We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (242)
Filter reviews
242 results
Traveller rating
98
86
32
11
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
98
86
32
11
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews global village dubai outlet mall silicon oasis mr adel guest toilet washing machine swimming pool water heater self catering shuttle service bed room full kitchen wifi is free will stay there again hotel shuttle the ground floor very nice stay
Filter
Updating list...
169 - 174 of 242 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2013

This is the first time I have left a negative review on Trip Advisor, but feel so strongly about what happened that I want to warn other potential customers, and also hopefully alert management to the negative impact their policy is having on their business.

A group of us stayed at the apartments for two weeks whilst in Dubai on business. The apartments are spacious, comfortable and clean. Abidos are not set-up to run the restaurant as per advertising, but since we were there to use the self-catering facilities, this didn't really affect us. It is lucky that they have the convenience store on the ground floor, since the apartments are very isolated. The pool, steam room facilities etc. were good and as-advertised.

Upon check-in, many of the kitchen utensils were missing but after reporting them to house-keeping they were brought up promptly. One thing we didn't report was a crack in one of the toilet seats - as it didn't seem worthy of mention and wasn't causing a problem. However, half way through the second week of our stay, the toilet seat cracked all the way through and we reported it to house-keeping. It was replaced immediately, however at 11pm that night, we had a visit from three of the staff (manager, supervisor and cleaner) demanding payment for the toilet seat which we had apparently broken. We explained that it had been cracked when we moved in - they departed, and we thought the matter was settled. However, at check-out, the cost of the seat had been added to our bill. When we asked to speak with a Manager, his basic stance was that we were lying about it being cracked and that they would not have handed over the apartment to us with a cracked toilet seat. We weren't ...and they did!
Another of my colleagues broke a dinner plate which she put in her bin. She also received a late-night visit from "management in force" demanding payment for the breakage.

The apartments were fine and suited our needs, but this small-minded and heavy-handed approach to these minor incidents, totally soured the experience and we will not be returning on future visits.

If you decide to risk using these apartments, I can only suggest that upon arrival, you go through your apartment with a fine-toothed comb, and report every single scratch, scuff, burn mark, hole in the upholstery, cracked glass, missing teaspoon, chip in the paint etc. etc. : otherwise you run the risk of being charged for it all upon departure!!

Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank RTrantor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed at these apartments for almost two weeks from 1-12 October. Accommodation is very spacious - we had a two bedroom apartment, each with en suite. However the kitchen really lets this apartment down. There is a solid four ring electric hob, a fridge/freezer, washer/dryer, a kettle and a toaster. There is only one plug in the kitchen so you have to change the plug between kettle and toaster and no oven or microwave. We had to purchase a tin opener, kitchen knives, tea towels, dishcloths etc. There is an inventory in the kitchen of the contents of the apartment and I would seriously recommend you check and report any missing or broken items immediately because one member of our party was charged 15dh for a broken plate and we were charged 30dh for a broken toilet seat. The toilet seat had a crack across one side when we arrived which looked as if it had been stuck together and which totally split apart two days before we left. When I reported the broken seat, a man came and replaced it with the the seat in the "maids room". However about 30 minutes later (11pm) we had a delegation of 3 members of staff at our door giving us the third degree! On check out, they refused to believe that the seat was faulty on our arrival and insisted we pay for its replacement. The cleaning cloths used by the staff look grey and very unhygienic. Service was friendly and helpful from the general staff, but very arrogant from senior staff. We will not be staying there again.

Room tip: If you don't intend cooking very much you will probably find this hotel OK. But as I said check and report defects/missing items on arrival.
Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AGrannySmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Abidos is a ten floor apartment building with a roof top pool area, gym and small indoor childrens play area. We stayed in a two bed apartment which was huge. Both bedrooms were a great size and both had ensuite bathrooms. The kitchen was separate and came with kettle, hob, toaster and washing machine plus a good sized table and four chairs. AC was excellent and lounge area pleasant.

Although you are a little far out of town the taxis are cheap and this should be considered as a great bargin. Two couples could easily share and have very cheap accomodation.

There is a small supermarket at the base of the hotel and a larger supermarket aproximately 5 minutes walk away. Staff were always helpful and polite. There is also free underground car parking.

To improve the hotel could include a microwave in the kitchen area.

Room tip: Something above the fourth floor to reduce noise from road.
Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SJB1209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Very nice,respectful and helpful staffs. Family friendly hotel. A bit out of the city centre,but easily accessible by taxi, equivalent of £5/£6 pounds takes you to the city centre (dubai mall). The hotel also provides a bus shuttle service twice a d to different malls for easy ride around town.
The facilities are modern and kept in very good state, there's a supermarket in the hotel for daily needs and the prices are good. Easy access to the internet free of charge.

Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bollyB2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

I was a bit hesitant to book this newly built hotel at the beginning for I normally stay at the Jumeirah or Bur Dubai area but the positive reviews made me decide to try and settle for it. Needless to say, my family and I were not disappointed! The two bedroom fully equipped apartment (with 2 bathrooms and a separate guest's toilet) that we occupied for a week was very spacious indeed! It offers all the luxury and amenities just like any other first class hotel but with the added convenience of having your own huge kitchen! The staff were friendly and gracious as well as the housekeeping personnel who came everyday to clean thoroughly and kept us supplied with fresh towels & toiletries night and day... The only slight disadvantage is the location of the property which is at the outskirt of the city center. But with travelers like us who normally rent a car everywhere we go, then this poses no problem for it's merely a 15min. drive. Very near Abidos is a huge outlet center where one can find anything one desires from low end to high end fashion, luxury brands are on sale everywhere! Next time we're in Dubai, we probably will stay there again!

Room tip: The hotel is relatively new so I suppose one can't go wrong and it is entirely quiet!
Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LDP-Vienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews