We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For a 2 Star this is not half bad at all”
Review of Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Queens Hotel
Ranked #504 of 545 Hotels in Dubai
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“For a 2 Star this is not half bad at all”
Reviewed 20 April 2007

The area is typical Asian, being residental and business. Stayed here for 3 nights, 2nd floor room 205
The entrance and halls are all marble and very clean and tidy, pleasent staff, helpful and polite.
The room (very small room) had tv with English channels, fridge and bathroom with shower.
As another review stated, the windows could be updated, mine was infact not possible to close so the noise on the outside would have been bad had I not been wearing earplugs so i cant really complain. The noise of the mosque is very evident but neccassary for the country and is harmless for the few minutes that the sound lasts for. The area can be a little strange if you were expecting a tourist area. ALL the people in this area are Asian. They go about their daily business and ignore you unless you ask for something. The internet cafe is across the road, 2dh for 1 hour, not bad huh. the shops are all Asian, the usual crap you would find in a market. The planes do go over but again the earplugs do the trick at night. getting a taxi from the corner is a little tricky expecially in the morning and late afternoon, dont leave getting to the airport to chance, you will miss your flight. Overall I liked this hotel alot for the money I paid, I loved the area as it was so different to anything I have seen and I would go back there again on a budget. I was with my 13yr old and she said it was OK and enjoyed all the shops and the mixed culture.

  • Liked — The Staff
  • Disliked — Location for access
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lamio01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    9
    29
    11
    35
See reviews for
8
21
21
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Romania
Level Contributor
336 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2007

Cheap hotel, located in the central area of Deira, the central part of old Dubai, close to the gold souk and closer to the electronics souk. We spent 8 nights there and where more than satisfied, considering the price. Front desk staff was very polite and helpful. Rooms are generaly clean and furnished decently, but don't expect to be impressed. The hotel has a swiming pool, restaurant and one parking place. The area is very crowded, but safe, even if it may not look like. The only complaint we had was the noise! The windows are very low quality, so you hear every plane taking off or landing (and there is a plane every two minutes), street noise is present at almost all times, and, on top of it is the neighbouring mosque with loud religious services starting before 6am, when your sleep will surely end, at least for a while. We oftenly had the impression of sleaping outside, in the street, but we found this funny!

  • Liked — price, location
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ggabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2007

I stayed here from Dec 10th to 15th 2006. Very central location (far from the beach though if you are looking for a beach holiday) I didnt have great expectations of this hotel giving the price I paid but the rooms were quite good. Working AC was a plus for a hotel in this price range. Walking distance to the gold souk, the Dubai creek and and the Big bus tour stop. I did feel a bit intimidated at first because I was pretty much in a minority of one when walking in the immediate streets to and from the hotel but I nothing ever happened to me so i would say it is a safe area. The hotel staff were courteous, the TV was not exactly the latest model but i did work. The view from my room was unsightly but I got what I paid for. The only complaint i would have is i turned up at the hotel at 6am on my day of arrival. I was told check in was 11am as I was extremely tired after my overnight flight from Dublin I asked how much to check in early. They charged me 180 Dirhams. I do feel a little ripped off as the advertised room price was 2oo Dirhams so I almost paid full price for a 5 hour sleep. Overall my experience was good, if you want to experience Dubai on a budget i would definitely recomend this hotel.

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank Irishglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2006

If you are budget conscious and really want to "get amongst it" in downtown Dubai then I think Queens Hotel is a good place to stay. Situated in the Deira district it is just a couple of minutes walk from many of 'old Dubai's' major attractions, including the gold and spice souks.

Queens is one of the few moderately priced accommodation options available this audaciously cashed up city. We paid about $150 for a twin room. The room was clean and comfortable, albeit a little small. It had private bathroom, air conditioning, phone and daily housekeeping service.

A two star establishment, Queens included the basic provisions associated with this rating. Some of these are: a tour desk, safety deposit box, wake-up call, swimming pool, 24 hour check in, snooker table, laundry, dry cleaning, a restaurant and room service. The food was mediocre, overpriced and by the time it eventually arrived at our door it was a bit cold into the bargain! There are plenty of much better dining options within easy walking distance.

Queens is not the hotel for visitors seeking a luxurious accommodation experience. It is a decent place to sleep for us, who would rather spend our dollars on shopping, shopping and more shopping in the city's bazaars and glitzy modern malls! It is also a good choice for people interested basing themseles in Dubai’s atmospheric historic heart, where touts crowd the pavement selling “genuine fakes” and the scent of frankincense drifts heavily on the sultry evening air.

With Queens (as with so many other hotels) we got what we paid for.

  • Liked — Cheap and centrally located.
  • Disliked — Poor room service, small rooms.
  • Stayed January 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Pleso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2006

I have to say i wasnt very impresssed with this hotel or the area when i first arrived but over the week i grew to love it, the area is a little grotty and extremely over crowded but everybody is soooo nice, men seem to make up about 80% of the population in Dubai and it is definately true that they stare ALOT but they are completely harmless and very friendly and helpful.

The staff in the hotel are also very helpful and keep the rooms very clean the sheets and towels are changed daily the rooms are a bit dated but its to be expected as it is very inexpensive to stay here. The breakfast is very basic but is more than exceptable.

There are a couple of hotels near by who serve alcohol Sandras Inn (which has a restaurant and bar called the golden fork food here is average but really cheap £5 for fillet steak and chips and wine for £8.50 a bottle), Hyatt regency, Picadilly... the staff on reception will be happy to point u in the rite direction, one evening we got a cab to the irish village which is near dubai airport this was nice but ALOT more expensive than other alcohol serving places, in saying that the alcohol and food prices range from very cheap to sometimes over priced.

For me the most worthwhile place to eat was in the near by hyatt regency, on the 25th floor there is a revolvong restaurant that has a 3 course ala carte buffet for 170dirhams or £25pp (and a bottle of white wine was about 140dirham or £20) both the food and the view was spectacular, also worth a visit but a little pricier is the famous Burj we had lunch in the Al Iwan restaurant which works out at 325dirham or £47pp for a similar 3 course buffet and about £34 for a bottle of wine the only reason it seems most people eat there is that without a reservation you cannot get in to see the hotel it really is worth seeing. Afternoon tea is also an option but was fully booked when we tried to make a reservation it works out at 225dirhams or £32pp.

taxis in dubai are very cheap but the city especially the deira area is very congested with traffic all taxis are metered but when using them everyday it does take its toll on your spending money about a 3mins walk from the Queens hotel is the gold souk bus station here you can get a bus to almost any where in dubai eg No 8 bus brings you from here to the Burj or Jumeriah area for about 25p 1way the buses are very comfortable as they are fully air conditioned only problem i found with them was the first 12 seats are for women and the rest of the bus is for men, men are allowed stand on the bus but women are not so gettin a bus from the gold souk was no problem as the buses start at this station empty and as u can imagine 12 seats fill up very quickly so its not always possible for a women to be able to use the bus much to my ANNOYANCE!!! and ofcourse the poor women who live and work there.

As the city is so huge and spread out i would definately recommend the big bus tour its the usual hop on hop off and one of the stops is Ski dubai which is definately worth seeing it cost 150dirhams or £22 and leaves from the nearby gold souk station.

The hotel does have its own restaurant but no alcohol we didnt eat here so i cant comment but it is really inexpensive.

The pool is in my eyes is not worth even being there it seems clean and looks nice but is not heated and is built on the 2nd floor with walls surrounding it therefore no sun i didnt see one oerson in it the whole week, but the jumriah beach park about 20mins from the hotel is fab 70p to get in and the £2 for a sun lounger i, not usually a fan of beachs but this is an exception totally clear water, no sea weed or fish or anything really nice and a golden sand.

  • Liked — central
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank London_irl82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lagos
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2006

The Hotel was okay considering the price paid, the rooms were very neat, although a bit on the small side in size, bedsheets and towels were changed every day, I went with my kids and they had a lovely time using the swiming pool. The food served was also okay. The hotel staff were also very warm and friendly.

  • Liked — the swiming pool
  • Disliked — small rooms
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank deeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2006

I have just returned from a lovely week in Dubai. The Queens hotel is based in Deira (the heart of Dubai) and provided a service way beyond expectations for the very cheap price paid.
Our room was spotless clean, had a fridge for drinks etc. and excellent air con. The sheets and towels were changed everyday and ironing services available was very very cheap and exceptionally managed.
It was the staff however, more than the surroundings that made our stay as hassle free and enjoyabke as it was.
There was nothing the staff couldn't do to help us.

Helpful?
6 Thank Lainsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
Ibis Deira City Centre
#193 of 545 in Dubai
1,647 reviews
The Creek
Dubai Nova Hotel
Dubai Nova Hotel
#480 of 545 in Dubai
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dream Palace Hotel
#490 of 545 in Dubai
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Hotel

Property: Queens Hotel
Address: Al Sabkha Rd | 39b Street, 10; Al Dhagaya, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #504 of 545 Hotels in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Queens Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing