We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food but expensive wine”
Review of Awtar

Awtar
Ranked #777 of 9,701 Restaurants in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Lebanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Awtar, located in the upper Atrium, has an opulent and dramatic interior swathed in a traditional tent-style ceiling. Awtar's Lebanese menu includes a lavish selection of hot and cold mezze, and grill items designed for sharing, as well as a choice of authentic desserts. In this intimate setting, diners are entertained nightly by a talented live band, a singer and a charming belly dancer. Shisha is available in the evening. Timings - Dinner (Monday to Sunday) : 19:30 to 03:00 hrs,(Last order 01:30) Dinner (Thursday & Friday) : 19:30 to 03:00 hrs (Last Order 02:00)
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We visited the Grand Hyatt's Awtar restaurant following a recommendation and wasn't disappointed. We scanned the menu but decided to have the waiter decide for us. We had a selection of cold and hot Meze to start. A grilled meats selection followed with breads and salads and then came fruit and desserts. The food was great and there was loads for 4 of us. The red wine we were recommended was nice if not a little pricey!
The restaurant was nicely lit and we had a comfortable booth at the side. There was live music and a belly dancer to entertain us.

Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hyatt D, Director of Food & Beverage at Awtar, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for sharing your feedback about our restaurant! I am glad that you have enjoyed your dining experience at Awtar and found the quality of our food offerings to be outstanding! I will definitely pass on your kind comments to our restaurant’s team.

We are waiting to welcome you back for yet another great Lebanese experience!

Warm regards,

Conor O'Leary
Director of Food & Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
There are newer reviews for Awtar
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 77 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014

We had finished a 12 hour day and were looking for something quick. Having taken our drinks orders we then realised that they only offer set menus starting at 250aed each. We all decided to go for that. Oh my the food just kept coming, cold starters - delicious, hot starters even more delicious, main (meat) so full by this time hardly touched it, and deserts (fresh fruit and pastries) ok we had some of that. There was so much food, we could have just had the menu for 3 people and still there would have been food left over.

The quality of the food was excellent, just far too much, we realised too late we could have asked to take the meat away, we could have all had it the following day, but only as when the fruit and pastries arrived.

There was also a belly dancer and live music - the dancer was nothing special, but we all really enjoyed the live music.

So the moral of this story is be very, very hungry, give yourself plenty of time to enjoy the food and don't be afraid to ask to take leftovers away.

Thank CareySJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hyatt D, Director of Food & Beverage at Awtar, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for sharing your feedback about our restaurant! I am glad that you have enjoyed your dining experience at Awtar and found the quality of our food offerings to be outstanding! I will definitely pass on your kind comments to our restaurant’s associates.

We are waiting to welcome you back for another great Lebanese experience!

Warm regards,

Conor O'Leary
Director of Food & Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

A great band and dancer truly enjoying themselves and infecting the restaurant similarly, with dancing by many. Atmosphere of the restaurant good too, with nice cosy decorations, plus the diners varied across the spectrum, with most from local and nearby countries/cultures, so seems to be authentic to the experts of the cuisine and music.

Deserts were extra tasty and service warm and caring, making good suggestions.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Valdis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hyatt D, Director of Food & Beverage at Awtar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for your kind words, and I am glad that you enjoyed your evening with us. Indeed, we strive to provide authentic experiences in food, ambience and entertainment. I will certainly share your feedback with our restaurant’s team and we are looking forward to welcoming you back at Awtar!

Warm regards,

Conor O'Leary
Director of Food & Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Very nice food, great hummus especially served in a pleasant atmosphere by excellent staff.
Perhaps a little overpriced for what you get which is why it is not 5* but would recommend and it has entertainment.
Make sure you arrive hungry...

Thank GorillaFoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hyatt D, Director of Food & Beverage at Awtar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your kind words about Awtar, and specifically highlighting the quality of our food offerings and professional service. Your feedback will certainly be communicated to our restaurant’s team.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Awtar for yet another Lebanese experience.

Warm regards,

Conor O’Leary
Director of Food & Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

The entire assortment of Lebenese food and the belle dancing was an eveing well spent in good company.

Thank raosalil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Hyatt D, Director of Food & Beverage at Awtar, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you so much for your positive feedback on Awtar! Your comments are highly appreciated, and I will certainly pass on your kind comments to our restaurant’s associates.

We are waiting to welcome you back for another great Lebanese experience!

Warm regards,

Conor O'Leary
Director of Food & Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Awtar also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to Awtar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing