We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good and affordable choice to stay in Dubai” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of JA Ocean View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
JA Ocean View Hotel
Ranked #56 of 544 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very good and affordable choice to stay in Dubai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

JA Ocean View Hotel is nicely located at SW end of The Walk at Dubai Marina. There is a wide selection of restaurants and small shops along The Walk, more are being opened. Public beach, which is in a very good condition, is about 150 meters away from the hotel. They are just finishing a road work, which seems to be an underground parking place, and currently that is disturbing the access to the beach a bit.

Hotel itself is clean and well maintained. Even those standard beach view rooms are comfortable and nicely sized. Bed offers very good night sleep but there can be some noise coming from the corridor through a door. Bathroom is working fine and there is enough room in it too.

Breakfast offers wide selection of items and service is working fine even when all tables are full. It is easy to recommend to include the break to your room. Pool is not that big but it functions perfectly and we had no problems to find seats there. Hotel also offers about 30 min transportation to and back from the JA Jebel Ali beach hotel few times a day but personally I liked the public beach next to hotel more, even without the services. It should be noted that you get a public beach set from the hotel that includes sunshade, couple of beach maps and towels.

Even when the metro station is not that far away from hotel you will end up using taxi instead. Metro is not that much cheaper and it is slower than taking the taxi. Same goes with the bus transportation offered by the hotel to shopping malls etc as you get there faster and more conveniently with cheap taxis.

JA Ocean View hotel is very good and affordable choice to stay in Dubai. Stayed for 5 nights.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jari V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otto K, General Manager at JA Ocean View Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Jari V,

Thank you for your sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at the JA Ocean View Hotel.

It was lovely to read your very detailed review about your stay with us. I was also very happy to read that you considered the hotel to be very good, an affordable choice to stay in Dubai, nicely located, clean and well maintained.

Please allow me to personally thank you for your positive comments about your accommodation which you found to be comfortable, nicely sized and has bed which you felt offers a very good night sleep.

I do also appreciate your lovely words about the facilities and amenities available in the hotel such as the complimentary shuttle service to various tourist destinations, as well as the breakfast served which you have kindly mentioned offered a wide selection of food.

Once again, I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor, and I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to JA Ocean View Hotel in the future.


Yours sincerely,


Otto Kurzendorfer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,649
    1,166
    210
    49
    27
See reviews for
1,043
2,003
200
255
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (709)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

What a fantastically fresh and well run hotel from all aspects. It's location on the Marina is superb with close access to the beach and to the many restaurants on the main drag. Will definitely return if in Dubai again. My thanks to Rajender on the Concierge desk for some fantastic support!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dpilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otto K, General Manager at JA Ocean View Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear dpilli,

Thank you for your sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at the JA Ocean View Hotel.

I was pleased to read your nice comments about the hotel which you found to be fantastically fresh, well run from all aspects and in accessible location. I do also appreciate your kind words with regards to my team who looked after you, and will ensure that your compliments are shared.

Once again, I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor, and I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to JA Ocean View Hotel in the future.


Yours sincerely,


Otto Kurzendorfer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Great hotel in a great location at JBR. Very close to the beach and the beach bags (mat, towels and umbrella) provided by the hotel were an excellent touch and very much...very nice service specially the receptionist sanjya very helpful & Hisham from desk advisor thanks a lot for the service

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eslam O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otto K, General Manager at JA Ocean View Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Eslam O,

Thank you for your sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at the JA Ocean View Hotel.

It was nice to read your positive comments about the hotel and its location, as well as the service provided by the hotel and team. You have also kindly acknowledged two of my team members by name, of which I am very thankful for.

Once again, I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor, and I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to JA Ocean View Hotel in the future.


Yours sincerely,


Otto Kurzendorfer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos, Nigeria
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

I had a nice experience when we stayed at the Ocean View Hotel for 4 nights. We has a group in from Nigeria to Dubai and they really liked it also. Lucy at the reception was very helpful in coordinating my group, also Mr Singh in charge of the restaurant was also helpful and he made my group feel comfortable which was a plus to our business from the checking in, to the wide and comfortable rooms, bathrooms were cute, the buffet meals were on point, the pool and gymnastics was accessible to guest. it was fantastic holiday

Room Tip: Sea view rooms got great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seun B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otto K, General Manager at JA Ocean View Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Seun B,

Thank you for your sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at the JA Ocean View Hotel.

I was happy to learn that you had a nice experience, and had a fantastic holiday whilst staying with us! I do also appreciate your kind words with regards to the comfortableness of your accommodation, buffet meals, the swimming pool and gym, and the service you received from my team. Your nice compliments about my team who looked after you are highly appreciated as well.

Once again, I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor, and I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to JA Ocean View Hotel in the future.


Yours sincerely,


Otto Kurzendorfer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed at the Ocean View Hotel for 6 nights. It is ideally located, close to the beach and Jumeirah Walk, where it is lovely to take a stroll in the evening. Some people have mentioned the nearby construction work - but we were unaffected by this. The hotel breakfast offers a wide choice for all tastes and it was the best breakfast we have ever had in a hotel. The staff were always very attentive and friendly, particularly Merry and Ratender, who were always on hand for help and advice. The rooms are kept immaculately clean and serviced on a daily basis. We would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kinglouie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otto K, General Manager at JA Ocean View Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Kinglouie1,

Thank you for your sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at the JA Ocean View Hotel.

It was a pleasure to read your review, and your positive comment about the hotel which you have kindly mentioned was excellent and perfect! It was lovely to know that you also enjoyed the wide choice of food served during breakfast in our very own restaurant which you highly commended to be the best you have ever had in a hotel.

I was also pleased to hear that you found your accommodation to be kept immaculately clean and serviced on a daily basis, as well as your kind words about my team whom you felt were always very attentive and friendly.

Once again, I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor, and I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to JA Ocean View Hotel in the future.


Yours sincerely,


Otto Kurzendorfer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

We chose the JA Ocean View Hotel on The Walk at Jumeira Beach for a 3 night stopover on our way back from Hong Kong to London. We arrived at about 1230 pm and had an easy check in. Unfortunately our room wasn't ready (check in is from 2pm) but we had a drink in the café in the foyer and visited the bank just around the corner. Our room was ready at 2 pm so we made our way to the 21st floor. We had booked a club room but had been allocated a junior suite. The air conditioned room was huge with a King size bed, settee, large wide screen tv, adequate storage space and long, if not very wide balcony, which overlooked the beach and the Palm in the distance. The bathroom had a double sink, bath with shower over, walk in shower and separate wc. Bottled water and tea/coffee making facilities were available and replenished daily. There was also a mini bar which we didn't use.

Having booked a club room we were entitled to use the club lounge for afternoon tea (3 - 5pm), cocktail happy hour (6 - 8pm) and breakfast from 7am to 11 am. There was a good choice for breakfast and eggs, omelettes and pancakes were cooked to order. The 2 girls, Meg and Jackline were very attentative and friendly. Glasses and plates were cleared quickly.

There was also a residents bar on the 24th floor which always seemed very quiet.

As we were booked in for bed and breakfast, and only there for 3 nights, we didn't use any of the other restaurants or bars in the hotel but ate out the rest of the time. There are many restaurants near the hotel and the marina is about a 15 minute walk away around which are many more restaurants.

The hotel also runs a courtesy bus to the malls and souks at certain times. Beware that travelling time back from the Dubai Mall on the courtesy bus is about 1hr 15 mins. The metro station is about a 15 min walk away.

There is a swimming pool and bar on the 3rd floor which we didn't use.

There is some building going on next to the hotel, as there is around much of Dubai, but this didn't cause us any bother.

We enjoyed our stay at the hotel very much but probably wouldn't visit Dubai again as we found it too hot although we were pleased to have seen it.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the higher floors to escape the building noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MasonGuernsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otto K, General Manager at JA Ocean View Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear MasonGuernsey,

Thank you for your sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at the JA Ocean View Hotel.

I was very delighted to read your detailed and candid review. Although we will do our best to accommodate our early arriving guest and understand that our guests are tired after hours of travelling, unfortunately this is always subject to availability and occupancy levels. You may wish to consider, if you will be arriving earlier than the check in time, to pre-book your accommodation one night prior to your arrival, to ensure it is immediately available on arrival.

It was nice to hear your positive comments about the facilities and amenities available in the hotel and in your accommodation, as well as the service you received in our very own Coral Lounge.

You have personally acknowledged two of our team members by name, whom you felt were very attentive and friendly. This kind compliment of yours has been shared with both of them, as we embrace the importance of recognizing our associates.

Most days in Dubai are sunny throughout the year because it has a tropical desert climate. I would also like to inform you that the weather between December and March is considered as most comfortable climatic conditions throughout the year, and it is the preferable period of the year for most of the tourists.

Once again, I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor, and I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to JA Ocean View Hotel in the future.


Yours sincerely,


Otto Kurzendorfer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

I stayed here 8 nights at the end of April 2014. First impressions of the hotel were that it's very clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room had a balcony and sea view which was lovely and the rooms were really spacious. It's in a great location as it's practically on The Walk and the beach is 2 minutes walk away. A few people have complained about the construction work and noise however I didn't notice any noise and although it's true that the pathway to the beach is temporarily closed, it's not a big inconvenience. Our rooms were cleaned to a really high standard everyday and the cleaners always smiled and said hello.

The pool area filled up quickly but there were always enough sun loungers and the pool staff and waiters were always great.

Breakfast is included in the price and I have never seen so much choice. There really is something for everyone and the food is a really high standard.

The only slight complaint I have is that when we checked out, it took us 30 minutes which wasn't ideal. This was (I think) down to finding out how much we'd spent in the mini bar in our room. Apparently someone had to be sent to check but this took ages! We weren't really kept in the loop as to what was happening so it was quite frustrating.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fellsy86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otto K, General Manager at JA Ocean View Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Fellsy86,

Thank you for your sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at the JA Ocean View Hotel.

It was good to read your first impressions about the hotel and your accommodation which you have kindly mentioned was in a great location, has lovely views, spacious and cleaned to a really high standard daily. The positive comments that you have written with regards to the food served during breakfast in our very own restaurant is also highly appreciated.

We do endeavour to ensure that we do have as many guest details as possible, prior to departure at the hotel to avoid any unnecessary delays upon check out. We appreciate that our guests do sometime have a strict travelling schedule to follow, and we wish to minimize the departure process and make it as smooth as possible. I would like to apologise if you were delayed in any way during your check out experience at the hotel, and if our way of handling late charges such as mini bar consumptions was not explained clearly to you.

I would also like to thank you for acknowledging my team who looked after you during your stay with us, whom you felt were friendly and helpful; I will personally ensure that these kind compliments are shared with them.

Once again, I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor, and I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to JA Ocean View Hotel in the future.


Yours sincerely,


Otto Kurzendorfer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
The Marina
Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach
The Marina
Ramada Plaza Jumeirah Beach
The Marina
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Dubai - Jumeirah Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Marina
Amwaj Rotana
Amwaj Rotana
#73 of 544 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,083 reviews
The Marina
Hilton Dubai The Walk
Hilton Dubai The Walk
#100 of 544 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,484 reviews
The Marina
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Dubai, Jbr
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JA Ocean View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JA Ocean View Hotel

Property: JA Ocean View Hotel
Address: The Walk, Al Mamsha Street, 27 | Dubai Marina, Jumeirah Beach Residence, Dubai 26500, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai > The Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 544 Hotels in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — JA Ocean View Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The city’s only “four-star” beach hotel has 342 rooms and suites with private balconies overlooking the Arabian Gulf’s blue waters. Several restaurants and bars, interconnecting rooms and a children’s club provide the perfect haven for families. In addition to a health club and spa, there is also an infinity pool just steps from Jumeirah beach and access to the private beach at Jebel Ali Golf Resort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Prestigia, Southall Travel, Holiday Gems, Travel Republic (UK), Hotelopia, TravelUp and Travelbag so you can book your JA Ocean View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing