We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bizarre place, but brillant value”
Review of Nihal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Nihal Hotel
Ranked #433 of 554 Hotels in Dubai
Reviewed 26 February 2010

What a strange place (both Dubai and the Nihal Hotel). This was our first visit to the UAE, transiting in Dubai with Emirates Airline we decided to stop for a few days and see the city. Not giving a toot about shopping malls or expensive hotels, we wanted a convenient base in the centre of the city to see the old town on foot. We found the Nihal Hotel through HostelWorld.com, through which we reserved two en suite triple bed rooms, allowing us to stay for about GBP £18 per person per night. At that rate, this was a bargain.

The hotel is located in the blocks between Al Maktoom and Al Rigga Streets (and not, as some addresses place it, on Al Maktoom itself, or as the Time Out Dubai guide puts it, north of Al Rigga). It is in a neighbourhood with plenty of mid-range hotels, mostly in dull office-block style buildings - although few match the surreal eighties cuboid shininess of the Nihal. There are plenty of taxis passing by and the new metro station at Al Rigga is five minutes walk away. A cab from the airport will cost about 30 - 35 dirhams, and one back will cost 15 - 20 dirhams (because of the additional flag fall travelling from the airport). There are also plenty of local shops and cheap places to eat near-by, from quick kebab joints to mid-range restaurants on Al Rigga. Dubai Creek has an attractive pedestrian walkway along the Deira shore, and it's nearest point is less than 15 minutes walk away. In less than 30 minutes you can walk to the Spice Souk of Deira. The location is perfect for budget travellers keen to avoid the big distances of the new Dubai to the south.

Check-in was slow and complicated. Admittedly, we arrived early and were quite happy with not being able to check-in until the agreed time. However, on our return one of the HostelWorld bookings was missing from the hotel's paperwork, and some time was spent trying to locate it, despite the deposit we'd already paid on the room. The triple rooms we had booked turned out to be twin rooms with an additional (reasonably sturdy and comfortable) folding bed. They were spacious, with clean and reasonable en-suite bathroom. However, the ventilation shaft beside the bathroom brought kitchen smells, cigarette smoke and noise from the nightclub right into our room. The nightclub is lively most nights, so not ideal for light sleepers. Likewise the room suffered a lot of noise from the landing - all hard materials and unintentionally noisy neighbours talking in the hallway.

There's a small pool out back, and two mediocre and expensive restaurants off the lobby. We did not avail ourselves of the breakfast buffet (25 dirhams per person) but did succumb to an hour's wireless internet access (18 dirhams for a continuous 60 minutes or 20MB, whichever is used up first). We caught a bit of TV in our room, but the signal suffered a lot of digital interference, with Dubai, Emirati, Russian and Indian channels. Additional useful services include the hotel's minibus, which runs a number of circuits each day, allowing you to visit Dubai Mall, Deira City Centre and the public beach at Al Mamzar. We'd particularly recommend the latter, with a bus out at 9am and back at 1pm, for cheap (5 dirhams) access to attractive and well maintained sandy beaches.

Downsides were minor, but memorable. The Indian restaurant off the lobby is a joke, with overpriced food and awful service. The reception staff are friendly and well intentioned, but seemingly hampered by unreliable administrative problems. The room was comfortable, but noise pollution from the club, traffic and other guests were big downers. This could be a much nicer hotel if they just closed the nightclub on the first floor.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
There are newer reviews for Nihal Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2010

hotel was gud but the reception was not so gud even the managers r not supportive

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank KAILASHI_GAURAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2009

I stayed at the hotel for two nights. The hotel staff were very kind, caring, and great. The Receptionists were also so polite and caring; specially the charismatic woman named Beharayee in charge of the reception was so nice, kind, and positive, who radiates positive rays of energy and has a pleasant smile on her face. The hotel dicipline was great and the hotel provided taxi for me to the embassy for free. There were also lots of taxis availabe during the day just outside the hotel. The area is very neat and nice and there is a supermarket close to the hotel. The room was really nice, clean, and big.
National Bank of Abu Dhabi was quite near to the hotel, where I had to pay the interview fee.There is one computer at the lobby with the internet access: you have to buy a 12 Derhams high speed internet card for 30 minutes. The restaurants are located on first floor, and the service and the kind of foods served were very good, in a low light pleasane atmosphere. There are 3 elevators and you will never have to wait much to catch one. The hotel owner is an Indian. Both the Indian and Chinese staff are very polite and nice. I needed a wake up call early and I got it on time, while sometime ago, in another hotel, they gave me the wake up call with 30 mintues delay. The room view to the street was very nice. The hotel had easy access to most of the places I had to go.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Parsa_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2009

Staying at this hotel was a complete disaster, we were booked in a room where all we could hear was the night club music going on, the room was very old fashioned, dirty bathroom that you dont even want to use or sit on the toilet, the bed we were told would be kingsize but was two beds joined up so we had a horrible gap in the middle!

After complaing a number of times to the recptionist they told us that there was nothing they could do about it the music and i would have to wait until the music finishes which would have been early morning. The next day we moved rooms, we got away from the loud music at night but now the bed we were given was two single beds, I wasnt happy!

Getting around Dubai was also a nightmare, if you stay in Deira then you have to get a taxi almost everywhere and they are not easy to flag down. The hotel was usless in booking a taxi for us to, they said you are in a waiting list for taxi so it could turn up anytime. My two days in dubai was spent argueing with the receptionist and waiting around for taxis. I certainly would not book this hotel ever agian.

Please also note, the night club was full of men watching girls dance - more like a hotel running a brothel!

I would suggest to either hire a vehicle or book a car with a driver for the day, the most easiest way!

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Flower_1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2009

Deira, Dubai, UAE
Date: March 4, 2009

I alongwith two of my friends, visited Dubai Shopping Festival (DSF 2009). My travel agent booked Hotel Nihal a *** hotel status awarded by Municipality of Dubai. Hotel Nihal is well located in the heart of the city.

Overall experience with Hotel Nihal may be rated above average or say good.

Food was good enough with rich indian taste. Hotel staff was very cooperative. Restra with south indian, chinese and thai enviornment ware impacting. Disco floors were entertaining though were small.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Bhuppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2009

This hotel is filthy and noisy there where 3 discos underneath our room that went on to about 3 in the morning the bathroom was dirty and there was no hot water

I am sure the area was a red light distric .
DO NOT STAY IN THIS HOTEL!!

Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Ginga N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2009

Great location, within a walking distance of Dubai Creek. Arrived one day early but the staff were kind to give me the room at the same (discounted) price. Room was quite big, and there was a separate small room with TV as well! On my departure day, I left my suitcase at the reception and want for a long walking around Dubai before I came back late in the evening to collect my suitcase and head to the airport.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MirzaMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubai hotels
0.1 mi away
Nihal Palace Hotel
Nihal Palace Hotel
#260 of 554 in Dubai
495 reviews
6.6 mi away
Tulip Creek Hotel Apartments
0.0 mi away
Sun and Sands Hotel
Sun and Sands Hotel
#454 of 554 in Dubai
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Saffron Boutique Hotel Deira Dubai.
0.9 mi away
Claridge Hotel
Claridge Hotel
#352 of 554 in Dubai
70 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#466 of 554 in Dubai
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nihal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nihal Hotel

Address: 58 Al Makhtoom St | 40c Street, 58; Al Muraqqabat, Dubai 63833, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#277 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range: £30 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Nihal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Nihal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nihal Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing