We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous hotel with very happy and welcoming staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Oberoi, Dubai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Oberoi, Dubai
Ranked #7 of 540 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
141 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel with very happy and welcoming staff”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Unfortunately I only stayed for one night, in transit. The hotel is truly wonderful. From the minute I got out of the taxi I knew it was going to be very good, and I wasn't disappointed.

Other guests have already summed up all the excellent points!! I have just left Dubai after 3 years, and would like to say this is definitely one of the best in the city. Very classy with a great team of employees.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PedroMig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karim B, General Manager at The Oberoi, Dubai, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review of The Oberoi Dubai on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to hear that you had such a fantastic experience from start to finish. I’m very pleased to know that we have met all your expectations on the quality of service and overall facilities available in the hotel.

We definitely look forward to welcoming you back at The Oberoi,Dubai in the near future.

Kind regards,
Karim Bizid
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,725 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,428
    235
    43
    14
    5
See reviews for
302
503
97
574
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
104 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We had two days in Dubai on a journey back home and decided to stay in the Oberoi. The choice was based largely on a desire not to stay in one of the very glitzy Vegas-like hotels for which Dubai is famous, but rather to spend our nights in an elegant and understated hotel. Based on our experience with Oberoi in India (which has been uniformly positive) we chose the Oberoi Dubai.

The hotel is very new and all the features are as one would expect of a hotel of this caliber -- though it was a bit on the sterile side and lacked some of the charming finishes one would find of Oberoi in India. (Of course, the doormen do wear the signature turbans!)

Our room was quite large with a separate sitting area, the bed and linens very comfortable. The bathroom was especially spacious and modern, with glass-enclosed wc and shower against the wall-to-wall, floor-to-ceiling window. The view was an open city view, though hardly remarkable from our side of the building (we looked out onto a construction site). The wifi worked very well.

Service was generally good. There was a butler service and our floor's butler was very kind, offered to unpack for us, etc., which was appreciated (though we did not take him up on the offer). Check in was a bit confused, there were a few people occupying a single desk where we were asked to sit and then someone at the desk over checked us in -- this struck me as odd but was not a problem.

The fitness center at the hotel was excellent. We had wanted to shower there (as we checked out earlier in the day and had a late flight). Although they had no showers, the manager at the spa (a lovely woman called Ina) went out of her way to clear two rooms for us where we were able to shower. Many thanks for that service.

If I had to offer some constructive feedback...

First, the hotel is not ideally situated for a non-business traveler. This was our first journey to Dubai so we were not terribly familiar with the neighborhoods. But this hotel is in the middle of a business district (Business Bay) and nothing is walkable or even a quick cab ride. We did venture over to the Madinat Jumeirah area, which was a bit too Disney/Vegas for our taste, but it was nice to be on the sea. If you're there for leisure, consider whether it's worth dealing with glitz for beach access. Or perhaps consider a hotel that is attached to one of the other attractions (ie malls) or in Bur Dubai (historic quarter).

Second, the concierge service at the hotel was not entirely up to par. We asked for some restaurant recommendations but the concierge didn't have any specific insights and rather just a long list that appeared ripped from a commercial guide. There was also a bias towards restaurants in large western hotels (for instance, the concierge was not familiar with a restaurant that we had been recommended by a friend but then when he saw it was in a western hotel said "It must be good," etc.) We were not able really to get recommendations on how to spend leisure time in Dubai -- again, reinforcing for me that this hotel is designed for business travelers. So if you choose this hotel, perhaps do your own research and don't expect that the concierge will be in a position to offer useful advice.

Overall, I would recommend The Oberoi to those looking to stay in an elegant business hotel and are not concerned about location.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NYinTransit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karim B, General Manager at The Oberoi, Dubai, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at The Oberoi, Dubai and for taking the time to share your feedback and observation on Trip Advisor.

The entire team and I strongly believe that it is only through comments like yours that will give us the opportunity to improve and becomes the best business hotel.

We don't want to be another 5 stars hotel, nor another new hotel in the chain, but we aim to be the best property in the city and in the Group. Your detailed feedbacks will definitely assist us in achieving the goal we set forth for this unique property.

Please accept my sincere apology for the inconvenience caused to you during check in.

We earnestly look forward to welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Dubai and please do not hesitate to contact me personally for any assistance you may require in Dubai.

Kind regards,
Karim Bizid
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

The Oberoi is a lovely hotel in an excellent location. The rooms and bathrooms are very large and well designed. Service is superb. The lobby lounge serves excellent turkish coffee and Moroccan tea alongwith dates all day.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adityapittie1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karim B, General Manager at The Oberoi, Dubai, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at The Oberoi, dubai during your recent trip to Dubai.

We appreciate you taking time to share your feedback online and we are delighted that your stay with us was memorable. Your positive feedback is a great source of motivation for us as we try to achieve even higher standards of service.

Meanwhile, we look forward to welcoming you back to The Oberoi, Dubai in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Karim Bizid
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
100 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

This is a great five star luxury hotel with a extraordinary staff. We had a superb stay and can truly recommend The Oberoi hotel Dubai. We are so bold and state that the Oberoi hotel Dubai gave us our so fare best hotel experience ever. The building is new and superb, but the staff of the Oberoi was the factor which make this hotel really stand out as superb hotel. They gave us this unique hotelexperience.

Service:
We were warmly greeted when we arrived. The check in went very smooth and during the check in we were provided refreshing towls and a choice of juices. We were escorted to our room. When we arrived there our bags were already there. We recieved an introduction to the room, the facilities of the room and to the hotel. The staff in the reception gave a genuine and extreemly good impression of the service level of the Oberoi. We where almost a little overwhelmed by the service and professionalism.

We were just settled when our butler appeared offering some more refreshments and services.

During our entire stay the whole staff of the hotel made us feel welcome and they cared for us in a very professional and nice way. They were very attentive. Our impression was also that the staff was into details, and for us that can be the difference betweel very good and extraordinary service.

Rooms:
The room was very spacious. The floor to roof windows were great and provided a unique feeling. We also fancied the wooden floor and the stylish and classical interiour. The room was very clean and the housekeeping staff surprised us with their eye for details. We were also very happy with the butler service.

Other facilities:
We really enjoyed the complementary shuttle to the Dubai Mall.
Unfortunately we did not have time for enjoying the 24 hours open spa, but the fitness room was great. State of the art fitnessmachines, clean and spacious. It must be mentioned that we were very warmly greeted by spa staff. We were offered an introduction to the spa and fitness area, which we accepted. Very nice introduction from the staff.

Breakfast was a heavenly experience. First of all: the staff was so attentive to our needs. We were almost a little overwhelmed also here. The selection of dishes was great. Very delicious food. Details taken care of and high quality of ingredients. The dining room was nicely decorated. A great experience!

Location:
The hotel is located in the new Business Bay area. If you travel with public transportation, there is a metro station few minutes walk from the hotel. We can recommend a taxi from the metro station if you have a lot of luggage.You can board a metro train from the airport and easily get to the Oberoi Dubai.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReiseKurre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karim B, General Manager at The Oberoi, Dubai, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your amazing and detailed review on Tripadvisor. We are thrilled to hear that you had a fabulous time at The Oberoi Dubai, which is indeed centrally located along Business Bay, Metro Station and overlooking Burj Khalifa and Dubai Mall.

People are the life and soul of our hotels – these wonderful ladies and gentlemen with their genuine care and warmth ensure that every interaction with our guests is a wonderful moment of truth. We are fortunate to have such a wonderful team. I have shared your recognition with the team – your words of praise will further inspire them in their pursuit of excellence.

Also, we are very pleased that you have appreciated our room, overall facilities, food and location.

Your sentiments are precious – again thank you so much for taking the time to write your stay experience online.

It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Oberoi, Dubai and we look forward to welcome you back in not so distant future.

Warmest personal regards,
Karim Bizid
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My husband and I always stay at 5 star hotels. When we travel we are used to a high level of hotel accommodations and service. We have stayed at other Oberoi properties with great success. The Oberoi Dubai is one of the best ever! Great personal attention to details. Attentive staff - the door men, valet service, concierge, front desk, housekeeping, food and beverage manager - everyone was there to make sure our needs were met and our stay was as pleasurable as possible - which it was! Our suite was immaculate, spacious, quiet, and had a great view. We had a personal butler - who would respond to us within minutes. The food was also excellent. We highly recommend this hotel - another great Oberoi property! Travelers from USA.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karim B, General Manager at The Oberoi, Dubai, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Guest,

I am delighted to read your review and thank you for taking the time to write such an excellent feedback regarding your recent stay at The Oberoi, Dubai.

I am also pleased to know you had a wonderful experience and thank you for your heartfelt recommendation.

I will certainly share your kind words with all our team and we really look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Warmest regards,
Karim Bizid
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Earth, Texas
Level Contributor
325 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Usually I do not trust TA if there are so many excellent reviews from members with a history of just one or two reviews in total. This is always thought-provoking. Nevertheless when it comes to the Oberoi Dubai I have to admit that this hotel is probably one of the best I ever stayed in in terms of service, staff attitude and hospitality. I have also to mention that I have stayed in a lot of other fine five star hotels around the globe, especially in the Asia-Pacific region (Peninsula, Mandarin-Oriental, Four-Seasons, GHM etc.) but the level of service and friendliness at the Oberoi was outstanding and flawless by far. We (family of 3) had booked a standard room for 7 nights right over christmas. Since I was late with my booking most hotels closer to the beach had already been sold out or asked insane prices. So we ended up here ad for sure did not regret it.

Location:
The hotel is located in Business Bay, a thriving new community in Dubai catering mainly to business travelers and just 5 minutes by car to Dubai Mall and the Dubai Fountains. The hotel is also within walking distance to the JW Marriott Marquis Hotel (5 minutes walk), the Business Bay Dubai Metro Red Line Station (also 5 minutes walk) and the main Dubai road, aka Sheikh Zayed Road (2 minutes by car). In front of the lobby there is always a taxi or private limousine waiting for guests. Taxis are usually a little bit cheaper than a private limousine but it is no big difference in the end. Short drive to Dubai Mall or the Dubai Fountains is 10 Dirham by Taxi or 20 by limousine. Drive to the airport (Terminal 1) was around 60 Dirham flat. The hotel also provides a complimentary shuttle to Dubai Mall as well as the Jumeirah Beach Park but we used it only once because we minded the waiting time. As already pointed out the area around the hotel is "thriving", means there is a lot of construction going on. You will notice a lot of cranes and heavy building equipment around the various new developments. Despite the excellent soundproofing windows I could here some construction noise but it was not worrisome. If you stay in NYC you will also get street noise 24/7. Also finding a place in Dubai with no construction nearby seems mission impossible to me. If you have a very light sleep try to arrange a room in the upper floors, away from the elevators and towards the swimming pool. This might give you not the best view but at least a better sleep.

Check-in:
We arrived by Taxi from the Park Hyatt, where we had stayed only for one night prior to our move to the Oberoi. We where greeted by an impressive looking bell-boy dressed in traditional Indian costume who took care of our luggage and escorted us into the lobby. They already had figured out our names from the luggage tags. The reception is just 2 separate desks with guest chairs in front. Everybody stood up after we entered the lobby and greeted us (they did this very time we crossed the lobby, afterwards also mentioning our name). Check-in was very quick downstairs and we where escorted to our room by the agent who completed the rest of the formalities right in the privacy of our room. I had a small disagreement over the booked rate but the agent solved it in minutes by showing up in the room again with the necessary rate adjustment. Immediately after entering our room the floor butler showed up with cold towels, fresh orange juice and some chocolate as welcome present. He asked if he could point out some of the rooms features and be of help with the unpacking. Luggage also arrived within minutes and we settled down in our room.

Room:
Initially we had booked a standard room with two double beds but they offered us a king size bed with a rollaway at no extra charges. The room was on the 13th floor overlooking the pool area. Extremely nice and modern layout with the highest quality furnishings, hard wooden floor, a sofa as well as a large desk. Even with the additional rollaway the room felt huge, more like a junior-suite than a standard room. A nice feature are the floor-to-ceiling windows wit one of the best blinding systems by far in a hotel. Once closed electrically it was pitch-dark in the room even during the middle of the day. You could tell that the interior has cost a lot of money.

Bathroom:
Excellent layout, double sink, large mirrors, separate WC and bidet as well as walk-in rain shower and a free standing bath-tub. All granite tiles. ETRO-Ambra amenities, free toothbrush, comb etc. Lots of fluffy towels, nice robes and slippers.

Breakfast:
Honestly THE best hotel breakfast so far worldwide. They treated us like royals very morning. Every staff member was extremely helpful, attentive and carrying.They explained very dish to us, let us taste, took our plates to the table, warmed our croissants every time we wanted and provided the best attentive and flawless service by far. Quality as well as quantity was perfect. Loved the Eggs Benedict as well the Waffle on a Stick! Needless to say that I gained 2 pounds in just a couple of days just because of the breakfast.

Spa:
Also very nice. +1 and me both had a facial and it was world-class and worth every penny. Spa is open 24/7.

Gym:
Used the treadmill everyday. Excellent state of the art equipment. Especially liked the recorded runs trough various US National Parks or New Zealand. Open 24/7. We where the only guests during our stay at the gym.

Pool:
Excellent 80 feet or 25 m long swimming-pool. Lots of lounge-chairs with umbrellas. Immediately after you walk up they provide you with towels, water, Evian-Spray and sunscreen. Perfect way to relax or swim some lanes. During our stay the pool was mainly deserted and we had been the only guests at the pool for some time. You can order food as well as drinks at the poolside.

Concierge:
Awesome. He arranged a rental car for a incredibly low price on a short notice delivered directly to the hotel. Valet is free by the way! Always helpful with some good restaurant recommendations.

Overall:
It´s the little things that count. Everybody stopped when we walked by, greeted us by names and asked how we are doing and if the could help us. The provided a very nice christmas surprise for my son on christmas day with lots of candy and chocolate. There were always fresh flowers in the room as well as complimentary small cakes or chocolates. Twice daily housekeeping was tremendous. Our room looked like new twice a day. They even organized a Christmas carol singing on Christmas eve in the lobby. That was one kind of experience having staff members from roughly 10 nations singing Christmas carols right in middle of an arabic country.

Keep up the good work! Chapeau to the Oberoi Hotel Group and it´s Dubai GM and all of his wonderful staff members. Hope to return soon.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank YoshiDus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karim B, General Manager at The Oberoi, Dubai, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your valuable time providing your very detailed and excellent feedback about your experience at The Oberoi, Dubai.

It gives us an immense sense of satisfaction to see that you and your family have enjoyed your stay with us. As a hotel, we pride ourselves in the fact that our guests feel at home and have a sense of luxury being offered to them without being intrusive. Also, we are very plesed to know that you have appreciated our overall facilites, level of service, staff attitude & friendliness as well as our hospitality.

Your positive thoughts have been shared with the entire team. We look forward to your next visit and we hope that you will travel to Dubai soon and make The Oberoi, Dubai your preferred destination again.

Warmest regards,
Karim Bizid
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
855 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Stayed at the Oberoi while attending a conference. Of course, hospitality at the Oberoi is unsurpassed! Rooms are lightheartedly and comfortably colorful. I particularly noted and enjoyed the great care given to all the little details that can make your stay unimaginably comfortable!

Staff are unbelievably accommodating.

Conference arrangements were impressive, to stay the least.

i would say the Oberoi Dubai must be experienced.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karim B, General Manager at The Oberoi, Dubai, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Guest,

It is indeed a great pleasure having you stayed at The Oberoi, Dubai recently and we are grateful for spending your valuable time providing your excellent feedback online.

Thank you so much for appreciating our overall facilities, hospitality and services and for your wishes and support.

Once again, thank you for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor.

Meanwhile, we look forward to welcoming you back in not so distant future.

With warmest personal regards,
Karim Bizid
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
Taj Dubai
#10 of 540 in Dubai
1,232 reviews
Raffles Dubai
#2 of 540 in Dubai
3,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Marina
Grosvenor House Dubai
The Marina
Address Dubai Marina
Address Dubai Marina
#5 of 540 in Dubai
2,342 reviews
Park Hyatt Dubai
#8 of 540 in Dubai
1,895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi, Dubai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi, Dubai

Property: The Oberoi, Dubai
Address: | Business Bay, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 540 Hotels in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi, Dubai 5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A contemporary luxury hotel that embodies height, light and space and overlooks the iconic Burj Khalifa. The Oberoi, Dubai is located within minutes from the Dubai Mall and the Dubai International Financial Centre. The 252 spacious guest rooms and suites have floor to ceiling windows and offer spectacular views of the city’s skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelbag, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oberoi, Dubai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing