We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of San Marco Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
San Marco Hotel
Ranked #324 of 541 Hotels in Dubai
dubai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“GOOD”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2010

gffggf kjhhkhkjhkj Tkkjkjkjkkjnjknkjnkn jhhjkhkjhkjhkhhkkhkjhkhkh jkhkhjhkjhkhhkhkhkhk khkhkhkhkhkhkhkhhkjhkjhk

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hhuyhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    31
    23
    7
    12
See reviews for
24
15
21
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2009

I paid about £45 a night for a double, which was way cheaper than anywhere else.
We were lucky and had a female taxi driver who knew the hotel from the airport. The hotel is right next to Al Khaleej roundabout 15 mins from the Hyatt. The hotel do not advertise it as being opposite it, and the best map of the hotel is on asiarooms.com.
The free shuttle buses to the beach and the mall will save you more money on taxis.

Ignore other reviews of a lack of taxis in the area. Due to the credit crunch, they are desperate for tourists and will gladly pick you up. The brekkie was fine, abit like dinner though! The hotel is full of Russians but they were fine. Across the hotel is a local restaurant called al jazeera, where i had a curry dinner for £1.35!! Delicious too.

My wife didnt like the area as its full of indians/pakistanis who stared at her and sometimes took photos!. But we never really hung out in this area, so it wasnt a huge problem.
The best bet is to take the free shuttle bus to Jumeirah beach then take a bus or taxi to your destination, this saved us alot of money. Everyday they take you to a different mall. Do not take the Friday shuttle bus to Ansar Mall in Sharjah though, that place is awful!

The staff were friendly and the rooms were kept clean. Definately reccomended for the budget traveller.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank crystalpalace1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2009

Where to begin.....the front desk staff were unhelpful, the room smelled bad, the toilet leaked, there was no hot water, the shower was dirty, the sheets had stains and marks on them, the promised pool was empty for maintenance, they were varnishing chairs outside our room (everytime we came out of the lift we were overcome with the smell), we got random hang up phone calls in the middle of the night, both nights we were there and finally the breakfast was average at best. Not sure if some of our problems were because we were two young females travelling together, and they were just having us on, but it was a terrible experience.......we were even spat at on the street (yes, we were completely covered)......nice neighbourhood!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shanshan28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dubai hotels

United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2008

My friend and i stayed at this hotel for 4 nights during a week when a convention was going on in Dubai, so hotels were either fully booked or more expensive than usual. It is located in easy walking distance to the Gold Souk and is in a very busy area. It is tucked away down a small street and until you reach your room, the hotel doesn't look too bad. However, the room was a very big disappointment. The twin room was extremely cramped and shabby looking. There was nowhere to put your luggage and once the luggage was squeezed in, there wasn't much walking space. There was a horrible stale smell, which you eventually got used to, but the bathroom was really something else. It was disgusting and if we could have found somewhere else that week, we would have. We didn't even want to use it bt needs must. i didn't want to touch anything. The towels, although changed most of the time were old looking and there was nowhere to hand your clothes except a mould ridden clothes line. he grout was black and the shower curtain looked old. There was no bath just an open shower cubicle with a curtain as an enclosure.

The breakfast was mainly hot and reasonable which changed daily, but there wasn't a big selection. It would help to have breakfast on till 11am as when you're on holiday, having a lie in is something cherished especially when you have been up till late the night before.

Finally, getting a taxi was a major problem, which is surprising considering it's in a very busy location. If you asked the hotel to book you a Taxi, you either waited at least an hour or it didn't turn up. If you ask them where to get a taxi from yourself, you were told from the Grand Hyatt. However this is a good 10-15 minutes walk away, which can seem alot longer when you are walking in the heat.

I would give this hotel 1 star, however it does have a swimming pool (which we didn't use). The staff seem friendly enough. The tour operator did not understand or speak english, which made things difficult. At another hotel, their tour operator had been extremely helpful, advising us which buses to get and how much taxis should cost to get to a destination etc.

In conclusion, i would not stay there again.

  • Liked — Asked for iron on occasions and although very old iron, it as always delivered quickly
  • Disliked — The bathroom was horible and size of rooms and taxi problems.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank destination35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
Mark Inn Hotel Deira
#258 of 541 in Dubai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
The Creek
Galaxy Plaza Hotel
Galaxy Plaza Hotel
#409 of 541 in Dubai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Al Farej Hotel
#356 of 541 in Dubai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn Hotel
#280 of 541 in Dubai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Versailles Hotel
#300 of 541 in Dubai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Eureka Hotel
#467 of 541 in Dubai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Marco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Marco Hotel

Property: San Marco Hotel
Address: Al Khaleej Road | 6 Street, 8/1; Al Murar, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #324 of 541 Hotels in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — San Marco Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your San Marco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Marco
San Marco Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing