We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Le Meridien Fairway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Meridien Fairway
Ranked #223 of 545 Hotels in Dubai
Christchurch
Level Contributor
57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Loved Le Meridien Fairway”
Reviewed 5 October 2008

Wonderful place to stay. Friendly staff who were all incredibly welcoming. Spacious rooms, great location. Superbly clean.

  • Liked — Close to the airport, clean, friendly staff
  • Disliked — Lack of views
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristchurchJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    201
    92
    30
    18
See reviews for
69
177
75
223
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Caloundra
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2008

Leave behind the overcrowded overheated Dubai airport with a pickup in an air conditioned wagon from the Le Meridien. Clean hotel large rooms, friendly staff, generous food portions from room service and restaurants.....very good

  • Liked — Clean and modern
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tridev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2008

UNENJOYBLE STAY - WOULD NEVER STAY HERE AGAIN.

On first arriving at the hotel, all seemed ok - the staff were friendly and the room was big.

Unfortunately once the excitement died down we noticed the reality... Where do I begin..... Firstly, the bathroom was shabby and unclean. There were hairs on the wall from the previous occupants. The shower was faulty and even after numerous complaints it was never fixed. The extractor in the bathroom did not work, and in a twin room this was problematic as the 2nd person to bath/shower had to wait ages for the steam to leave so that the mirror could be visible. The electrical socket was hanging out of the wall; each day they would take our towels but fail to replace all of them - each day we had to phone and request for the missing towels to be brought up to us.

The list of problems is endless and when we raised them with the previously friendly staff, they turned out to be rude and hostile.

I can't even be bothered to carry on complaining - just be advised NOT to stay here - even though its cheap it would be far better to pay the extra and stay somewhere better.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Honey888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States of Mirpur
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2008

I stayed here in april 2008. 25th until 27th. I made the booking through hotels.com and made it for the le meridien on airprt road. However, when i received the email cnfirmation it stated fairway. I contacted Hotels.com and they where really unhelpful, wanted me to pay a further 1100 pounds (initially paid 1000 pounds). then they would refund 700 pounds back to me in 30 days. Anyway, i got to Dubai, with the whole family, we ahd booked 4 rooms. They messed up the roms and gave our exec room to someone else so we had to stay in a standard double room. Overall, there was only two decent staff members in the whole hotel, The sri lankan life guard (who is so so so under paid) and Dexter from the restaurant. All the rest, especially the counter staff, are liers, rude, incompetant and dishonest. Please be advised to keep all your valuables locked away as they will clean (enter) your room even when you request them not to. This is a nice hotel in the building sense, but the worst hotel in the world when it comes down to staff. Please be warned about the staff, connie is a philipino receptionist, and she is as she says a supervisor, i say she is the most, unreliable, dishonest, disrespectful customer service rep i have ever come across. I go dubai alot, bit its was my familys first time. The staff in this hotel have totally ruined ever going back to dubai. My familys first experiance was the worst experiance. Please please please take this review serious and do not bok through hotels.com and do not stay here!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Liked — Dexter and the life guard were great, roms are quite nice.
  • Disliked — The staff are dishonest theives
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ImInLove-WithuParri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2008

We will stay at Fairways in the future for short breaks to Dubai, as we are not into lounging by the pool every day and tend to go out for shopping and food. We spent our first 3 nights in Dubai at the Fairways and then transferred to Le Meridien Dubai (just around the corner, see separate review) as friends were coming to town and were staying there, and it is a better hotel to be sociable at with all the restaurant options etc, and the pool scene is good.
We liked Fairways mostly because of the service and value.

We got off to a tedious start by the Le Meridien desk at the airport not being advised of our flight number or time of arrival (and thus everyone else showing up for their complementary transfer was whisked off before us - we had to wait 20 min). I had phoned the hotel 4 days before our arrival to advise time and flight, and when we got to the hotel discovered they did indeed have this info - it just hadn't made it to the desk at the airport (I also cynically suspect that they wish to treat customers at the higher-class Le Meridien hotels better....). also, at arrival at 1:00am, they no longer had a non-smoking room available, even though we had requested it when booking on e-bookers (all I can recommend is that, once you book with a travel site, e-mail the hotel directly to confirm flight times and numbers, and also your wish for a smoking or non-smoking room and if you have late arrival).

All the inital hassle was swept away the next morning when they were all ready to move us to another room in the morning - we were going out shopping (using the free shuttle bus, very handy) and they moved our bags etc to the new room and had it ready when we returned. All this with apologies and smiles and very accommodating service.

We were also advised that we could go use the beach facilities at the Le Royal Meridien Beach Resort and Spa, so we could have a day at the beach. It costs 100 AED per person, and you have to get out there (about a 20 min taxi drive depending on the time of day - traffic is horrible in Dubai!), but we had a great time out there and as we are not really beach goers, it was great to have one day at the beach and the resort without having to stay there.
For the remaining 2 nights we were very comfy, had great service from the front desk, took advantage of the free hourly shuttle to Le Meridien Dubai and the restaurant booking the front desk did for us, used the gym which was small but good equipment and no one it it (bonus!). Rooms are narrow but nicely decoraged and comfy beds, bathrooms good with fluffy towels and nicer than Le Meridien Dubai standard room bathrooms which need updating (although both hotels have those crummy on-the-wall hairdryers that yellow with age, have no power and the handle gets to hot when you use it for more than 2 minutes you have to stop). We had the complementary airport transfer included and also a fruit basket refreshed each day, and free bottled water each evening.

We will definitely stay here again for a short trip to Dubai where lounging by the pool is not our goal (the pool is fine but only gets direct sun for about 2 hours each day). thanks to the staff at the hotel for turning around our initial hassle into a really comfortable stay.
Oh - by the way, there is no spa here, but within walking distance there is a really excellent Thai massage place (afraid I can't remember the name, but it's on 2nd Street - turn left out of the front door of the hotel, walk on the sidewalk and turn left again just before the petrol station to the next street, turn right and the Thai massage place is on your left with a big green sign out front). both my husband and I had a half hour back and neck massage on our first day and it was fantastic! Thai massage so you just put on the little pyjama top vs them using oil. It was so good that we went again (you can also get an oil massage but I had Thai again) for a full hour massage. If you don't like getting your neck cracked, tell them before you start, but they did an excellent job and good prices too. there is also the Akarau Spa in the Avation Club area (close to the Emirates training school, again within walking distance) and I went there for a scrub - nice facility, nice relaxation area, small but reasonably priced, don't worry you don't have to be a member of the Aviation Club to use the spa or visit any of the good restaurants they have on site. Check them out on the website and in cooler weather excellent as you can walk there from both Fairways and Le Meridien Dubai.

  • Liked — Up to date room and bathroom for a reasonable price, and good front desk service
  • Disliked — doesn't look like much from the outside but fine inside
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waynemegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Ana, California
Level Contributor
216 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2008

We arranged the complementary airport transportation with the hotel prior to leaving for Dubai. After the baggage claim in DXB there is a desk that handles all of the Dubai Le Meridiens’ transportation needs. We checked-in with the desk there and were escorted to a shuttle out by the curb. After a stop at the Le Meridien Dubai across the street from the airport we arrived at the Fairway quite quickly. By this time it was well after 1:00am. The bell staff were great and very helpful. The check-in was so unfriendly and unhelpful that it really made us question our decision to stay here. (The day shift front desk people were much nicer and friendly.) We stayed for three nights booked through spg.com on a AAA rate that was 700AED/night. Our room was on the first floor, which is really the third floor of the hotel. It faced the back of the hotel that had views of the neighborhood which was fine. The rooms are really long and are all a little different because of the roundness of the building. The bathroom was a little small but adequate. One weird thing is that the only bottled toiletries that they stock the bathroom with were 4 bottles of shampoo. There was no lotion or conditioner. I had to ask housekeeping for lotion and they gave me a lotion that I am assuming is for the suites because it was the Hermes Eau D’orange verte. There was a flatscreen tv that was nice. They also gave bottled water every day. The rooms are serviced twice a day, which is really nice. The rest of the hotel is nice, but not spectacular. The breakfast in the Petit Café was fine. The selection was small, but with less than 60 rooms in the hotel, it hardly warrants a huge breakfast buffet. The service was good and you can special order eggs, waffles, or pancakes from the server with no problems. We didn’t eat at any other place in the hotel. We made use of the “business center” which is located behind the reception in the hotel offices. We used the internet several times and found out when we checked out of the hotel that we were charged every single time. They do not specify this charge anywhere and we were under the impression that it was complementary.

I agree with other reviews that the food at the nearby Al Hallab restaurant is good and reasonably priced. Getting taxis was never a problem and one of the best features of the hotel is that the Deira City Center mall operates a free shuttle about 10 times a day. The Fairway is the last hotel stop after the Le Meridien Dubai, Al Bustan Rotana, and Millennium Airport hotels from the mall, but to the mall the ride is only a few minutes. The Deira City Center mall operates 2 different bus lines and the Fairway is on bus #1.

One of the drawbacks to staying at this hotel, as other reviews have mentioned, is that many taxis do not know where it is. One night we took a taxi from Bur Dubai and the taxi driver had no idea where it was located even though we gave him the little map that the hotel provides. We just asked him to take us to the airport Le Meridien instead. From there we took the free shuttle to the Fairway. It appears that this hotel is strongly linked with the Le Meridien Dubai because they have the free shuttle and if you stay at the Fairway you are entitled to use all of the pool and gym facilities there too. Also many of the items at the Fairway that have the hotel logo say “Le Meridien Dubai” instead of the “Le Meridien Fairway.”

  • Liked — Complementary shuttles to Le Meridien and City Center mall
  • Disliked — night check-in staff and taxi drivers may not know where it is
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Dr_Drew2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, NZ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2008

As with the majority of the reviews I'd have to agree on this hotel. We ended up booking this as we left it so late that there weren't many vacancies, amazing given the amount of hotels in Dubai, in the price range we wanted to pay. Also we were travelling during the school break so that made prices higher.

The staff here are great and if you're travelling with babies they are fantastic at taking them off your hands while you have breakfast. The breakfast in itself is pretty poor as it's a very small buffet and it didn't seem to be that you could order anything specific. The lunch we had at the Spice club was very nice although the dinner was pretty ordinary and the meals at the Press club were just awful. I'd recommend Al Haleb just down the road (turn left out of the hotel) and if it's American style stuff there is Chillis and a couple of others just a little further down, all within walking distance.

The pool is small but there wasn't anyone using it probably because this really does seem like a business hotel. The rooms were spacious and we didn't have a problem with cleanliness and we can only be grateful that after a 17 hour flight from NZ we got an early check in and picked up from the airport.

I'd probably choose to be closer to the beach next time but that has nothing to do with the hotel, just its location.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Lobby looks a little tired
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank speedyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien Dubai Hotel & Conference Centre
0.4 mi away
Roda Al Bustan
Roda Al Bustan
#104 of 545 in Dubai
1,518 reviews
0.4 mi away
Raintree Hotel, Deira City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Downtown Dubai
0.6 mi away
City Seasons Hotel
City Seasons Hotel
#202 of 545 in Dubai
381 reviews
0.4 mi away
J5 Hotels - Port Saeed
J5 Hotels - Port Saeed
#133 of 545 in Dubai
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Fairway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Fairway

Property: Le Meridien Fairway
Address: Al Garhoud Bridge | Sheikh Rashid Road, 29; PO Box 36400, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#98 Business Hotel in Dubai
#121 Family Hotel in Dubai
#127 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#191 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Fairway 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Le Meridien Fairway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Fairway Hotel Dubai
Le Meridien Hotel Dubai
Le Meridien Dubai
Dubai Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing