We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happiest Family Serving Amazing Iranian Food”
Review of Special Ostadi

Special Ostadi
Ranked #174 of 9,565 Restaurants in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Persian
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
71 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Happiest Family Serving Amazing Iranian Food”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

This little restaurant is truly a pearl of bur dubai. Owned by an iranian family from 1978, it is the only one in Dubai and has gained regular customers among all nationalities.
When you visit the place you feel like you are at your relative's house as you get a very warm welcome. The whole time the sons of the founder crack jokes and make everyone smile and get engaged in small talk.
The menu is pretty straight forward - meat kebabs of all sorts are definitely a treat for meat lovers. I personally love the way they make rice and enjoy the after meal tea.
My Mother whom I took to many restaurants loved this place the most over fancy places and It is a place where I bring all my friends and visitors.
Recommend it 100 percent to everyone living or visiting dubai.

Helpful?
Thank Slava N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    65
    13
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great iranian grill (not barg/steak)”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

This hidden gen in deira is a great restaurant.
It specializes in Iranian grill only (no stews, etc.) And does a great job on that.

I tried all the grill options. The koubideh (ground beef) is excellent, joujeh (chicken pieces) is great, the tekka (yogurt marinated lamb & chicken) is great. I would only advise against the barg (grilled steak/tenderloin cut). It was fresh , good flavor, but not as tender as it should be.

Overall, will definitely come back. Great family restaurant, nice services, folky atmosphere, great food.

I still have to find another place for regular Iranian dishes, and for barg.

Helpful?
1 Thank Muhammad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Persian/Iranian Kebab Joint”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Special Ostadi (Now renamed as Special Ustad) is one of the oldest Iranian restaurant in Dubai.

The small joint is family owned and is now managed by owners sons.

The kebabs here are absolutely delicious (The restaurants in 5* hotels can't match the taste!).

The Interior of this restaurant is of a typical Iranian joint with lots of tables and chairs merged together.

This place is always busy with customers so the Ambiance is very vibrant.

Besides the kebabs, what I really like about this place is the way the owners (the sons) treat and greet their customers. They are very friendly and welcoming.

My wife is vegetarian and when the owner realized that she was not eating anything due to this reason he offered to arrange food for her from an Vegetarian Restaurant nearby. They will go out of their way to accommodate your demands.

Highly Recommended!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank harishkumar83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Meat treat”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Tasty kebabs, value for money, is the final judgement. Though one of the old busy ones around the staff didnt have any arrogance about it. kabab khas is the best, joujeh kabab is also awesome, indeed we tried all of the kababs in the menu and every one were good. Limited option, speedy service. Downside: its in midst of bur dubai, so dont even think of finding a parking until luck favors u. Instead if you are coming in just for this restaurant i would take the metro. Its right next to al fahidi metro. Next the main restaurant is crazy packed at all times, however if you are a family they have a small room the next door, for family. U might have a better chance to find a table there for you. Ambience - if you happened to b to any old time iranian cafe then you might not b in for a surprise. Else b ready to witness, currency notes, pictures, caps, phones - how they turned restaurants into a mini museum. I recommend is my final verdict

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank varghesejimmyv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Best 'outside' Iranian Food in Dubai”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I am English but have been married to an Iranian for 20 years, lived in Dubai for 21 years and have to say, the food, whilst a limited evening menu (we ate there early evening rather than lunchtime when I believe a wider choice is available), is the best 'outside' Iranian food I have tasted in Dubai. I am always disappointed with the quality of the food served in Iranian restaurants in Dubai and over the number of years I have been living here, I have tried many. In my experience, other than Special Ostadi, the food served never ever matches up to the quality of homemade Iranian food which I have enjoyed on many occasions at family and friends houses. Whilst Special Ostadi is a casual dining experience, it is very clean with an authentic and welcoming atmosphere. What I love about it is that it has been established more than 30 years and the owners are not only very 'hands on' but friendly too. It is also lovely to see among all the 5 star glitzy and touristy overpriced places now so prevalent in Dubai, many offering poor food and service, that this little gem of the 'old' Dubai still remains at prices to match. Highly recommend it - had a lovely evening, thoroughly enjoyed it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ladyonhertravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Special Ostadi also viewed

 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to Special Ostadi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing