We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great value and perfect location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Carlton Tower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Carlton Tower Hotel
Ranked #326 of 544 Hotels in Dubai
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great value and perfect location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2009

10 mins away from airport and right on the creek and 15 mins away from the most famous hotel burj al arab

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mex23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    72
    57
    23
    22
See reviews for
46
57
21
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Up North, England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2009

Dubai [DXB] used to be good. Now it is materialism gone mad. How may we still enjoy DXB? One answer is to stay on a Creek side hotel. Carlton is one of the better value such places. A few yards from the Creek, from an Abra [water taxi] stations, and from the Souks 'Old' & 'Gold'. Good access to the DXB Airport.

Excellent Creek view pool, with well equiped gym. Go for a Creek view room if premium price is reasonable. Look out for the Business Centre internet access rip off.

Eat in the hotel; good buffet breakfast or outside in the strets to the rear. Good prices in the backstreet shops as well.

  • Liked — Location for what remains of old Dubai
  • Disliked — No big negatives
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Rost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2008

I was told this hotel has a nice view, which was true. However I was not told about the type of service. The people at the front were friendly and always smiled but booking a cab would take forever. At the same time when we planned to go out on a trip- which was organised by the hotel, we were delayed by 40 minutes on both occasions both going and coming back! I nearly got into a fight with one of the drivers. Having said that, the breakfast was nice and the room itself was nice, had a great view. We were on the 11th floor which did not have a lift, so we had to take the steps from the 10th. Hotel, was clean etc. Its a nice place to stay, if youre going to be out and about- but dont book events directly from the hotel- you wil get ripped off and the staff will try to undercut each other in order to get you a better offer on a trip- making money for themselves at the same time- offcourse this is a good thing for the customer but it just sheds light on how people operate. It was also 5 mins walk to mcdonalds, KFC, Baskin and Robbins and a few restaurants. Overall a nice place to stay, friendly staff, just dont book things from there.

  • Liked — Nice view and great breakfast
  • Disliked — Booking trips from the hotel- poor
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank SSS123Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2008

Arrived about 6 in the morning porter friendly but man on reception miserable took us up to our 11th floor room lift only goes to 10th floor - floors 10 and 11 smelled damp/musty. Nice view pleasant room - No cold water in bedroom sink reported on 2nd day never fixed while we were there 7 days ! - Breakfast first time i have had mash potatoes as one of the choices in a 4* also corned beef ! - time it takes for girls to clear breakfast tables is terrible - no wonder people were kept waiting. Miserable staff. Used their internet connection next to reception speed was never broadband on their machines also didnt look as if they had any virus checkers charged more than 5* in Hong Kong for poorer internet service.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — miserable staff
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank Drwhoooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dubai hotels

England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2007

Hi;

I would like to say that my stay at Carlton Tower - was quiet pleasant. Yes, i will agree with the other reviews that there is renovation work beign done in the hotel, but it is on the ground level (in front of the hotel), and it had no impact on my stay.

I was staying in room 1001 and i was amazed by the view on the creek side. I was happy with the service provided, it was also good to know that they had an in-house health club and a swimming pool.

I would say that over all it is a nice hotel to stay, some improvement could take place in terms of providing varieties of cusines for dinner - such as oriental dishes - i do love oriental cusines.

I am sure that the next time i visit Carlton - there will a variety of dishes.

  • Liked — It has got a fantastic view
  • Disliked — The night clubs
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank CharlotteCEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amsterdam
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2007

i've been a regular guest at this hotel, and i'm sad to say it's on the decline. the only thing keeping it going is the concierge staff, always helpful and friendly in contrast to the rest of the staff. i only hope they get their act together. it's one of the few places in dubai that has some human character.

  • Stayed June 2007
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank nler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
0.0 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#186 of 544 in Dubai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
0.9 mi away
Carlton Palace Hotel
Carlton Palace Hotel
#194 of 544 in Dubai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Dubai/Baniyas Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Landmark Plaza Baniyas Hotel
1.0 mi away
Emirates Concorde Hotel & Residence
0.2 mi away
Landmark Hotel Baniyas
Landmark Hotel Baniyas
#299 of 544 in Dubai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlton Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton Tower Hotel

Property: The Carlton Tower Hotel
Address: Baniyas Road, 19 | Deira Dubai Creek, Dubai 1955, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#140 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#248 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Carlton Tower Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at the 4-star Carlton Tower Hotel Dubai in the heart of Deira offers hotel guests unrivaled views of the Dubai Creek. In addition to deluxe rooms and suites designed for both the business traveller and the leisure guest we are proud to be one of Dubai's most established hotels. Located on Baniyas Street, close to Naser Square and conveniently located within a 1-minute walk to Baniyas Metro Station offering unrivaled access to Dubai's Metro and transport network. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays and Hotelopia so you can book your The Carlton Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carlton Hotel
Carlton Tower Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing