We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay during ramadan!”
Review of Claridge Hotel

Claridge Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Claridge Hotel
Ranked #505 of 545 Hotels in Dubai
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Lovely stay during ramadan!”
Reviewed 28 September 2008

We stayed at the claridge hotel during ramadan, which meant that the clubs weren't open and the bar was pretty empty! So we did not experience any of the loud music or "russian prostitutes" which the other reviews mentioned! It was also only about £35 per night for a double room due to a cheap ramadan offer we found online.....but i definetly wouldn't have paid more than that!

It's in a good location in deira as the bus stop is near and its only a 15 minute walk from the gold souq or to get an abra across to bur dubai. The hotel also offers a free bus to the beach every morning (usually 15mins late) and the city center shopping mall every evening, which is great as the hotel doesnt have a swimming pool.

The rooms were clean but I would definetly recommend eating OUT as the restaurant interior is very weird and we saw a RAT on the breakfast table!!! The staff range from very nice to

This hotel is reccommended for poeple who are going to be out sightseeing rather than lazing around the hotel.

  • Liked — Free bus to beach
  • Disliked — Rat
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TheFlyingCamelpig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    8
    14
    17
    16
See reviews for
10
15
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tehran
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2008

During my stay in Claridge hotel in Dubai at the time mentioned above, I as a guest was not pleased with the behaviour of the staff specially the people in the information section .They were very road with the customers which was very surprising for me.
No good hospitality was shown to the guests.The quality of the food was not good at all. The water was too hot for taking shower,and all togather considering to the expence of this three star Hotel ,I was not pleased at all.

  • Disliked — The behaviour of the staff
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shervan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dubai hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2008

This average 3 star hotel is conveniently located in the city centre. Walking distance from main shopping centres. Reasonable comfortable rooms at reasonable price. Nice buffet breakfast.

Ground floor disco which is usually noisy at nights. Personally I found it disturbing. Plus this place tends to be flooded with Russian prostitutes at nights. Strickly speaking, hotel policy does not allow any visitors in the guest rooms, off the record it does happen.

Hard to find a taxi in the mornings, until 10AM. Reception staff can be busy at times and you might have to sit there in front of them, waiting to have a word.

Overall it's a reasonable hotel in the city centre. I suggest to book through a reputable travel agent e.g. Expedia and save money.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — friends
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Khatpandwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2008

Location wise the hotel was excellent.
The rooms were good. There was a bus that took us to the City Center Mall which was very convenient. The staff at the reception and the foyer were very good.
The only complaint I have is that there was a thump thump noise all through the night and untill about 4 am from one of the restaurant below. The hotel needs to look into this.
The worst bit was the breakfast. There was no cold milk for the cereals. When I requested it, they gave me what smelt like a Long Life milk. The breakfast choice was poor.
PO

  • Liked — Its close proximity
  • Disliked — The noise from the bar/restaurants below
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chandramukhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2006

The hotel looks good from the outside, the foyer also carries a good immage. The staff are pleasant and helpfull. The building shows signs of age but the room is nice.

Breakfasr was the worst part of the experience. The choice is average but the quality of food is very poor. The location for breakfast is the night club which shows its age and associated stains. Fortunately the lovely large windows and the view of the well manicured Fish Roundabout lifts the atmosphere.

Stayed November 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank alwayne56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2006

We recently spent 7 nights at this hotel having booked it through a travel agent. We wanted to be in the City rather than at the beach and can't fault its location - next to the Fish Roundabout and a large shopping Mall and only 10 minutes walk to the creek and boats that go to the other side.

We arrived in the evening and first impressions were not great - the receptionist ignored us and sat there staring into space. Room was on the third floor and was ok but in need of a refurbishment - carpet old and tired, walls had a few stains on them and sheets and towels old and thin - although clean. Bathroom had lost of black mould around the bath. Opened the curtains the next morning - huge crack in the window and looked out over another wall. Also 7.30 each morning there was a very strange noise that went on for 10 minutes which sounded like a huge industrial plunger going a couple of floors above us! Having said all that it was ok for the purpose of staying there for city exploring.

When we walked down the stairs there seemed to be a small community living in the corridor on the first floor - a few dead mattresses in one corner, burnt carpet and tables with used crockery and two or three people sitting outside one of the rooms at a table and chairs eating or smoking the sheesha pipe. On one occasion there were a couple of people sitting in the corridor filing each others nails - maybe it was the beauty salon!!

We went down to breakfast - the view across the street and roundabout was nice - better than the view inside. Chairs either had cigarette burns in them or jam over them. Breakfast was pretty poor - Meat and cheese and salad. An old toaster for bread and a few tureens with something in that we had no idea what it was. No cereal or youghurt. Orange juice more like orange squash. We decided to go to the shopping mall opposite on a few mornings as the breakfasts there were cheap and tasty.

All in all the hotel served a purpose and didnt ruin our holiday. I think a lot of the city hotels are quite similar to this but it wasnt the sort of place where you could go and relax. It is in a good central area for city exploring, but its probably better to spend a bit more and have something nicer with a pool.

  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CDP4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
0.2 mi away
Al Jawhara Metro Hotel
Al Jawhara Metro Hotel
#472 of 545 in Dubai
78 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fortune Hotel Deira
Fortune Hotel Deira
#441 of 545 in Dubai
66 reviews
4.0 mi away
Fortune Plaza Hotel
Fortune Plaza Hotel
#458 of 545 in Dubai
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Landmark Grand Deira
Landmark Grand Deira
#242 of 545 in Dubai
534 reviews
0.9 mi away
Nihal Hotel
Nihal Hotel
#429 of 545 in Dubai
82 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jonrad Hotel
Jonrad Hotel
#410 of 545 in Dubai
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claridge Hotel

Property: Claridge Hotel
Address: Al Muteena Al Muteena St | Omar Bin Al Khattab Road, 185, Dubai 29846, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #505 of 545 Hotels in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Claridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Claridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claridge Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing