We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ramada Continental Hotel
Ranked #397 of 540 Hotels in Dubai
Manila Philippines
Level Contributor
653 reviews
179 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 300 helpful votes
“Decent Place to Stay”
Reviewed 24 February 2008

Stayed at this hotel for 3nights/4days to attend a conference in Burj Al Arab Hotel last week. Seems like staying in a 3-4 star hotel . Rooms are not that spacious but functional. It has comfortable beds, adequate mini bar and an LCD television. Airconditioning was satisfactory. Breakfast buffet not bad but the coffee shop can be chaotic at times when hotel guests arrive at the same time. Staff are multi racial who provide decent service. The place however is quite far from the major attractions. Traffic during peak hours only make it worse. Over all satisfied with what the hotel can offer. For me it is not a bad choice whether it is for business or pleasure.

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank doctorfoxtrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    11
    14
    7
    3
See reviews for
15
4
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2007

Inadvertantly booked the Ramada Continental online, due to rates. Roughly $132 a night, inclusive of Internet Access and Breakfast, good deal for Dubai.

Upon arrival, realized I'd stayed here the last time with tumultuous results.

1st Trip: My colleague and I arrived in Dubai after 14+ hours in Economy, from NYC. Had a few beverages at Blues and Cues (Sports Bar) on the Mezzanine Floor. Which, unfortunatley I happened to be staying directly above the bar. Loud, base felt in the bed, while sleeping. Ugh, breakfast included, but not until 6am, left at 5am. Horrble experience 1 Star.

2nd Trip - Inadvertant Reservation
Booked 'em the 2nd time, because I didn't think, and didn't reckon it was the same place. They offer a shuttle service from the airport, which I highly recommend, saves you the 40+ DHM from the airport taxi, and they meet you right after customs in the arrivals hall. Check in was a pain, I'd reserved on Ramada.com, and got the $132 inclusive rate for Internet, Airport Transfer, and Breakfast, unfortunately most hotels charge you 100 - 125 dirhams for the Internet access, poor wireless at that. Argued that it was inclusive with my reservation, which I had to prove, rather than included in their reservation system. Watch out, they charge you for everything. After sorting out the Internet Challenge, and assuring a "quiet room" everything was smooth. No airport transfers before 6am, but a taxi at that time of the mornng is inexpensive comparatively.

All in all, I'd rate the Ramada a 2.5 out of 5, C rating. Give you the basics, rooms are old, but clean, and the staff is nice. Unfortunately Customer Service is still being learned, as most are Philipino or Indian expats working here, still trying to learn the aspects of International Customer Service, though they are adamant about improving, and learning new skills.

For a night/late/early meetings in Dubai, without all of the glitz, it's a pretty good bargain.

  • Liked — Price and amenities - though you've got to document and prove.
  • Disliked — Staff doubt of client, mediocre customer service
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Sean_Owens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2007

I stayed here on a business trip. I decided to come here as it was a shorter journey time to get to Burj Dubai then from the Jumeria beach hotels.

I have stayed at a few of the beach hotels and this place is definately not to that standard but it is very good anyway. I was first of all very pleased with the excellent service from all staff I recieved here.

Secondly, the rooms were very spacious, and functional, abeit a little dark.

Thirdly the rooftop swimming pool and gym facilties is a nice touch. If I could only of taken a sickie that would be a perfect way to spend the whole day. The Hotel is very close to the airport the plane noise was a little loud on the rooftop, I live near London Heathrow so I did'nt mind.

If I were a tourist and I was going to book this hotel, I would stop and look at other places closer to the tourist traps like Jemeria Beach. The reason being is your location, you have the Deira shopping areas close by and that about it, please book your trip closer to the beach areas.

If your trip is for business purposes and you are based around the Bank Street, Burg Dubai or Deira areas then book this hotel now, it is a real find for business travellers.

Well done Ramada.

  • Liked — Service, Location to the Deira business district
  • Disliked — If I were a Tourist it would be the location
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank AJT1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
49 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2007

This is an average hotel... i have stayed there for 5 nights. The rooms are spacious with average furniture, so are the bathrooms. However, the location is very bad.... it is very far from everything

Stayed May 2004
Helpful?
4 Thank l3abboud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2007

Stayed at the Ramada Continental recently on business.
Rooms are good size and immaculately clean and well serviced. Fresh fruit bowl, good mini bar and inoffensive 'corporate' decor.
The hotel has a rooftop swimming pool, although sadly didn't get chance to try it out. Great for a sundown drink though.
The Thai restaurant in the hotel is absolutely brilliant, the Indian restaurant is absolutely terrible.
I had the worst curry I have ever tasted anywhere in the world.
The foyer cafe was fantastic for lunch and breakfast.
The hotel is close to the Gold Souk and the old parts of Dubai.
I strongly suspect it is nowhere near as luxurious as the Jumeira hotels but I thought it was really very good.

  • Liked — God
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Mitchsis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2006

We arrived in Dubai via Abu Dhabi. Checked-in at 2300 and was welcomed with a fruit juice while we waited for our check-in to be completed. Very courtious staff and from the minuet out taxi arrived we were made to feel welcome. We booked two exec rooms and could not believe how big the rooms were when the door opened we relised we had struck gold. They were actually suites. Very Large bedroom with a lounge area attatched and two bathrooms. We cannot praise the staff enough I fly for a living and stay all over the world in 5 Star hotels and I can honestly say that I have never stayed somewhere where we were made to feel welcome all the time and it was genuine. The hotel has 5 restaurants and are priced very reasonably.The only thing about this hotel is that if you are on floor 1 depending where you are located you can hear the night club the floor below. It should not prove a problem as you can only generally hear a faint thud now and again but to be honest with you it is worth it to have the pleasure of staying in this wonderful hotel. Centrally located in Deira near the airport and only about a 10 min taxi ride away from the gold souk and creek. Taxi fares are metered so a rough guide would be around 25 dirs £3.50 and the drivers do not expect tips either. This hotel is not near any building work either the majority is at Jumeriah Beach. This is a wonderful city and must to see while the buildings are going up. Will not hesitate to stay here again. Hope you choose this hotel and have a great time.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
32 Thank airline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
2.2 mi away
Fortune Plaza Hotel
Fortune Plaza Hotel
#453 of 540 in Dubai
101 reviews
0.3 mi away
Al Manar Deluxe Hotel Apartments
1.8 mi away
Boulevard City Suites Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
TIME Grand Plaza Hotel
TIME Grand Plaza Hotel
#81 of 540 in Dubai
585 reviews
1.3 mi away
Al Bustan Centre & Residence
0.9 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Apartments Al Mamzar Dubai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Continental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Continental Hotel

Property: Ramada Continental Hotel
Address: Ramada Continental Hotel Abu Hail Rd | P.O.Box 31999, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #397 of 540 Hotels in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 192
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Ramada Continental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Dubai
Dubai Ramada
Ramada Continental Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing