We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, quiet and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Barjeel Heritage Guest House
Ranked #2 of 62 Dubai B&B and Inns
chicago, il
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great service, quiet and clean”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Hubby and I stayed at Barjeel in October of 2013. Going to the hotel our taxi driver did not know where the hotel was, so after he called the hotel, the gentelman at the front desk came out to get us at the gas station across the street from the plaza in which the hotel is located. Later we were told that people know the area as the old fishmarket. The Al Ghubaiba metro station is also in the same square. Our room was separate from the main building (room102). It was nice and clean, had plenty of amenities and fluffy towels. There was plenty of hot and cold :) water. Only two things bothered us, though; there weren't enough places to hang two damp dowels and the lighting in the room was rather poor. As this hotel is built in traditional style there are no huge windows to let in light. The a/c worked great, thankfully, because it was incredibly hot during our stay.
The folks that work the front desk (day and night) are awesome. No request was too small or complicated. They are courtaeous and friendly. The young man that worked when we left, even brought us fresh coffee at 4:30AM and took our bags to the car they prearranged for us. The breakfasts we ate were great. In fact, most of the time it was too much food. Do note that if you'd like to enjoy the traditional breakfast, you have to let them know, because it is no longer offered as a standard selection. We did this a few times and on each occasion we received something a little bit different, but unfailingly tasty and more than ample. We also ate at the rooftop restaurant this hotel has. Highly recommend! The food is great and the view can't be beat. Another thing we liked about this hotel is that it is steps away from the Al Ghubaiba Metro station. The metro is super easy to use, it's safe, clean and cheap. just make sure you get into the correct car, as there are mixed, women only and gold class (first class?) cars.
Overall, we would definitely stay at Barjeel again and we recommend it to any traveler to Dubai.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tulipanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    55
    10
    5
    5
See reviews for
16
71
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Chose this because we didn't want to stay in a big hotel that you could stay in anywhere. It had authentic Arabian charm, and very nice staff. Taxi can't get you right up to the door but it is a short walk, and the taxi driver will call the hotel manager for you who will come out and meet you with a dolly to bring your luggage back to the guesthouse. They even walked us back out to the main Street and hailed us cab when it was time for us to leave. It is situated along the canal, where you could hop on a boat to take you across the canal to the spice, gold and textile markets. Easy to get around and close to the metro station. In the evening, because it is in the heritage district, there is live entertainment along the promenade.
The restaurant served very good food, I loved the ambience of the restaurant, too. You can watch the boats travelling up and down the canal.

I would definitely recommend this guest House to someone not wanting the big hotel experience. Great value for your money.

Room Tip: All rooms face the lovely little courtyard. Ask for a larger room, we had 108 and it was great! 10...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgette1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We chose this guesthouse as we wanted to avoid staying in a high-rise-you-could-be-anywhere hotel. The guesthouse itself you can't drive up to, but if like us you had read this before the easiest thing to do is drop a pin on the location map on your smartphone and use the GPS to help you get there we found! Also take note of the exterior picture of the guesthouse as you'll soon recognise it when you get to the Metro station near by.

We were greeted by very friendly staff, and shown to our lovely traditional room with beautiful furnishings and a great shower.

The location is great by the old creek, where you could take the water taxi's over to the souqs. We found the food to be great at the guesthouse with good vegetarian options.

I'd definitely recommend this place for anyone looking for a more traditional stay in a very pretty location - plus it's great value compared to other options in Dubai.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lstage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

This hotel is in a reconstruction of old Dubai and overlooking the Creek. The hotel and rooms are in a traditional style and would thus appeal to those looking for a hotel outside the mainstream. There is a very pleasant interior courtyard and a roof-top area. The food was reasonable particularly the breakfast but there are better dining options in the vacinity including at the Arabian Courtyard Hotel which owns the Barjeel. The hotel is however somewhat hard to find despite its central location. Price-wise, it was good value for Dubai.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

It was such a pleasure staying at this guesthouse. I could not have asked for a better location right next to the subway station! Less than 100m from the East exit!

The guesthouse is new built in an old style, the rooms and bathrooms are clean.

It can get pretty cool in the winter and the room cools down to a comfortable chill for a night's sleep.

The staff are really friendly and helpful.

The location is quite a distance walk to the dubai museum but nothing an abled adult can't tolerate. It is also not too far from downtown dubai.

The breakfast was hearty with a good selection to choose from.

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay there!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pyroticphoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vantaa
Level Contributor
89 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Nice small hotell 10 meters from the Dubai Creek in the old town center. The building is new but built in old style with an inner yard from where you have direct access to your rooms. Nice staff you really get to know. The hotel is 1 minute walk from the subway station. As the hotel is built close to the creek the taxis can't drive to the hotel door. They leave you at the subway station.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kulist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I would stay here again: the room was interesting, not the same old chain hotel feel; the location on Dubai Creek was pleasant; I thought the breakfast was good. Do note, however, that the hotel does not provide proper directions, and as it is not directly on a street, it is very hard to find. My taxi driver, who had the map the hotel puts on its website, kindly spent 15 minutes walking around trying to find it before we were able to figure out where it was. (You basically have to drive to a parking lot near Dubai Creek and a water taxi stand, get out, and walk 150 meters down the creek to the hotel, which you'll see because it has restaurant tables in the front.) The lack of proper directions is one sign of the lack of professionalism in the management of the hotel; another is that I had to email four times to get a response confirming that I could check in at 1 a.m. The response (eventually) was yes. I arrived--precisely at 1 a.m.--only to find no one in reception and no one in sight anywhere in the hotel. I had no cell phone and no way to call the hotel. I eventually took a key to one of the rooms from reception, went into one of the rooms, and called the front desk from its phone. That connected me to someone with a mobile phone, who then came from somewhere in the hotel to the reception office and checked me in. Ridiculous. The alternatives in Dubai are over-the-top super-expensive chain hotels, and this is a more interesting, value-for-money alternative, so I would stay here again, especially now that I know how to find it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussie_Adventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
The Creek
Arabian Courtyard Hotel & Spa
Hotel Sea View
#49 of 542 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Creek
Gateway Hotel
Gateway Hotel
#223 of 542 in Dubai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Royal Ascot Hotel
#48 of 542 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barjeel Heritage Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barjeel Heritage Guest House

Property: Barjeel Heritage Guest House
Address: Al Ghubaiba Rd, Dubai 46500, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai > The Creek
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Barjeel Heritage Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named after the Icon of the Guest House, the Barjeel Al Arab Restaurant is nestled near the water front overlooking the Creek side, neighboring the historic old souk and the bustling financial district. The view of glittering Dhows in the creek and the sound of prayer from the Mosque nearby will set you right in traditional Arabia. Arabic Hospitality being the most important factor of the Arabian culture, we offer the taste buds a variety of flavors, combining; Emirati, Lebanese and cosmopolitan delicacies, which truly represent what Dubai Demography is all about. Offering healthy freshly produce Mezzah, Kebabs and Grill in a healthier environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barjeel Heritage Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing