We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great, well priced hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carlton Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Carlton Palace Hotel
Ranked #192 of 544 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great, well priced hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

My husband, 14 year old and 11 year old stayed in a family room (two interconnecting rooms) for 2 nights in September. We felt very welcome at the hotel. All the staff were extremely helpful and kind. We booked a car, through the hotel, to collect us from the airport and that worked well. At the hotel, as we were booking in, they gave us lovely cool drinks to my very hot (first time in Dubai!) children. Our rooms were very comfortable and well equipped. We werent expecting free wifi but we offered it for one device, which worked out for us just fine. We ate in the main restaurant on the first night as we were very jetlagged. The meals are very generous - you dont need to order as much as I did! Breakfast was a good standard too, with an egg chef for omlettes or anything of your choice. The location is someone isolated but it really didnt matter. We decided the Big Red Hop on Hop Off Bus was the best way to get around the city with commentary for the 2 days of our stopover (it was) and the stop nearest the hotel is a 5 minute drive taxi drive away. Dont try to walk it in the summer months. The heat is too intense. The staff at the hotel will hail you a taxi and they are cheap, clean and safe - all the taxi drivers were very nice to us. The hotel has a pool on the top floor with interesting area views. My children loved it up there. I used the business room a couple of times to print off boarding passes and there was no cost for this. There are more glamourous hotels in Dubai BUT they come with a huge price tag. This is a great base, at an extremely comfortable,safe and charming hotel in an area that grounds you to the idea that you are actually in Arabia, not just other big city. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The interrconnecting family rooms are very generous in size. A King Bed in one room and two large si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lucindaarmour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yashvanth, Front Office Manager at Carlton Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Dear Ms.Armour,

Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback which means a lot to us, and thank you for taking the time of to write to us.

I'm, delighted to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and also happy to know that our staffs were helpful t you.

Once again thank you very much and look forward to welcome you back to the Metropolitan Palace Hotel.

Best Regards
Yashvanth Gowda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    263
    93
    30
    39
See reviews for
123
205
76
203
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tehran
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

I stayed in metropolitan palace in the beginning of October 2013 with my wife in order to celebrate our 10th anniversary of marriage. For the first bonus, the hotel gave a positive reply to our request for an early check-in without extra charge. The front desk staffs were very friendly. The rest of staffs were also eager to listen and do their best for any demand. Our room was so clean and in average size. Upon our arrival, we were surprised by a complimentary chocolate cake from management. The buffet break fast was ok. The roof pool and gym was also accessible. We also enjoyed the entertainments inside hotel special the live music of sketch bar. The owner of the hotel (H. E. Mr. Hobtoor) also owns the Hobtoor resort in Jumeira. So, the guests of metropolitan palace can enjoy the resort facilities due to a minimal charges around AED 80 for each person including free return transfer. On the last night, we had dinner in the non smoking area of the sketch bar. After dinner we were asked by the waiter to enjoy the live music. Again we were surprised by another cake for the second time in recognition of our marriage anniversary. Therefore, I've no hesitation to come back........

Room Tip: The non-taxi cars waiting outside hotel charge you more. So, wait for a normal taxi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cyrusdgreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yashvanth, Front Office Manager at Carlton Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and I was extremely delighted to read your wonderful comments.

I'm also to happy to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and the services extended by our staffs to you.

We at Metropolitan Palace Hotel always strive hard in achieving total guest satisfaction and I'm glad that we lived up to your expectations.

Once again thank you very much and look forward to serve you again.

Best Regards
Yashvanth Gowda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinicky, Slovakia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

The hotel had a good location in the center of the city. The personnel was kind, except the Asian waitresses, who forgot to bring coffee in breakfast time. What about housekeeping, they changed the towels every day even though it was not needed. The last day the made us pay for the drinks from the minibar, which we did not drink at all. Not even our children. I told about it to the receptionist, she did not accept my complaint.
By the swimming pool there were not enough umbrellas.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Denis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yashvanth, Front Office Manager at Carlton Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Dear Mr.Denis,

Thank you for your feedback and we truly appreciate it which helps in working on the areas mentioned to serve you and our guests better.

I will look into personally and will ensure that the corrective measures are taken.

Once again thank you very much and look forward to serve you again.

Best Regards
Yashvanth Gowda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

I'd stay here again and again brilliant service with wonderful smiling and very helpful staff both of us had a wonderful holiday thanks to all the staff .the location is good close to metros mosques shopping etc it gives a mental rest . The health club on the roof is fantastic too nothing dissapointed

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Talhaumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yashvanth, Front Office Manager at Carlton Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and I was delighted to read your wonderful comments and comments such yours always keeps us motivated.

I have shared your comments with all my staffs and we look forward to welcome you back to the Metropolitan Palace Hotel.

Once gain thank you very much for taking the time of to write to us.

Best Regards
Yashvanth Gowda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lenasia, South Africa
Level Contributor
343 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

I was given this hotel by Emirates as a stop over hotel for one day. I checked in at 6:00 am. I was greeted at the door by the bellman and my luggage was taken in immediately. The receptionist was trying to complete the check in when the manager SALMAN showed up. He immediately took over the documentation and handled the check in with ease and speedily at that. I was done in five minutes. I was immediately given my room card and my luggage was brought up instantly. Breakfast was a very decent spread but the egg station was not manned. Everything else was handled very well. I used the same restaurant for lunch and dinner. Both meals had the same menu as standard, I guess because of the Emirates package. The room was comfortable and so was the bathroom. It wasn't huge but comfortable. The rooms and bathrooms are average and could do with an upgrade soon. Having said that, everything worked very well, no faults at all. The hotel has aged a bit but has been built beautifully with the different lounge levels one passes when using the glass elevator. Once again a big thank you to Salman for having sorting everything out speedily.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AzTee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yashvanth, Front Office Manager at Carlton Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and we truly appreciate you taking the time of to write us.

I'm glad and happy that you enjoyed your short stay with us and I have shared your comments with my colleague Salman and he is delighted to be recognized by you.

Once again thank you very much and look forward to serve you again.

Best Regards
Yashvanth Gowda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

I travel quiet often to Dubai and this is my favorite hotel in Dubai and I always stay there when I am in Dubai.Excellent hotel,very clean,nice spacious rooms, excellent courteous staff. Executive lounge is best place for business meeting. Nice restaurant, good food, nice lively bars. Do not forget to enroll in their loyal program.
Mr Raja General manger is a wonderful man.

Room Tip: Get room on executive floor and they have very nice business lounge. Best place for business travell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheikelahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yashvanth, Front Office Manager at Carlton Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Dear Mr.Robert,

Thank you for your feedback and we truly appreciate you taking the time off to write us and wonderful comments such as yours always keeps us motivated in achieving higher guest satisfactions.

I'm also happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to serve you again.

Best Regards
Yashvanth Gowda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambler, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Metropolitan Palace hotel is located very conveniently for visitors/tourists. It costs less than 20 Dh (about US$5) by taxi from Dubai Int'l Airport to the hotel. It is also close to Metro stations with 5 minutes walk to Al Riggis station (my spelling of the station name may not be accurate but it is the station before Union station). You can reach most if not all Dubai city attractions through Metro and it costs 16 Dh for one day pass.

Metropolitan Palace has an extremely friendly staffs and very clean room with comfortable bed. Hotel staffs are more than happy to help us on any question we had related to sight seeing, etc. The non-smoking room was truly a non-smoking room and that is very important to me since I am sensitive to cigarette smoking. We stayed a total of 3 nights (from Nov. 11 through Nov. 14, 2013) and both my wife and I were very happy with this hotel. We will not hesitate to recommend this hotel to any traveler to Dubai.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metropolitan Pa... M, General Manager at Carlton Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Mr. Robert,

Thank you for choosing to stay in the Metropolitan Palace Hotel and for taking the time to write your feedback.

It was indeed a pleasure to read your very kind review and to know that our services were into your satisfaction. At the metropolitan Palace Hotel, we take pride to ourselves in offering the highest level of care and hospitality to all our guests. I will gladly share your appreciation to our Team.

On behalf of the Management and Staff, we look forward of welcoming you back in the near future.


Sanjay Luthra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
0.9 mi away
AVANI Deira Dubai Hotel
AVANI Deira Dubai Hotel
#101 of 544 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,525 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jood Palace Hotel Dubai
Jood Palace Hotel Dubai
#233 of 544 in Dubai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dubai-Deira
Crowne Plaza Dubai-Deira
#115 of 544 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Dubai Creek Hotel & Towers
17.4 mi away
Ghaya Grand Hotel
Ghaya Grand Hotel
#102 of 544 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.3 mi away
Flora Grand Hotel
Flora Grand Hotel
#105 of 544 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Palace Hotel

Property: Carlton Palace Hotel
Address: Al Maktoum Rd | Deira, Dubai 56262, United Arab Emirates (Formerly Metropolitan Palace Hotel)
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#82 Business Hotel in Dubai
#101 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#119 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#166 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Carlton Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious 5-star service at the Carlton Palace Hotel. Welcome to the Carlton Palace Hotel - a grand 5-star hotel in the heart of Deira within easy reach of Dubai Creek, Dubai Airport, metro stations and the World Trade Centre. Carlton Palace Hotel is a luxurious hotel for both leisure and business travellers with an unparalleled combination of exemplary service, beautifully renovated rooms, stunning decor, international dining, central location and value for money. Reminiscent of an elegant era, the magnificent Baroque lobby with an imposing double staircase leads to the 212 spacious and newly refurbished rooms and suites. The rooms range from 32-250 m² and are centred around an imposing balustrade-lined Atrium with greenery encircling a fountain. The hotel features all the facilities of a 5-star hotel including rooftop swimming pool, spacious fitness centre with views of the city, business centre, a variety of restaurants and bars, 24-hour room service, conference and ballroom facilities as well as three floors dedicated to executive rooms and suites overlooking a classic Executive Lounge. Our welcoming staff will attend to your every need at check-in and beyond. That's a promise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Southall Travel and Odigeo so you can book your Carlton Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Metropolitan Palace
Metropolitan Palace Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing