We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
whb_10
London, United Kingdom

Decent facilities - Decent location - Value.

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 19 Jan 2013
Myself and The dude 'G' travelled to the middle east for a short break mid October 2012. We decided location, swimming pool, gym and cleanliness were the major factors in our selection process and GS more or less ticked every box.

The hotel is located about 15mins from the airport and walkable distance from a couple of metro stations. Also within walkable distance is a supermarket and a variety of takeaways (KFC, McDs Pizza Hut), restaurants, shopping complexes to keep yourself busy.

In terms of the hotel itself the staff are very welcoming and helpful, upon arrival the check-in was smooth and our luggage was transported to the apartment by a member of staff. Our apartment was well furnished as many have highlighted. Hygiene and cleanliness were big factors and I have to say the cleaner earned his coin on that front. No expense is speared on the AC front, every room including the reception is air conditioned all day every day.

As many have said the swimming pool at GS3 is often crowded but the roof top pool at GS5, which is a stones throw away, is an alternative we made good use of. The restaurant breakfast is highly recommended, lunch was also good but id suggest venturing out for lunch and dinner to taste local specialities at a more reasonable price.

On the downside wifi is a nightmare in apartments, the only way to get a reliable wireless connection is in the hotel lobby. Also, in my apartment there was a very unpleasant stench but on the whole you get what you pay for at Golden Sands, really good value for money.
Date of stay: October 2012
Trip type: Travelled with friends
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
PALACE DOWNTOWN
£274
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £274
  • Vio.com
    £226
  • Hotels.com
    £274
4.2 miles from Golden Sands Hotel Apartments
Free Wifi
Pool
£112
  • Priceline
    £112
  • Vio.com
    £104
  • JW Marriott
    £112
5.1 miles from Golden Sands Hotel Apartments
Free parking
Room service
£30
  • Priceline
    £32
  • Agoda.com
    £28
  • StayForLong
    £34
3.0 miles from Golden Sands Hotel Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior view
£81
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
    £74
  • Expedia.com
    £74
  • Priceline
    £74
3.5 miles from Golden Sands Hotel Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
£119
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    £119
  • Official Hotel
    £108
  • Trip.com
    £153
13.6 miles from Golden Sands Hotel Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior view
£108
  • Sofitel
    £108
  • ZenHotels.com
    £94
  • Priceline
    £108
15.8 miles from Golden Sands Hotel Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Deluxe King
£56
Fully refundable
  • Vio.com
    £50
  • Expedia.com
    £63
  • Hotels.com
    £63
5.3 miles from Golden Sands Hotel Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
£80
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    £89
  • Agoda.com
    £68
  • Expedia.com
    £102
11.5 miles from Golden Sands Hotel Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
£63
Fully refundable
  • StayForLong
    £73
  • Algotels
    £168
  • ZenHotels.com
    £143
16.3 miles from Golden Sands Hotel Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
£375
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    £303
  • Expedia.com
    £344
  • Vio.com
    £739
13.9 miles from Golden Sands Hotel Apartments
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Dubai
Reviews (2,688)
Filter reviews
2,688 results
Traveller rating
783
1,068
511
159
167
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
783
1,068
511
159
167
Show reviews that mention
All reviews washing machine bur dubai studio apartment burjuman mall these apartments meena bazaar swimming pool metro station home away from home gs supermarket microwave sofa
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,823 - 1,828 of 2,688 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2013

I have been there on December 8, 2012. This was my second visit to Dubai and first time stay in bur Dubai. It is located just behind the famous mall "Bur Jurman Shopping Center". Just opposite to this mall there are a lot of restaurants to try all different delicacies of the world. The metro station is also close by to the apartment.

As the ease and convenience one can take a metro from the Airport and get down at "Khalid Bin Walid" metro station. I believe this metro station name is now changed to "BurJuman Centre" as sited at the link below:

http://gulftoday.ae/portal/cc59a7b1-1af7-4d9d-ab77-3f1e110b3664.aspx

The Rooms:

The apartment i stayed as a 2 Bedroom Apartment with a kitchen. The beds, Linen and the room structure was simply awesome. I haven very rarely seen such spacious rooms. There are 2 washrooms for each of the rooms.

The kitchen has a gas, a microwave and a fridge along. There are huge attached balconies to each of the rooms.

The breakfast served early morning just makes it perfect. Next to the breakfast serving place is a pool where you have the liberty to take your breakfast.

There is Gym also in the apartment.

I recommend booking this place if looking to stay for a long period.

Room tip: Pool View Lovers can Choose to stay in a room facing the pool.
Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RiteshGala
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 January 2013

I got a studio at 100 USD, just an okay place, the location not being great, just a average room with everything put in, bathroom being very small with basic amenities, the pool there for the sake of a pool.

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sushant1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 January 2013

I got a studio suite at a great price, and was very pleasently surprised at how wonderful it was. Living room area, kitchen, room for dining, king size bed, bathroom was small but served its purpose, all this was also served by a small balcony. A pool was on hand for a refreshing dip at the end of a long day.The cleanliness was second to none, simply spotless everywhere. The staff were so helpful and friendly. A short walk takes you to the metro, and from there you can go all over Dubai. Will stay here again for sure.

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dee662019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 January 2013

for me and my family, this hotel was just simple apartment it has nothing to do with 5 stars hotel, be careful; the bathrooms was not really clean, the furniture is basic and old, nothing special when you need any service and make call u stay long time waiting for someone to pick up and, we request for crib and they provide it without matress without pillow and without blanket, they don't have, we didn't like our stay there it was far from metro station, from shops, from restaurants,....it was the only bad thing during our trip to Dubai on Xmas and new year.

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dora2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 January 2013 via mobile

This hotel is located not far from Dubai Metro Station and offers large rooms with all amenities. Our 4 beds apartment has a double bed room with private bathroom and a living room with kitchen angle and other 2 single beds plus another bathroom.
We had a little problem with the reception: they called our room at 1am ask for a stupid question waking us up while sleeping and in the next morning we spoke with the Manager, he apologized and guarantee to send a basket with various products to our room but nothing received...
Overall I can use this hotel again because the quality/price is ok

Date of stay: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fedecec
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews