We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we expected from a 4* hotel, location is great tho”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Carlton Tower Hotel
Ranked #317 of 556 Hotels in Dubai
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We booked two rooms for 5 nights ... we changed our booking the next morning and went to another hotel (Traders). It was the best decision we took.
The location of the hotel was great for our business trip in deira.
The rooms were very small compared to what we expected from a 4* hotel.

For those that don’t know Dubai, you have family and non-family hotels (Hard partying). It is not writing anywhere but you better know about. This one is definitely a non-family one. It has two clubs inside (more than 70% are men) with all kind of things that comes with a night club in Dubai (you can imagine ;) )
So if you're a Man solo traveller or a bunch of friends (boys or mixed), it's ok. If you're a family, group of girls or a business man, it's not your place.

I believe this hotel is far to be a 4* hotel. It needs to be upgraded or re-evaluated.
If you're in Deira for business, go to Traders Hotel Dubai. It’s way better, by far.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zakarov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olfag, Front Office Manager at The Carlton Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Dear Sir,

We greatly appreciate that you took time to share your experience during your stay and would like to express our sincere apology for the inconveniences experienced.

We highly value your feedback as it is important for us to know which areas we are in need of improvement and every effort is taken to ensure that your expectations are met.

We look forward to welcome you back in in hope that you will give us opportunity to be of service to you again.


Kind regards,


Elizabeth Quizon
Front Office Manager
Carlton Tower Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

84 - 90 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

A few words to sum up our experience...

Rude reception staff
Dirty rooms
Everywhere stinks of smoke
Very tired looking

In summary, there are better places to stay in Dubai. Don't settle for this. We have seen much nicer hotels during our stay in Dubai, and think this hotel needs some serious work to compete.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Travel5757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I went second time to Dubai and both time I was staying at 4**** hotel, or I thought so. Second time I stayed in this Carlton tower hotel. Staff was really friendly but actually everything they promised didnt work. When we arrived our rooms were not ready. Staff told that we would get rooms in 2 hours, but actually we got first room 3 hours later, and second room 4 hours later. The room smelled like cigarette even it was non-smoking room. Our room was on 3rd floor, and it was really hard to fall a sleep every night because of night club on 2nd floor.

After 3 days staying our key card stopped working. I went to reception and they didnt explain why that happened and they didnt apologize about it. This repeated next day also. Not a 4**** hotel service.

The hotel also promised to give for every day 1 bottle of water per person. We had to ask every day cleaning lady to give us water.

Night before leaving we asked to get a taxi (for 5 persons) to the airport at 4am and staff told they will do that. In the morning we didnt got taxi and staff told that taxis for 5 person are available only at the airport. We used large taxis many times during the week!!! They got for us 2 regular hotel cars and told that price would be 50AED for two taxis. Actually price was 40AED for ONE car.... Luckily we had extra money left.

For this price you can get a lot of better hotel in Dubai!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mila R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olfag, Front Office Manager at The Carlton Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Dear Sir,

We greatly appreciate that you took time to share your experience during your stay and would like to express our sincere apology for the inconveniences experienced.

We highly value your feedback as it is important for us to know which areas we are in need of improvement and every effort is taken to ensure that your expectations are met.

We look forward to welcome you back in in hope that you will give us opportunity to be of service to you again.


Kind regards,


Elizabeth Quizon
Front Office Manager
Carlton Tower Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Our experience of this hotel started badly. When checking in we were told to take a seat. 30 mins later I asked what was happening and they said room wasn't ready, and would be another 30 mins. 30 mins later this was still the same answer. After wasting the first 90 mins of my holiday, we gave up went for a walk, and the room was available when we came back 1 hour later.
The concierge was no help at all. I asked about the horse racing, and he shrugged his shoulder, and then started playing with his phone. He didnt even try to help.
The room itself was nice for the price. Its starting to get a bit dated, but was clean and a good size. I requested a room on a high level after reading other reviews and they did give us one on the 10th floor. You could still here a dull thud from the nightclub, but you had to really listen for it.
The aircon was very noisy and I had to turn it off to sleep, which wasn't a major issue, as the room wasn't too hot.
Location is ok. It is in the "old Dubai" rather than in "tourist Dubai", but was near the metro which we used most of the time. The view from the bar is great. I loved watching the docks during the day, and the creek light up with the tour boats at night.
Unfortunately the end of the stay went as bad as the start. When we got the minibar bill we were charged for a bottle of whisky we didn't have. They said the seal had been broken, but the bottle was still full. When challenged they did take it off the bill, but that was after a 10 min discussion with the reception manager. Indications from the discussion was that this had happened previously.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high level, to avoid the nightclub noise. A city view room, means a limited vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jac19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olfag, Front Office Manager at The Carlton Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Dear Sir,

We greatly appreciate that you took time to share your experience during your stay and would like to express our sincere apology for the inconveniences experienced.

We highly value your feedback as it is important for us to know which areas we are in need of improvement and every effort is taken to ensure that your expectations are met.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back and be of service to you again in the near future.


Kind regards,


Elizabeth Quizon
Front Office Manager
Carlton Tower Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

The Carlton Tower seems like a time stop from a bye gone era. In its heyday the hotel would have been excellent and certainly the front entrance promises the same. Excellent and friendly customer service throughout. The restaurant area is open and can be viewed from the lobby, although I never ate there.

I had a room with twin singles and the size was well portioned and the bathroom was an OK size. I booked a Creek view and at night time the view is very enticing.

On closer inspection the cracks start appearing. The bathroom ceiling had small traces of mould as did the tile grout. The furniture in the bedroom was all scuffed. The sliding wardrobe doors were getting stuck. The wall paper was heavily marked and in some places ripped. Many of the issues could easily be resolved with a little bit of TLC which it seems has not happened for some time.

Lastly, although I mentioned excellenT customer service, there was one incident. WIFI is free in the lobby and the second floor pool side. So when I went to the poolside to take advantage of the lovely night weather and amazing night view of the creek, I was told to either buy some food or drink or use the lobby (So much for being Free!).

To summarise, not really enough to entice me back a second time.

Room Tip: Ask for creek view as high as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SonnyCash1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olfag, Front Office Manager at The Carlton Tower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Dear Sir,

We greatly appreciate that you took time to share your experience during your stay and would like to express our sincere apology for the inconveniences experienced.

We highly value your feedback as it is important for us to know which areas we are in need of improvement and every effort is taken to ensure that your expectations are met.

We look forward to welcome you back in in hope that you will give us opportunity to be of service to you again.


Kind regards,


Elizabeth Quizon
Front Office Manager
Carlton Tower Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

My wife and I had a ninth-floor room at the Carlton Tower during March. The hotel overall was good but perhaps a little tired in places and in need of a bit of TLC. We were met at the airport by the hotel transport which efficiently took us the short distance to the hotel. The Carlton Tower is located on the Dubai Creek overlooking the freight wharfs which provided enormous interest to those of us who were allocated front rooms. The views are magnificent especially in the evening when the illuminated dinner cruisers wend their way up and down the Creek. Our room was comfortable without being pretentious. The hallways and corridors were nicely proportioned and the lifts worked efficiently. Breakfast is available in one of the two restaurants - it must be difficult to try to meet all of the food requirements of all of the nationalities there when we were present and the breakfast food left a little to be desired for us - but their omelettes were excellent!! There is a very good little cafe adjacent to Reception which serves excellent snacks (Club Sandwich in particular) and a good cup of English Breakfast tea!! All in all we were very satisfied and were not put out by the size of the bill for our four-night stay. We would recommend.

Room Tip: Request a front room for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CTB181140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

The hotel is located in a quite area over the Dubai Creek. Our room was big, clean and we liked it. The breakfast was good and the restaurant's supervisor (an Indian man) was very cheerful and we were welcomed very warmly by him everyday. There's this man called Joseph who was really good and upgraded us to a bigger room (the hotel was full during our stay). The hotel is 10-15 minutes drive from Dubai International Airport and is very near to Al Ghurair Centre.
I would recommend it for everyone, especially couples and people on business (my father was on business during our trip).
Note that there aren't so many taki cabs in that area so you have to order a taxi or you'll have to wait for a long time!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zainab F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
0.0 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#184 of 556 in Dubai
361 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Pearl Creek
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Dubai/Baniyas Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Landmark Plaza Baniyas Hotel
0.9 mi away
Carlton Palace Hotel
Carlton Palace Hotel
#210 of 556 in Dubai
791 reviews
1.0 mi away
Emirates Concorde Hotel & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlton Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton Tower Hotel

Address: 19 Baniyas Road | Deira Dubai Creek, Dubai 1955, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#144 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#246 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range: £51 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Carlton Tower Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at the 4-star Carlton Tower Hotel Dubai in the heart of Deira offers hotel guests unrivaled views of the Dubai Creek. In addition to deluxe rooms and suites designed for both the business traveller and the leisure guest we are proud to be one of Dubai's most established hotels. Located on Baniyas Street, close to Naser Square and conveniently located within a 1-minute walk to Baniyas Metro Station offering unrivaled access to Dubai's Metro and transport network. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Carlton Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carlton Hotel
Carlton Tower Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing