 in Dubai
1,385 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dubai Al Muraqabat
0.3 mi away
Flora Grand Hotel
Flora Grand Hotel
#112 of 546 in Dubai
2,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to J5 Rimal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J5 Rimal

Property: J5 Rimal
Address: Al Muraqqabat Road | 22c Street, Dubai 27070, United Arab Emirates (Formerly Rimal Rotana)
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
#36 Best Value Hotel in Dubai
#89 Business Hotel in Dubai
#117 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#118 Family Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — J5 Rimal 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Al Muraqqabat Street in Deira, J5 RIMAL provides an ideal base to discover Dubai whether you are traveling for business or leisure. Dubai International Airport (DXB) is located just 5km away and some of the city's most familiar addresses like the Dubai World Trade Centre, Dubai International Financial Centre and Downtown Dubai with the legendary Dubai Mall and Dubai Fountains all just 10km away. Al Rigga Metro Station located less than 600m walking distance from the property allows guests the freedom to begin exploring the city that is right at their doorstep the moment they arrive. Effortlessly combining the freedom and flexibility of apartment style accommodation within a hotel with all the guest services you would expect, J5 RIMAL delivers lavish comfort and space with discreet yet attentive service in equal measures. Arranged over 7 floors each of the 97 studios and 26 one and two-bedroom suites provide cleverly configured spaces to create home from home accommodation solutions for guests visiting the city for extended stays either alone or with friends and family. J5 RIMAL also offers greater flexibility and comfort for business stays in the city. With more space to work and relax, they offer the perfect solution for business visitors on temporary projects and contracts or as a relocation base. An abundance of natural light filling the lobby and public areas creates inviting and warm spaces to meet for coffee or dine at the inviting J5 Cafe, while the rooftop swimming pool, fully equipped gymnasium, sauna and steam room offer more opportunities to rejuvenate. Flexible meeting space for up to 35 guests also makes J5 RIMAL an ideal venue for small residential meetings ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TravelUp, Prestigia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your J5 Rimal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimal Rotana - Dubai Hotel Dubai
Rimal Rotana Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing